As Japan's national sport, sumo wrestling is a major part of the country's culture. The vast majority of Japan's sumo wrestlers live in Tokyo's Ryogoku district, which has served the sport's hub for the past two centuries. With its heavyweight ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 160 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Saskia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very well-organised tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about sumo. She was helpful in all regards and I would definitely recommend this service to others.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Vince M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide for the day, Mika-san, was one of the best tour guides I've ever had. Before we left the meeting area, my sister and I received an extremely informative crash course on the history, ranking structure, and cultural aspects of sumo. Mika-san also personally made each of us a helpful cheat sheet containing the match-ups of the events which included each wrestler's date of birth, country of origin, height, weight, and various background information. It was also color coded with her personal recommendations for the event with yellow signifying interesting bouts and red for can't miss head-to-head battles. After arriving at the arena, we were led on a quick guided tour through the building which included a small side museum dedicated to all the former yokozunas or grand champions of the past. During the tournament, my sister forget her pen and Mika-san was kind enough to lend us one of hers so that we could jot down notes. All in all, a great tour and highly recommended to anyone who might be interested in seeing Japan's national sport.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Connie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Mr. Kota, the tour guide is very very helpful. Originally my reservation is for 4 people and I keep adding more to end up with 11 people. It was very enjoyable experience. Something that not a lot of people do in Japan but we can say that we saw a Sumo Morning Practice plus we were able to watch the opening ceremony of the Sumo Event. Thank you so much. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It's a great cultural experience to watch sumo practice! Our guide Kota-san is awesome! He, as a sumo fan himself, provided a lot of interesting insights about this unique traditional national sport!

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Hayley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Amazing experience.
Our guide Mr Kuta was great, very helpful, interesting and was obviously passionate about Sumo wrestling himself.
A must do when in Tokyo

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Rekha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour guide was exceptional in his knowledge of sumo history and really got us well informed to enjoy the sumo wrestling matches once they started. I would highly recommend going this route if you want to catch a sumo game.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

William G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful afternoon watching sumo wrestling! Our guide was very helpful, I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sumo tournament is an extremely unique sport and something worth seeing if you have the chance. Great way to gain access to the Sumo tournament which is hard to get tickets. Gives you an option to hangout with other English speakers in Japan from all around the world.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Anne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to see Sumo wrestlers in action if you are unable to take in a Sumo Wrestling Contest! Close to the respectful Sumo practice it was a full two hours of 1:1 wrestling practice well enjoyed. Photo op at the finish to take away memories.

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Kelly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This experience was fantastic and one of the highlights of our trip. We loved the sumo demonstration! The food was excellent. Taking pictures and wrestling with the sumos was lots of fun!! I would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Pedro F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was very nice. We really enjoyed and learned a lot about Sumo!

Doing what: Asakusa and Ryogoku Walking Tour with Sumo Wrestler

Daniel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very Personal welcoming experience. The Organisers and Sumos were amazingly friendly, we would recommend the up close and personal experience to anyone. We enjoyed the experience with 3 young kids 10, 7, 4 and they absolutely loved it. The Sumo lunch was also fantastic.

Doing what: Challenge Sumo Wrestlers and Enjoy a Chanko Lunch

Nicole C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were lucky enough to be in Tokyo during the May sumo tournament and this was by far the highlight of our trip!! Our Tour guide, Miki, was extremely knowledgable about Sumo, the tournament, and the wrestlers. She explained the rules and how the tournament works. She walked us through the Sumo history museum and showed us the prizes. She even made us a cheat sheet for all the wrestlers so we understood the odds per match! We had a great time and I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jacques A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour, well worth the money. Our guide helped us understand the culture of Sumo and helped follow the action during the matches. The atmosphere in the stadium was electrical! I recommend this for anyone who wants to see a piece of Japan culture that you will not see anywhere.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Susan T Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great afternoon at the Sumo Wrestling. Fascinating insight into a sport we knew nothing about. Tour guide was very good. All in all a great tour

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

brilliant day out at the Sumo - a truly memorable experience

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

garage.films

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was a great way to get up close and learn a little and understand more about sumo training and lifestyle - I think I got much more out of this that if I had gone to a tournament - 2 different experiences - loved this and guide was great and helpful and informative many thanks !!

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

ANATOLI L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So happy we did this tour - our guide was super fantastic - she was so enthusiastic and knowledgable, which made the experience even more interesting. Watching the sumo wresting, understanding the ranking, the rules, the outcomes, soaking up the 'super bowl' atmosphere, whilst enjoying local food - was a really once in a lifetime experience. I totally recommend attending a sumo wresting match as it will leave you with a great memory! Really worthwhile!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was fine. We couldn't score tickets on our own so chose this option. The seats were fine, the tour guide was knowledgable and spoke perfect English. We met at the bus station to pick up our tickets and then we all got on the subway trains to get to the arena, and she led us and sat with us during the bouts. I think it would be especially useful for someone who'd never been before and didn't know what to experience. We did not choose the Chanko addition. Just the sumo portion.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Clive Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Sumo morning practice tour was excellent, next best thing to seeing actual tournament which was'nt in our holiday dates. The guide was very informative and spoke good english. Well recommended.

Doing what: Watch Sumo Morning Practice at a Sumo Stable in Tokyo

Anthony v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Tokyo. Our guide, Haruko was excellent - passionate and very knowledgeable about sumo. She also took us to the museum at the stadium and explained the exhibits and even provided photo opportunities with the wrestlers.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Bruce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide Yuki was really good. She was polite and descriptive on the sumo tournament, rules, and athletes. We enjoyed it without having any worries about logistics or language barriers. I only wish the service provided pickup from our hotel.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Melinda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Sumo tour was wonderful! So fun! Yuki was a great guide who spoke perfect English. She had very helpful handouts so we could follow the action and know which matches were important and why. She gave us background on each wrestler including fun facts. This is the best way for an American to be introduced to Sumo.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wow! All we can say is wow! My wife, daughter and I had to pinch ourselves many times during the day, repeating we are at a real Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The colors. The traditions. The Sumo wrestlers, the dress of the officials. It was a wonderful cultural overload. All senses were maxed out. This was a larger group than our previous Viator tours. The leaders though did a great job of breaking us down in small groups. Our leaders lead us onto the train and off to the event. Our leader was great in explaining the whole wrestling tournament process. She noted the key Sumo wrestlers and she noted her favorite, a wrestler from her home town. We sat in very comfortable seats in the air conditioned arena. Just a great day. It will be awhile before we come down from that wonderful afternoon. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wow! All we can say is wow! My wife, daughter and I had to pinch ourselves many times during the day, repeating we are at a real Sumo Wrestling Tournament. The colors. The traditions. The Sumo wrestlers, the dress of the officials. It was a wonderful cultural overload. All senses were maxed out. This was a larger group than our previous Viator tours. The leaders though did a great job of breaking us down in small groups. Our leaders lead us onto the train and off to the event. Our leader was great in explaining the whole wrestling tournament process. She noted the key Sumo wrestlers and she noted her favorite, a wrestler from her home town. We sat in very comfortable seats in the air conditioned arena. Just a great day. It will be awhile before we come down from that wonderful afternoon. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message