Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Omoide Yokocho

Located in Tokyo’s popular Shinjuku ward just north of the world’s busiest rail station, you’ll find a small alley called Omoide Yokocho. The historic alley, known locally as Memory Lane or Piss Alley depending on who you ask, is in fact one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 45 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

shaun o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide so very easy to talk to and full of knowledge. We actually ended up hanging out with the other people that booked the tour ended up being an awesome night!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time on the tour. Our tour guide was great and would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Shinjuku for the first time

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Daisy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour conducted by our english guide was very polite and knew her way around. Recommend this tour if your ever in Japan.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

TravellersAus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommend this tour for those who are interested in finding out more about this bustling city and do not have the energy to do so yourselves. The host was delightful - informative and enviously energetic as are most Japanese. Even though it was a crush of people on a Saturday evening we did not rush at any stage, the tour even extended for nearly an hour longer.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Ross M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a fantastic tour around Tokyo with a local who knew a lot about his city and a lot about the history of Japan.
I am glad I did this tour - I learned a lot about Japanese culture and saw some parts of the city I would have missed if I walked around alone.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guides were wonderful. We walked all over - into a department stsore - through a temple - into a tiny bar for a drink - walked through Drunkard's Alley. They ghlped me buy a ticket for the Metro and made sure I got on the right train to return to my hotel. I loved this tour.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very informative tour and a good introduction to Shinjuku and Kabukicho. There were only three of us on the tour. We got to see quite a bit in two hours. On our walk through Shinjuku, we visited a video game arcade, a pachinko parlour, and a department store selling anime fashions. We also walked by a capsule hotel on our way to the Hanazono Shrine and Golden Gai.

In Kabukicho, we walked by numerous bars and all the neon signs. We had our photo taken by the arch marking the entrance to Kabukicho and walked by the famous Robot Restaurant. Last stop was for a snack of takoyaki.

The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Anthony S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We throughly enjoyed the tour, our tour guide took us to all the right places and had all the knowledge that we enjoyed hearing about through the city. Thank you

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Johnny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour. got to see a lot of the great things that make Shinjuku such a popular area of Tokyo!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Christopher H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour. Our tour guide was awesome can't remember her name. So many cool things in this area that you get to see, and get insight from a local. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Tony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was everything and more. Enjoyed every moment.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An excellent guide who walked us around the inner workings of Tokyo not generally visited by tourists. We were informed about the history and cultural elements of Shinjuku. We have been Tokyo a few times but have never explored these parts. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Debbie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was lovely and very well informed. We wouldn't have seen many of the places she showed us if we had tried to go by ourselves and if we had we wouldn't have known what we were looking at. My advice would be to take the tour and then go back to selected places later on.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Shirley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, the guide was lovely and very knowledgeable also we had only just arrived in Tokyo, so it was reassuring to be taken down the alleyways and nightspots with a local.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Rachael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My friend and I ended up having a private tour as no-one else on this trip. Our tour guide was great and went the extra mile after the tour had finished by helping me order a suitable gluten free meal in a restaurant nearby. I would recommend this trip as it showed us a different side to Tokyo that my friend and I would probably not have felt comfortable exploring ourselves.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Alfonso D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour gets you out and show you even with a language barrier you can navigate this city especially by JR rail +Very helpful guide.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Yvette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our tour guide was a man named Take. He spoke about the history of the area and about Japanese culture. We asked him tons of questions. He was so great! Also, I asked him about where to buy kitkat bars and he took me to a few stores to see if they sold them. He also pointed out some good restaurants and karaoke places. Our guide was very knowledgeable, punctual and very polite. He had great English skills and was very easy to understand. I would recommend this tour to get familiar with this area. It can be overwhelming at first because it is very large.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Cid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

I was so pleased I did this tour. We got to see a nightlife off Tokyo's that we would not have seen or experienced on our own. You get to see and do a lot in two hours! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Diane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great walking tour taking us to places we would otherwise not have ventured to. Small group (4) which made the walk very personalised . Recommend.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

MIGUEL ANGEL O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great English speaking tour guide and a very interesting view of Tokyo

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Chris Hord Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was a wonderful tour to start our journey in Tokyo. If you are a foregin and want to know more about Japanese culture, this tour is your first choice. Our local guide took us to visit the major department stores, side street pubs, and some of the most popular entertainment centre. I don't want to spoil you what we have seen in this tour, but what I can say is that what you see in this tour will really surprise you about the interesting culture in Japan.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Jenn P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour to take as a first time visitor to Tokyo to get a highlights tour of what you want to see around Shinjuku ad Kabukicho. The tour was fast and furious with half the time spent with our guide on the phone sorting out issues for other people on our tour, but still gave us the confidence to then go explore on our own.

Tokyo at night is cacophonic and it's easy to be a bit overwhelmed. It was great to be able to know where we wanted to go and what we wanted to see. I recommend it to anyone who has never been before.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Brian B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour very interesting and informative, good guide, good English

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Andrew M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great, informative tour. Experienced places, that you may not have found on your own. Mamaro was a knowledgable guide and had a good sense of humour.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

David F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed the tour and it did help us find out way around Shinjuku later. It was tough to hear our tour guide while walking and with all of the street noise.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message