Ten years ago, a visit to the Roppongi district of Tokyo meant you were either visiting an embassy or going out to party with the foreigner community. While Roppongi remains one of Tokyo’s best nightlife districts, particularly with foreigners, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzanne R United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed this show. It lasts one hour but you can get there up to 90 minutes before hand to eat and drink. I arrived 30 mins before the show and it was a sell out. Free drinks inc soft drinks and beer and snacks were crisps and nuts. The staff were friendly. The show is all in Japanese but that didn't stop our enjoyment. Geishas, ninjas and comedy all rolled into one and you understand what's going on, even if you don't speak the language. The theatre is hard to find , it's next door to the Hard Rock Cafe in case you need to ask directions . Casual dress inc shorts is fine

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Joseph T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent in every way. The company that provided the scholar was excellent to work with, and the scholar was knowledgeable, personable and made it informative and interesting.

I would recommend this tour.

Miranda Nadel

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Yasmin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was amazing! Definitely wear comfy shoes because he took as long, pergolas longer, than 3 hours. A different lens with which to see Tokyo. A must do!

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Karen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This walk was better than I expected Tour leader Alessandro was delightful and knowledgeable only 3 in the group and we went to some amazing buildings by cutting edge Japanese architects Loved every moment

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting and varied itinerary. Alex the guide has a broad appreciation of things Japanese and Architectural.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Danielle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Show was excellent, pretty easy to find right next to the Hard Rock Cafe the show was in Japanese but could follow for the most part, staff were very friendly and helpful. Great way to spend a night in Tokyo

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Roberta H C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour is fast paced and covers several interesting neighborhoods. Our guide Mike was well informed and an enthusiastic advocate for some fantastic new architecture. We went inside some of the buildings, and learned about the architects and their philosophies of architecture. The tour requires lots of brisk walking and lots of stairs, but is well worth the effort.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

M Faiz A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Superb show, high energy and while all in Japanese we could make out the story. Very good actors and talented and nice to meet some before the show. Was a bit surprised about the tipping of actors at the end.

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Adam L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The show was very good and surprising!

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Ho Chiu, Peter Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide is great. It gives us a good insight into the architecture of Tokyo.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

David F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I love architecture and really enjoyed this tour. Fernando was very informative and showed us parts of the city that we would never have otherwise explored.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were lucky to meet Aurelia who was a knowledgeable and personable guide. It was like going for a walk with a friend who had done her research and more on the architecture and culture of Japan. We found out a lot about the symbolisms and the design concepts of the buildings. Aurelia started from the historical perspective at the Meiji temple in Harujuku and we learnt very quickly about the historical progression and architectural context. We proceeded to Omotesando and Roppongi. A Phd Scholar with a architectural background from Romania, Aurelia's acute perception and depth of knowledge of architecture was a plus and her personable skills made us feel like we were walking with friends. From an architectural perspective, this tour is highly recommended. My husband and I had a great time revisiting these buildings again in Tokyo from Australia. Make sure you have good walking shoes and architectural appreciation.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Felice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide, Jay, was knowledgeable and passionate. He was forthcoming with information and the itinerary was very interesting. We enjoyed it immensely.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

cct2012

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour gave us a chance to talk to someone one on one and get all our questions answered. Our guide was very knowledgeable and just a really nice guy! It was like spending half a day with your best friend. The tour would have been better if the weather had been better (we had snow and were just not dressed appropriately) but other than that it was quite enjoyable. He pointed out things we would have simply missed on our own, or would not have understood the significance. Nice job!

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

kim211 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It is good to see :

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Jason S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The show itself was nice with a mixture of traditional and contemporary scenes. I did wish that they had hot food as part of the package and not as an extra.

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Batiste J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I enjoyed the show even if it was not my first time :
Plum set is very very light but was good enough to wait for real dinner after the show :

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Lloyd C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour.
Our guide was intelligent, articulate and gave us a great insight into Japan's recent history, through the subject of architecture. We walked nearly 20km with him, and found it stimulating, informative and really, really helpful. We would wholeheartedly recommend this. Good value, very stimulating.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

David V

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Mike was a cool tour guide and had a great casual manner, and was a good conversationalist. His use on anime to make his points was interesting, and we definitely learned something about the development of Japanese architecture, which put buildings we had seen many times before into a different context.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

suzannefconnor

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the show but the meal wasn't quite what we expected. Although it was Japanese Style, it would have been a better idea to have something to eat before going to the show as there are plenty of places nearby for eating such as the Outback Steakhouse.
Overall the show was excellent and would definitely go back and see it. Costumes and music are all amazing, just the food is a bit different and not something that is used to.

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Peter S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Sirs,

We very much enjoyed our trip around central Tokyo with your guide.

However,when we arrived at our hotel in Tokyo the paper which you had sent to us advised that we telephone a number to confirm.The number you quoted was a local number somewhere in America,and we were unsuccessful in our attempts get through.

Best regards,

Peter Schuberth

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

silvia C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was really a pleasure to meet John. He was very informative and professional.
Me and my husband enjoyed his company, we spent a lovely morning together.
Thank you.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Julian R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The service by the staff there is a bit neglectful and rude. If youre a foreigner theyll stick you in the corner and although its all you can drink they pretty much ignore you after the first order and begrudgingly serve you afterward. The food wasnt that good and service stops once the show starts. The show itself is the only saving grace to the evening. It was absolutely amazing. I was dazzled by the performance of the actors, the music and the lights and costumes. Id watch it again but Id eat and drink elsewhere.

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Jeffery W

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The show was interesting but it wasn't all that traditional and had many elements of a modern variety show. The food was ok - traditional and local but we couldn't get in to the room temperature/cold/soft texture. I would recommend seeing the show but unless you are a big fan of the boxed variety of food, eat prior to going.

Keep your eyes on your personal effects - my wife left her jacket in the booth after we left. We came back the following afternoon but the manager was a bit rude and abrupt with my wife and they said they couldn't find it. It was a bit obvious that either a performer or worker decided that they'd rather take it than turn it in. Either way, I think the attitude could have been better considering that we were paying guests and deserved a little better respect. Unfortunate.

Doing what: Oiran Show at Roppongi Kaguwa Theater

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message