It all started with Ieyasu Tokugawa. The year was 1600, and Japan had been in a period of feudal wars and dissonance for over a century. Tokugawa, a military leader in Edo - a sleepy castle town in eastern Japan - won the bloody Battle of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Erik R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent introduction to Tokyo and its local history and culture

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Dswongsze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Don't missed the good deal!!! This is the place must go in Japan. My family have a great time during the tour.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great entertainment, food was delicious, kids lied it!

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Great guide. A good overview of the backstreets and history.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day trip from Tokyo. The temple visit in Nikko felt a little rushed there was plenty of time to enjoy Edo Wonderland.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Eva P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed the tour with a very friendly guide who explained a lot about the daily life in Japan and Kagurazaka became one of my favourite places in Tokyo. Thanks for a great tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Ana Carolina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, The guide had a huge knowledge about the area
and Japanese culture in general.
I had a wonderful time in a part of Tokyo
I would never discover by myself.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the advantage of being the only person on the tour so it was a an opportunity to chat to my guide and to find out not just about where we walked, but about life in modern day Tokyo and Japan. Joy was a very interesting and friendly guide, very enthusiastic about her subject. It was an extremely interesting tour with lovely discoveries tucked away down the tiny streets. To end the tour in a typical bar, the size of a front room, for a drink and a Japanese snack was a great end to the afternoon.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Fatima R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is good. Edo Wonderland is a much if you want to see Geishas and Maikos in their kimonos and Samurai. It's a traditional Japanese theme park where they have shows to enjoy including comedy show in JAPANESE that we didn't understand any word haha! You also get to do Japanese traditional activities.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Gerald d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good trip, very nice guide and good comfortable bus. It was a long trip, that was the only downside, but we have seen some Amazing views here. Edo wonderland is also fun, especially for my 8 year old son!

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

Judith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience despite extremely hot weather. My guide Chiaki was thoroughly professional with lots of interesting anecdotes about this area. Actually saw two Geisha walking the small lanes and loved the quaint shops and shrines along the way. Have seen a lot of Tokyo but this was another delight. Thank you Chiaki.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

David W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A great tour. There were lo lynnwood three of us o. The tour. Because of this we got know.each well. The tour guide was well aware of my wife's health problems and patiently foe her. Learned a lot about early tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Johnny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very friendly tour guide. learned a lot about Japanese history and culture!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Christopher H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour. I wish I could remember our tour guides name, but she was great. I learned so much much from her about little things in Tokyo. I recommend this tour to see things you might not see on other tours.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

kacurry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Edo Wonderland was a great experience. The ninja shows are a must-see.

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

farhana.poppleton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went with a small group which was nice. We walked through the back streets of Tokyo and our guide took really good care of us. You get to see a very different side to Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent and very well-informed guide, and a very interesting part of Tokyo. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Georgina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great tour and excellent tour guide. The areas we walked through were very interesting and unlike the usual tourist destinations. The streets were packed with delicious delights and tempting souvenirs. A great way to understand the inner workings of Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Cristina N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Edo Wonderland really lives up to its' name. Beautiful and amazing place!

Doing what: Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo

gary82

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour will likely be a small group. There will be a lot of walking so come in shape. Amy, our tour guide, did a lot of research on this area before giving this tour. A very eye opening walk thru this old district of Tokyo. Shrines and little stores line a lot of these streets. We then walked the small side streets to see where exclusive restaurants which still use geisha were. I recommend this tour for adult only. Kids will get tired and fussy a some point during the tour.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

passchie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour was well run by very interesting tour guide (Yoko). Delved into the local history and historical buildings through narrow streets that you would otherwise not think to go down. Yoko's knowledge was readily passed on to tour participants in very good English. The sites to visit were interesting and well thought out. Visiting the old sections were the Samurai used to live was in interesting as well as the small intricate Japanese gardens. The afternoon tea stop was a sample of what the locals do and provided a good refreshment stop on a warm day. The unseen Geisha girl practicing on her musical instrument up on the second floor behind thin window panels made it feel like "peeping"! The music was tantalizing. Great tour well recommended. Be prepared to walk but at a leisurely pace.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Javier C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Sadly it was raining and we missed most of the tour attractions. However, it was a nice experience.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Mr Julian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A very interesting tour for those wishing explore the more quaint side of Tokyo away from the main tourist attractions. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message