Tokyo. You have no idea until you go. This ancient Eastern city throbs with lights, culture, and movement so sure to both invigorate and bedazzle you the moment you step off the plane, that there is little wonder as to why this city is one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1733 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wendy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hugely enjoyed my first experience of a sumo tournament.
The tour people were very well organised and herded us in small groups via 2 trains to the arena with great efficiency. Our guide was very experienced and knew the wrestlers well. Sumo is a great spectacle and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Megan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Our guide, Take, gave a thorough explanation of all things sumo, and periodically explained what was going on during the tournament. He was also excellent at making sure our group stayed together, and that everyone knew how to get back to their hotels whether they chose the dinner option or not. The tournament was very entertaining to watch! The seats were a little high up, but I still managed to get some good pictures. Even people who aren't really into sports like me will enjoy this very much. The dinner afterwards was pretty good as well, and it's ready when you get to the restaurant. Overall, this was an unforgettable experience, and Take was very friendly, informative, and funny. This was a major highlight of our trip to Tokyo, and we will definitely recommend it to family and friends!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

moltzd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Greatest show I've ever seen! Cannot recommend this more highly if you're into watching the weirdest and craziest event of your life.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

MEREDITH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Totally a tourist attraction- we were surrounded by people that looked just like us- but...omg. Totally worth it. It can't really be described- and it's probably better that way. If you want to be entertained....and have senory overload- and be completely confused - for an hour- DO THIS. I took my dad and we had a blast! Afterwards we went to a cheap ramen place nearby that was great! An wonderful evening well spent in Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

prudieh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Went very well, altho we had to hunt around for the driver since he wasnt quite where we expected hm to be in the arrival area. He was very helpful though and the trip to our hotel was fine.

Doing what: Private Yokohama Transfer: Yokohama Port to Tokyo Hotels

Jenny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Sumo Wrestling Tournament was so interesting and our guide taught us a lot about the rituals prior to the actual wrestling. Our guide also would let us know what exciting or unique warm up or signature move certain wrestlers are known for, which was nice to have our cameras ready. It would have been really great to arrive earlier so we could walk around and take pictures, get snacks and watch more matches, but overall this was an amazing experience. Loved it!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Christine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great tour! The Temple was very beautiful and the shopping street excellent! Thank you!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great night's entertainment. Plenty of action and music.
So much activity crammed into a small area.
Definitely worth the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

Deborah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hello Tokyo!!

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

Carl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The location at the World Trade Center was easy to find. We took a short train ride. The Tour Guide was very helpful and informative. The event was awesome.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Lee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our whole group was really happy with this tour. We got a better price on entry tickets than we would have otherwise the tickets were sold out at the box office and the secondary market prices are high, and ended up with a tour guide that just loved sumo and gave us lots of detail about the different wrestlers and about the sport. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Regina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide spoke very good English, she was very informative and fun. We had an excellent time and the whole experience was very positive.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Helen E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience and our guide was brilliant

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

richardbarnwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time at the Sumo. Our seats were great and we were lucky enough to have a fabulous tour guide who was genuinely passionate about the sumo and getting the low down on the tournament and the individual wrestlers really brought the whole experience to life. However, I am not entirely sure I believe her that Endo isn't her type given her giddy excitement when he won!!!! - All in all a brilliant afternoon made all the more special by the guide. Wholeheartedly recommended!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

THOMAS A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great activity choice. Our guide, Haruko, was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic and helpful. She was one of the best tour guides ever!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

James Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the experience and was really pleased that for the most part we could enjoy the Sumo Tournament on our own. I doubt anyone in my group would have appreciated the tournament as much had we just gone by ourselves without some background from the tour guide on the sport's history and the competitors we saw on the day. Loved it!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Carolyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to spend an afternoon. Very informative and fun! Skip the chanko dinner though - you'll find MUCH better food on your own.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Carlos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a lot of fun. The conductor was very careful going through the traffic. Very informative and very humorous.

Doing what: Tokyo Asakusa Rickshaw Tour

Anthony V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Pure insanity and entertainment.

Doing what: Tokyo Robot Evening Cabaret Show

Saskia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very well-organised tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about sumo. She was helpful in all regards and I would definitely recommend this service to others.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was GREAT!!! Our guild was vary knowledge and spoke descent english. The seats were a little high up but perfect to see everything. The matches was fantastic and fun. The meal was all set up at a nice restaurant and the meal tasted great!!!

All around it was a lot of fun!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Vince M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide for the day, Mika-san, was one of the best tour guides I've ever had. Before we left the meeting area, my sister and I received an extremely informative crash course on the history, ranking structure, and cultural aspects of sumo. Mika-san also personally made each of us a helpful cheat sheet containing the match-ups of the events which included each wrestler's date of birth, country of origin, height, weight, and various background information. It was also color coded with her personal recommendations for the event with yellow signifying interesting bouts and red for can't miss head-to-head battles. After arriving at the arena, we were led on a quick guided tour through the building which included a small side museum dedicated to all the former yokozunas or grand champions of the past. During the tournament, my sister forget her pen and Mika-san was kind enough to lend us one of hers so that we could jot down notes. All in all, a great tour and highly recommended to anyone who might be interested in seeing Japan's national sport.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

AngelVilar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you are in Tokyo while a tournament do not hesitate on book this tour, it was incredible, the guide was really informative and knew how to explain things without overexplaining details and she gives you space to enjoy and explore the surroundings and stadium. At the same time she doesn't interfiere with what you see but she gives you sheets with all the info you need to know about the current matches. In general it was an unforgettable experience. 10/10 and much better than just buy the tickets by your own and don't have a clue what's going on. Regarding the dinner, it was good, go for it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message