Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Toshogu Shrine

Built in 1617 to deify Ieyasu Tokugawa, founder of the Tokugawa Shogunate - the family that ruled Japan for over 250 years until 1868, the Toshogu Shrine differentiates itself from other Shinto Shrines with a wide palette of colors and lavish ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jacqui.bell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great! The shrine, the lake and the waterfall were absolutely beautiful. Our guide Yoko was so informative and very helpful. The lunch option is very worthwhile if you want to try a traditional Japanese meal.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

CJ K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The scope of the tour included many wonderful sights. I especially loved Nikko and the Toshogu Shrine. The guide was very helpful and informative, but was a little difficult to understand as her accent was very strong. I loved the tour and feel it is a very good value for the money.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Roxanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great experience - wish we had more time to enjoy the shrine, lake and meal. Our guide, Amy, was awesome and kept us engaged the whole time!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour.
This tour is probably better in the fall so you could see the fall foliage. However, I visited in April and it is still very nice to see the shrine. The waterfall was less than spectacular. The bus dropped us off at Shinjuku at 6:30PM. The trip to Nikko was nice especially if you would like to see the countryside.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Breanne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Anne, our guide was awesome. She kept us entertained the entire bus ride to Nikko. Nikko itself was a lot of fun and definitely worth doing. The shrine was fun to explore, though there were quite a few stairs to get to the memorial itself. Lunch was also a fun experience though there wasn't much time for souvenir shopping afterwards. During winter, the lake was extremely cold and we were happy getting back on the warm bus after 5 minutes! The waterfall was beautiful too. This was our favorite tour in Japan that we did and would recommend it to others. It was nice to get away from the busyness of Tokyo.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

saz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Long day in the tour bus, however, it is a definite must see!!! Nikko national park is beautiful even in the winter, the toshogu shrine is absolutely stunning, just make sure you are wearing socks for when you have to take your shoes off in some areas, It and #39;s freezing!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I booked a tour to Nikko to get away from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, and it did not disappoint! Toshogu Shrine is a beautiful complex, followed by an excellent lunch, and even though it was very cold and windy, the visits to Lake Chuzenji and Kegon Waterfall were great!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Andreas R Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organised tour! During the journey, our guide, who has spoken a very good English, gave us some generell info about Japan and Tokyo and our target Nikko. At Nikko, he gives us info during our visit at Toshogu Shrine via radio, after this, we had enough time for ourselves, for taken pictures etc. We also visited Kegon Falls, but not Lake Chuzenji. Instead of this, instead of this we made a stop at Tamozawa Imperial Villa. Thank You for a great day!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was our favorite day trip from Tokyo. We visited three sites: Toshogu Shrine: the Tamozawa Imperial Villa: and the Kirifuri Waterfall from an observation deck. The Toshygu Shrine at Nikko was awesome. This site with its four hundred year old cedar trees historical in themselves was awesome. This is a must see day trip if you have time while visiting Tokyo..

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Diane K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The bus picked us up at the hotel and then took us to the bus station where we changed over for the Nikko tour - it was pretty straightforward and even though there were lots of tours leaving from the same location, the tour group was very well organized.
It took a couple of hours drive but we finally arrived at the Nikko Toshogu Shrine UNESCO site of the Tokugawa shogun. Gorgeous place out in the middle of the mountains. Lots of fantastic architecture and carvings. We got to see the origin of the see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil monkey carvings. I left the tour for a little while to go to one of the gardens, Shoyoen Gardens near the Rinnoji Temple while everyone else was touring the Toshogu temple. I finally caught up with the rest of the tour. After that, we went to a restaurant for a Japanese lunch, lots of dishes that I didnt recognize but they were mostly excellent.
After that, we drove to the Lake Chuzenji but there was so much rain and fog that we couldnt see very much. Lots of switchbacks so it was clear that we were very high up but fog, yeah. Then, we went to the Kegon Falls which was also in the fog. It did part a few seconds so we could see the waterfall but after that, we just drove back to Shinjuku station and the hotel.
I thought the tour was excellent really, lots of info, lots of beautiful scenery even in the rain and I'd recommend it to anyone thinking of taking it.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Chilin Shiva P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the best trips we have ever done. The Shrine is spectacular and unbelievable. The tour guide is extremely knowledgeable and gave us an excellent information about the sites we visited. This is a very scenic place and I strongly recommend taking the trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Patricia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful day. Filled with historical background and magnificent sights of the shrines and holy places. Our guide was knowledgeable and easy to talk with.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing tour! Do not let the 3 hour travel discourage you. Toshogu is stunning and well worth it alone...the waterfall and imperial residence are just icing on the cake. The guide and driver from JBT (Misako San and Yamamato San) were extremely pleasant,polite and knowlegdable. The tour was well structured with interesting guided portions and then significant free time to explore on your own at each site. Lunch was traditional tempura and iron at a resteraunt in nikko city..and well it was great. Better than any tempura I ever found in the states. I say if you have a day to chill in Tokyo do this over Mt Fujitsu

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Massahide Namba Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Nikko has a very gorgeous shrine extremely rich in details. Edo Wonderland is fantastic. Overall great experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Peter B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a beautiful place! It took us a few hours to reach by coach, but it was worth the wait. The shrines and temples here are much more colourful than in Kyoto and the Imperial Villa was very interesting. Loved the visit to the waterfall and were very intrigued by the snow monkeys. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and overall a great day out.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Jaclyn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was our first time doing this tour and we were the only ones on the tour. Got a lot of individual attention. Seeing the shrines and waterfalls was great. The lunch was delicious and the bus was very comfortable. Would definitely do this tour again! Guide was very informative and we learned a lot just talking to her!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Kenneth J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The 2 hour drive from Tokyo was worth the effort, and our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We started the tour at the Toshogu Shrine which is apparently the most lavishly decorated in Japan. In the complex, we also saw the famous carving of the 'three wise monkeys'. After a bit of free time, we headed to the Nikko Tamazawa Imperial Villa, which has been used as a summer villa for the Emperor and his family, now open to the public. Very interesting and beautiful gardens. The day concluded with a visit to the spectacular Kirufuru Falls. The only criticism would be that it was quite late in the day by the time we arrive at the falls, and the light was beginning to fade, though I still managed a few good shots.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Fernando d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The tour was amazing! The tour guide was fantastic, and the trip itself was very funny. The site is worth every penny, fantastic to go in autum, with that red, green, and yellow colors of the trees. The Nikko Toshoogu shrine is a world wonder itself and the imperial villa was a relaxing ending

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

This was a very well organized day the scenery was beautiful and the shrine fantastic

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Choon Kow C Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This is a must trip if you are a nature lover. Nikko is a wonderful place with nature surrounding coupled with the majestic of the Toshugu Shrine. The best of historical evidences and craftmenship of the architecture of the shrine was just breath taking not to forget the numerous cedar trees surrounded it. The scenery at Chuzenji Lake with Mt. Namtai at the background was fantastic. At Kegon fall, a bit diappointed that we did not take the lift down to the base of the fall where view of fall must be even better. Overall, a very enjoyable trip.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Graham M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

An excellent time was had by all. Impressive Temples and Shrines. Lunch was excellent. Our guide was helpful and didn't mind me leaving the Tour at Nikko station as I had booked accomodation there for the night.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Michael C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2010

It rained all day on our trip, but it was still worthwhile. The rain gave the collection of temples and shrines a special atmosphere. However, the lake and the waterfall were not visible. The Japanese lunch was very good. The guide was great and entertained us all day.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

Excellent tour! This was by far the best we took in the Tokyo area. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The Nikko area in the Fall is gorgeous and the Toshogu Shrine is simply amazing. Definitely do this tour, it was very fun and informative for the whole family!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

ROBERT J. S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

The temples and shrines were wonderful, again the lunch was too small but I expected more from the national park, seeing more and walking more, so I felt this was a long ride for nothing.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Rose M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2008

We both thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Our guide was excellent and prepared us very well for what we were to see at the shrine. The lunch was delicious, and I really can't fault the whole experience.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message