Tokyo ATTRACTIONS See all

Tsukiji Fish Market

Located in the heart of Tokyo, the Tsukiji Fish Market is the largest wholesale fish market in the world, handling 2,000 tons of seafood every day. In addition to the many varieties of huge, rare fish on display, visitors are treated to a lively ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 20 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roberto R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fantastic! My guide Yeonmi was very knowledgable and great company. I got much more information about the Tsukiji Market and Asakusa than I would I had if I visited these places on my own. This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Japan. Great experience! I definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Walking Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

Innah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Noriko, was tremendous! We arrived at the meeting point almost a half an hour early and to my surprise, Noriko and other staff members were already there! Plus points because it was raining pretty hard. Surprisingly, my father and I were the only ones on this particular tour that day. It was great to have that one on one connection with our tour guide, which you lose when you're in a big group.
We first started off at the temple, then walked through the inner and outer Tsukiji Market, stopped by the inner market worker's shrine, sampled local cuisine at the outer market, and then took a short subway ride to our sushi making class. Noriko was knowledgeable and passionate about what was on the tour. I also liked how respectful she was not only to us but also to the workers of Tsukiji Market. She let us know when it was appropriate to take pictures. Remember, no flash and give way to vehicles! The sushi making class was so much fun! The sushi chef starts off by demonstrating how to filet a fish, which was to be used for sushi making, then he teaches you how to make maki roll sushi and nigiri sushi with raw fish on top. After you make your sushi, staff brings out tempura, pickled veggies, miso soup, and tea. After eating, you get sushi shaped candy, chopstick holders, and a certificate with your name on it! Tip: Ask your tour guide how to eat sushi, the authenticate way!
I am so glad I booked this tour especially because Tsukiji Market is moving to its new location in a couple of months!

Doing what: Tsukiji Fish Market Tour with Sushi Making Experience

Ann-marie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fantastic! Everybody's reviews I'd read prior to booking stated how good this tour was and they were right! I'm really glad I did it. The walk around the Tsukiji Fish Market - although fairly quick, was enough I went back afterwards but really we saw most of it and the tour really was enough. It was good to stay with the group even though we were offered the opportunity to go through the inner market and meet up with the tour guide afterwards although it was busy and I and a couple of others didn't want to get lost. The outer market is interesting and we got to see the small kitchens the cooks work in in the restaurants. It was good having someone in the know and someone whose English was very good guide us through the market as well as keep us safe from the whizzing forklifts and other vehicles.

The sushi workshop was excellent! I would definitely find a way to include it in the next school trip as I think students would love it. I loved it. I had originally thought I knew how to make sushi, but learning it from a real Japanese chef and trying not only maki zushi rolled sushi but also hand rolled sushi and nigiri fish on rice and learning and trying the proper technique. It was fun, engaging and was lovely meeting people from other cultures.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Luisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I cannot recommend this tour highly enough! Tae was our guide for the day and was incredibly helpful prior to the trip as we exchanged emails to customise our tour and she helped to make recommendations for the day which was great. Tae was an awesome tour guide, she is super friendly, helpful and speaks excellent English! She was able to guide us around Tokyo to see places that we would never have known were there let alone how to get to them! and everywhere we went she was able to tell us historical facts and information and we really enjoyed learning more about Japanese culture. Tae took us to an excellent restaurant for lunch where we had Ramen - somewhere that we would never have been able to find ourselves! In one day we saw so much of Tokyo Tsukiji fish market/Asakusa/Meiji Jingu/Shibuya as well as many places along the way . I cannot recommend this tour highly enough and if you have Tae as your guide you will have a fantastic day!!

Doing what: Tokyo Private Custom Full-Day Walking Tour

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very special tour with the wonderful Miki as our guide translator of both the Tsukiji Fish Market and the surrounding local shops. After these tours we arrived at our hands-on sushi making class. Our chef was so very patient and generous with his help. We absolutely loved this tour and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Joe C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was conducted by Tour guide Naoko. She was amazing, without her we would have been lost in a maze of Tsukiji stalls and pathways. She taught us a few handy Japanese words, introduced us to many traditional delicacies, and took us to a great out of the way sushi place for lunch.

Doing what: Tsukiji Fish Market Tour with Sushi Making Experience

Lorelei P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

From the moment we met our Tour Leader, Masaki Higashida, we knew we were in for an experience of a lifetime. His command of the English language and knowledge of Tokyo was outstanding. The tour of Asakusa included visiting a temple and participating in some of the traditional rituals of getting our fortunes, incense burning and prayer, plus sampling some unique foods in the market. Next it was off to Tsukiji Market and a close up look into the Japanese fish trading industry, amazing! Finally we went to a very Traditional Japanese sushi restaurant for a private demonstration and hands on lesson in the art of sushi making and then we lunched on our own creations. At the end of our tour, our guide made sure we knew exactly how to get back to our hotel. For anyone wanting to learn more about the Japanese culture and partake in a sushi making lesson, this is an absolute must, you will not be sorry you went on this tour.

Doing what: Tsukiji Market Visit, Sushi Making Class and Asakusa Tour

PETER S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Thanks to Tae we had a great day
We had limited time to see a huge city and Tae got us to all the right spots! She is great guide
was spot on in her choices and we blitzed the metro like locals!! The highlight was definitely Tsukiji market destined to close later this year
Get cracking call Tae!

Doing what: Tokyo Private Custom Full-Day Walking Tour

Bill604

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a very enjoyable, informative, and delicious tour. We toured the outer part of the Tsukiji Fish Market first then our guide provided a map of the market and we were given time to explore the market on our own.

Afterwards, we went for our sushi making lesson in Ginza. A brief history of sushi was given and a sushi chef demonstrated how to fillet a fish. We were then taught how to make sushi rolls and nigiri sushi. At the end of the lesson, we were given a certificate for completing the class. Along with the sushi that we had made, we were provided with three pieces of tempura to eat. It was very filling.

At the end, our guide also provided a map and directions on how to return to our hotel by train. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Yurika P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was fantastic! Yasushi and Yoko were good guides and enjoyed biking around Odaiba and Tsukiji Market. I have heard about these places but had never been there. I even recommend Japanese tourists to take this tour because it was informative and fun with some people from all over the world! I enjoyed very much. Thanks!
Yurika Parshley

Doing what: Tokyo by Bike: Tsukiji Market and Odaiba Including Tokyo Bay Cruise

Sean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was a great way to see the outer market at Tsukiji as well as have a fun sushi-making lunch in the nearby Ginza district. Our tour guide was also particularly excellent.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Flora W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour is done by a pair of freelance-tour guides, they recently opened up a school teaching English as a second-language, which goes to show how passionate they are in this service.

The Quraz Building isn’t hard to find at all because it’s right above Kachidoki Station. , with free wifi in the Tokyo metro lines, you are able to whatsapp the guides if you expect to be late.

First of all they will assign you one bike and teach you how to lock the bike with their password locks. Then they gave us five minutes of adjusting to the bike. The bikes we rode around are well-maintained foldable bikes. The foldable-bike I rode on was quite comfortable, and it even comes with a cute complementary mineral-water bottle on a bottle-holder. (I recommend that you need to at least know HOW to ride a bike because being unable to means you are gonna slow everyone down.)

The tour to Tsukiji Market involves walking along the food-street where you can buy really good Tamago sticks and grilled Oyster. It started to rain a little and the tour guides were quite prepared for that and gave us all ponchos for us to wear. Luckily the rain didn’t last very long and we were able to continue the tour while wearing our ponchos. There IS a heavy-rain alternative where we could travel by public transport but JUST HOPE this doesn’t happen…

Anyway don’t mean to spoil anything for you fellas but do expect crossing the Rainbow Bridge where many breathtaking photos can be taken and riding along the pier in Odaiba, where EVEN more photo-opportunities can be taken… The guide on the history, background and upcoming sights in the surroundings were quite well-done and prepared. The couple doesn’t mind being asked to repeat if you miss it. Their English is very fluent too!

Throughout the journey across Tokyo and the sea, the guides will cycle on both ends of the group for our safety.

There’s much more to just a bike tour, I rate it 5 stars for a very relaxing, non-rushed bike tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Bike: Tsukiji Market and Odaiba Including Tokyo Bay Cruise

maree m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

hi there,
I had a great fun and educational day at the tsukiji market and making my own sushi lunch. my companion for the day Yuko was fun to hang out with and was very helpful. I had a terrific day with her and would recommend your service without hesitation. g (31718957)

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Sarah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

The whole tour was fantastic, Viator was great, from ease of booking right through to organization of the tour pick up at the hotel, to Tsukiji market and finally with the sushi course. Having an English interpreter and a great sushi master made the course fun and I learned heaps. I am a pro chef myself and I found the course valuable! Thank you so much, highly recommended! This is a must do course whilst in Tokyo!

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Philip S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a very solid tour. went with my wife and found that there was only 1 other person on the tour besides the guide, so it was a very personalized tour. We walked all through Tsukiji and saw things we never would have found on our own. Then we walked through a nearby market, had some truly superb sake and then finished by visiting a shrine and having some delicious tea and authentic Japanese desserts. The tour was a bit long and we were definitely fatigued at the end, but this is recommended.

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Walking Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

arjan

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Sushi making class was very enjoyable with professional sushi chef teaching us the classics in sushi making however, not enough time in the Tsukiji Fish market.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

ASHA H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Lunch could have been better for the amount of money that was charged. We had assumed that we would be eating in one of the restaurants in the Tsukiji Fish Market area

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Daniel B

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

This should just be called the Sushi Making Class. The guide dropped us off outside of Tsukiji Market and left to us on the corner and were told to meet her back there at 9:00am. There was no tour of Tsukiji Market. However the Sushi Class was great I highly recommend that!

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Lawrence Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2013

It was great experience to take a sushi making class however I would like to make a note that the tour did not include the Tsukiji Fish market tour as we expected. It was very short walk through outer side of the market where you really do not see the excitement of the buyers and sellers in the market itself. I wish this tour described that in advance so you know what to anticipate. Otherwise the tour guide was very funny and enthusiastic lady that made our tour memorable and unforgettable.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Timothy Ko Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

HORRIBLE!!! Not even close to the 107 we paid and not a private tour. First of all we had to pay for the subway tickets ourselves and our guide. Our guide was nice but was not very informative and walked way too fast for our group. Sumo stable consisted of standing outside the stable and looking through a row of windows at their practice session. No place to sit and watch, only standing behind other people and behind a row of people sitting inside the stable.Guide offered no insight into what was going on or how these athletes lived. Next was a walk through Asakusa which we could have just done to ourselves. Again little insight into the temple. The water bus ride only 740 yen-approx 7 was again something you can do on your own. We walked through the gardens 300 yen and then was literally dropped off at the Tsukiji market and our guide immediately left with no info on the market itself. Also we were quoted a 3-4 km walk approx 2.5 mi. We measured our walking at over 13 km 8 mi. Feel totally ripped off...and exhausted.

Doing what: Private Asakusa, Tsukiji Fish Market and Sumo Stable Tour Including Water Bus Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message