As Japan's national sport, sumo wrestling is a major part of the country's culture. The vast majority of Japan's sumo wrestlers live in Tokyo's Ryogoku district, which has served the sport's hub for the past two centuries. With its heavyweight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative guide who even helped us get pictures with some of the sumo competitors. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Zann Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good Experience! With the help of the tour guide, we understand more about sumo wrestler!

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A must when in Tokyo, being able to watch a Sumo morning practice is a look into another world. Possibly better than competitions, because you get a look into their daily life, training regimen, and tutoring by their coach. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Martin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Yukiko, was amazing and very enthusiastic about all things Sumo. Took the time to explain the history and traditions of Sumo, plus points of interest in each of the day's matches.
Chanko dinner was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. A real highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

donaldducks Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very interesting and allows you to feel some of the Sumo culture.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

linda p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was amazing. I and #39;ve read a lot of people complaining. Sitting inside with the sumo was very up close and personal and great to spend time and appreciate the art.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was great fun and out tour guide was most helpful in explaining the Sumo traditions. I would highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Julie M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was fantastic. Lunch was presided over by an interpreter who gave us an introduction to sumo wrestling. Was surprised to see the force with which the wrestlers attacked one another in the couple of bouts they had. Then we got to talk to them through the interpreter and ask them anything we wanted. Highly recommend this for all ages. You are able to dress up in a fat suit and have a wrestle with them which is very funny too.

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Monica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a very entertaining experience!

They explain and show the different Sumo moves used, both legal and illegal with two retired Sumo wrestlers. You'll soon see that Sumo are remarkably strong and flexible!

They also explain Sumo ranks, history and the tournament. You also get to view a video about the training and Sumo stable.
They are very informative and add a lot of humour to the event. You're also able to ask the Sumo directly about anything you want.
The chanko nabe is delicious, and I usually hate hot pot type food.
The best part is that you can wrestle the Sumo in a Sumo costume, although, it's more like you struggle against them and fail miserably, then they let you win, hahaha...

They included a picture of the front of the establishment when I booked, the venue is on the second floor.

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Marija K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great opportunity to learn about history and technique of sumo wrestling as well as to see the concrete demonstration by two enchanting guys. Good way to prepare for the tournaments.

It was fun guests have opportunity to challenge sumo wrestlers and educative at the same time. Warm welcome, awesome explanation, possibility to ask the questions to the sumo wrestlers.

Chanko nabe the meal was delicious.

Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Florence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This Sumo practice was a highlight of our Tokyo trip. You have to see it to believe it. We have nothing like it in the US. These guys were very serious and focused.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Dane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed our Sumo tour the guide was fantastic and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

big_mack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A unique experience to watch Sumo up close. You really don't know how big these guys are until you see them at practice. They make me look small. You will get a different outlook on Sumo after going to this tour.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Meagan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome to see! We had a really great time watching the sumos and our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about it which added to the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

olly1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific authentic Japanese experience. The guide was very informative and told us everything about the traditions and history of Sumo wrestling.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Veqas Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour, good explanation of sumo, and easy to find collection point

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Ozpol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were very luck to be in Tokyo at tge time of sumo tournament
Our guide was very enthusiastic, and gave us a lot of interesting information

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Wendy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hugely enjoyed my first experience of a sumo tournament.
The tour people were very well organised and herded us in small groups via 2 trains to the arena with great efficiency. Our guide was very experienced and knew the wrestlers well. Sumo is a great spectacle and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Megan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Our guide, Take, gave a thorough explanation of all things sumo, and periodically explained what was going on during the tournament. He was also excellent at making sure our group stayed together, and that everyone knew how to get back to their hotels whether they chose the dinner option or not. The tournament was very entertaining to watch! The seats were a little high up, but I still managed to get some good pictures. Even people who aren't really into sports like me will enjoy this very much. The dinner afterwards was pretty good as well, and it's ready when you get to the restaurant. Overall, this was an unforgettable experience, and Take was very friendly, informative, and funny. This was a major highlight of our trip to Tokyo, and we will definitely recommend it to family and friends!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jenny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Sumo Wrestling Tournament was so interesting and our guide taught us a lot about the rituals prior to the actual wrestling. Our guide also would let us know what exciting or unique warm up or signature move certain wrestlers are known for, which was nice to have our cameras ready. It would have been really great to arrive earlier so we could walk around and take pictures, get snacks and watch more matches, but overall this was an amazing experience. Loved it!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Vicky S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was well worth the price! it was the Most memorable event in Tokyo!!!! The entire family from Grandma to kids 10 and 7 - we ALL had a great time! They took the time to explain the training, techniques and in the end a personal Q and A session with the guests. They did sumo fights with the guests and let me tell you, they ARE Strong!!! The food was delicious!!!

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Lee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our whole group was really happy with this tour. We got a better price on entry tickets than we would have otherwise the tickets were sold out at the box office and the secondary market prices are high, and ended up with a tour guide that just loved sumo and gave us lots of detail about the different wrestlers and about the sport. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

richardbarnwell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time at the Sumo. Our seats were great and we were lucky enough to have a fabulous tour guide who was genuinely passionate about the sumo and getting the low down on the tournament and the individual wrestlers really brought the whole experience to life. However, I am not entirely sure I believe her that Endo isn't her type given her giddy excitement when he won!!!! - All in all a brilliant afternoon made all the more special by the guide. Wholeheartedly recommended!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

James Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the experience and was really pleased that for the most part we could enjoy the Sumo Tournament on our own. I doubt anyone in my group would have appreciated the tournament as much had we just gone by ourselves without some background from the tour guide on the sport's history and the competitors we saw on the day. Loved it!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Saskia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very well-organised tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about sumo. She was helpful in all regards and I would definitely recommend this service to others.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message