As Japan's national sport, sumo wrestling is a major part of the country's culture. The vast majority of Japan's sumo wrestlers live in Tokyo's Ryogoku district, which has served the sport's hub for the past two centuries. With its heavyweight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 202 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Asta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you are looking for a fun and exciting way to experience Japans culture and rich heritage I would definitely recommend going to see Sumo Wrestling. We had a fantastic time ... even my Japanese sister in-law who had never seen Sumo had a blast. She has since booked a seasons pass for herself and her husband. Do yourself a favour and GO!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Alana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was the highlight of our trip to Japan, such an amazing experience that I recommend to anyone visiting Tokyo! We were able to see so many matches in the training session and even see a couple of professional sumo wrestlers train! We loved getting an insight to Japanese traditions and our tour guide Kota gave us a good background into the rules of the sport so we could understand the training better. We also were able to met a couple of the sumo wrestlers after the training and get photos with them. We loved it!

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a great time on our tour to the Grand Sumo Tournament in Tokyo in January, we had a lovely guide and very happy with our experience, love Japan

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Hannah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great day out to see a more traditional side of Japan. We had a very enthusiastic guide who gave a really good and interesting insight to Sumo. For anyone thinking of going on this tour it is definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Sydney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

All aspects of the tour were excellent.
The meeting arrangements were good, travel to the arena was simple and our guide Miki was excellent. She did a great job of explaining the rules and the traditions associated with Sumo and showed a real passion for the activity. I would recommend this tour if you are lucky enough to be in Tokyo during one of the Sumo tournaments.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Morrison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best experience I have ever had! Our guide was highly passionate about sumo wrestling and wrote a brief description of all the wrestlers we saw that day, explained all the rules very clearly and helpful about where to go for souvenirs, food, drinks! Seriously a MUST when you visit Tokyo! We did have the dinner included which was nice but could have done without it but overall one amazing experience!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Kristy L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guide was really well prepared and knowledgable which really helped us understand the sumo action.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Benny Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were extremely lucky to be in Tokyo at the time of the Sumo Tournament in January 2017. We followed Emiko who told us about the traditional art of Sumo which has survived to this day, her English was perfect and the stories she told us about the celebrity wrestlers kept us entertained. She got us there with plenty of time to get comfortable and see all of the important bouts! We then enjoyed a traditional Japanese dinner complete with sake! Would definitely recommend this tour to people who haven't seen the amazing sport. Would love to return again some day to see the tournament again

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Hérica K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good experience. The tour guide was nice and very knowledgeable, sharing a lot of interesting facts about sumo. The seats weren't the best but it was decent. If you do wish to see the sumo wrestlers arriving around 1400 you have to get there earlier and meet up with the group at the arena. We arrived after 1500 and by then pretty much all the the wrestlers had already walked in. It was a fun time, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative guide who even helped us get pictures with some of the sumo competitors. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Zann Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good Experience! With the help of the tour guide, we understand more about sumo wrestler!

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A must when in Tokyo, being able to watch a Sumo morning practice is a look into another world. Possibly better than competitions, because you get a look into their daily life, training regimen, and tutoring by their coach. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Martin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Yukiko, was amazing and very enthusiastic about all things Sumo. Took the time to explain the history and traditions of Sumo, plus points of interest in each of the day's matches.
Chanko dinner was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. A real highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

donaldducks Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very interesting and allows you to feel some of the Sumo culture.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

linda p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was amazing. I and #39;ve read a lot of people complaining. Sitting inside with the sumo was very up close and personal and great to spend time and appreciate the art.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was great fun and out tour guide was most helpful in explaining the Sumo traditions. I would highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Julie M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was fantastic. Lunch was presided over by an interpreter who gave us an introduction to sumo wrestling. Was surprised to see the force with which the wrestlers attacked one another in the couple of bouts they had. Then we got to talk to them through the interpreter and ask them anything we wanted. Highly recommend this for all ages. You are able to dress up in a fat suit and have a wrestle with them which is very funny too.

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Monica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a very entertaining experience!

They explain and show the different Sumo moves used, both legal and illegal with two retired Sumo wrestlers. You'll soon see that Sumo are remarkably strong and flexible!

They also explain Sumo ranks, history and the tournament. You also get to view a video about the training and Sumo stable.
They are very informative and add a lot of humour to the event. You're also able to ask the Sumo directly about anything you want.
The chanko nabe is delicious, and I usually hate hot pot type food.
The best part is that you can wrestle the Sumo in a Sumo costume, although, it's more like you struggle against them and fail miserably, then they let you win, hahaha...

They included a picture of the front of the establishment when I booked, the venue is on the second floor.

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Marija K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great opportunity to learn about history and technique of sumo wrestling as well as to see the concrete demonstration by two enchanting guys. Good way to prepare for the tournaments.

It was fun guests have opportunity to challenge sumo wrestlers and educative at the same time. Warm welcome, awesome explanation, possibility to ask the questions to the sumo wrestlers.

Chanko nabe the meal was delicious.

Wonderful experience!

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Florence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This Sumo practice was a highlight of our Tokyo trip. You have to see it to believe it. We have nothing like it in the US. These guys were very serious and focused.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Dane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed our Sumo tour the guide was fantastic and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

big_mack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A unique experience to watch Sumo up close. You really don't know how big these guys are until you see them at practice. They make me look small. You will get a different outlook on Sumo after going to this tour.

Doing what: Watch Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Meagan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome to see! We had a really great time watching the sumos and our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about it which added to the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

olly1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific authentic Japanese experience. The guide was very informative and told us everything about the traditions and history of Sumo wrestling.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Veqas Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour, good explanation of sumo, and easy to find collection point

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message