The snow-capped peak of cone-shaped Mount Fuji can be seen from Tokyo on a clear day. Regardless of the weather, it can be reached by bullet train or coach bus in a matter of hours. Day trips to Mt. Fuji allow visitors to explore one of Japan's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4349 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour. Our tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We were lucky to see Mount Fuji on a clear day. Lake Ashi was quite foggy, and the bullet train trip back to Tokyo was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Linda L V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We visited in January 2017. Our guide Natori kept us informed and entertained on the bus ride out of Tokyo. It was a warm day and very sunny. Mt Fuji was clear and we had excellent views. We had the Japanese lunch at Highland resort, but there is another restaurant there as well. A great trip.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

atirado

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome day in Mt Fuji. THe ride in the Shinkansen is very fun.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

C A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour was fantastic........very good value for money and an excellent tour guide Hero.
We were very lucky with the weather, having excellent views of the magnificent Mt Fuji from many different aspects.
The tour was actioned packed with a traditional Japanese lunch, a lake cruise, cable car ride, viewing of an active volcano and a ride on the bullet train back to Tokyo.
I highly recommend this tour and is a must do while in Tokyo.
JPT

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

AMY W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What an amazing tour! I have never been to Japan, and only had a few days. Spending the day on this tour was the highlight of my trip. Not only touring Tokyo, riding the train, but also seeing Mt Fuji and very quant towns that surround the mountain. I learned so much. The guide was fun and so informative. This was my 2nd Viator tour first was in Frankfurt I will definitely book more thru Viator!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic Tour! Very Good Value for Money. Our guide ITO-San was like having your very own Japanese Grandmother on for the ride.
Not only do you see Mt Fuji and Hakone up close but you also get brilliant insight of the daily life of the modern Japan. The lunch was authentic Japanese cuisine at it's best. One of the best things we did in Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Jamie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

No words can describe how beautiful Mt. Fuji was. It was breathe taking and i am so happy to have had the opportunity to go on this tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

roy.beveridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour
Mt Fuji well worth it
Bus tour and people great.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

isabel_0118

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was beyond amazing and worth every single dime, we had perfect weather and were very lucky to experience Mt. Fuji from many different angles. Highly recommended by far the best experience we had in Japan

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ran H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even on a rainy day, we enjoyed the trip very much. Our guide was very accommodating and flexible on the visiting site based on the weather.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Norbertson V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

everything turned out great. the experience was priceless, the tour was wonderful, the views were so awesome and breathtaking!
just make sure to check on the weather forecast to be able to book on a good day and simply enjoy the sites and surroundings!
truly a recommendable package tour...

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jenny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really great, managed to get some really good views with the weather. Host was knowledgeable and entertaining, thanks

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Indrawati T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Perfectly organized! Guide was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Ameanthea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Perfect and organized tour to view Mt. Fuji. Would do it again in a heart beat.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An amazing day and we were lucky enough to get a clear view. Lunch was amazing and Yoko was the best guide.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Karenschmidt4390

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a highlight of our trip for sure. Our guide Take was AMAZING. Probably the best tour guide we have ever had. The day was extremely well organized we had amazing weather and every aspect of the trip was outstanding. Lunch was neat a traditional Japanese lunch and the view of Mount Fuji from the lake we stopped out was out of thus world. The boat ride and rope way car ride was excellent plus we got to ride on the bulket train to rap it up. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Cindy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was by far the highlight of our trip. A very emotional, cold, and beautiful experience.

We started our trip being picked up at the hotel we chose from the list they offer. Our tour guide's name was Yuki, she spoke english, and was very very entertaining with all the historical and custom facts of Japan. I suggest you open up google maps, look up the location of where you are staying and the WALKING distance of the hotels they offer, this will determine which is best for you and depending on the time of the year you visit we went in the cold month of December, but we are Floridians so everything to us is cold you will have some walking to do in the weather period you visit. The bus will leave you upon return Close to the Shinjuku station, again, most cell phone carriers WIFI works so you should be able to GPS it back to your desired location. I am only saying this because people actually complain about this and I do not find it a necessary thing to complain about. You are in a foreign city, learn to navigate it.

We visited Mt. Fuji up to 2,300 meters. They have a shop there with delicious butter steamed corn, cool little Mt Fuji chocolate souvenirs, and a bunch of other nick nacks you can purchase. There are decks to take amazing pictures from that oversee the mountain summit. I suggest you purchase a selfie stick. We were against them until we visited Japan. We were in Mt Fuji for about 45 minutes or so and then headed to a hotel for a delicious traditional hot lunch. This included rice, vegetable tempura, hot miso soup, and other vegetables. My lunch was vegetarian but my husbands was not and it included tuna and he says it was delicious.

After, you will go down beautiful Hakone get those cameras ready because MT FUJI OVERSEES THE WHOLE TOWN, this part for us was iconic. You will go down to the beautiful lake in Hakone, you'll be there for a few minutes or so. Take some pictures. and then head over to take the cable cart which will take you up the mountain adjacent to Mt. Fuji, another great opportunity for images. This mountain has a trail, a couple of shrines, and beautiful views of the surrounding area including the pacific ocean.

Overall this trip was iconic because it was a financial sacrifice for us, but it was also very very indulging, the people were very polite and very charming, the cities are very clean and very organized. I truly believe that this tour is a must-do for all who come to Japan.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Horace O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic!, Tour Guide was excellent! Very enjoyable scenic tour.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Trevor L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed the tour. Our guide was really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ronald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good way to see Mt Fuji and Lake Ashi. Fortunately we had a clear day and were able to see the summit. Tour guide made sure we caught right train back to our hotel too.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Erick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was so great ! Everything was very well organized and The guide was very kind.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Stitch Egg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our Tour Guide his name is Take is very professional, polite, responsible, and patient. He has made the trip very enjoyable. His English is very fluent, giving detailed introduction of Tokyo in general and the sightseeing spots along the bus route. He even sang a Mt. Fuji song for us in Japanese and demonstrated origami on the bus! The driver sorry I didn't get his name is also very professional with safe and stable driving. Bus is clean and comfortable. The onsen venue is nice too, not too crowded. We were very lucky that day to have clear sky and be able to see Mt. Fuji with perfect conical shape and snow on it. Overall, we're very happy with this tour and would highly recommend this tour to other travellers. We would even join a Mt. Fuji hiking tour with this company when it's the right season.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo

Rayhan Tee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was amazing! Definitely recommend!! Aside from making two new friends who were great company as well, our tour guide, Take-san, was amazing. He was very knowledgable about the history of the places and provided sufficient information regarding the places. If you ever wanted to know something about the place, just ask him! I asked him the species of the birds in Lake Ashi and he said that he didn't know what they were. Later on when we got on the bus, he announced to everyone about the species of the birds and what they were, migratory or not etc. It was amazing to see him take that extra step to figure out information for us tourists! He also shared with us his experiences and cool tricks!

Aside from the company and tour guide, the view was amazing! Especially on Mt. Fuji. The weather on that day was surprisingly clear. I did check the weather forecast before booking my date which I highly recommend to do so as if it's cloudy, you might not get to see much at all though as the day got closer, I noticed some other dates that were once supposed to be sunny became cloudy. So it's definitely still a gamble. I was lucky to have the day I booked to stay sunny all the way. It was unusually clear that we could even see the Japanese Alps on the other side of Mt Fuji which Take-san said was unusual! Even to see the snow on the Japanese Alps! Hakone and Lake Ashi was great too. Weather was really really cold and I LOVED it!! It was amazing! Remember to bring gloves and keep warm! Might want to bring ear muffs too if you can't handle the cold!

Stuff I wish could be better :
- Slightly more time on Mt Fuji, prolly like 10 minutes more.
- A better lunch menu. The lunch we had was really average. I would not recommend anyone to eat it lol.

That is all! Will share a bunch of photos soon!

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message