While the vast metropolis of Tokyo dazzles the visitor with modern marvels and only occasionally displays hints of its past, Kyoto - once the imperial capital of Japan - is far more forthcoming with its historical riches. Although on the other side ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 248 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

anne

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very well organized. My accommodations were great. The guide was very good with a great sense of humor. I would recommend this as a good way of seeing Kyoto and the neighboring area.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Baxy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant trip, all very well arranged. Kyoto and Nara are very crowded tourist destinations so good to have planned visits. Some guides were better than others! Transfers all worked well. All things Japanese are very punctual and efficient.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

HENRY C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I really enjoy our two days visit to Kyoto and Nara, the staff and tour guides are very knowledgeable, and we have learned a great deal about their culture, expecailly the Japanese hotel we stay in, what an experience.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

First let me say I don't normally do tours. My preference would have been to stay in Kyoto and explore myself, but since I only had one day to get to Kyoto from Tokyo, tour and return, this was a great option. The tour was very well organized with good information about pickup spots, times, etc. The guides spoke reasonably well English and were very pleasant. The three tour sites visited in Kyoto were typical tourist spots, but that is just part of the deal. The guide was well informed and provided many insightful details. The tour fit my needs perfectly so I give it a 5 star, but if you are expecting a more casual pace in the destinations, this may not be for you.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Yuping L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guides were great! They picked us up from the hotel, and took us to the train platform to get on. A tour guide on the next platform helped us transfer to the train to Kyoto. When we got to Kyoto station, another tour guide picked us up and got us a taxi to the hotel. The lunches were great!

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Kyle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. Very efficient time spent in Kyoto for it just being a day trip. Travel guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Carlos A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very friendly and attentive staff , babysitting you all the way to the train seat !! Kyoto experience very nice !

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sanjiv Kumar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip. Well organised, english speaking guide, decent food. Tour ends on the third day in the morning, which was great and allowed us to explore Kyoto on our own. I would recommend this tour if you have a tight schedule.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Gillian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We could not fault the organisation of this tour nor the efficiently and knowledge of all the tour guides. Even when changing trains at Nagoya from one side of a platform to the other a tour guide was on the platform to assist us. The hotel in Kyoto was superb and we saw everything we wishes to see. We wiill certainly use Viator again in the future. Well done!

Doing what: 2-Day Mt Fuji and Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Quang P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing tour !. The detail in the booking was not clear and I was ambivalent at first since the tour was expensive. However, it is worth every single penny. I was picked up at Sheraton hotel on time and brought to transportation center at 9. I was able to see Mt. Fuji after the rain. Lunch was at a hotel and then I did the afternoon activities outlined in the tour. Unfortunately, it was foggy so we did not see Lake Asha while on the boat and cable car. After the activities were done, I was dropped off at the train station where a staff member waited with you , and actually stayed and led you to the shinkasen heading to Kyoto. There was one transfer at Nagoya and there was only 4 minutes in between. However, there was staff ready for you to lead you to the next shinkasen on same platform. For this trip, I checked out of my hotel so there was luggage that I had to carry with me. I arrived Kyoto at 10:15 PM and there was staff waiting to lead me to hotel at New Miyako for readers of this review, try to stay at this hotel since it is across the Kyoto station. I did the activities as outlined in the tour on second day. I selected the three day tour and it was great because the following morning of the third day, I signed up for the Arashiyama walking tour. In the afternoon, I had my own time to explore this wonderful city. I was arranged to go back to Tokyo on the Nazomi shinkasen at 6:45 arriving in Tokyo at 9:15PM. There was staff picked me up and brought me to taxi prepaid by tour companypromptly. I was not the only one on the tour who was so elated by this arrangement since Tokyo station is huge and one would be easily got lost in this station. I stayed at Westin on the way back, so you just need to inform staff so correct hotel drop off could be made. Overall, this tour was wonderful, and I hope more details would be outlined in the tour activities, especially drop off points to allay traveler's anxiety.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

pamj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Next time overnite in Kyoto

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent organisation throughout - train, hotel and tours - with very informative and friendly guides. We especially want to thank our guide on the Kyoto sightseeing day for his excellent and enthusiastic presentation - he made it all come to life!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Margarita K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was very organized ain't inetresting, Kyoto is really worth seeing, one day gives you an overview, to see it in more details you need to spend few days there.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sherri I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I thought it was great overall. My only small issue was that there was a lot of standing around and waiting--before, during and after at the meeting place in Kyoto. The places we visited were excellent. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

wolfe.connie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a fantastic, highly organized tour. If you are afraid to go to a new place because of the language barrier like I was, this guided tour is an excellent option. We added the third day in Kyoto. Once we learned our way around with the tour group, we were able to successfully get to the Kyoto Bamboo Grove and to an area just east of Nijo Castle to see some art exhibitions. I would book a tour with them again if heading to another country!

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent experience. All the tour personnel were highly professional and very attentive. Every detail was taken care of by the guides. I especially appreciated the attention they took to making sure we got on the right train to Kyoto because I found the train stations in Tokyo very confusing. The guide in Kyoto, JC, was very good. She told us interesting information about each site and also entertained us with amusing stories from previous tours. I thought she was a highlight of the tour. I would definitely recommend your company to anyone who wants a quality tour at a very reasonable price.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Unfortunately the weather was not in our favour to see Mt Fuji. The views of the lake from the cable car were spectacular and the tour guide was wonderful. The bullet train to Kyoto was an experience not to be missed. Kyoto was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Mt Fuji, Kyoto and Nara Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Jan M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What great value! Everything was straightforward and easy to follow. The hotels were amazing and couldn't have been more convenient. I would recommend taking the early morning trains so you maximize your time in Kyoto and have the option of leaving later in unreserved cars. The cars are all the same beautiful. I would recommend traveling with as little luggage as you can so you can enjoy the experience without the hassle of the bags. I too would recommend going to the Peace Park on day of arrival and utilizing those hours so that you can either return or go to the Island the following day. A good restaurant near the Museum across the street with the Peace Bridges is Mario's Italian! Even National Geographic tourists were eating there! Another day in Hiroshima would have been nice.

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour for us from Tokyo prior to our cruise. We had two nights in Kyoto with a half day tour of Nara, including the fascinating deer park, when hundreds of tame deer greet the visitors. You can pet or feed them as you like. The second day includes key sites in Kyoto like the Golden Pavilion, Nijo Castle, ancient Imperial Palace. After an excellent lunch, we visited Sanjusangen-do Temple and its 1001 Buddas, which is a must see in Kyoto. Also, two more temples, including the Kiyomizu-dera Temple with great views of the city. The third day we visited the Silver Pavilion and did the Philosopher's Path that day with more great sites to see. We stayed at the New Miyako Hotel, which was nice with a great location across the street from the main rail station. Great tour, highly recommend it. Japanese tour company was excellent.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Sandra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Well organised tour with helpful staff at each stage of the trip. Fantastic tour guide in Kyoto- very entertaining and informative. Great locations visited.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Olivier B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour !! Everything was perfect from the beginning. We met a very kind and professional Japanese tour guide in Kyoto. We will come back soon in this fantastic country.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Mary L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was excellent! Kudos to KC, our tour guide in Kyoto. He was an excellent guide, with his insights and entertaining comments. He sure did make the tour so much fun, despite the heat. THANKS!

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Mika T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really nice 2-day tour to experience Kyoto and Nara. Everything is made really easy for the traveller. We stayed in New Miyako Hotel in Kioto which was really nice. Even when we get back to Tokyo Eki, there was private luxury taxi arrenged to us to get to our Hotel in Shinjuku. Highly recommended, worth every penny.

Doing what: Kyoto and Nara 2-Day or 3-Day Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

alf.kennedy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great value, if only for the planning. Not a single problem during the whole 3 days. Tickets, reserved seats on the Bullet Trains and two excellent hotels. The hotel in Kyoto has a Tour Desk where you can book the Morning Tour on arrival for the next day. In Hiroshima, just ask Hotel Reception for a Day Pass JPY400 on the Loop Bus. The Red and Green Routes take you everywhere you're likely to want to visit. Simple!

Doing what: 3-Day Kyoto and Hiroshima Independent Tour by Nozomi Bullet Train from Tokyo

Surya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bullet rain ride was amazing. Had visited 3 temples in Kyoto. Great for those who want to do a day trip and do not want to spend nights in Kyoto.

Doing what: Kyoto Rail Tour by Bullet Train from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message