In any country, the best place to get away from other tourists and spend time with locals is to explore the backstreets. In Tokyo, in particular, the backstreets teem with family and locally owned restaurants and shops, small bars and restaurants, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 348 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Becky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great! Meg is fun and knowledgable. Took us to places that we would have never found. Ate different types of food.
Thanks, Meg!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Erik R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent introduction to Tokyo and its local history and culture

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Yin Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an absolute highlight for our trip to Japan. Anne is friendly, entertaining and very passionate about her work. She sure knows where to find the best food in Tokyo too. We were taken to some great restaurants and sampled some amazing food.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were very pleased with this food tour and definitely recommend it, especially for any Foodies visiting Tokyo. Our guide Misa spoke very good English and took us to places that we would never have found or gone to on our own. We learned a lot about Japanese culture as well. Make sure that you eat a light lunch or a late breakfast and no lunch. There is definitely plenty of food to eat on this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Alison A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Tour. Nisa was a great guide. Yummy Food and great to visit spots that I wouldn't have found

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

shaun o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide so very easy to talk to and full of knowledge. We actually ended up hanging out with the other people that booked the tour ended up being an awesome night!

Doing what: Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour

Petra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we want to thank you so much for the wonderful time we had during our stay with our tour guide, as well as getting so much information and very nice insight from you about Tokyo / Japan during the tour.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Craig.vergelius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed the food tour. The guide spoke very good english. I would have liked to try a greater selection of food places. We went to three, but six would have been better and I would have been happy to pay more for that experience. . So many food alleys around Toyko, it was mind boggling. And very tasty food as well

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Ian Lehr United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great time learning about the area and the food/drinks! Great host and worth your time!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

gasandgyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Anne was amazing! This was one of the best tours we have been on! Would highly recommend it to anyone in the Tokyo area. This was a great way to see the culture and areas not regularly seen by tourists. The food was incredible. We went back to one of the restaurants to have seconds!
Anne was informative, gracious and so helpful. She showed us around a bit after the tour and gave us recommendations for other things to do in Japan. SO enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Noel Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour has been the highlight of our first holiday in Japan..Our guide Meg was amazing. She went out of her way to make sure everyone had a wonderful night. This experience is something we will always remember.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Arthur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good evening great guide good food what more is there to say

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

heidi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kazu was very knowledgable and explained the intricacies that make up the culture of Japan, such as how to catch the right train to how to tell if a restaurant is open by the flags in their doorway. we had fun! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

libbyed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Aida A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I loved it!! It was a great way of trying new things and places that you would never try otherwise. Our guide was super nice and we really had a great time

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Put this tour on your Must do list. Fantastic tour.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Not just the Fashion district but building architecture and history of area. This isn't a long tour but worth the time.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Great guide. A good overview of the backstreets and history.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Alfred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great food tour with a very helpful and attentive guide Silvia. Strongly recommend to anyone wanting a quick introduction to Japanse cuisine, other than such that is.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Sanjiv Kumar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend it. It allowed us to explore food and where we would normally not try. The Guide Kazu was excellent.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Carol B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best times we had on our trip to Japan. Our guide was charming and spoke great English, and she took us to great back-street restaurants and shops we would never have found on our own. We lucked out with a fabulous bunch of people, too! The guide talked very knowledgeably about the foods, the drinks, the neighborhood. Since we eat Japanese food at home, we didn't expect may surprises. We got quite a few. Tremendous fun.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Sara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Perfect tour! The guide was very sweet, and took us to all sorts of nooks we would have never dared tried (or even knew to ask about!). She was full of energy, and explained non-foodie things to us as well. It was like checking out Tokyo with a friend. My mom and I had a great time.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

blake.berryman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! Our tour guide, Anne, was amazing. She was very fun and informative. It was like a friend showing you around. The food was delicious! This was an excellent way to get a sampling of different foods. There and #39;s even a special item that can only be found at this one spot in Tokyo!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Theresa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing experience! I booked this tour for my family 2 adults and 2 teenagers and we loved every minute of it. Anne and 2 other guides showed us around the main streets in Tokyo and the places we ate from were very good, very informative. Highly recommended. Thank you.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message