Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Nikko National Park

Known for its impressive botanical garden, intricate Iemitsu mausoleum and ornate Toshogu Shrine (a UNESCO World Heritage site), Nikko National Park is an area of incredible natural beauty, with plenty to see and do. In addition to shrines and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this tour to Nikko. The temple complex was amazing, and the natural scenery around the lake was beautiful. The authentic Japanese lunch provided was also very enjoyable. Our guide was very informative, and we learned lots about Japan.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our favorite tour of our whole trip. The variety of the tour was phenomenal and so was our guide. He grew up close to Nikko. We had people on our bus who were always late, but he was very kind and patient. He would have to go get them. The shrine was the most beautiful one I saw during my Tokyo tours. The huge trees were lovely. Lunch was delicious. Did not have time to go to the large waterfall, but the home and gardens at the Nikko Tamozawa Imperial Villa were very impressive and lovely. The Kirifuri Falls and the autumn leaves were also beautiful.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Samuel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful Tour !! Nikko is beautiful-mountains, lakes, waterfalls, forests... And the Temples are fantastic !!!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Vivi Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was amazing! This is my first time visit Japan, and i decide my first day are taking this tour. And i can say im fall in love with Japan because the beautiful Nikko. Even the weather is not friendly, its raining. So can not take a perfect pic of Lake Chuzenji. But still i recomended this tour. Perfect arrangement. From the pick up and the scehdule. My tour guide is Merri--japanesse. English is not too good. But she's cheerful guide and arrange all for the whole bus.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

big_mack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is the best way to see the best of Nikko when you don't have much time and I still wanted to experience Edo Wonderland. Nikko was such an experience that I almost missed the bus to Edo wonderland. Yasui, our tour leader ran back down to the bus driver and held him there till I caught up. Never had a tour leader do that for me. thank you Yasui

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

bluntman19

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great day trip. Nikko is absolutely stunning. All the stops are well timed but the park is huge so you're only just scratching the surface but what you do see is amazing. Make sure you go into the building with the crying Dragon! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

CJ K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The scope of the tour included many wonderful sights. I especially loved Nikko and the Toshogu Shrine. The guide was very helpful and informative, but was a little difficult to understand as her accent was very strong. I loved the tour and feel it is a very good value for the money.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day trip from Tokyo. The temple visit in Nikko felt a little rushed there was plenty of time to enjoy Edo Wonderland.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Amy was great! The only down part of this trip was rainy weather. It would be nice to have a little more free time to shop at the gift shops- that is the only critique I can offer on a otherwise wonderful trip to Nikko.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour.
This tour is probably better in the fall so you could see the fall foliage. However, I visited in April and it is still very nice to see the shrine. The waterfall was less than spectacular. The bus dropped us off at Shinjuku at 6:30PM. The trip to Nikko was nice especially if you would like to see the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

FULGENCIO A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must see tour. See one of the very last temple of the shogun, well preserved and a lot of history of Japan in it. We had also a very knowledgeable English speaking tourists guide. Very nice sceneries on the way to Nikko. Highly Recommended

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Breanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Anne, our guide was awesome. She kept us entertained the entire bus ride to Nikko. Nikko itself was a lot of fun and definitely worth doing. The shrine was fun to explore, though there were quite a few stairs to get to the memorial itself. Lunch was also a fun experience though there wasn't much time for souvenir shopping afterwards. During winter, the lake was extremely cold and we were happy getting back on the warm bus after 5 minutes! The waterfall was beautiful too. This was our favorite tour in Japan that we did and would recommend it to others. It was nice to get away from the busyness of Tokyo.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

saz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Long day in the tour bus, however, it is a definite must see!!! Nikko national park is beautiful even in the winter, the toshogu shrine is absolutely stunning, just make sure you are wearing socks for when you have to take your shoes off in some areas, It and #39;s freezing!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Victoria M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Such a wonderful experience! I would highly recommend the Nikko tour as you get to really see the beauty of Japanese culture. The scenery and temples were beautiful and breathtaking. Our tour guide, Take was very informative and kept us engaged throughout the tour and had a warm personality. We saw wild monkeys that even chased one of the ladies because she got too close while we visited the waterfall and that was one of the most memorable experiences we had.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I booked a tour to Nikko to get away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, and it did not disappoint! Toshogu Shrine is a beautiful complex, followed by an excellent lunch, and even though it was very cold and windy, the visits to Lake Chuzenji and Kegon Waterfall were great!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Andreas R Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organised tour! During the journey, our guide, who has spoken a very good English, gave us some generell info about Japan and Tokyo and our target Nikko. At Nikko, he gives us info during our visit at Toshogu Shrine via radio, after this, we had enough time for ourselves, for taken pictures etc. We also visited Kegon Falls, but not Lake Chuzenji. Instead of this, instead of this we made a stop at Tamozawa Imperial Villa. Thank You for a great day!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was our favorite day trip from Tokyo. We visited three sites: Toshogu Shrine: the Tamozawa Imperial Villa: and the Kirifuri Waterfall from an observation deck. The Toshygu Shrine at Nikko was awesome. This site with its four hundred year old cedar trees historical in themselves was awesome. This is a must see day trip if you have time while visiting Tokyo..

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a beautiful tour. We enjoyed it a lot. I recommend this tour. Nikko is a wonderful place.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Diane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus picked us up at the hotel and then took us to the bus station where we changed over for the Nikko tour - it was pretty straightforward and even though there were lots of tours leaving from the same location, the tour group was very well organized.
It took a couple of hours drive but we finally arrived at the Nikko Toshogu Shrine UNESCO site of the Tokugawa shogun. Gorgeous place out in the middle of the mountains. Lots of fantastic architecture and carvings. We got to see the origin of the see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil monkey carvings. I left the tour for a little while to go to one of the gardens, Shoyoen Gardens near the Rinnoji Temple while everyone else was touring the Toshogu temple. I finally caught up with the rest of the tour. After that, we went to a restaurant for a Japanese lunch, lots of dishes that I didnt recognize but they were mostly excellent.
After that, we drove to the Lake Chuzenji but there was so much rain and fog that we couldnt see very much. Lots of switchbacks so it was clear that we were very high up but fog, yeah. Then, we went to the Kegon Falls which was also in the fog. It did part a few seconds so we could see the waterfall but after that, we just drove back to Shinjuku station and the hotel.
I thought the tour was excellent really, lots of info, lots of beautiful scenery even in the rain and I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of taking it.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

jillo21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I really liked this tour. Atsuko-san was so sweet and accommodating. The lunch was also delicious, and Nikko is breathtaking. It would have been nice to have more time in/around Mt. Nantai, but for a day trip this was nearly perfect.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Dennis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide Shima was excellent. She was extremely knowledgeable. The sites visited were great. Lunch was very enjoyable. No toilet on the bus, however, the bus stops at pullouts where there are toilets and food. Nikko was great, very pretty. The waterfall had frozen sections which were striking. Long day but worthwhile. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Ivana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was really fun. Nikko is beautiful. But the lunch was terrible. I suggest you to skip the lunch. There are cafes next to the place where the tour take you to have lunch.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Eva P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Nikko is one of the most beautifull places in Japan. I visited it in winter time and the landscape with the lake and the waterfall were impressing in all this snow.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Julie Ann G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved our Winter day trip to Nikko. The World Heritage sights are amazing and we had time to explore on our own. Loved the traditional Japanese lunch.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Pauline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this tour. Nikko was lovely and a beautiful national park. Great tour.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message