West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1128 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Benny Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were extremely lucky to be in Tokyo at the time of the Sumo Tournament in January 2017. We followed Emiko who told us about the traditional art of Sumo which has survived to this day, her English was perfect and the stories she told us about the celebrity wrestlers kept us entertained. She got us there with plenty of time to get comfortable and see all of the important bouts! We then enjoyed a traditional Japanese dinner complete with sake! Would definitely recommend this tour to people who haven't seen the amazing sport. Would love to return again some day to see the tournament again

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Hérica K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good experience. The tour guide was nice and very knowledgeable, sharing a lot of interesting facts about sumo. The seats weren't the best but it was decent. If you do wish to see the sumo wrestlers arriving around 1400 you have to get there earlier and meet up with the group at the arena. We arrived after 1500 and by then pretty much all the the wrestlers had already walked in. It was a fun time, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Sheldeen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful tour guide and the amazing energy filled the stadium from all the Japanese people cheering for their number one fan. I loved every minute of it. A must do!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jaime S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organized, great tour guide and was great to avoid the crowds trying to get tickets.
I'd recommend they advise you it's SUPER helpful to rent the radio for the english play by play. I was the only one who got one and was giving people updates about who the athletes were and more of the details. Price was 3300 yen and then you get 3000 back after the event about 3 CDN

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative guide who even helped us get pictures with some of the sumo competitors. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lovely tour, a must if you enjoy Ghibli. Lots of details and production originals if you're curious, as well as props and recreations of settings. Great for kids and adults, and make sure to stop in the cafe on the way out.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Martin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Yukiko, was amazing and very enthusiastic about all things Sumo. Took the time to explain the history and traditions of Sumo, plus points of interest in each of the day's matches.
Chanko dinner was beautifully presented and tasted delicious. A real highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Larry I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a grand time touring the place.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Cindy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Nikko was a very special day for us. The temples were beautiful, the path up and down the mountain was breath taking, the lunch was traiditional, and the lake and waterfall stops we made were one for the books. While yes, the trip is a bit rushed because time is limited, i do believe once you get back to Tokyo at 7pm you realize the stops are perfectly timed. It is a good daytrip, easy because the meal is provided and the tour guides are knowledgeable. I totally recommend going to Nikko as part of your Japan trip. Whether you book this tour or not it is an amazing little town with lots of history.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

MR RANDEEP G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well organised. Wonderfully knowledgeable guide and very accommodating to the large groups needs. One of the best experiences ive had in Tokyo! Thank you so much Viator!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Adrian R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing experience for Ghibli fans.

And take a lot of money because you will want to buy everything at the gift store.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Sharon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

amazing!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was great fun and out tour guide was most helpful in explaining the Sumo traditions. I would highly recommend the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Olivia Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was a wonderful cultural experience. Our guide was knowledgeable, patient, friendly and a good communicator. The temple we visited was amazing and the Monk who received us was both generous with his time and very welcoming. He shared a lot of information about his life as well as the temple's history. This tour is a whole new level of adventure that you should not miss.

Doing what: A Day in the Life of a Monk

Neftali C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing experience, I am a big Ghibli fan and went with my boyfriend who appreciates anime. The guide on the bus was very informative, she told us all about some background of the studio and what hidden things to look for once inside. She also provided us with maps of the area and information on where to go to get back after, since the tour doesn't provide a ride back. The museum was great and there was so much to learn about anime film making. It was a very interactive experience and very interesting, I would highly recommend it for any anime or art fan. I had a great time and would love to do it again.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a long day, but very worth it. Felt like you got a real chance to get away from the city and see some of real Japan. The trip back was 4 hours on the bus traffic is awful, and is aways bad so only do this if you want the very long day. Advice - get the back seats of the bus if they are free to sleep out on.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

pai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour......professional staff....very good guide .....not only explains importance of sightseeing but also explains culture and history of Japan...........nice approach helpful

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Marie-Therese D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A very beautiful autumn day to go there and all the Japanese decided to go the same day. A big traffic to come back and very long hours in the bus. Otherwise, it is to do.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

boh10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Lily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this tour to Nikko. The temple complex was amazing, and the natural scenery around the lake was beautiful. The authentic Japanese lunch provided was also very enjoyable. Our guide was very informative, and we learned lots about Japan.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great! Miki was enthusiastic and sweet, despite some rude tourists talking while she was telling us about the museum. Nice job, Miki!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our favorite tour of our whole trip. The variety of the tour was phenomenal and so was our guide. He grew up close to Nikko. We had people on our bus who were always late, but he was very kind and patient. He would have to go get them. The shrine was the most beautiful one I saw during my Tokyo tours. The huge trees were lovely. Lunch was delicious. Did not have time to go to the large waterfall, but the home and gardens at the Nikko Tamozawa Imperial Villa were very impressive and lovely. The Kirifuri Falls and the autumn leaves were also beautiful.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Marvin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide for the day, Honda, was funny, informative and really helped us understand about the history and the context of each bout so we could really get into it and enjoy it fully. Thank you!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jody S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We didn't get to see the falls because of the heavy fog, but the day was still well spent seeing all the other sites. The falls would have been a nice end to the day, so if you do decide to go, I'll just wish you better weather.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Samuel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful Tour !! Nikko is beautiful-mountains, lakes, waterfalls, forests... And the Temples are fantastic !!!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message