Tokyo has earned a spot on the foodie map as one of the world's top dining destinations, thanks in large part to its traditional cuisine, modern Japanese fare and international flavors. The city's restaurants have more Michelin stars than Paris and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 385 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

megan.lomas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a fantastic time. The restaurant was really nice and enjoyed learning about sushi and trying to master it ourselves. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of our best nights in Tokyo. Meg was brilliant and the food was first class. Felt like a fun night out with friends we were lucky to have a really fun group, helped by Meg being good fun also.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Brian S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Definitely one of the highlights of my trip! Our guide Maya was delightful. She provided great insight regarding the different food (delicious and plentiful) and history of the places we stopped by, which I would have never found without being with a local. Special thanks to Anne for coordinating!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

SHARON G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing!! Enjoyed it the best. Got to try different types of Japanese food in small shops as well as shoju and sake. Not forgetting a stop at a desert store. Our tour guide was really nice and cool too.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

jfcjb002

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

10/10 Highly Recommend! Our guide Maya was excellent with local knowledge. We were shown cool street food places under the bridges and train stations to best kept secret style restaurants that let us sample their food with beer and sake. Also visited street stalls with more samples of local/traditional liquor makers and points of interest along the way. Main highlight was a cool restaurant that specialised in organic ingredients, and they just swamped us with all kinds of food, very generous! Also visited the shopping district and the gourmet dishes and ingredients available. Areas had a great, easy going atmosphere, I felt very comfortable and happy, and Maya was very personable, genuine all the way to seeing us off at the station to guide us back correctly, with only a few stations away. If you are short on time like me, look no further!

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of our favorite activities. A fun morning. Seeing all the booths at the market was very interesting. Lots of food, seafood to buy, knives, etc. The food smelled delicious. Our guide was wonderful. The chef at the restaurant was skilled as well as fun. He taught us how to make the sushi, and he cut up an additional fish in no time. Eating our creations and learning about the history of sushi and the culture was phenomenal. Our guide was wonderful. We even received a certificate in a short ceremony. Tempura was served as well as your sushi. It was lots of food. A favorite!

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

Danielle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was so much fun! The guide was awesome and the group had a great time together. Would recommend this to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I spent 5 days in Tokyo. The two Viator tours were the highlights of my visit. JC

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

elisa m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved our Tokyo food tour. Our guide was great...cute and enthusiastic. This is the fourth food tour we've taken in various cities this year. They are a perfect way to get to know a city and its people. On this particular trip, we were traveling with two other friends. We had to reschedule the tour from the beginning of the trip to the end thank you Urban Adventures for your flexibility. I was kind of worried that our friends might be bored, since it was the last night. Of course they were as thrilled as we were. It was pouring rain, but that didn't matter. We ate some delicious food, met some other interesting travelers and saw a side of Tokyo that we had not yet seen. We'll continue to do these tours in every city they're offered!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

HELEN C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were in a small group of 12, and led by our guide, Ikune, who had a great sense of humor, and a degree in anthropology from Ohio State University. Our walking tour took us to a yakitori place near the Yurokucho station, a Japanese sweets seller in Ginza, and another restaurant two train stops from there. It was a good way to be introduced to the small restaurants only locals would know about.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

JINGQING B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

was great! Even my very picky eater daughter loves the food! great guide, fun fun fun

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour consisted of my husband and I, a married couple from New Zealand, and a local tour guide, Takayuki. Takayuki was friendly and brought us around 4 Izakayas, starting from a mellow, less crowded place. At each place, we enjoyed a drink or 2 and a variety of food. I would recommend the beer in the first Izakaya and the sake in the second. He is a great entertainer indeed he starts the conversation rolling, checks if you have any dietary or drinking preferences, and openly shares about the Japan culture. Greatly appreciate that he is a straightforward talker and is just as curious about cultures in other countries. He speaks English well too. I enjoyed getting to talk to a local guide. :

Doing what: Tokyo Izakaya Tour with a Local Guide

cboothie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was a wonderful insight in to Tokyo's night cuisine. Our guide, Meg, was really helpful and knowledgeable. She explained the finer points of cooking and eating Yakitori, Monjayaki, Okonimiyaki and Chocomaki, as well as some of the history behind them. The restaurants we visited were top quality and would have been difficult to find without the help of a local guide. Beer and sake is included, so it's a fantastic chance to relax, enjoy the company and learn about what the locals do. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who has a passion for food and Tokyo alike.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Jane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing. Our guide was really knowledgable on the specific food within Shibuya and Tokyo. The guide was so friendly and helpful, that he suggested other places around Tokyo to go to. We tasted some traditional Japanese dishes in two locations. I must say it was the best okonomiyaki.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour of Shibuya at Night

Robert L A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was stellar. Meg, the guide is a delight

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Fodder

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was excellent!! I ended up being the only person booked that day, so it ended up being basically a private tour. Yuriko was very friendly and informative. The food was fantastic and the vendors very friendly. Yuriko did an excellent job at translating. Thoroughly recommend this tour for foodies or anyone wanting to appreciate traditional Japanese food.

Doing what: Experience Local Food and Drink on Sunamachi Ginza Shopping Street

Stephanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic tour. It was fun and casual, but we were able to get to areas that we wouldn't otherwise find. Outside of the food, we also learned some general and cultural information. I would encourage people to go on this tour, but given the suggestions made by the guide and other travelers, I would suggest doing this midway through the trip as opposed to the end. Although, it's great at any point!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Adrian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An excellent guide, and we visited establishments that we would probably passed by, had it not been for his guidance.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

dodam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

very nice trip fully detaiied.... enjoyed thank you and guaranted value for your money .. the guide was superb...

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

iamjswafford

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Anne is amazing!! She made this tour so enjoyable and while we only went to two restaurants that amount of various foods was more than enough to satisfy. Anne was very knowledgeable of the areas and after the tour offered recommendations for things to do the rest of our stay which worked out perfect.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Brian O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour leader was Meg - and she was a lot of fun. She took us down a little alley full of restaurants, showed us some famous places - then took us to small bars for some really great food. All the food we had in Tokyo was good, but having someone guide you through places and explain what things are, and what your options are is a great thing!! Meg gave us ideas for future meals, and we even went back to the Teriyaki place she took us to first!!
This is a great way to spend a night in tokyo!!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Brian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a very interesting trip to say the least and the tour guide Yokiko spoke flawless English and she was very knowledgeable of the city and the history of the various parts of the tour! I received much individual attention during this guided tour.

Doing what: Sushi Making and Tsukiji Fish Market Morning Tour from Tokyo

beridgeway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time with our guide, Taka! He was a lot of fun and made sure we had a good time. He introduced us to places, foods, and drinks we would never have otherwise experienced. We went to several different bars, each with a different feel. It was awesome to see a different side of Japanese culture! I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Izakaya Tour with a Local Guide

grantkwriter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour provided excellent sampling of food and culture in and around Tokyo. Anne was extremely knowledgable and friendly. Highly recommend this tour especially early in your trip to get a sense of the Japanese cuisine and traditions.

Doing what: Walking Food Tour in Yurakucho, Shimbashi and Ginza

Terriss H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Izumi Matsukura gave us the most wonderful experience of food and locations that we would never have found by ourselves. And yes, the first food we had looked exactly like the picture and tasted even better!

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message