Tokyo is ripe for exploration, and while it's likely travelers will find something to marvel at with nearly every turn, these four unique neighborhoods are each worth a visit for their distinct take on Tokyo culture, commerce and cuisine.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 453 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dianna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Booked this tour as a way to see highlights of Tokyo quickly before my flight in the late afternoon! And I loved every minute of it! My tour guide Andy was fantastic. He was funny, knowledgeable, and very attentive to our group! Luckily we had a smaller group - only 9 people - which allowed us to get through the entire tour quickly rather than waiting on stragglers. I would definitely recommend this trip, and also the Hato Bus touring company.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Jonathan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Terrific outing. Lukas was a great host and pro. Took the time to help set-up shots as needed. No worries if you're an amateur either. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo Night Photography Tour

sonia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Covered several areas, could improve the tour guide and english speaking skills.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Rupali S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The main problem with all the tours is that , they come to pick you up in hotel at 7 or 7.30 and till 8.30 they pickup people from various other hotels on same bus. This bus is then taken to Hato bus station by 9 am and people have to get their respective tour tickets there exchanging the slip they give you after picking you up. So even if the tour is early morning, it starts at 9 / 9.15. Most of the tourist places close around 4 / 4. 30 pm. giving you really very less time. Besides if there is any lunch service involved more time goes in that.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Erik H

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Cons - Our guide didn't speak clear and concise English so it was difficult to understand her. Also the guided tours at the 3 sites were informal and required huddling around our soft spoken guide. I got more information from placards and Google.

Pros - The transportation was excellent: pick-up from the hotel was convenient and the bus to the sites was in excellent condition. Price was worth it.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Grant F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide, interesting tour and we lucked a day without rain or high temperatures. Recommended initial introduction to some of Tokyo's delights

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Katrina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an awesome tour!!! I was so impressed with Tokyo and VIATOR. I have done tours with VIATOR in other locations so I knew that it would be great. Tokyo is so metropolitan, the people are so nice, and the tour awesome! What a great vacation.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Kelly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to spend limited time seeing more of Tokyo. Fast-paced. The tour guide was excellent. i recommend you arrive early at the location where the tour departs it was crowded and chaotic -- not extremely well organized . . . but once we were on the bus and the tour got started, we had a great time!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Raisa C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tour and guide. I'd change the pick up process. We got picked up at our hotel only yo be dropped off at a bus station to check in and wait more. Seems inefficient. Would rather know the time it starts at the bus station and have the option to arrive there and waste less time.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

JosephineA L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a good comprehensive overview of the city. Guide Uran was knowledgeable about every thing we saw , and very interesting. However, the tour felt rushed for most people. It was heard to take photos on this tour, as she didn't wait for the people.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

nhowland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

I wouldn't recommend this tour unfortunately. The tour guide was very nice and very informative but unfortunately we were given a ridiculously small amount of time to experience the shrine and temple. The majority of the time was spent on the bus picking up passengers from different hotels. It would be better if there was one or two designated pickup points, with more time available to experience the places being visited.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

adamdial76

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The photography tour around Tokyo was great, we went to several locations for taking some amazing night photos. Our guide was very knowledgeable of both photography and the Tokyo area.

Doing what: Tokyo Night Photography Tour

Regina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide spoke very good English, she was very informative and fun. We had an excellent time and the whole experience was very positive.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

Rebecca Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the highlight of my entire 12 days in Japan. It was so much more than I expected. I anticipated photographing the neon signs, but Lucas taught us so much more about long exposure, streaming car lights and setting up tripods in unusual spots, like under a bridge, leaning over the railway. I plan to come back to Tokyo next year and will do another tour with this company. I had a fantastic time and have some amazing photos as a result. I highly recommend this tour to those with an interest in photography at any level - absolute beginner to some experience. Lucas is a great teacher, knowledgeable about cameras, the Tokyo areas and worked so well with us all. He was very helpful.

Doing what: Tokyo Night Photography Tour

Christine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great tour! The Temple was very beautiful and the shopping street excellent! Thank you!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

kathylizd

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very good, good sites selected and not too long. All day tours are pure punishment.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Randi A A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much as it provided a nice overview of a few special spots in Tokyo. The Meiji shrine tour was a lovely walk but a bit too rushed. The Imperial Gardens were beautiful and would likely be spectacular in the spring. Senso-JinTemple and the market were fun but also a bit rushed if folks wanted to shop. Our guide was very knowledgeable and funny but you had to stay pretty close to him during the walking part of the tour to get his insights. For those on the morning only part of the tour, it's worth it to stay at the Temple site and market as the end of the morning tour is just a quick stop in the information center in Ginza to see a 5 minute dance demonstration. There is no shopping or sightseeing in Ginza for the AM group. We ended up having a great lunch on our own in Giza and then getting on the subway and going back to the market.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Tour: Meiji Shrine, Senso-ji Temple and Ginza Shopping District

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

For what it was there is very little one could complain about. The organisation was very efficient, the guide personable. If you want to pack a fair bit in when on a short stay in Tokyo then this is worth the money.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Ian D

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

A whirlwind trip around the sights of Tokyo - great if you haven't much time - but could be annoying if you want to spend more time at sights. Guide was knowledgable and funny.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Yin Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was such a fantastic tour. It caters for all skill levels and the guide spent equal time with everyone. He was easy to understand and helped everyone improve their skills. Ending the tour at shibuya at the world's busiest crossing was just a highlight and will stay with us long after all other memories fade.

Doing what: Tokyo Night Photography Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message