Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Studio Ghibli Museum

The Studio Ghibli Museum houses art and animation from the world-class Hayao Miyazaki's Studio Ghibli, which produced the films Spirited Away , Princess Mononok e, and Howl’s Moving Castle . With stand-out architecture, wonderful film showings, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 192 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you're a Ghibli fan than this is a must!! It was very hard to get tickets straight from the official seller group, but we managed to find this tour. The guide was lovely and shared some wonderful information on the way there. It was also very helpful to have transport there, and be helped by the guide with directions back, as we were not familiar with the area and would have struggled to make our way there on our own. There was also no time limit around how long you're in the museum, don't be put off by the idea of a tour group because of that! Once you get to the muesli. Itself the tour ends and you are free to roam until closure if you so desire! Wonderful day, definitely the highlight of our japan trip...

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Rosalia M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was very easy to arrive to this amazing museum with the tour. They gave us instructions on how to go back to where we stayed.
Awesome artist Miyazaki !!!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lovely tour, a must if you enjoy Ghibli. Lots of details and production originals if you're curious, as well as props and recreations of settings. Great for kids and adults, and make sure to stop in the cafe on the way out.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Adrian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing experience for Ghibli fans.

And take a lot of money because you will want to buy everything at the gift store.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Neftali C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing experience, I am a big Ghibli fan and went with my boyfriend who appreciates anime. The guide on the bus was very informative, she told us all about some background of the studio and what hidden things to look for once inside. She also provided us with maps of the area and information on where to go to get back after, since the tour doesn't provide a ride back. The museum was great and there was so much to learn about anime film making. It was a very interactive experience and very interesting, I would highly recommend it for any anime or art fan. I had a great time and would love to do it again.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great! Miki was enthusiastic and sweet, despite some rude tourists talking while she was telling us about the museum. Nice job, Miki!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Sean W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommended option for those wanting to visit Ghibli but were unable to privately purchase admission. It is also really nice meet in central Tokyo and taken out as a group to the museum, as the location is reasonably far away from downtown Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy to find your way back from the museum to Tokyo, we had just enough time to explore the museum.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Renee P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was excellent! She was full of knowledge and interesting facts! It was nice to listen to her while we were driven in comfort to the location.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Alison W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good bus ride and guidance to the museum. Bus seats are pretty tight.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Nakeida G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was a lovely journey with a very nice host who gave us plenty of information on the museum as well as information on how to get back to shinjuku. The museum itself was everything I could have ever imagined and even more!! Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Simon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good tour. BUs was on time. Gave us lots of information on the way to the museum.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Karl O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour of Studio Ghibli - we all had a wonderful time there!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Tera P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved every minute of this tour. Ghibli is such a magical place. Allow time in the cafe afterwards. The guide gave extremely detailed instructions for the day and made sure everyone knew how to get back to their hotels. The mini movie was a surprise and delight.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Carl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

For those people who are fans of Studio Ghibli productions, this tour is a must-see! We were able to view all the exhibits in the time allotted to us and also spend some time in the extensive gift shop. The bus ride to the museum was on time and comfortable and we were given explicit instructions on how to return to downtown Tokyo on the train. All in all, a great experience and highly recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Leona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It has been a dream of my daughter to visit Studio Ghibli for many years and Viator helped make it come true. I had been trying to book directly with the Studio Ghibli agent but they could not give me any availability for when she was travelling. I was delighted when Viator were able to accomodate my wishes. Strongly recommend Viator when travelling for professionalism and peace of mind. Also the call centre staff were excellent when making adjustments to the booking

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

If you are a Ghibli fan you owe it to yourself to see this place.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Audrey a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had tried to book from Australia, however found this online when we arrived in Tokyo on the Friday.

We paid and were confirmed within 24 hours for Mon the 11th of Jan. We had a great Tour Guide who met us at the location Hotel near Shinjuku. She gave us info and then helped us board the bus to Mitaka where the Museum is.

During the bus trip she explained about the vision for the museum, and that we were to experience this for ourselves and we should not have her provide us with all the information. She also after her briefing on the museum, came by to see how we were going to make our way back. Providing us with bus or train options.

For a non Ghibli buff....it was extraordinary to view the animation see Totoro, and the 10mins of animation. See how Animation was made, and walk around absorbed in this medium. My son loved it.

We did our tour at 4.00 and managed to finish around 6.00 to grab the bus out the front to head to the Mitaka Station to head back to Shinjuku.

I enjoyed it and here are some of our pictures

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Japan. The museum itself looks and feels like something right out of one of their films. Even for non-fans of their films the museum provided great insight into the animation process and there was plenty to see. Our tour guide was excellent, spoke very good English and the instructions were very clear and concise. We made it to the museum and back with zero issues. Make sure you book months in advance! This attraction very quickly sells out and we were barely able to make it.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

edgrbarba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time at the Museum. The guide was very knowledgeable on all things Ghibli, as well as other random tid bits of information that was fun to know. Our guide was great, and the tour experience was fun.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Rachael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well organized tour. Our host had fantastic English and was very informative about all the exhibits. Had a fantastic time!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

shinigamiu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Easy, convenient meeting location. The tour guide Hiromi was great. Easily navigated the whole group to and from the museum, and provided great explanations about the exhibits we were going to see. Would highly recommend this tour for fans of Ghibli.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Wells S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you don't understand written Japanese, I'd highly recommend this tour. The guide is friendly and will happily answer questions and of course, the museum is a must-see for any fan!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Nerissa O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything about the tour was great and easy! The museum is a magical place and shouldn't be missed! Definitely recommend this tour to anyone :

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

tntgolf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The museum is small and can get crowded but worth it if you love animation. Our guide was great, her knowledge of the museum made to trip more meaningful with her simple and informative presentation. We had plenty of time to explore on our own, shop, and eat. Her care in making sure our group got to and from the museum and back was great. Take the tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message