Tokyo has earned a spot on the foodie map as one of the world's top dining destinations, thanks in large part to its traditional cuisine, modern Japanese fare and international flavors. The city's restaurants have more Michelin stars than Paris and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 405 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

carladuffoo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great food tour in Tokyo! This tour was definitely fast paced but it allowed ample time to taste so many delicious dishes. The one thing I would recommend is to provide a small pamphlet with the names and locations of the restaurants/places visited in case people want to go back for more!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Hannah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Really really good food tour, we had some of the best food while in Japan on this evening trip. Our tour guide was Ryo and he was awesome, very friendly and provided a lot of info about Tokyo and Japanese culture. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable with Japanese food. The teriyaki was beyond fantastic and the fried cabbage was a first for me- and very delicious. You can't possibly eat this well and this much for less expense in Tokyo.
If you have approximately three hours free in the evening, I would highly recommend you try this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Sylvie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Misa was great! She walked us around Tokyo, explaining the different shops and types of restaurants as we walked. We stopped in three locations for amazing food. My favorite was the yakitori! My favorite evening in Tokyo!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Leisa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fun night! Our guide Misa took us to many different areas and the food was incredible. The highlight of the night was cooking the yakitori. Thanks Misa. You really made this night something we won't forget.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Bethany R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was such a great tour! Our guide Hero took us to a street where multiple locals expressed their surprise to see westerns. It was very local. Everyone was very friendly and the food was very yummy and interesting and we learned a lot. Great experience for our family of 4!

Doing what: Experience Local Food and Drink on Sunamachi Ginza Shopping Street

Christel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was great! Lots of great, interesting food. Especially loved the yakitori. Misa, our tour guide, was sweet, helpful and knowledgeable. One of my best nights in Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Stuss Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I love doing food tours in new cities as it takes me out of my comfort zone and opens my mind to trying new things. This tour was no exception. I really enjoyed everything I ate and had a great night meeting people from all over the world. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jamie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Sylvia was awesome. She was so friendly and informative. On top of the great company oh my goodness the food. The places we went were delicious. The pancake oh my no words. This is a must do tour.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Marissa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed our food tour of Shibuya with Tim! He was very informative and at the same time witty. We highly recommend Tim for this tour!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour of Shibuya at Night

Eric A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide did a great job of catering no pun intended to a diverse crew of 6. Great intro/overview of diff street foods of Shibuya - including Sushi stand up place, Wagyu beef on skewer, Octopus Balls, and Omelettes. At each stop we received background on each food and how they are linked to Japanese Culture. Highly recommend

Doing what: Walking Food Tour of Shibuya at Night

Tracy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Misa was super friendly, she led us through small local alleys that were filled with many good joints. We probably wouldn't have ventured into these places if we didn't join the tour. All the food we tried were really good and authentic!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Barry D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide Meg was spectacular! Her knowledge of the area and description of the foods and areas were excellent. This tour is a remarkable value and worth much more in my opinion. We were exposed to so many great and authentic foods. I recommend this tour as a 'first to do' tour when in Tokyo. The tour exposes you to foods, I am sure you will probably have missed, will love and it gives you a great primer in to the Ginza area.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jason W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Small group, great guide and cool places that I never would have found on my own. Akira the guide speaks perfect English and is very knowledgeable of places to go, what to order at restaurants, history of different neighborhoods and how to get around. I felt like a local. Though I've been to Tokyo multiple times, I'm glad I booked this and hope you offer more like it!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great experience due in large part to our terrific guide, Syliva, who was smart, thoughtful, knowledgeable, experienced and a delightful host.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Elisa K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a fun tour. Our guide was very nice and helpful. She recommended good food and the tour went at a good pace.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

megan.lomas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a fantastic time. The restaurant was really nice and enjoyed learning about sushi and trying to master it ourselves. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of our best nights in Tokyo. Meg was brilliant and the food was first class. Felt like a fun night out with friends we were lucky to have a really fun group, helped by Meg being good fun also.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Definitely one of the highlights of my trip! Our guide Maya was delightful. She provided great insight regarding the different food (delicious and plentiful) and history of the places we stopped by, which I would have never found without being with a local. Special thanks to Anne for coordinating!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

SHARON G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!! Enjoyed it the best. Got to try different types of Japanese food in small shops as well as shoju and sake. Not forgetting a stop at a desert store. Our tour guide was really nice and cool too.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

jfcjb002

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

10/10 Highly Recommend! Our guide Maya was excellent with local knowledge. We were shown cool street food places under the bridges and train stations to best kept secret style restaurants that let us sample their food with beer and sake. Also visited street stalls with more samples of local/traditional liquor makers and points of interest along the way. Main highlight was a cool restaurant that specialised in organic ingredients, and they just swamped us with all kinds of food, very generous! Also visited the shopping district and the gourmet dishes and ingredients available. Areas had a great, easy going atmosphere, I felt very comfortable and happy, and Maya was very personable, genuine all the way to seeing us off at the station to guide us back correctly, with only a few stations away. If you are short on time like me, look no further!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of our favorite activities. A fun morning. Seeing all the booths at the market was very interesting. Lots of food, seafood to buy, knives, etc. The food smelled delicious. Our guide was wonderful. The chef at the restaurant was skilled as well as fun. He taught us how to make the sushi, and he cut up an additional fish in no time. Eating our creations and learning about the history of sushi and the culture was phenomenal. Our guide was wonderful. We even received a certificate in a short ceremony. Tempura was served as well as your sushi. It was lots of food. A favorite!

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Danielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was so much fun! The guide was awesome and the group had a great time together. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I spent 5 days in Tokyo. The two Viator tours were the highlights of my visit. JC

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

elisa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our Tokyo food tour. Our guide was great...cute and enthusiastic. This is the fourth food tour we've taken in various cities this year. They are a perfect way to get to know a city and its people. On this particular trip, we were traveling with two other friends. We had to reschedule the tour from the beginning of the trip to the end thank you Urban Adventures for your flexibility. I was kind of worried that our friends might be bored, since it was the last night. Of course they were as thrilled as we were. It was pouring rain, but that didn't matter. We ate some delicious food, met some other interesting travelers and saw a side of Tokyo that we had not yet seen. We'll continue to do these tours in every city they're offered!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message