Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 797 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary K C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour! I was the only person going from Tokyo that day. I was met at my hotel and then at the transfer bus station by my own private guide. She got me onto the bullet train and didn't leave until it took off. Then, in Kyoto, when the doors of my car opened, another guide was waiting for me to take to to an excellent, excellent lunch at a nearby hotel. Then, yet another guide got me to a city tour where there were other travelers and we saw the major sites of Kyoto. Then, the process was reversed to get me home. I felt pampered, safe and I had a great time. So glad I did this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

PENG YEW C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an enjoyable trip and the weather is perfect as we are blessed to see Mount Fuji in a clear sky. Tour guide is informative and helpful. Beautiful scenery, beautiful autumn colors and bullet train ride is a great experience to us.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bryan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was very memorable since it covered many unique experience all rolled into 1 day. The relaxing cruise, the cold weather at Mt Fuji 5th station, the cable car ride, and capped off with a bullet train ride back to Tokyo. Schedule was good despite the peak season for tours and the guide adjusted well so we get to see attractions first and avoid queues. A must-try!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Mt Fuji Lake Ashi Hakone and ride on a bullet train. Our guide was exceptional. Sit back and enjoy. We did not think it was rushed. Thanks

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Brooke B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great day. Picked up at our hotel as promised. Very engaging tour guide and excellent bus driver. We were given lots of information and questions were answered as needed. Weather was excellent so we did see the top of Mt. Fugi. Bullet train ride was good and very fast as expected. We were given enough time to look around and shop as well which is important when you are so far away from home. The day could not have been better.
From Canada

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Anthony H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a long day but worth it ! We were lucky to see Mt Fuji as it was misty earlier but by the time we arrived it was clear . Our guide Mika made the tour interesting and informative , talking about Japan in general not just our trip. Weather was great so enjoyed the boat trip on Lake Ashi and the cable car up the mountain ........which was covered in cold fog at the top .Bullet train back to Tokyo was a highlight too , it really does get a move on ! ! An expensive day out but well worth it .

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Zaki A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was very well organised and everything ran according to plan ... it was pretty foggy when we were on our way up to the fifth station but the fog lifted and everyone in the bus went wild ... haha. The tour guide Hiro was very knowledgeable and offered a wide range of information and history about Tokyo and the tour we were on. He was very engaging indeed and was effortlessly hilarious. He even sang us a song about Mount Fuji being he best mountain ever ... we think Hiro is the best!
We had a great lunch at the restaurant and the bullet train ride home was the icing on the cake. I would recommend this tour to everyone. No regrets!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rachelle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing! Beautiful scenery during the bus trip, gondola ride, and cruise. Though cloudy, we still saw Mt. Fuji. Riding the bullet train was a fun experience too. Really enjoyed this tour!
Guide was very entertaining, thoughtful, and helpful. JTB staff were friendly. Tripadvisor/Viator is responsive.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Carita Pui Man W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Overall it was a good trip even through Mount Fuji was hidden behind the clouds when we were at the Fifth Station. It was also fun feeling the speed of bullet train. Many thanks to Hiro san our guide for his professionalism and care!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Karlene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great trip. The bullet train can't be beat. Everything was very organised. The hotels chosen for my trip were fantastic with very helpful staff.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sahm K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great, but the weather was really bad. Imagine being up Mt Fuji then in a cable car, and on a boat whilst a typhoon was happening. Things were getting cancelled all around us but that didn't stop our guide. She just found other options. Didn't get to see Mt Fuji at all, but the strange lunch in the amusement park was interesting as the rides looked amazing, but due to said typhoon they were all closed. The bullet train back to Tokyo was brilliant and our tour guide Marie was very entertaining. A very strange experience indeed. Unforgetable ...

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Glynn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our Full Day tour was led by a very good English speaking fellow. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to the bus terminal. The ride was smooth and the driver was good at his job. We had about 25 minutes at the fifth station for souvenir shopping. Next stop was the authentic Japanese lunch, lake cruise and cable car ride. All provided spectacular photo opportunities. Last stop was the Bullet Train which was a bucket list dream come true. The train dropped us off at the station where we took the monorail to Odaiba Island which topped off our day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

brittany.parrish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Ellie was informative and so sweet! We really enjoyed her commentary, and she managed to make the time on the bus go by faster. Even though the weather wasn't great the day we went, the trip to Mount Fuji and Lake Ashi were still must sees. The traditional Japanese lunch was also very good, with a pretty big portion size. The venue for lunch was picturesque. It was also really nice to have the bullet train back to Tokyo after the day was over - such a quick way to get back after a long day exploring.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was awesome. We are lucky to have fully English speaking and well-organised tour to Mount fuji and Lake Ashi. Everything was superb on-time and the bullet train was superb cool and fast too. It is best to visit in winter time for clear view of Mount Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Erik R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful experience Mt Fuji and the Bullet very enjoyable day

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Overall an excellent tour. The agenda, organisation and timing were all very good. The guide was informative, helpful and engaging. The included Japanese lunch was very nice. Just be aware that the guide will leave you at the train station where the bullet train departs. This means you are left to find your own way back to your hotel from the train station where the bullet train terminates. Its well worth experiencing the bullet train - although possibly more exciting on the train station platform as they race past you than on the train itself! However, if you are not confident using the Tokyo train system consider catching a taxi from the station where the bullet train terminates back to your hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ra Brown Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great day Kanao? the guide she had a wealth of information about the various prefectures we passed through on the drive to Mt Fuji.

Unfortunately for us it was a foggy day up there so we didn't get to see Mount Fuji clearly but that is Nature, So be prepared and have reasonable expectations it not the guides or tour companies fault. Also on Station 5 they have a Gift Shop and Post Office, which I of course sent postcards home to New Zealand to my Grandma / Mum n Dad with the special Mt Fuji stamp.

The other highlight of the day was the cruise around Lake Ashi its such a beautiful region Hakone and even heard it mentioned on TV whilst I was here so clearly as the guide mentioned important for the Japanese culture and people. As you can expect at the terminal before boarding the boat is where you can purchase snacks and gifts from the region. But back to boat ride it was such a pleasant day I wish I could have stayed on the boat longer heck the whole day or explore more of Lake Ashi.

After the lake we headed up to ride the gondolas or Hakone Ropeway which takes you up to Mount Komaga-take the view from the gondola on way down is awesome great photo snap and sometimes you can get a clear view of Mt Fuji. Here they also have supermarket and gift shops but by time we arrived they was closing when we came back down the mountain.

The Top highlight for me was catching the Shinkansen Bullet Train back from Odawara Station to Shingawa Station
Train Station before Tamachi it took about 30-40mins it wasnt long at all but it was interesting
experience and something I have wanted to do since I was a young boy growing up in Rural New Zealand.

So all in all I would recommend this tour especially if you get Kanao I think that was how you spell her name her English is very good and does her best to entertain guests with songs, origami lesson.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see Mt Fuji AND experience the bullet train when you only have a limited time available. And although Mt Fuji was in the cloud while we were there, it cleared enough to get some good shots from Lake Ashi stop later in the day despite the odds against it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Azra Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a tour that should not be missed while in Japan. everything ran like a clock work. one thing i like about Japanese culture is the precise timing , i can see as to why that is necessary with such a large population as in Tokyo. from the moment we were picked up at the hotel by a luxury coach and taken to the bus station for a ride to Mt Fuji. our tour director was Noriko and all i can say she was so professional and informative about the places we were at and where we were going to, she thought us how to count in Japanese and explained all about the bento box a very balanced lunch box I'm getting one definetly . i wish we can have her on our next trip to Japan. it was unfortunate that it was foggy and rainy that day so we couldn't see the top of mt Fuji but we did see hundreds of people preparing for a long climb to top of Mt Fuji, something that every person in Japan feels they should do at least once in their life time if not every year. after that we had a traditional Japanese lunch and yes you do have to take your shoes off, so make sure you don't have any holes in them. it was delicious if you are adventurous to try something different and apt to the place where you are. fortunetly for all of us later in the day we did see Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake.. drive through Hakone, the boat ride and also the ropeway was so panoramic all the way from where you could see the beautiful lake Ashi and a golf course to die for. i couldn't understand the people that were sleeping all the way and missing the luscious forests, rice paddies and just seeing Japan nature,it was fantastic. as we were couple of hours late for a day trip on the bullet train back to Tokyo we had to do it at night so we couldn't see anything outside. at the speed of 330km an hour i don't think we could have seen much anyway. it was a very pleasant and comfortable journey and would recommend it to everyone. thank you Noriko for taking care of us and making sure we new how to get back home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent Tour, and especially our tour guide Yukiko Kubo. She definitely made the tour interesting. She went the extra mile to make sure we made it on the bullet train, and even confirmed with my hotel the best way to get back to the airport.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on a bus tour from Tokyo to Mount Fuji. We went to the fifth station and were able to see the peak of the mountain from that point. We had the opportunity to walk around at the fifth station and to see the shrine. We had a Japanese lunch at a very nice hotel. We then took a very short 15 minute boat ride on Lake Hakon-en to the ropeway for Mount Hakon-en. It was a very cloudy day and we were not able to see anything from the mountaintop. We then took the bullet train back to Tokyo. Our guide was very professional and spoke English very well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mimi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour bus picked us up from the hotel to go to the bus depot. Once there, you will find the real bus for your tour. The bus ride to Mt Fuji is long, about 2 hours, but our guide was informative and her English is good enough. Even though that day was cloudy, she was very concerned for us whether we will see Mt Fuji's top. Both her and the driver intentionally looked out for us. They purposefully stopped and let the whole bus out for the 5 minute window when the clouds parted to let us see and take pictures of the mountain top. Once at 5th station, we stopped and buy souvenirs. Afterward, we had an authentic Japanese lunch. If you don't eat fish, don't order the lunch because that is the main lunch, it is one whole piece of rainbow trout from head to tail. The lunch was definitely tasty and authentic though. There is a side chicken dish too, with soba, some vegetable tempura and miso soup. We then went to Hakone and on the boat. The boat is not the pirate boat, so a little bit disappointing, but still a good ride. Then we got on the gondola to go to the top. They packed us quite tight in the gondola, so not too enjoyable. That day was very foggy too, so we couldn't see anything while at the top of the mountain here. The guide tried to teach us a Japanese song and also how to fold Mount Fuji using origami paper. We left to go back to Tokyo on the bullet train. The guide even taught us how to get back to the hotel from Tokyo station. It was definitely a full and long day of fun. We didn't get back to Tokyo till about 7 pm. I would definitely recommend anyone who what to see Mount Fuji, just pray for good weather on your day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ian Lehr United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip has a lot of time spent on the bus, but you do learn a lot while on your way to the locations. The locations are great and the event for Lake Ashi is amazing! The bullet train back is a great way to travel and shows you the difference in speed to locations.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Molly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great day on this tour. We managed to get to the 5th station. Had an excellent Japanese lunch and the ride on the bullet train was fantastic. Would do this trip again. So much more to see.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Kelvin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. It was great to be so close to the top of Mt Fuji even in summer when it was not covered with snow. The ride back in the bullet train was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message