Tokyo has earned a spot on the foodie map as one of the world's top dining destinations, thanks in large part to its traditional cuisine, modern Japanese fare and international flavors. The city's restaurants have more Michelin stars than Paris and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 399 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bethany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was such a great tour! Our guide Hero took us to a street where multiple locals expressed their surprise to see westerns. It was very local. Everyone was very friendly and the food was very yummy and interesting and we learned a lot. Great experience for our family of 4!

Doing what: Experience Local Food and Drink on Sunamachi Ginza Shopping Street

Christel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was great! Lots of great, interesting food. Especially loved the yakitori. Misa, our tour guide, was sweet, helpful and knowledgeable. One of my best nights in Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Stuss Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I love doing food tours in new cities as it takes me out of my comfort zone and opens my mind to trying new things. This tour was no exception. I really enjoyed everything I ate and had a great night meeting people from all over the world. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jamie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Sylvia was awesome. She was so friendly and informative. On top of the great company oh my goodness the food. The places we went were delicious. The pancake oh my no words. This is a must do tour.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Marissa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed our food tour of Shibuya with Tim! He was very informative and at the same time witty. We highly recommend Tim for this tour!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour of Shibuya at Night

Eric A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide did a great job of catering no pun intended to a diverse crew of 6. Great intro/overview of diff street foods of Shibuya - including Sushi stand up place, Wagyu beef on skewer, Octopus Balls, and Omelettes. At each stop we received background on each food and how they are linked to Japanese Culture. Highly recommend

Doing what: Walking Food Tour of Shibuya at Night

Tracy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Misa was super friendly, she led us through small local alleys that were filled with many good joints. We probably wouldn't have ventured into these places if we didn't join the tour. All the food we tried were really good and authentic!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Barry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Meg was spectacular! Her knowledge of the area and description of the foods and areas were excellent. This tour is a remarkable value and worth much more in my opinion. We were exposed to so many great and authentic foods. I recommend this tour as a 'first to do' tour when in Tokyo. The tour exposes you to foods, I am sure you will probably have missed, will love and it gives you a great primer in to the Ginza area.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jason W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Small group, great guide and cool places that I never would have found on my own. Akira the guide speaks perfect English and is very knowledgeable of places to go, what to order at restaurants, history of different neighborhoods and how to get around. I felt like a local. Though I've been to Tokyo multiple times, I'm glad I booked this and hope you offer more like it!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great experience due in large part to our terrific guide, Syliva, who was smart, thoughtful, knowledgeable, experienced and a delightful host.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Elisa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a fun tour. Our guide was very nice and helpful. She recommended good food and the tour went at a good pace.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

megan.lomas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a fantastic time. The restaurant was really nice and enjoyed learning about sushi and trying to master it ourselves. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of our best nights in Tokyo. Meg was brilliant and the food was first class. Felt like a fun night out with friends we were lucky to have a really fun group, helped by Meg being good fun also.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Definitely one of the highlights of my trip! Our guide Maya was delightful. She provided great insight regarding the different food (delicious and plentiful) and history of the places we stopped by, which I would have never found without being with a local. Special thanks to Anne for coordinating!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

SHARON G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!! Enjoyed it the best. Got to try different types of Japanese food in small shops as well as shoju and sake. Not forgetting a stop at a desert store. Our tour guide was really nice and cool too.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

jfcjb002

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

10/10 Highly Recommend! Our guide Maya was excellent with local knowledge. We were shown cool street food places under the bridges and train stations to best kept secret style restaurants that let us sample their food with beer and sake. Also visited street stalls with more samples of local/traditional liquor makers and points of interest along the way. Main highlight was a cool restaurant that specialised in organic ingredients, and they just swamped us with all kinds of food, very generous! Also visited the shopping district and the gourmet dishes and ingredients available. Areas had a great, easy going atmosphere, I felt very comfortable and happy, and Maya was very personable, genuine all the way to seeing us off at the station to guide us back correctly, with only a few stations away. If you are short on time like me, look no further!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of our favorite activities. A fun morning. Seeing all the booths at the market was very interesting. Lots of food, seafood to buy, knives, etc. The food smelled delicious. Our guide was wonderful. The chef at the restaurant was skilled as well as fun. He taught us how to make the sushi, and he cut up an additional fish in no time. Eating our creations and learning about the history of sushi and the culture was phenomenal. Our guide was wonderful. We even received a certificate in a short ceremony. Tempura was served as well as your sushi. It was lots of food. A favorite!

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Danielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was so much fun! The guide was awesome and the group had a great time together. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I spent 5 days in Tokyo. The two Viator tours were the highlights of my visit. JC

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

elisa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our Tokyo food tour. Our guide was great...cute and enthusiastic. This is the fourth food tour we've taken in various cities this year. They are a perfect way to get to know a city and its people. On this particular trip, we were traveling with two other friends. We had to reschedule the tour from the beginning of the trip to the end thank you Urban Adventures for your flexibility. I was kind of worried that our friends might be bored, since it was the last night. Of course they were as thrilled as we were. It was pouring rain, but that didn't matter. We ate some delicious food, met some other interesting travelers and saw a side of Tokyo that we had not yet seen. We'll continue to do these tours in every city they're offered!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

HELEN C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were in a small group of 12, and led by our guide, Ikune, who had a great sense of humor, and a degree in anthropology from Ohio State University. Our walking tour took us to a yakitori place near the Yurokucho station, a Japanese sweets seller in Ginza, and another restaurant two train stops from there. It was a good way to be introduced to the small restaurants only locals would know about.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

JINGQING B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

was great! Even my very picky eater daughter loves the food! great guide, fun fun fun

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour consisted of my husband and I, a married couple from New Zealand, and a local tour guide, Takayuki. Takayuki was friendly and brought us around 4 Izakayas, starting from a mellow, less crowded place. At each place, we enjoyed a drink or 2 and a variety of food. I would recommend the beer in the first Izakaya and the sake in the second. He is a great entertainer indeed he starts the conversation rolling, checks if you have any dietary or drinking preferences, and openly shares about the Japan culture. Greatly appreciate that he is a straightforward talker and is just as curious about cultures in other countries. He speaks English well too. I enjoyed getting to talk to a local guide. :

Doing what: Tokyo Local Food and Drink Experience with a Bar Hopping Master

cboothie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a wonderful insight in to Tokyo's night cuisine. Our guide, Meg, was really helpful and knowledgeable. She explained the finer points of cooking and eating Yakitori, Monjayaki, Okonimiyaki and Chocomaki, as well as some of the history behind them. The restaurants we visited were top quality and would have been difficult to find without the help of a local guide. Beer and sake is included, so it's a fantastic chance to relax, enjoy the company and learn about what the locals do. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who has a passion for food and Tokyo alike.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing. Our guide was really knowledgable on the specific food within Shibuya and Tokyo. The guide was so friendly and helpful, that he suggested other places around Tokyo to go to. We tasted some traditional Japanese dishes in two locations. I must say it was the best okonomiyaki.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour of Shibuya at Night

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message