In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 376 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of our best nights in Tokyo. Meg was brilliant and the food was first class. Felt like a fun night out with friends we were lucky to have a really fun group, helped by Meg being good fun also.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Definitely one of the highlights of my trip! Our guide Maya was delightful. She provided great insight regarding the different food (delicious and plentiful) and history of the places we stopped by, which I would have never found without being with a local. Special thanks to Anne for coordinating!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

SHARON G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!! Enjoyed it the best. Got to try different types of Japanese food in small shops as well as shoju and sake. Not forgetting a stop at a desert store. Our tour guide was really nice and cool too.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

SAWASDEE79

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It rained all day, but our tour guide Miki was wonderfully accommodating and still managed to share a tremendous amount of culture and history about the area and Japan in general. Good thing we all had ponchos and umbrellas!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Liz D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic tour especially good because our guide Miki San was so knowledgeable and able to answer all our questions. She was fantastic!

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

jfcjb002

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

10/10 Highly Recommend! Our guide Maya was excellent with local knowledge. We were shown cool street food places under the bridges and train stations to best kept secret style restaurants that let us sample their food with beer and sake. Also visited street stalls with more samples of local/traditional liquor makers and points of interest along the way. Main highlight was a cool restaurant that specialised in organic ingredients, and they just swamped us with all kinds of food, very generous! Also visited the shopping district and the gourmet dishes and ingredients available. Areas had a great, easy going atmosphere, I felt very comfortable and happy, and Maya was very personable, genuine all the way to seeing us off at the station to guide us back correctly, with only a few stations away. If you are short on time like me, look no further!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Danielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was so much fun! The guide was awesome and the group had a great time together. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I spent 5 days in Tokyo. The two Viator tours were the highlights of my visit. JC

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

elisa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our Tokyo food tour. Our guide was great...cute and enthusiastic. This is the fourth food tour we've taken in various cities this year. They are a perfect way to get to know a city and its people. On this particular trip, we were traveling with two other friends. We had to reschedule the tour from the beginning of the trip to the end thank you Urban Adventures for your flexibility. I was kind of worried that our friends might be bored, since it was the last night. Of course they were as thrilled as we were. It was pouring rain, but that didn't matter. We ate some delicious food, met some other interesting travelers and saw a side of Tokyo that we had not yet seen. We'll continue to do these tours in every city they're offered!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

HELEN C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were in a small group of 12, and led by our guide, Ikune, who had a great sense of humor, and a degree in anthropology from Ohio State University. Our walking tour took us to a yakitori place near the Yurokucho station, a Japanese sweets seller in Ginza, and another restaurant two train stops from there. It was a good way to be introduced to the small restaurants only locals would know about.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

JINGQING B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

was great! Even my very picky eater daughter loves the food! great guide, fun fun fun

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

cboothie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a wonderful insight in to Tokyo's night cuisine. Our guide, Meg, was really helpful and knowledgeable. She explained the finer points of cooking and eating Yakitori, Monjayaki, Okonimiyaki and Chocomaki, as well as some of the history behind them. The restaurants we visited were top quality and would have been difficult to find without the help of a local guide. Beer and sake is included, so it's a fantastic chance to relax, enjoy the company and learn about what the locals do. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who has a passion for food and Tokyo alike.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Robert L A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was stellar. Meg, the guide is a delight

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic tour. It was fun and casual, but we were able to get to areas that we wouldn't otherwise find. Outside of the food, we also learned some general and cultural information. I would encourage people to go on this tour, but given the suggestions made by the guide and other travelers, I would suggest doing this midway through the trip as opposed to the end. Although, it's great at any point!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Adrian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An excellent guide, and we visited establishments that we would probably passed by, had it not been for his guidance.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

dodam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

very nice trip fully detaiied.... enjoyed thank you and guaranted value for your money .. the guide was superb...

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

iamjswafford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Anne is amazing!! She made this tour so enjoyable and while we only went to two restaurants that amount of various foods was more than enough to satisfy. Anne was very knowledgeable of the areas and after the tour offered recommendations for things to do the rest of our stay which worked out perfect.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Brian O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour leader was Meg - and she was a lot of fun. She took us down a little alley full of restaurants, showed us some famous places - then took us to small bars for some really great food. All the food we had in Tokyo was good, but having someone guide you through places and explain what things are, and what your options are is a great thing!! Meg gave us ideas for future meals, and we even went back to the Teriyaki place she took us to first!!
This is a great way to spend a night in tokyo!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

grantkwriter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour provided excellent sampling of food and culture in and around Tokyo. Anne was extremely knowledgable and friendly. Highly recommend this tour especially early in your trip to get a sense of the Japanese cuisine and traditions.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Terriss H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Izumi Matsukura gave us the most wonderful experience of food and locations that we would never have found by ourselves. And yes, the first food we had looked exactly like the picture and tasted even better!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Debra L. G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great tour with a fabulous tour guide,

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Rebecca Jane W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great tour for experiencing a variety of foods and having everything explained. The guide was a lovely woman who spoke perfect English, took us to interesting restaurants and a sweets shop.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

richardbarnwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fab evening in spite of the terrible weather! The guide was excellent and shared her knowledge and insight freely and with enthusiasm. It's a great way to see parts of the city that you are unlikely to venture to on your own and to try local dishes. Definitely worth doing!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Becky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great! Meg is fun and knowledgable. Took us to places that we would have never found. Ate different types of food.
Thanks, Meg!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Erik R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent introduction to Tokyo and its local history and culture

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message