The fresh and simple flavors of Japanese cuisine are favorites among food lovers, and there are a multitude of popular dishes and regional staples to try. Whether it’s at an early-morning fish market, a cooking class or a high-end restaurant, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yin Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an absolute highlight for our trip to Japan. Anne is friendly, entertaining and very passionate about her work. She sure knows where to find the best food in Tokyo too. We were taken to some great restaurants and sampled some amazing food.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were very pleased with this food tour and definitely recommend it, especially for any Foodies visiting Tokyo. Our guide Misa spoke very good English and took us to places that we would never have found or gone to on our own. We learned a lot about Japanese culture as well. Make sure that you eat a light lunch or a late breakfast and no lunch. There is definitely plenty of food to eat on this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Alison A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Tour. Nisa was a great guide. Yummy Food and great to visit spots that I wouldn't have found

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Petra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we want to thank you so much for the wonderful time we had during our stay with our tour guide, as well as getting so much information and very nice insight from you about Tokyo / Japan during the tour.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Petra J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

we want to thank you so much for the wonderful time we had during our stay with our tour guide, as well as getting so much information and very nice insight from you about Tokyo / Japan during the tours

Doing what: Experience Local Food and Drink at Sunamachi

Yan Ying Alison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My friend and I visited the fish market in Tsukiji Tokyo. We love shahimi a lot so we planned to join the Fish-cutting lesson. The classroom is just few minutes walk nearby.
Thank you to sensei and Karl for the one hour lesson. Sensei was precise and caring while Karl was funny and considerate for translating the instructions to us. The lesson is full of fun and laughter! During the lesson, we learnt different steps and technical skill for cutting the fish. The procedures of fish cutting was unexpectedly easy to understand although I was not mastering it very well at first. With the present of translator, even doesnt know Japanese, we can learn and cut the slices of sashimi by ourselves. It was full of satisfaction!
We have cut three fishes per person in total. The sashimi takeaway after class was in huge portion and became our great dinner! Besides, it is highly appreciated for the photos sharing from Karl. He took nice photos and videos during the lesson, which have clearly recorded our joy and happiness. We definitely remember this valuable one hour experience forever!

Doing what: 1-Hour Fish-Cutting Lesson with Sashimi Instructor in Tsukiji

Craig.vergelius

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Enjoyed the food tour. The guide spoke very good english. I would have liked to try a greater selection of food places. We went to three, but six would have been better and I would have been happy to pay more for that experience. . So many food alleys around Toyko, it was mind boggling. And very tasty food as well

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Ian Lehr United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a great time learning about the area and the food/drinks! Great host and worth your time!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

gasandgyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Anne was amazing! This was one of the best tours we have been on! Would highly recommend it to anyone in the Tokyo area. This was a great way to see the culture and areas not regularly seen by tourists. The food was incredible. We went back to one of the restaurants to have seconds!
Anne was informative, gracious and so helpful. She showed us around a bit after the tour and gave us recommendations for other things to do in Japan. SO enjoyed this tour!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

Noel Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour has been the highlight of our first holiday in Japan..Our guide Meg was amazing. She went out of her way to make sure everyone had a wonderful night. This experience is something we will always remember.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Arthur

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Good evening great guide good food what more is there to say

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Roberto R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fantastic! My guide Yeonmi was very knowledgable and great company. I got much more information about the Tsukiji Market and Asakusa than I would I had if I visited these places on my own. This tour was one of the highlights of my trip to Japan. Great experience! I definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Walking Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

heidi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kazu was very knowledgable and explained the intricacies that make up the culture of Japan, such as how to catch the right train to how to tell if a restaurant is open by the flags in their doorway. we had fun! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

libbyed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Aida A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I loved it!! It was a great way of trying new things and places that you would never try otherwise. Our guide was super nice and we really had a great time

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Back street local food tour. Where the locals shop and eat. Very informative and fun.

Doing what: Experience Local Food and Drink at Sunamachi

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Put this tour on your Must do list. Fantastic tour.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Tokyo

jrs320

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a such a wonderful experience!! It was just the three of us - me, my wife and our twenty-one year old daughter. None of us had ever cut a fish before.

We arrived and met Karl, our guide, interpreter and photographer. He introduced us to our Japanese sensei. Karl gave us each an apron. We washed up and stood at our individual stations. Each station had a cutting board, a very sharp Japanese knife and all the other fish cutting/cleaning implements needed for the lesson.

Over the next hour, sensei taught us how to take the whole fish and gut it, skin it, and cut the flesh into sashimi slices. We laughed and we learned. It was a lot of fun!

We each did three fish - two horse mackerels to start and then, once we had a little experience, we cut an amberjack which is a larger fish. None of us had ever done this before but with each fish we got more confident. By the end of the lesson we all agreed that we would be able to do it back home.

I should also mention that at the end of the lesson there was a ton of sashimi. We took a large container with us and had it for dinner that night. It was delicious!!

Karl sent us his photos and videos a few days later. If youre in Tokyo, I highly recommend this class!!!

Doing what: 1-Hour Fish-Cutting Lesson with Sashimi Instructor in Tsukiji

Emily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was our favorite tour of the trip. Our guide, Ichi, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful! We would recommend this tour to everyone. You start off trying different kinds of Asahi beer. Then you go to a sake/liquor store where you try different sakes. We ended up buying a bottle cause they were very good. Ichi then walked us by Senso Ji temple and was willing to take pictures of us. We then got to eat. Ichi did the ordering for us and listened to what we like and don't like and suggested food to try based on that. Then you end the night at another restaurant for savory pancakes okonomiyaki.

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Alfred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great food tour with a very helpful and attentive guide Silvia. Strongly recommend to anyone wanting a quick introduction to Japanse cuisine, other than such that is.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Sanjiv Kumar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend it. It allowed us to explore food and where we would normally not try. The Guide Kazu was excellent.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Amanda K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I absolutely loved my tour with Ichi! It was really fun to be able to experience Japan more like a local rather than as a tourist. Because I was the only one on the tour that night, he customized the food to fit my adventurous palette which I loved. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone new to this area of Tokyo.

Doing what: Nighttime Local Food and Drink Tour in Asakusa

Carol B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best times we had on our trip to Japan. Our guide was charming and spoke great English, and she took us to great back-street restaurants and shops we would never have found on our own. We lucked out with a fabulous bunch of people, too! The guide talked very knowledgeably about the foods, the drinks, the neighborhood. Since we eat Japanese food at home, we didn't expect may surprises. We got quite a few. Tremendous fun.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Perikala ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent,excellent,excellent. We forgot the guide' s name, she showed us every detail of fish market with lot of patience,enjoyed street food and sake free of charge.thanks for her.

Doing what: Half-day Food and Drink Walking Tour in Tsukiji and Asakusa

Sara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Perfect tour! The guide was very sweet, and took us to all sorts of nooks we would have never dared tried (or even knew to ask about!). She was full of energy, and explained non-foodie things to us as well. It was like checking out Tokyo with a friend. My mom and I had a great time.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message