The snow-capped peak of cone-shaped Mount Fuji can be seen from Tokyo on a clear day. Regardless of the weather, it can be reached by bullet train or coach bus in a matter of hours. Day trips to Mt. Fuji allow visitors to explore one of Japan's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Azra Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a tour that should not be missed while in Japan. everything ran like a clock work. one thing i like about Japanese culture is the precise timing , i can see as to why that is necessary with such a large population as in Tokyo. from the moment we were picked up at the hotel by a luxury coach and taken to the bus station for a ride to Mt Fuji. our tour director was Noriko and all i can say she was so professional and informative about the places we were at and where we were going to, she thought us how to count in Japanese and explained all about the bento box a very balanced lunch box I'm getting one definetly . i wish we can have her on our next trip to Japan. it was unfortunate that it was foggy and rainy that day so we couldn't see the top of mt Fuji but we did see hundreds of people preparing for a long climb to top of Mt Fuji, something that every person in Japan feels they should do at least once in their life time if not every year. after that we had a traditional Japanese lunch and yes you do have to take your shoes off, so make sure you don't have any holes in them. it was delicious if you are adventurous to try something different and apt to the place where you are. fortunetly for all of us later in the day we did see Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake.. drive through Hakone, the boat ride and also the ropeway was so panoramic all the way from where you could see the beautiful lake Ashi and a golf course to die for. i couldn't understand the people that were sleeping all the way and missing the luscious forests, rice paddies and just seeing Japan nature,it was fantastic. as we were couple of hours late for a day trip on the bullet train back to Tokyo we had to do it at night so we couldn't see anything outside. at the speed of 330km an hour i don't think we could have seen much anyway. it was a very pleasant and comfortable journey and would recommend it to everyone. thank you Noriko for taking care of us and making sure we new how to get back home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Take was a first rate guide! Great day trip out of Toyko, plenty too see and do. Got to see Mt Fuji after the clouds burned off.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Geri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very interesting and informative guide who made this trip very worthwhile.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

cknight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous informative tour, mountain was covered in cloud so that was disappointing but not something that can be controlled.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alison W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was wonderful. That wind/ice cave was a really great place to be in the highest heat of summer. It was mystical, dark, beautiful and everything we expected.

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent Tour, and especially our tour guide Yukiko Kubo. She definitely made the tour interesting. She went the extra mile to make sure we made it on the bullet train, and even confirmed with my hotel the best way to get back to the airport.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Louise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ellie was a fantastic tor guide and the day was brilliant. Despite the fog stopping us having the best view of Mt Fuji, the day was not spoiled. There is so much more to the tour than just this. The Japanese lunch was amazing, lots of choice for less adventurous pallets!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on a bus tour from Tokyo to Mount Fuji. We went to the fifth station and were able to see the peak of the mountain from that point. We had the opportunity to walk around at the fifth station and to see the shrine. We had a Japanese lunch at a very nice hotel. We then took a very short 15 minute boat ride on Lake Hakon-en to the ropeway for Mount Hakon-en. It was a very cloudy day and we were not able to see anything from the mountaintop. We then took the bullet train back to Tokyo. Our guide was very professional and spoke English very well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Darn the fog otherwise we really loved our trip to Mount Fugi and the other attached activities. Our guide did a magnificent job including great instructions on how to return to our hotel on the subway.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Despite being a semi-long bus ride to Mt. Fuji our tour guide gave us mini informative lessons on Japan, Japanese culture, language, and even some fun games. She was super knowledgeable and helpful and made the entire trip a delight.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

William E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was great, very knowledgable and funny. Tour itself was amazing, shame the weather turned half way through but would recommend it to anyone nevertheless. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Nicholas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was fun getting there. Mt. Fuji was covered in fog though. We went to the Ice Caves. The only issue was the ride back. We had to make multiple stops and traffic was bad. I would have like an express ticket with no hassles. Our bus was late. We musta waited 1hr The good thing is that they ordered tickets in advance. Our ice cave tour guide was awesome. Please share my email address with him!

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

Mimi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour bus picked us up from the hotel to go to the bus depot. Once there, you will find the real bus for your tour. The bus ride to Mt Fuji is long, about 2 hours, but our guide was informative and her English is good enough. Even though that day was cloudy, she was very concerned for us whether we will see Mt Fuji's top. Both her and the driver intentionally looked out for us. They purposefully stopped and let the whole bus out for the 5 minute window when the clouds parted to let us see and take pictures of the mountain top. Once at 5th station, we stopped and buy souvenirs. Afterward, we had an authentic Japanese lunch. If you don't eat fish, don't order the lunch because that is the main lunch, it is one whole piece of rainbow trout from head to tail. The lunch was definitely tasty and authentic though. There is a side chicken dish too, with soba, some vegetable tempura and miso soup. We then went to Hakone and on the boat. The boat is not the pirate boat, so a little bit disappointing, but still a good ride. Then we got on the gondola to go to the top. They packed us quite tight in the gondola, so not too enjoyable. That day was very foggy too, so we couldn't see anything while at the top of the mountain here. The guide tried to teach us a Japanese song and also how to fold Mount Fuji using origami paper. We left to go back to Tokyo on the bullet train. The guide even taught us how to get back to the hotel from Tokyo station. It was definitely a full and long day of fun. We didn't get back to Tokyo till about 7 pm. I would definitely recommend anyone who what to see Mount Fuji, just pray for good weather on your day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Wassam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of the best I have ever taken. The staff was very kind, nice and helpful. The bus ride filled with great information about the surrounding area and Japan in general. It was really 11 hours of constant enjoyment.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ashley R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

So much fun. One of our fa visited days of the trip. Myka (Mikah?) Was so pleasant and helpful!! We loved every second of this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is a great value a wide range of beautiful scenery, convenient transportation, ample opportunities for souvenirs, and our guide, Tohko-san, was knowledgeable and charming. I recommend the bullet train option: It'll get you back to the city in speed an comfort, and is an experience in itself!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Rhoda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My entire family had a great time. We thought Mt Fuji was the highlight and that was it. But the sightseeing to Lake Ashi and Mt Komagatake were also unforgettable.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Lynne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome trip. Only suggestion would be that the Onsen could be done after the shopping.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Cheryl.w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best day. Very informative. Great value for money.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Bronte E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was very informative and went out of her way to ensure that we had a great time. We went in the rainy season so we couldn't see the whole of mount Fuji, but up past the fifth station we got some good views of the peak above the clouds. Highly recommend tour, you wont be disappointed!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Joshua P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My partner and I aren't usually tour people and prefer to do our own thing when travelling, however, we definitely recommend this tour. Marie the tour guide is a wealth of knowledge and has a very good sense of humor. The tour itself is well set out and includes the beautiful Hakone. Lunch was FANTASTIC with a chankonabe-like dish. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

SARAH G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was a brilliant way to conclude our trip. Our tour guide, Makota (or something :-/ ) was brilliant. He was hilarious and knew so much, definitely made the experience. The day was well planned and we had a great time. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

sunil n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Now this is a trip that is far better than the description! The 5th station was a waste of time however since you just go to a souvenir shop and buy junk - but the rest of the trip was fantastic. The Mt Komagatake Ropeway offers unbelievable views of Mt Fuji - picture perfect views atop a mountain that is near Mt Fuji. You will be above the clouds and the views of the summit of Mt. Fuji are spectacular. You are not going to climb Mt Fuji though of course - but surely the views of Mt Fuji from the top of Mt Fuji are not going to be very good!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

steven r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

well organised and was a great exsperance

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message