Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Studio Ghibli Museum

The Studio Ghibli Museum houses art and animation from the world-class Hayao Miyazaki's Studio Ghibli, which produced the films Spirited Away , Princess Mononok e, and Howl’s Moving Castle . With stand-out architecture, wonderful film showings, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karl O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic tour of Studio Ghibli - we all had a wonderful time there!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Tera P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved every minute of this tour. Ghibli is such a magical place. Allow time in the cafe afterwards. The guide gave extremely detailed instructions for the day and made sure everyone knew how to get back to their hotels. The mini movie was a surprise and delight.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Carl B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

For those people who are fans of Studio Ghibli productions, this tour is a must-see! We were able to view all the exhibits in the time allotted to us and also spend some time in the extensive gift shop. The bus ride to the museum was on time and comfortable and we were given explicit instructions on how to return to downtown Tokyo on the train. All in all, a great experience and highly recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Leona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It has been a dream of my daughter to visit Studio Ghibli for many years and Viator helped make it come true. I had been trying to book directly with the Studio Ghibli agent but they could not give me any availability for when she was travelling. I was delighted when Viator were able to accomodate my wishes. Strongly recommend Viator when travelling for professionalism and peace of mind. Also the call centre staff were excellent when making adjustments to the booking

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

If you are a Ghibli fan you owe it to yourself to see this place.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Audrey a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had tried to book from Australia, however found this online when we arrived in Tokyo on the Friday.

We paid and were confirmed within 24 hours for Mon the 11th of Jan. We had a great Tour Guide who met us at the location Hotel near Shinjuku. She gave us info and then helped us board the bus to Mitaka where the Museum is.

During the bus trip she explained about the vision for the museum, and that we were to experience this for ourselves and we should not have her provide us with all the information. She also after her briefing on the museum, came by to see how we were going to make our way back. Providing us with bus or train options.

For a non Ghibli buff....it was extraordinary to view the animation see Totoro, and the 10mins of animation. See how Animation was made, and walk around absorbed in this medium. My son loved it.

We did our tour at 4.00 and managed to finish around 6.00 to grab the bus out the front to head to the Mitaka Station to head back to Shinjuku.

I enjoyed it and here are some of our pictures

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Japan. The museum itself looks and feels like something right out of one of their films. Even for non-fans of their films the museum provided great insight into the animation process and there was plenty to see. Our tour guide was excellent, spoke very good English and the instructions were very clear and concise. We made it to the museum and back with zero issues. Make sure you book months in advance! This attraction very quickly sells out and we were barely able to make it.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

edgrbarba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had a great time at the Museum. The guide was very knowledgeable on all things Ghibli, as well as other random tid bits of information that was fun to know. Our guide was great, and the tour experience was fun.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Rachael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well organized tour. Our host had fantastic English and was very informative about all the exhibits. Had a fantastic time!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

shinigamiu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Easy, convenient meeting location. The tour guide Hiromi was great. Easily navigated the whole group to and from the museum, and provided great explanations about the exhibits we were going to see. Would highly recommend this tour for fans of Ghibli.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Wells S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

If you don't understand written Japanese, I'd highly recommend this tour. The guide is friendly and will happily answer questions and of course, the museum is a must-see for any fan!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Nerissa O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything about the tour was great and easy! The museum is a magical place and shouldn't be missed! Definitely recommend this tour to anyone :

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

tntgolf

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The museum is small and can get crowded but worth it if you love animation. Our guide was great, her knowledge of the museum made to trip more meaningful with her simple and informative presentation. We had plenty of time to explore on our own, shop, and eat. Her care in making sure our group got to and from the museum and back was great. Take the tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Madelaine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Kumi did a great job!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Eizel Ruby C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was so lovely! She spoke and understood english really well so it was very easy to converse with her. She looked after the group, ensuring everyone was on and off the train and bus. She gave us an explanation of the story behind each room and gave sufficient free time also.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Holly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The museum is a wonder to behold for any ghibli fan. You have just the right amount of time to explore. The guide was very helpful and pleasant. Only issue was the difficulty in finding the meeting location. We had to ask a kindly Japanese lady to help us and even she got lost!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Rory H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Guide was great, the museum was wonderful.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

June D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you love Japanese animated movies like Ponyo, Spirited Away, Totoro and many more, this is a must visit when you are in Tokyo. Very interesting tour - we were taken there via local bus and train by an excellent English speaking guide. Highly recommend this tour if these movies are your thing!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I am a fan of Ghibli and absolutely loved this museum, such a lovely gem

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Thomas M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I booked this tour because it was the easiest way to get tickets to the museum. It's worth it for that alone, but I actually enjoyed the tour itself more than I expected. It was nice to have a knowledgeable English-speaking guide, since the museum is entirely in Japanese. It was a great trip.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We had a lot of fun on this tour; highly recommended for anyone interested in anime' and Studio Ghibli...

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Sally-Jane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

robertson31

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was fantastic. Our guide was great and full of knowledge. She even suggested other places to go on other days. The museum was lovely. Magical. Recommended.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing place - as sweet as Miyazaki-san's films. One of our Japan Trip highlights.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Kelly K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a great afternoon for Ghibli fans! The museum is really well laid out and having an Engliah speaking guide to point out all the little quirky things and explain the exhibits was really helpful. Plus it made getting there a lot easier if you're still struggling to get to grips with the transport systems in Japan!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message