While the vast metropolis of Tokyo dazzles the visitor with modern marvels and only occasionally displays hints of its past, Kyoto - once the imperial capital of Japan - is far more forthcoming with its historical riches. Although on the other side ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 260 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolien S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Highlights of taking Japan tours with Viator:
- You aren't stuck with the same people for the entire tour! They separated our 3 day tour into morning and afternoon sessions, each with people joining and leaving. That means we didn't have to put up with each other long enough to become familiar with each others' annoying habits. You know what I'm talking about if you've done overseas tours before. Not a great thing if you're touring alone because there isn't such a great sense of community.
- Public transportation in Japan is NOT tourist friendly. We are pretty well versed with international subway/train/bus navigation but we would've been completely lost without this tour. It was amazing to literally have a staff member guide us through train stations to the very platform and correct train and have a staff member waiting directly outside of our train exit at our destination. Specifically for this 3-day tour, we had someone pick us up from the hotel in Tokyo on day 1, take us to a bus terminal where they had all their tourists separate into groups and get on correct tour buses. After the day-long tour the bus dropped us off at Tokyo station with someone who gave us our bullet train cards and walked us up to the correct platform and train car entrance. When we arrived in Kyoto there was someone who knew our names and seat numbers who met us at the platform and walked us into the lobby of our hotel If the hotel wasn't within walking distance they would have had a taxi ready for us. Day 2 we were picked up and dropped off at the hotel. Day 3 we spent on our own and at 6pm we met a Viator staff member in the lobby who walked us to the platform of the bullet train back to Tokyo. Again, someone met us at the exit of the train in Tokyo and walked us to a taxi they had waiting. It was already paid for and the driver knew where to take us.
-Recommendations: New Miyako hotel in Kyoto. Very nice, across the street from the train station, next to a mall with a food court, and walking distance from a 5 story pagoda and Toji temple for your day off. Tobu Tokyo Levant Hotel if you decide to go back to Tokyo after the tour. It's in the Asakusa district which has everything you want to see/do.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Teresa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very helpful staff. Tour guide was knowledgeable. A lovely way to see Kyoto when you don't have a lot of time.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sheepdoc United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour. Apparently Mt Fuji is usually shrouded in clouds, but December is the time to go. All the stops were great. The tour company had English speaking guides meet you at every change of venue. We went for the more expensive hotel and it was right across the street from Kyoto's street markets.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Matthew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great organized tour. They always had someone making sure you were taken care of from hotelnpickup to transfer to the train station to getting everyone on the train, meeting the train at Kyoto to lunch to the local guide. The only issue was getting everyone back in the train to go back to Tokyo.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

janelives25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent way to see a lot in a short space of time. The organisation was exceptional. At every stage of the journey we were met by Sunrise tour guides who made sure that we were well looked after.
The visit to Mount Fuji was wonderful. We were lucky to have such brilliant weather so we were able to catch glimpses of the mountain from just outside Tokyo. It was very busy when we arrived at the fifth station and very cold. The area was full of tourist shops but it was easy to turn your back on them and enjoy the beauty of the snow clad summit glistening in the sun.
Back down to ground level and we enjoyed a very good lunch of local food with a good vegetarian option too.
On to Lake Ashi. The boat trip was really hardly worth the effort but it took us to the cable car station and, again, it was very crowded. But we were moved to the front in order to get to the top to enjoy the views before the sunset. Mount Fuji, the lake and out to the Pacific ocean....beautiful.
There were just three of us continuing to Kyoto on the bullet train and the journey involved a change with just 4 minutes to make our connection. This could have been quite a challenge but the organisation was perfect. We were accompanied to the first train and given numbered seats. At the transfer station another guide was waiting for us as we arrived and she took us to the next train. At Kyoto we were met by yet another guide who took us to a taxi to take us to the hotel.
The hotel was lovely with a big, comfortable room and very well situated with a Starbucks next door and a 7-11 just across the road.
The next day consisted of two tours. The morning tour concentrated on the sights of Kyoto. A bit hectic but lots to see and a very informative guide.We had a buffet lunch with plenty of choices at a heritage centre. In the afternoon we headed out to Nara and the beautiful parks and temples with an excellent guide who showed us some different aspects and explained the history.
Another night in Kyoto and we had the next day to explore for ourselves. We really enjoyed the amazing street market selling anything and everything.
The return journey to Tokyo, also on the bullet train was equally stress free.
As first timers in Japan, this was an excellent trip and it has given us lots of ideas for a return visit and left us very impressed with the Japanese transport system.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

shereelan8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour.
We went to Mt. Fuji on the first day, the sky was clouded at the beginning when we get to the 5th point. Couldn't see any of the Mt. Fuji even we were right next to it. Fortunately the sun came out and we had a wonderful view.
The tram ride up to Mt. Komagatake was the best part of the trip. We took many pictures.
The bullet train ride was well organized, there were tour guides at each stop to greet us and took us to the next train track.
Hotel is fine, we did not upgrade to the better one. It is in the middle of the town and have plenty of restaurants.
Kyoto and Nara trip was very nice. We came at the right time, the foliage was so pretty,
The scenery and the tour experience was the best, we enjoyed so much!!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Mary K C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour! I was the only person going from Tokyo that day. I was met at my hotel and then at the transfer bus station by my own private guide. She got me onto the bullet train and didn't leave until it took off. Then, in Kyoto, when the doors of my car opened, another guide was waiting for me to take to to an excellent, excellent lunch at a nearby hotel. Then, yet another guide got me to a city tour where there were other travelers and we saw the major sites of Kyoto. Then, the process was reversed to get me home. I felt pampered, safe and I had a great time. So glad I did this tour!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Mark and Judy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I highly recommend this tour. It is a great way to see sights outside of Tokyo without having to do a lot of planning or research. The tour guides were all well informed and spoke good English. First you are picked up at your hotel in Tokyo and travel with a small group by bus to Mt Fuji, where you go halfway up the mountain. There are great photo ops and a gift store. We were blessed with a very crisp clear November day. Then you will stop for lunch, which was surprisingly excellent! Then you take a ferry and a cable car up Mt Hakone, where there are great views of Mt Fuji. We were then dropped off at the Shinkansen station to travel on to Kyoto. Tour operators met us every step along the way during bus, rail, and hotel transfers. In Kyoto, the hotel was first class! The next day you are in for a whirlwind day: touring palaces in Kyoto in the morning, another great buffet lunch, then an afternoon bus ride to Nara where you will absolutely marvel at the World's Largest Bronze Buddha an eerie ancient Shinto Shrine and hundreds of deer roaming free. The following day you are free to explore Kyoto on your own, and I would highly recommend the Old City Ninenzawa district. Then at 1700 you are picked up at the hotel, back on the Shinkansen to Tokyo, and taxi'd back to your hotel. This tour was well worth the money, and when we consider all we saw and the superior service, was actually quite reasonably priced!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very well organized. My accommodations were great. The guide was very good with a great sense of humor. I would recommend this as a good way of seeing Kyoto and the neighboring area.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Baxy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant trip, all very well arranged. Kyoto and Nara are very crowded tourist destinations so good to have planned visits. Some guides were better than others! Transfers all worked well. All things Japanese are very punctual and efficient.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

HENRY C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I really enjoy our two days visit to Kyoto and Nara, the staff and tour guides are very knowledgeable, and we have learned a great deal about their culture, expecailly the Japanese hotel we stay in, what an experience.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

First let me say I don't normally do tours. My preference would have been to stay in Kyoto and explore myself, but since I only had one day to get to Kyoto from Tokyo, tour and return, this was a great option. The tour was very well organized with good information about pickup spots, times, etc. The guides spoke reasonably well English and were very pleasant. The three tour sites visited in Kyoto were typical tourist spots, but that is just part of the deal. The guide was well informed and provided many insightful details. The tour fit my needs perfectly so I give it a 5 star, but if you are expecting a more casual pace in the destinations, this may not be for you.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Yuping L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guides were great! They picked us up from the hotel, and took us to the train platform to get on. A tour guide on the next platform helped us transfer to the train to Kyoto. When we got to Kyoto station, another tour guide picked us up and got us a taxi to the hotel. The lunches were great!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Kyle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Very efficient time spent in Kyoto for it just being a day trip. Travel guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Carlos A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very friendly and attentive staff , babysitting you all the way to the train seat !! Kyoto experience very nice !

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sanjiv Kumar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip. Well organised, english speaking guide, decent food. Tour ends on the third day in the morning, which was great and allowed us to explore Kyoto on our own. I would recommend this tour if you have a tight schedule.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Gillian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We could not fault the organisation of this tour nor the efficiently and knowledge of all the tour guides. Even when changing trains at Nagoya from one side of a platform to the other a tour guide was on the platform to assist us. The hotel in Kyoto was superb and we saw everything we wishes to see. We wiill certainly use Viator again in the future. Well done!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji and Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing tour !. The detail in the booking was not clear and I was ambivalent at first since the tour was expensive. However, it is worth every single penny. I was picked up at Sheraton hotel on time and brought to transportation center at 9. I was able to see Mt. Fuji after the rain. Lunch was at a hotel and then I did the afternoon activities outlined in the tour. Unfortunately, it was foggy so we did not see Lake Asha while on the boat and cable car. After the activities were done, I was dropped off at the train station where a staff member waited with you , and actually stayed and led you to the shinkasen heading to Kyoto. There was one transfer at Nagoya and there was only 4 minutes in between. However, there was staff ready for you to lead you to the next shinkasen on same platform. For this trip, I checked out of my hotel so there was luggage that I had to carry with me. I arrived Kyoto at 10:15 PM and there was staff waiting to lead me to hotel at New Miyako for readers of this review, try to stay at this hotel since it is across the Kyoto station. I did the activities as outlined in the tour on second day. I selected the three day tour and it was great because the following morning of the third day, I signed up for the Arashiyama walking tour. In the afternoon, I had my own time to explore this wonderful city. I was arranged to go back to Tokyo on the Nazomi shinkasen at 6:45 arriving in Tokyo at 9:15PM. There was staff picked me up and brought me to taxi prepaid by tour companypromptly. I was not the only one on the tour who was so elated by this arrangement since Tokyo station is huge and one would be easily got lost in this station. I stayed at Westin on the way back, so you just need to inform staff so correct hotel drop off could be made. Overall, this tour was wonderful, and I hope more details would be outlined in the tour activities, especially drop off points to allay traveler's anxiety.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

pamj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Next time overnite in Kyoto

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent organisation throughout - train, hotel and tours - with very informative and friendly guides. We especially want to thank our guide on the Kyoto sightseeing day for his excellent and enthusiastic presentation - he made it all come to life!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Margarita K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was very organized ain't inetresting, Kyoto is really worth seeing, one day gives you an overview, to see it in more details you need to spend few days there.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sherri I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I thought it was great overall. My only small issue was that there was a lot of standing around and waiting--before, during and after at the meeting place in Kyoto. The places we visited were excellent. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

wolfe.connie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic, highly organized tour. If you are afraid to go to a new place because of the language barrier like I was, this guided tour is an excellent option. We added the third day in Kyoto. Once we learned our way around with the tour group, we were able to successfully get to the Kyoto Bamboo Grove and to an area just east of Nijo Castle to see some art exhibitions. I would book a tour with them again if heading to another country!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent experience. All the tour personnel were highly professional and very attentive. Every detail was taken care of by the guides. I especially appreciated the attention they took to making sure we got on the right train to Kyoto because I found the train stations in Tokyo very confusing. The guide in Kyoto, JC, was very good. She told us interesting information about each site and also entertained us with amusing stories from previous tours. I thought she was a highlight of the tour. I would definitely recommend your company to anyone who wants a quality tour at a very reasonable price.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the weather was not in our favour to see Mt Fuji. The views of the lake from the cable car were spectacular and the tour guide was wonderful. The bullet train to Kyoto was an experience not to be missed. Kyoto was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message