Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 739 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Molly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great day on this tour. We managed to get to the 5th station. Had an excellent Japanese lunch and the ride on the bullet train was fantastic. Would do this trip again. So much more to see.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Kelvin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. It was great to be so close to the top of Mt Fuji even in summer when it was not covered with snow. The ride back in the bullet train was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sandra V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Spectacular! We were able to see the summit of Mt Fuji emerge from the clouds on a really beautiful day. Both the boat and tram ride were great, with excellent views of Mt Fuji. The scenery on the way to the bullet train was amazing. The bullet train ride was a great deal of fun. Great day!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

james.jeffers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide Mary was great. We loved every moment from the time we boarded the bus to riding the Bullet Train. Mt. Fuji and Lake Ashi was the breath taking. We saw so much of Japan in one day. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mika-San was a great guide. We were fortunate to see the mountain from many locations. It rained a bit so we left the 5th station quickly. It was very crowded so it won't have been much fun anyway. We had lunch nearby which was wonderful and perhaps the best part of the trip was Lake Ashi and Mount Hakone. We got a great view of Fuji from the top of Mt. Hakone too. The Bullet train back in was an entertaining novelty as well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jayendra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is by far the best value for money. The tour guide Sake San is fantastic. Gives you a great overview of Yamanashi and Mt Fuji and Hakaone areas. You cant get a bus tour with so many things tied to it...pickup from the city, Mt Fuji, Boat ride on a beautiful lake, Lift tickets to a scenic mountain, and a ride back on a Shinkansen bullet train...all for less than 150. Its amazing value. Only tip...dont spend too much time in that gift shop at Mt Fuji 5th station..as youve got only 30 min. Enjoy the view from different areas..take a small hike if u can. Trinkets can wait.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

JOY

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a long bus trip to see Mt. Fuji due to a traffic accident and had a limited time to spend in the 5th station to take pictures of Mt. Fuji. We were fortunate that we were able to see the peak of the mountain before we left and was able to take good shots. Our tour guide made sure that we were able to make it to our other scheduled tours in time. The lunch was great! The Lake Ashi boat trip was scenic though brief. The sky cable train was wonderful! To top it off we were able to take the bullet train back to Tokyo. We are glad that we chose this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cecilia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were very happy with our tour of Mt Fuji. Our guide, Take, was organized, friendly and knowledgeable. The forecast called for clouds in the afternoon so he adjusted our schedule so that we would be sure and see the mountain while the skies were clear. The bullet train ride on the way back was also fun!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Denise F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful trip it was a long ride from hotel to get to Mount Fuji but well worth it we did see more of Tokyo which was interesting unfortunately we could not go as far up the mountain as planned due to snow which is unpredictable also our boat trip was cancelled due to high winds but guide managed to get us on a similar trip then the bullet train was absolutely awesome all my party enjoyed the full day out a which was very good value for money not to be missed

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lare

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great way to spend a day out-of Tokyo. Unfortunately it rained most of our day so we didn't get to see the top of Mt Fuji san due to low hanging clouds. The rest of the tour was enjoyable, especially the bullet train ride back.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

JOSE L. F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was amazing, although we couldn and #39;t get to the 5th station due to the weather conditions, we were able to see Mt Fuji clearly. We also didn and #39;t get to do the cable car because it was windy, but we did a smaller version and the view was amazing. The Bullet train was quite an experience.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was exactly as described. Ellie our tour guide was informative and lovely. We enjoyed the ride to Station 5 of Mt Fuji. Then we were off to Hakone to Lake Ashi for lunch and the tram ride with unbelievable views. The bullet train ride back was fast! Just being on the platform and seeing the bullet trains wiz by was an experience!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

claudine d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were very lucky in that it was a perfect, clear day and we could see Mt Fuji clearly. The tour operator is very professional and the guide Marie was a gem. She has an amazing sense of humour and her stories were very entertaining. The ride on the lake and then up the cable cart was an amazing way to experience the scenery. The bullet train was an appreciated extra experience made hassle free with the expert assistance of our guide.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Harold

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic trip. Fuji San did herself proud and we were able to get some photos before the cloud rolled in. Lake Ashi is beautiful. The bullet train was an experience not to be missed. Our guide says he does this tour 5 times a week, and his knowledge showed it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic day. So often famous sights disappoint a little, but the views of Mt Fuji from the coach were spectacular - seats on the left side of the bus are better for views though guide encourages people to move around so everyone can take good pictures. The guide was excellent, giving lots of information throughout the day. The boat trip and cable car were good and then all wrapped up with half an hour or so on the bullet train. Whole family had a great time and really enjoyed the day. Highly recommended way to get a lot of great experiences for an excellent price.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cynthia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a stellar tour. Hiro-San was a very informative guide, and the weather provided what was likely the clearest day of the season so far. We got up close and personal when we were able to ascend to the fifth station, and then had long distance views from -- and high above -- the surface of Lake Ashi. The included lunch was artfully presented and one of the best of my entire time in Japan. Hotel Regina. Be prepared: the tour ends at the end of the bullet train ride at Tokyo station. You will need to navigate back to your destination from there, but our guide was very helpful in making sure we knew what to do. Thank you, Hiro-San!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Debra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wow.. what a fabulous day! Anne was our tour guide, extremely helpful, polite and friendly.
We left Tokyo on a wet morning and thought we didn't stand a chance of seeing Mt Fuji. Anne pointed out many interesting sights on our journey towards Fuji, stopping at Lake Kawaguchiko to stretch our legs and take some photos, before heading to Fuji National Park. As the weather had been extremely cold, snowing the previous few days, it meant the bus was only allowed get to the 1st gate in the national park not higher up to the 5th, as we'd expected. It didn't matter, everyone enjoyed the crisp cold air, the trees laiden with snow, many people made snow balls, and everyone was taking photos while keeping an eye out for the elusive top of Mt Fuji. After a half hour break, we got back into the coach, heading to a local hotel for a traditional lunch. While we enjoyed our delicious meal, the weather cleared and sun appeared... then .. so did Mt Fuji. There she was, in all her glory. How spectacular and how privileged we were. We actually got half an hour where we could see the complete mountain top and most of the mountain itself, in all its glory, with fluffy white clouds occasionally floating by. Anne explained we were extremely lucky, as its a rare sight. Cameras and iPhones were busy capturing photos and the mood was buoyant. Everyone got back on the coach and we headed towards Lake Ashi for a short cruise that included commentary about the local Hakone Mountains. The Hakone Komagatake Ropeway ride was shortly afterwards, however the weather had closed in again, so it was foggy at the top of the mountain, and cameras weren't required. On a sunny day, the view would be spectacular. Our driver collected us for the journey home, with some opting to stay on the bus the balance being dropped at Odawara Station to catch the bullet train back to Tokyo. We took the bullet train ... wow... it was quick, quiet, clean and a great experience. We HIGHLY recommend this trip

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Recommend to anyone considering. Ordered the vegetarian meal for lunch as I'm not much for raw foods. Guide spoke good English. Enough time at Mt Fuji. Lake Ashi tour was nice too. Met some nice people on the tour bus too! Bullet train was cool. And even navigated the Tokyo subway to get back to my hotel. Great day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

irving

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic experience with a most experienced travel guide , the Mount, The Lake, The Bullet Train a time to always remember Robert Irving

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Charms Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Bullet Train was so exciting, second time for us but we were somewhat disappointed there was not much snow in December.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

FULGENCIO A USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A must see tourist attraction in Tokyo. We had a very helpful and knowlegeable tour guide, who speaks pretty good English. We ate lunch at a vey nice place, where we had a chance to take picture with a Ninja women. I love everything that was included in the tour, the cable car ride up to the mountain to see Mt. Fuji, and especially the bullet train ride from Mt. Fuji to Tokyo at 300 KM. per hour speed. Highly Recommended to every tourists visiting Tokyo

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bhavani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a great tour to see Mount Fuji. You can have a taste of every transportation system in Japan. Go by bus, boat ride, cable car and return by Bullet train. We enjoyed. Our guide was patient and great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

jesselgonzales

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was a pleasant trip, nice and sunny day as we have reached station 5 and saw the peak of Mt. Fuji as clear as the sky. The tour is more better than what we expected. And the best was our tour guide, She never loss sight of us until we went back home from our ride on bullet train. I highly recommend this trip. Domo arigato Gosaimasu !

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Matthew J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommended. The weather could play a big part in the enjoyment of this trip, and for us it played nice. Fuji was amazing, lunch was good at an amusement park! and Lake Ashi was cold/windy, but still beautiful. Took the bullet train back, which is really the only way to travel. DO THIS TRIP if you're going to be in Tokyo for any longer than 3 days.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very good organised. The lunch was amazing - so I strongly recommend to include lunch as it was delicious and a very fair price. Ride on the bullet train was great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message