The snow-capped peak of cone-shaped Mount Fuji can be seen from Tokyo on a clear day. Regardless of the weather, it can be reached by bullet train or coach bus in a matter of hours. Day trips to Mt. Fuji allow visitors to explore one of Japan's ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jiong Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was exercellent! We recommended your company to our friends and we will use your company again when we need.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lillian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide with great historical knowledge.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Neil S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide did her best on a very cold and hazy day.:.

Doing what: Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo

Erik R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful experience Mt Fuji and the Bullet very enjoyable day

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jenny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Overall an excellent tour. The agenda, organisation and timing were all very good. The guide was informative, helpful and engaging. The included Japanese lunch was very nice. Just be aware that the guide will leave you at the train station where the bullet train departs. This means you are left to find your own way back to your hotel from the train station where the bullet train terminates. Its well worth experiencing the bullet train - although possibly more exciting on the train station platform as they race past you than on the train itself! However, if you are not confident using the Tokyo train system consider catching a taxi from the station where the bullet train terminates back to your hotel.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Ra Brown Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Was a great day Kanao? the guide she had a wealth of information about the various prefectures we passed through on the drive to Mt Fuji.

Unfortunately for us it was a foggy day up there so we didn't get to see Mount Fuji clearly but that is Nature, So be prepared and have reasonable expectations it not the guides or tour companies fault. Also on Station 5 they have a Gift Shop and Post Office, which I of course sent postcards home to New Zealand to my Grandma / Mum n Dad with the special Mt Fuji stamp.

The other highlight of the day was the cruise around Lake Ashi its such a beautiful region Hakone and even heard it mentioned on TV whilst I was here so clearly as the guide mentioned important for the Japanese culture and people. As you can expect at the terminal before boarding the boat is where you can purchase snacks and gifts from the region. But back to boat ride it was such a pleasant day I wish I could have stayed on the boat longer heck the whole day or explore more of Lake Ashi.

After the lake we headed up to ride the gondolas or Hakone Ropeway which takes you up to Mount Komaga-take the view from the gondola on way down is awesome great photo snap and sometimes you can get a clear view of Mt Fuji. Here they also have supermarket and gift shops but by time we arrived they was closing when we came back down the mountain.

The Top highlight for me was catching the Shinkansen Bullet Train back from Odawara Station to Shingawa Station
Train Station before Tamachi it took about 30-40mins it wasnt long at all but it was interesting
experience and something I have wanted to do since I was a young boy growing up in Rural New Zealand.

So all in all I would recommend this tour especially if you get Kanao I think that was how you spell her name her English is very good and does her best to entertain guests with songs, origami lesson.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Eric S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time, and our guide was funny and very helpful! Highly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Nilanthi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful experience! Hakone still fuming volcano was a marvalous sight. The guide was jovial and helpful.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Barbara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to see Mt Fuji AND experience the bullet train when you only have a limited time available. And although Mt Fuji was in the cloud while we were there, it cleared enough to get some good shots from Lake Ashi stop later in the day despite the odds against it.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Azra Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a tour that should not be missed while in Japan. everything ran like a clock work. one thing i like about Japanese culture is the precise timing , i can see as to why that is necessary with such a large population as in Tokyo. from the moment we were picked up at the hotel by a luxury coach and taken to the bus station for a ride to Mt Fuji. our tour director was Noriko and all i can say she was so professional and informative about the places we were at and where we were going to, she thought us how to count in Japanese and explained all about the bento box a very balanced lunch box I'm getting one definetly . i wish we can have her on our next trip to Japan. it was unfortunate that it was foggy and rainy that day so we couldn't see the top of mt Fuji but we did see hundreds of people preparing for a long climb to top of Mt Fuji, something that every person in Japan feels they should do at least once in their life time if not every year. after that we had a traditional Japanese lunch and yes you do have to take your shoes off, so make sure you don't have any holes in them. it was delicious if you are adventurous to try something different and apt to the place where you are. fortunetly for all of us later in the day we did see Mt Fuji from Mt Komagatake.. drive through Hakone, the boat ride and also the ropeway was so panoramic all the way from where you could see the beautiful lake Ashi and a golf course to die for. i couldn't understand the people that were sleeping all the way and missing the luscious forests, rice paddies and just seeing Japan nature,it was fantastic. as we were couple of hours late for a day trip on the bullet train back to Tokyo we had to do it at night so we couldn't see anything outside. at the speed of 330km an hour i don't think we could have seen much anyway. it was a very pleasant and comfortable journey and would recommend it to everyone. thank you Noriko for taking care of us and making sure we new how to get back home.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Mark H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Take was a first rate guide! Great day trip out of Toyko, plenty too see and do. Got to see Mt Fuji after the clouds burned off.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Geri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very interesting and informative guide who made this trip very worthwhile.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

cknight

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous informative tour, mountain was covered in cloud so that was disappointing but not something that can be controlled.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Alison W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was wonderful. That wind/ice cave was a really great place to be in the highest heat of summer. It was mystical, dark, beautiful and everything we expected.

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent Tour, and especially our tour guide Yukiko Kubo. She definitely made the tour interesting. She went the extra mile to make sure we made it on the bullet train, and even confirmed with my hotel the best way to get back to the airport.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Louise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ellie was a fantastic tor guide and the day was brilliant. Despite the fog stopping us having the best view of Mt Fuji, the day was not spoiled. There is so much more to the tour than just this. The Japanese lunch was amazing, lots of choice for less adventurous pallets!

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Jill W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on a bus tour from Tokyo to Mount Fuji. We went to the fifth station and were able to see the peak of the mountain from that point. We had the opportunity to walk around at the fifth station and to see the shrine. We had a Japanese lunch at a very nice hotel. We then took a very short 15 minute boat ride on Lake Hakon-en to the ropeway for Mount Hakon-en. It was a very cloudy day and we were not able to see anything from the mountaintop. We then took the bullet train back to Tokyo. Our guide was very professional and spoke English very well.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Darn the fog otherwise we really loved our trip to Mount Fugi and the other attached activities. Our guide did a magnificent job including great instructions on how to return to our hotel on the subway.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Despite being a semi-long bus ride to Mt. Fuji our tour guide gave us mini informative lessons on Japan, Japanese culture, language, and even some fun games. She was super knowledgeable and helpful and made the entire trip a delight.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

William E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was great, very knowledgable and funny. Tour itself was amazing, shame the weather turned half way through but would recommend it to anyone nevertheless. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Nicholas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was fun getting there. Mt. Fuji was covered in fog though. We went to the Ice Caves. The only issue was the ride back. We had to make multiple stops and traffic was bad. I would have like an express ticket with no hassles. Our bus was late. We musta waited 1hr The good thing is that they ordered tickets in advance. Our ice cave tour guide was awesome. Please share my email address with him!

Doing what: Mt Fuji and Aokigahara Forest Day Trip from Tokyo

Mimi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour bus picked us up from the hotel to go to the bus depot. Once there, you will find the real bus for your tour. The bus ride to Mt Fuji is long, about 2 hours, but our guide was informative and her English is good enough. Even though that day was cloudy, she was very concerned for us whether we will see Mt Fuji's top. Both her and the driver intentionally looked out for us. They purposefully stopped and let the whole bus out for the 5 minute window when the clouds parted to let us see and take pictures of the mountain top. Once at 5th station, we stopped and buy souvenirs. Afterward, we had an authentic Japanese lunch. If you don't eat fish, don't order the lunch because that is the main lunch, it is one whole piece of rainbow trout from head to tail. The lunch was definitely tasty and authentic though. There is a side chicken dish too, with soba, some vegetable tempura and miso soup. We then went to Hakone and on the boat. The boat is not the pirate boat, so a little bit disappointing, but still a good ride. Then we got on the gondola to go to the top. They packed us quite tight in the gondola, so not too enjoyable. That day was very foggy too, so we couldn't see anything while at the top of the mountain here. The guide tried to teach us a Japanese song and also how to fold Mount Fuji using origami paper. We left to go back to Tokyo on the bullet train. The guide even taught us how to get back to the hotel from Tokyo station. It was definitely a full and long day of fun. We didn't get back to Tokyo till about 7 pm. I would definitely recommend anyone who what to see Mount Fuji, just pray for good weather on your day.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Wassam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was one of the best I have ever taken. The staff was very kind, nice and helpful. The bus ride filled with great information about the surrounding area and Japan in general. It was really 11 hours of constant enjoyment.

Doing what: Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message