Japanese bullet trains, known locally as Shinkansen, are among the fastest in the world and routinely reach speeds of close to 200mph (320 km/h), easily linking major cities throughout Japan with one another. Trend-defining safety, pressurized ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 826 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Emma J United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent Tour from start to finish. We were collected from our hotel, even though it was not on the official list and taken to depot to get tour bus. Very efficient and everything ran like clock work. Fantastic guide, who entertained us with information on the Japanese culture, foods, language and writing through the 2 hour journey to the first stop on Mount Fuji. We had plenty of time to take pictures, before moving on to a lake side view, lunch a lake cruise and cable car up another mountain for spectacular views and finished with the bullet train. The guide was with us for the whole trip including the train, providing information on where to get off and how to find our way back to our hotel. I should also mention the lunch, which was a traditional Japanese meal, and excellent. we were very fortunate with the weather, but it is worth checking the long term forecast for Mount Fuji as there are many days when the view is more restricted. Through the day we had bright sun shine, sleet and snow so would suggest bringing layers. The trip was good value and I would highly recommend it even if you only do one trip from Tokyo.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Carolien S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Highlights of taking Japan tours with Viator:
- You aren't stuck with the same people for the entire tour! They separated our 3 day tour into morning and afternoon sessions, each with people joining and leaving. That means we didn't have to put up with each other long enough to become familiar with each others' annoying habits. You know what I'm talking about if you've done overseas tours before. Not a great thing if you're touring alone because there isn't such a great sense of community.
- Public transportation in Japan is NOT tourist friendly. We are pretty well versed with international subway/train/bus navigation but we would've been completely lost without this tour. It was amazing to literally have a staff member guide us through train stations to the very platform and correct train and have a staff member waiting directly outside of our train exit at our destination. Specifically for this 3-day tour, we had someone pick us up from the hotel in Tokyo on day 1, take us to a bus terminal where they had all their tourists separate into groups and get on correct tour buses. After the day-long tour the bus dropped us off at Tokyo station with someone who gave us our bullet train cards and walked us up to the correct platform and train car entrance. When we arrived in Kyoto there was someone who knew our names and seat numbers who met us at the platform and walked us into the lobby of our hotel If the hotel wasn't within walking distance they would have had a taxi ready for us. Day 2 we were picked up and dropped off at the hotel. Day 3 we spent on our own and at 6pm we met a Viator staff member in the lobby who walked us to the platform of the bullet train back to Tokyo. Again, someone met us at the exit of the train in Tokyo and walked us to a taxi they had waiting. It was already paid for and the driver knew where to take us.
-Recommendations: New Miyako hotel in Kyoto. Very nice, across the street from the train station, next to a mall with a food court, and walking distance from a 5 story pagoda and Toji temple for your day off. Tobu Tokyo Levant Hotel if you decide to go back to Tokyo after the tour. It's in the Asakusa district which has everything you want to see/do.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

SUSAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wow! What a great way to spend the day outside of the city. Traditional Japanese lunch was superb! Seeing Mount Fuji from the lake was nice. I was disappointed the gates were closed going to Station 5, so we only viewed Mount Fuji from Station 1 snow halted our progression, so no fault to anyone. Everything was well timed throughout the day. The guide spoke English well. And the Shinkansen high speed bullet train...FANTASTIC!! I definitely recommend this tour and taking the train back to Tokyo. I really appreciated that the tour guide went out of her way to make sure I got on the correct train from Tokyo Station.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

teresam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Mount Fuji. Beautiful views through the clouds. As for The Bullet Train.....amazing.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sharon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour and lots of experiences. Guide Hiro, was very informed and good fun. Good English speaking too so very understandable. Mount Fuji was phenomenal and stunning scenery, definitely a must do if you're visiting Japan or Tokyo. We got the bullet train going back and that's another experience not to be missed. Overall, a really good day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Edmond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The two most memorable moments of the trip were to see Mount Fuji's ice cap glistening in the midday sun and a bullet train swishing through Odawara Station at full speed. I understand now why it is called a bullet train. The whole length of the train sped by within a few seconds. The tour was well planned and everything proceed precisely and on time.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Don B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is an excel the tour if Mount Fuji is visible. On our day the mountain was completely clear due too the high winds. When we arrived at Mount Fuji we couldn't go to the planned 5th station due to snow, so we had to settle with the Mount Fuji visitors centre which still gave us spectacular views. We departed for a traditional Japanese lunch which was outstanding. Our tour was supposed to take us to a cable car and boat ride at Hakoone but due too the winds both were shut down. We had an excel the guide who worked her magic to change the intinarery to another cable car and boat ride which was closer giving us more views of Mount Fuji. We ended up driving through Hakoone on our way to the Bullet train ride which ended our day. I would recommend this tour but watch the weather as our guide told us that Mount Fuji is only visible 30 of the time.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The day trip via bus to Mt. Fuji was very good. The guide made adjustments to our itinneary due to high winds and everything worked out very well. The bullet train home was quite the experience as well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Stuart B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very well organized, pick up at local hotel bullet train tickets at the ready... escorted to the train to ensure you get in at the right carriage, the night has to be the 2.15min on the train seeing the lay of the land... no delays as the bullet had its own dedicated line... either over a road or under no crossing.. well and truly worth the price for the whole day out. Stuart

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Georgette A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fuji is so iconic and when you arrive there you will see why. The only drawback to our tour was that we could only go to Station 4 as opposed to Station 5 because of snow on the road up the mountain. The lake tour was fun and the catamaran was huge. The weather was cold January but the cabins offered warmth and great views. The gondola up Mt. K was fun and the views of Fuji from there along with the bay and the lake were indescribably beautiful. And as the cherry on top, if you have never seen the bullet train in action or been on board a bullet train, you are in for a treat. Amazing technology. Great tour guide. The Japanese style lunch in the middle was fantastic.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Sylvie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a wonderful day trip. Lots packed into the day. In addition to the breathtaking views of and from Mt. Fuji, we had a gondola ride up a mountain for more great views of Mt. Fuji, a wonderful lunch, and a boat ride across Lake Ashi. Completed the day with the Bullet train ride home, that had us all gasping at it's speed. Our guide, Anne, was full of cultural information and tidbits, and kept us entertained on the bus ride. She taught us how to make Mt. Fuji out of origami, and had us trying to open puzzle boxes for the candy prizes inside! Lastly, she made sure all of us knew how to get back to our destinations once off the train, even having printed off metro maps for us with our paths highlighted.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

sweenchris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very well down and very economical. Considering you get lunch, a bus trip and a ride on the bullet train the trip pays for itself there. However, this is perfect trip for one day adventure outside Tokyo. The trip is extremely well-organized. You spend just enough time to see everything without staying at a location too long. Make sure you shop around at the bottom of the cable ride and indulge at the bakery.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Yuliya J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic and comfortable coach tour with one very nice selfless and informative guide. We had the best front seats on a coach due to my motion sickness. Very friendly and accommodating tour provider, timely and so very well organised. We loved the views, the Japanese language lessons on a coach, traditional lunch/meal with ninja and geisha with mountain views was a must see and try!!!! Lake Ashi was so beautiful!!!! Bullet train back to Tokyo was so very exciting! We loved it, although it is not cheap, but nothing is cheap in Tokyo. It has made our experience very special indeed. We would have struggled to organise all that by ourselves and it would end up costing more. So just do it, it is one fabulous memory!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

barrie.slee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day out and incredibly well organised from start to finish- great sights lovely lunch tour guides were all excellent
The Bullet train is incredible - smooth and efficient

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We were lucky to see Mount Fuji on a clear day. Lake Ashi was quite foggy, and the bullet train trip back to Tokyo was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

janelives25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent way to see a lot in a short space of time. The organisation was exceptional. At every stage of the journey we were met by Sunrise tour guides who made sure that we were well looked after.
The visit to Mount Fuji was wonderful. We were lucky to have such brilliant weather so we were able to catch glimpses of the mountain from just outside Tokyo. It was very busy when we arrived at the fifth station and very cold. The area was full of tourist shops but it was easy to turn your back on them and enjoy the beauty of the snow clad summit glistening in the sun.
Back down to ground level and we enjoyed a very good lunch of local food with a good vegetarian option too.
On to Lake Ashi. The boat trip was really hardly worth the effort but it took us to the cable car station and, again, it was very crowded. But we were moved to the front in order to get to the top to enjoy the views before the sunset. Mount Fuji, the lake and out to the Pacific ocean....beautiful.
There were just three of us continuing to Kyoto on the bullet train and the journey involved a change with just 4 minutes to make our connection. This could have been quite a challenge but the organisation was perfect. We were accompanied to the first train and given numbered seats. At the transfer station another guide was waiting for us as we arrived and she took us to the next train. At Kyoto we were met by yet another guide who took us to a taxi to take us to the hotel.
The hotel was lovely with a big, comfortable room and very well situated with a Starbucks next door and a 7-11 just across the road.
The next day consisted of two tours. The morning tour concentrated on the sights of Kyoto. A bit hectic but lots to see and a very informative guide.We had a buffet lunch with plenty of choices at a heritage centre. In the afternoon we headed out to Nara and the beautiful parks and temples with an excellent guide who showed us some different aspects and explained the history.
Another night in Kyoto and we had the next day to explore for ourselves. We really enjoyed the amazing street market selling anything and everything.
The return journey to Tokyo, also on the bullet train was equally stress free.
As first timers in Japan, this was an excellent trip and it has given us lots of ideas for a return visit and left us very impressed with the Japanese transport system.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

C A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was fantastic........very good value for money and an excellent tour guide Hero.
We were very lucky with the weather, having excellent views of the magnificent Mt Fuji from many different aspects.
The tour was actioned packed with a traditional Japanese lunch, a lake cruise, cable car ride, viewing of an active volcano and a ride on the bullet train back to Tokyo.
I highly recommend this tour and is a must do while in Tokyo.
JPT

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

shereelan8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour.
We went to Mt. Fuji on the first day, the sky was clouded at the beginning when we get to the 5th point. Couldn't see any of the Mt. Fuji even we were right next to it. Fortunately the sun came out and we had a wonderful view.
The tram ride up to Mt. Komagatake was the best part of the trip. We took many pictures.
The bullet train ride was well organized, there were tour guides at each stop to greet us and took us to the next train track.
Hotel is fine, we did not upgrade to the better one. It is in the middle of the town and have plenty of restaurants.
Kyoto and Nara trip was very nice. We came at the right time, the foliage was so pretty,
The scenery and the tour experience was the best, we enjoyed so much!!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Mary K C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour! I was the only person going from Tokyo that day. I was met at my hotel and then at the transfer bus station by my own private guide. She got me onto the bullet train and didn't leave until it took off. Then, in Kyoto, when the doors of my car opened, another guide was waiting for me to take to to an excellent, excellent lunch at a nearby hotel. Then, yet another guide got me to a city tour where there were other travelers and we saw the major sites of Kyoto. Then, the process was reversed to get me home. I felt pampered, safe and I had a great time. So glad I did this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

PENG YEW C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an enjoyable trip and the weather is perfect as we are blessed to see Mount Fuji in a clear sky. Tour guide is informative and helpful. Beautiful scenery, beautiful autumn colors and bullet train ride is a great experience to us.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bryan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was very memorable since it covered many unique experience all rolled into 1 day. The relaxing cruise, the cold weather at Mt Fuji 5th station, the cable car ride, and capped off with a bullet train ride back to Tokyo. Schedule was good despite the peak season for tours and the guide adjusted well so we get to see attractions first and avoid queues. A must-try!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Joanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Mt Fuji Lake Ashi Hakone and ride on a bullet train. Our guide was exceptional. Sit back and enjoy. We did not think it was rushed. Thanks

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Brooke B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a great day. Picked up at our hotel as promised. Very engaging tour guide and excellent bus driver. We were given lots of information and questions were answered as needed. Weather was excellent so we did see the top of Mt. Fugi. Bullet train ride was good and very fast as expected. We were given enough time to look around and shop as well which is important when you are so far away from home. The day could not have been better.
From Canada

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Anthony H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a long day but worth it ! We were lucky to see Mt Fuji as it was misty earlier but by the time we arrived it was clear . Our guide Mika made the tour interesting and informative , talking about Japan in general not just our trip. Weather was great so enjoyed the boat trip on Lake Ashi and the cable car up the mountain ........which was covered in cold fog at the top .Bullet train back to Tokyo was a highlight too , it really does get a move on ! ! An expensive day out but well worth it .

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Zaki A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was very well organised and everything ran according to plan ... it was pretty foggy when we were on our way up to the fifth station but the fog lifted and everyone in the bus went wild ... haha. The tour guide Hiro was very knowledgeable and offered a wide range of information and history about Tokyo and the tour we were on. He was very engaging indeed and was effortlessly hilarious. He even sang us a song about Mount Fuji being he best mountain ever ... we think Hiro is the best!
We had a great lunch at the restaurant and the bullet train ride home was the icing on the cake. I would recommend this tour to everyone. No regrets!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message