The neighborhood of Shinjuku, one of 23 city wards in Tokyo, houses a thriving business, entertainment and shopping district centered around Shinjuku Station, the busiest railway station in the world with more than 2 million passengers moving ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time on the tour. Our tour guide was great and would highly recommend it for anyone visiting Shinjuku for the first time

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour.
This tour is probably better in the fall so you could see the fall foliage. However, I visited in April and it is still very nice to see the shrine. The waterfall was less than spectacular. The bus dropped us off at Shinjuku at 6:30PM. The trip to Nikko was nice especially if you would like to see the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very informative tour and a good introduction to Shinjuku and Kabukicho. There were only three of us on the tour. We got to see quite a bit in two hours. On our walk through Shinjuku, we visited a video game arcade, a pachinko parlour, and a department store selling anime fashions. We also walked by a capsule hotel on our way to the Hanazono Shrine and Golden Gai.

In Kabukicho, we walked by numerous bars and all the neon signs. We had our photo taken by the arch marking the entrance to Kabukicho and walked by the famous Robot Restaurant. Last stop was for a snack of takoyaki.

The tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Diane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus picked us up at the hotel and then took us to the bus station where we changed over for the Nikko tour - it was pretty straightforward and even though there were lots of tours leaving from the same location, the tour group was very well organized.
It took a couple of hours drive but we finally arrived at the Nikko Toshogu Shrine UNESCO site of the Tokugawa shogun. Gorgeous place out in the middle of the mountains. Lots of fantastic architecture and carvings. We got to see the origin of the see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil monkey carvings. I left the tour for a little while to go to one of the gardens, Shoyoen Gardens near the Rinnoji Temple while everyone else was touring the Toshogu temple. I finally caught up with the rest of the tour. After that, we went to a restaurant for a Japanese lunch, lots of dishes that I didnt recognize but they were mostly excellent.
After that, we drove to the Lake Chuzenji but there was so much rain and fog that we couldnt see very much. Lots of switchbacks so it was clear that we were very high up but fog, yeah. Then, we went to the Kegon Falls which was also in the fog. It did part a few seconds so we could see the waterfall but after that, we just drove back to Shinjuku station and the hotel.
I thought the tour was excellent really, lots of info, lots of beautiful scenery even in the rain and I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of taking it.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Johnny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great tour. got to see a lot of the great things that make Shinjuku such a popular area of Tokyo!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Marshal V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wow! This tour was one of the best photo classes I've ever had. The two instructors were great and took us to some prime locations in Shinjuku and Shibuya that provided amazing material to photograph! I've never done anything like this type of tour, and highly recommend it to anyone who comes to Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Night Photography Tour

Joe N.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was great! The guide on the bus to Mt Fuji was very informative and provided all sorts of trivia beyond what most people expect on a coach tour. We lucked out and visited Fuji on a super clear day, but cold day. Bundle up nicely if you're going during the autumn/winter months as it's much colder once you start gaining altitude. The stops may be short for some, but keep in mind that the destinations visited are not typically done in one day. The cave was awesome as well. We were provided coveralls and a spelunker's helmet. Watch your step as the cave is frozen year round and the floor collects layers of ice. At one point in the cave, there is 0 visible light, which was thrilling when we all turned off our helmet lights for a few minutes. Our guide Utaemon, who grew up in the area, was very passionate about the nature and local geology of the tour and was very educational. After getting back to Shinjuku we went out on our own and lived it up in the bright city lights. 5 star plus.

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

An excellent guide who walked us around the inner workings of Tokyo not generally visited by tourists. We were informed about the history and cultural elements of Shinjuku. We have been Tokyo a few times but have never explored these parts. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Jenn P

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour to take as a first time visitor to Tokyo to get a highlights tour of what you want to see around Shinjuku ad Kabukicho. The tour was fast and furious with half the time spent with our guide on the phone sorting out issues for other people on our tour, but still gave us the confidence to then go explore on our own.

Tokyo at night is cacophonic and it's easy to be a bit overwhelmed. It was great to be able to know where we wanted to go and what we wanted to see. I recommend it to anyone who has never been before.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

David F USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed the tour and it did help us find out way around Shinjuku later. It was tough to hear our tour guide while walking and with all of the street noise.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Travis K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and personable. By the end of the tour, you will have walked around the entire city of Shinjuku so wear good walking shoes. It was nice to see the city transform as day turned to night and the lights of this beautiful city came on.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Robert C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour and particularly found imperial villa interesting. Tour was marred a bit by time it took to get back from Nikko on Sunday evening due to weekend traffic returning to Tokyo - congestion on freeways extended the return journey and didn't get back into Tokyo until after 8.30 pm - and dropped off at locations that some people were not familiar with. Choose another day than a Sunday if possible. The two return journey drop off points were Shinjuku and Ginza - why not return to the start point at Hamamatsucho which participants would be familiar with?

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Sohini M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Definitely a trip worth doing to get a look into the inside alleys of Shinjuku and Kabukicho. It would have been nice to have a guide who is more interactive and sharing bits of interesting information. Fluency in English seemed a bit of a problem and maybe this hindered greater interaction

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Josephine M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

We thought we were being picked up at the hotel but fortunately we didn't have far to walk to the pick up point. Once we arrived at the tour office it was chaotic and had to ask several times about which bus to board. However, once we were settled everything went smoothly. The day was very pleasant and enjoyed the tour and the traditional lunch.The tour finished at Shinjuku station which suited us as we were staying at Shinjuku; however, if you have never been to this station before, make sure the guide gives you specific directions on how to find the JR line platform to return to your hotel. If still in doubt ask someone, as the Japanese are wonderful in helping tourists find where they need to go.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Arsalan R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Covered some interesting areas in Shinjuku / Kabukicho. Learned a few things I would never have known through online research!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

ryan.furfaro

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Preface: I live in Japan and wanted to take my visiting parents somewhere for a day trip without having to do much planning or making them walk too much.

The reviews for this tour were almost all five stars which led me to take the leap and book my first bus tour ever. Here are my impressions on how it went:

Pros:
-Our guide Keiko was very friendly and spent a good 1.5 hours on the return trip helping each person find their way back to their hotels and provided maps from the two drop-off points Shinjuku or Ginza.
-While not amazing, for a foreigner visiting Japan for the first time the food presentation and variety at lunch was rather good.
-Some of the explanations on the way to Nikko were good about Japan, Japanese language, etc.
-Keiko checked the road conditions during lunch and we were able to go to Lake Chuzenji and Kegon Falls even though that's usually not an option this time of year.
-Free drink due to having to wait, though organizing this with the restaurant was a hassle.
-Unlike Hato Bus tours, it's English only on the bus which is why I paid for more this than have to share a bus with another language group Chinese.

Cons:
-The departure time is listed as 9:00 and we are asked to arrive twenty minutes early so I arrived around 8:35. At which point they said the departure time is actually 9:15. No problem, we will just wait a bit longer. We got on the bus around 9:20 but since 8 people still hadn't arrived we had to wait. Finally 6 of the 8 people came just before 9:40 with the other two apparently cancelling. This led to the trip to Nikko taking nearly four hours due to the very bad traffic. No offense but if you are that late you should be left behind and not cause the other 32 people a couple hours of their day.
-Because of the delay, the guide was flying through the first part of the tour at Toshogu Shrine and I could make out maybe 10 words total through the earpiece as she was so far ahead so the connection was poor. My parents and I quickly gave up and walked around on our own. Unfortunately, due to the delay we only had about 60 minutes to walk around instead of 100 so we were unable to visit the Crying Dragon section.
-We only had 40 minutes at the Kegon Falls and 15 minutes at Lake Chuzenji. 40 minutes is enough for the falls but if you want to take the elevator down and see everything it's a bit tight.
-Again, the guide Keiko was friendly but she seemed quite new at this. Personally I prefer a guide who tosses a few jokes in here and there and gets the group going instead of just talking with us listening the whole time.
-I was expecting better fall leave conditions considering what the guide said on the way there.
-I wasn't upset about it but many people complained about the 10 minute bathroom break on the way back between the three hour drive as it was barely enough to run to the bathroom, get a drink at the vending machine and rush back to the bus.
-I'm unsure if anyone else could speak Japanese on the tour but the conversations between the guide and bus driver were rather interesting in that you could hear that she was stressed about certain things along the way.
-We were on the bus for 7 hours in total and had less than 2 hours of actual sightseeing.

Overall it's not a bad tour for someone who has never been to Japan or Nikko but for the price you don't get all that much either. The departure time should be 8:00 to give you a bit more time to enjoy everything and possibly miss some of the morning traffic.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

dileeshus

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The guide told us nothing about the history of the area, nor did she point out key sites/places of interest, so it was really just a stroll around the Shinjuku in the evening, which I could have done myself! Overall, I was quite disappointed.

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

The guide was increadibly repetitive. For example, when driving thhrough Shinjuku, every sentence started with "Shinjuku is...", instead of varying the commentary with phrases such as "This area..." or "That building...". After a day of this sort of commentary you can imagine how annnoying this was. I just put my iPod on and tried to drown her out. She also made an increadibly insensitive comment that the 4000 homeless people in Tokyo were not a significant issue as they represented a small proportion of the population.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message