Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 762 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was awesome. We are lucky to have fully English speaking and well-organised tour to Mount fuji and Lake Ashi. Everything was superb on-time and the bullet train was superb cool and fast too. It is best to visit in winter time for clear view of Mount Fuji.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Erik R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful experience Mt Fuji and the Bullet very enjoyable day

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Overall an excellent tour. The agenda, organisation and timing were all very good. The guide was informative, helpful and engaging. The included Japanese lunch was very nice. Just be aware that the guide will leave you at the train station where the bullet train departs. This means you are left to find your own way back to your hotel from the train station where the bullet train terminates. Its well worth experiencing the bullet train - although possibly more exciting on the train station platform as they race past you than on the train itself! However, if you are not confident using the Tokyo train system consider catching a taxi from the station where the bullet train terminates back to your hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ra Brown Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great day Kanao? the guide she had a wealth of information about the various prefectures we passed through on the drive to Mt Fuji.

Unfortunately for us it was a foggy day up there so we didn't get to see Mount Fuji clearly but that is Nature, So be prepared and have reasonable expectations it not the guides or tour companies fault. Also on Station 5 they have a Gift Shop and Post Office, which I of course sent postcards home to New Zealand to my Grandma / Mum n Dad with the special Mt Fuji stamp.

The other highlight of the day was the cruise around Lake Ashi its such a beautiful region Hakone and even heard it mentioned on TV whilst I was here so clearly as the guide mentioned important for the Japanese culture and people. As you can expect at the terminal before boarding the boat is where you can purchase snacks and gifts from the region. But back to boat ride it was such a pleasant day I wish I could have stayed on the boat longer heck the whole day or explore more of Lake Ashi.

After the lake we headed up to ride the gondolas or Hakone Ropeway which takes you up to Mount Komaga-take the view from the gondola on way down is awesome great photo snap and sometimes you can get a clear view of Mt Fuji. Here they also have supermarket and gift shops but by time we arrived they was closing when we came back down the mountain.

The Top highlight for me was catching the Shinkansen Bullet Train back from Odawara Station to Shingawa Station
Train Station before Tamachi it took about 30-40mins it wasnt long at all but it was interesting
experience and something I have wanted to do since I was a young boy growing up in Rural New Zealand.

So all in all I would recommend this tour especially if you get Kanao I think that was how you spell her name her English is very good and does her best to entertain guests with songs, origami lesson.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see Mt Fuji AND experience the bullet train when you only have a limited time available. And although Mt Fuji was in the cloud while we were there, it cleared enough to get some good shots from Lake Ashi stop later in the day despite the odds against it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Azra Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a tour that should not be missed while in Japan. everything ran like a clock work. one thing i like about Japanese culture is the precise timing , i can see as to why that is necessary with such a large population as in Tokyo. from the moment we were picked up at the hotel by a luxury coach and taken to the bus station for a ride to Mt Fuji. our tour director was Noriko and all i can say she was so professional and informative about the places we were at and where we were going to, she thought us how to count in Japanese and explained all about the bento box a very balanced lunch box I'm getting one definetly . i wish we can have her on our next trip to Japan. it was unfortunate that it was foggy and rainy that day so we couldn't see the top of mt Fuji but we did see hundreds of people preparing for a long climb to top of Mt Fuji, something that every person in Japan feels they should do at least once in their life time if not every year. after that we had a traditional Japanese lunch and yes you do have to take your shoes off, so make sure you don't have any holes in them. it was delicious if you are adventurous to try something different and apt to the place where you are. fortunetly for all of us later in the day we did see Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake.. drive through Hakone, the boat ride and also the ropeway was so panoramic all the way from where you could see the beautiful lake Ashi and a golf course to die for. i couldn't understand the people that were sleeping all the way and missing the luscious forests, rice paddies and just seeing Japan nature,it was fantastic. as we were couple of hours late for a day trip on the bullet train back to Tokyo we had to do it at night so we couldn't see anything outside. at the speed of 330km an hour i don't think we could have seen much anyway. it was a very pleasant and comfortable journey and would recommend it to everyone. thank you Noriko for taking care of us and making sure we new how to get back home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent Tour, and especially our tour guide Yukiko Kubo. She definitely made the tour interesting. She went the extra mile to make sure we made it on the bullet train, and even confirmed with my hotel the best way to get back to the airport.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on a bus tour from Tokyo to Mount Fuji. We went to the fifth station and were able to see the peak of the mountain from that point. We had the opportunity to walk around at the fifth station and to see the shrine. We had a Japanese lunch at a very nice hotel. We then took a very short 15 minute boat ride on Lake Hakon-en to the ropeway for Mount Hakon-en. It was a very cloudy day and we were not able to see anything from the mountaintop. We then took the bullet train back to Tokyo. Our guide was very professional and spoke English very well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mimi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour bus picked us up from the hotel to go to the bus depot. Once there, you will find the real bus for your tour. The bus ride to Mt Fuji is long, about 2 hours, but our guide was informative and her English is good enough. Even though that day was cloudy, she was very concerned for us whether we will see Mt Fuji's top. Both her and the driver intentionally looked out for us. They purposefully stopped and let the whole bus out for the 5 minute window when the clouds parted to let us see and take pictures of the mountain top. Once at 5th station, we stopped and buy souvenirs. Afterward, we had an authentic Japanese lunch. If you don't eat fish, don't order the lunch because that is the main lunch, it is one whole piece of rainbow trout from head to tail. The lunch was definitely tasty and authentic though. There is a side chicken dish too, with soba, some vegetable tempura and miso soup. We then went to Hakone and on the boat. The boat is not the pirate boat, so a little bit disappointing, but still a good ride. Then we got on the gondola to go to the top. They packed us quite tight in the gondola, so not too enjoyable. That day was very foggy too, so we couldn't see anything while at the top of the mountain here. The guide tried to teach us a Japanese song and also how to fold Mount Fuji using origami paper. We left to go back to Tokyo on the bullet train. The guide even taught us how to get back to the hotel from Tokyo station. It was definitely a full and long day of fun. We didn't get back to Tokyo till about 7 pm. I would definitely recommend anyone who what to see Mount Fuji, just pray for good weather on your day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ian Lehr United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip has a lot of time spent on the bus, but you do learn a lot while on your way to the locations. The locations are great and the event for Lake Ashi is amazing! The bullet train back is a great way to travel and shows you the difference in speed to locations.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Molly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great day on this tour. We managed to get to the 5th station. Had an excellent Japanese lunch and the ride on the bullet train was fantastic. Would do this trip again. So much more to see.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Kelvin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. It was great to be so close to the top of Mt Fuji even in summer when it was not covered with snow. The ride back in the bullet train was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sandra V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular! We were able to see the summit of Mt Fuji emerge from the clouds on a really beautiful day. Both the boat and tram ride were great, with excellent views of Mt Fuji. The scenery on the way to the bullet train was amazing. The bullet train ride was a great deal of fun. Great day!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

james.jeffers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide Mary was great. We loved every moment from the time we boarded the bus to riding the Bullet Train. Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi was the breath taking. We saw so much of Japan in one day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mika-San was a great guide. We were fortunate to see the mountain from many locations. It rained a bit so we left the 5th station quickly. It was very crowded so it won't have been much fun anyway. We had lunch nearby which was wonderful and perhaps the best part of the trip was Lake Ashi and Mount Hakone. We got a great view of Fuji from the top of Mt. Hakone too. The Bullet train back in was an entertaining novelty as well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jayendra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is by far the best value for money. The tour guide Sake San is fantastic. Gives you a great overview of Yamanashi and Mt Fuji and Hakaone areas. You cant get a bus tour with so many things tied to it...pickup from the city, Mt Fuji, Boat ride on a beautiful lake, Lift tickets to a scenic mountain, and a ride back on a Shinkansen bullet train...all for less than 150. Its amazing value. Only tip...dont spend too much time in that gift shop at Mt Fuji 5th station..as youve got only 30 min. Enjoy the view from different areas..take a small hike if u can. Trinkets can wait.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

JOY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a long bus trip to see Mt. Fuji due to a traffic accident and had a limited time to spend in the 5th station to take pictures of Mt. Fuji. We were fortunate that we were able to see the peak of the mountain before we left and was able to take good shots. Our tour guide made sure that we were able to make it to our other scheduled tours in time. The lunch was great! The Lake Ashi boat trip was scenic though brief. The sky cable train was wonderful! To top it off we were able to take the bullet train back to Tokyo. We are glad that we chose this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cecilia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were very happy with our tour of Mt Fuji. Our guide, Take, was organized, friendly and knowledgeable. The forecast called for clouds in the afternoon so he adjusted our schedule so that we would be sure and see the mountain while the skies were clear. The bullet train ride on the way back was also fun!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Denise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip it was a long ride from hotel to get to Mount Fuji but well worth it we did see more of Tokyo which was interesting unfortunately we could not go as far up the mountain as planned due to snow which is unpredictable also our boat trip was cancelled due to high winds but guide managed to get us on a similar trip then the bullet train was absolutely awesome all my party enjoyed the full day out a which was very good value for money not to be missed

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lare

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great way to spend a day out-of Tokyo. Unfortunately it rained most of our day so we didn't get to see the top of Mt Fuji san due to low hanging clouds. The rest of the tour was enjoyable, especially the bullet train ride back.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

JOSE L. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing, although we couldn and #39;t get to the 5th station due to the weather conditions, we were able to see Mt Fuji clearly. We also didn and #39;t get to do the cable car because it was windy, but we did a smaller version and the view was amazing. The Bullet train was quite an experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was exactly as described. Ellie our tour guide was informative and lovely. We enjoyed the ride to Station 5 of Mt Fuji. Then we were off to Hakone to Lake Ashi for lunch and the tram ride with unbelievable views. The bullet train ride back was fast! Just being on the platform and seeing the bullet trains wiz by was an experience!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

claudine d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were very lucky in that it was a perfect, clear day and we could see Mt Fuji clearly. The tour operator is very professional and the guide Marie was a gem. She has an amazing sense of humour and her stories were very entertaining. The ride on the lake and then up the cable cart was an amazing way to experience the scenery. The bullet train was an appreciated extra experience made hassle free with the expert assistance of our guide.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Harold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip. Fuji San did herself proud and we were able to get some photos before the cloud rolled in. Lake Ashi is beautiful. The bullet train was an experience not to be missed. Our guide says he does this tour 5 times a week, and his knowledge showed it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day. So often famous sights disappoint a little, but the views of Mt Fuji from the coach were spectacular - seats on the left side of the bus are better for views though guide encourages people to move around so everyone can take good pictures. The guide was excellent, giving lots of information throughout the day. The boat trip and cable car were good and then all wrapped up with half an hour or so on the bullet train. Whole family had a great time and really enjoyed the day. Highly recommended way to get a lot of great experiences for an excellent price.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message