West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1109 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neftali C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing experience, I am a big Ghibli fan and went with my boyfriend who appreciates anime. The guide on the bus was very informative, she told us all about some background of the studio and what hidden things to look for once inside. She also provided us with maps of the area and information on where to go to get back after, since the tour doesn't provide a ride back. The museum was great and there was so much to learn about anime film making. It was a very interactive experience and very interesting, I would highly recommend it for any anime or art fan. I had a great time and would love to do it again.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

cooper.gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a long day, but very worth it. Felt like you got a real chance to get away from the city and see some of real Japan. The trip back was 4 hours on the bus traffic is awful, and is aways bad so only do this if you want the very long day. Advice - get the back seats of the bus if they are free to sleep out on.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

pai

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour......professional staff....very good guide .....not only explains importance of sightseeing but also explains culture and history of Japan...........nice approach helpful

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Marie-Therese D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A very beautiful autumn day to go there and all the Japanese decided to go the same day. A big traffic to come back and very long hours in the bus. Otherwise, it is to do.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

boh10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Lily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We really enjoyed this tour to Nikko. The temple complex was amazing, and the natural scenery around the lake was beautiful. The authentic Japanese lunch provided was also very enjoyable. Our guide was very informative, and we learned lots about Japan.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great! Miki was enthusiastic and sweet, despite some rude tourists talking while she was telling us about the museum. Nice job, Miki!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

vickimyatt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our favorite tour of our whole trip. The variety of the tour was phenomenal and so was our guide. He grew up close to Nikko. We had people on our bus who were always late, but he was very kind and patient. He would have to go get them. The shrine was the most beautiful one I saw during my Tokyo tours. The huge trees were lovely. Lunch was delicious. Did not have time to go to the large waterfall, but the home and gardens at the Nikko Tamozawa Imperial Villa were very impressive and lovely. The Kirifuri Falls and the autumn leaves were also beautiful.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Marvin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide for the day, Honda, was funny, informative and really helped us understand about the history and the context of each bout so we could really get into it and enjoy it fully. Thank you!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jody S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We didn't get to see the falls because of the heavy fog, but the day was still well spent seeing all the other sites. The falls would have been a nice end to the day, so if you do decide to go, I'll just wish you better weather.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Samuel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful Tour !! Nikko is beautiful-mountains, lakes, waterfalls, forests... And the Temples are fantastic !!!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Vivi Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was amazing! This is my first time visit Japan, and i decide my first day are taking this tour. And i can say im fall in love with Japan because the beautiful Nikko. Even the weather is not friendly, its raining. So can not take a perfect pic of Lake Chuzenji. But still i recomended this tour. Perfect arrangement. From the pick up and the scehdule. My tour guide is Merri--japanesse. English is not too good. But she's cheerful guide and arrange all for the whole bus.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Kelly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great way to spend limited time seeing more of Tokyo. Fast-paced. The tour guide was excellent. i recommend you arrive early at the location where the tour departs it was crowded and chaotic -- not extremely well organized . . . but once we were on the bus and the tour got started, we had a great time!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Kali R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This workshop was an amazing experience for me! The teacher was so knowledgable and kind. The instructions were clear and you learn how to make a beautiful book step by step. You won't be disappointed with the results! I highly, highly recommend this if you are interested in doing something that's more personalized and if you appreciate beautiful craftsmanship. Also it's a skill you can continue at home if you choose, so Japan will always stay with you.

Doing what: Japanese Bookbinding Lesson in Tokyo

Sean W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommended option for those wanting to visit Ghibli but were unable to privately purchase admission. It is also really nice meet in central Tokyo and taken out as a group to the museum, as the location is reasonably far away from downtown Tokyo.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Dane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed our Sumo tour the guide was fantastic and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Venita G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome experience. Really interesting. Our guide provided a fact sheet that he had made which was really helpful. Will defiantly go again with this company.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Meagan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome to see! We had a really great time watching the sumos and our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about it which added to the experience.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

olly1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific authentic Japanese experience. The guide was very informative and told us everything about the traditions and history of Sumo wrestling.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Veqas Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Good tour, good explanation of sumo, and easy to find collection point

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Ozpol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were very luck to be in Tokyo at tge time of sumo tournament
Our guide was very enthusiastic, and gave us a lot of interesting information

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Wendy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hugely enjoyed my first experience of a sumo tournament.
The tour people were very well organised and herded us in small groups via 2 trains to the arena with great efficiency. Our guide was very experienced and knew the wrestlers well. Sumo is a great spectacle and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Megan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time on this tour. Our guide, Take, gave a thorough explanation of all things sumo, and periodically explained what was going on during the tournament. He was also excellent at making sure our group stayed together, and that everyone knew how to get back to their hotels whether they chose the dinner option or not. The tournament was very entertaining to watch! The seats were a little high up, but I still managed to get some good pictures. Even people who aren't really into sports like me will enjoy this very much. The dinner afterwards was pretty good as well, and it's ready when you get to the restaurant. Overall, this was an unforgettable experience, and Take was very friendly, informative, and funny. This was a major highlight of our trip to Tokyo, and we will definitely recommend it to family and friends!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jenny W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Sumo Wrestling Tournament was so interesting and our guide taught us a lot about the rituals prior to the actual wrestling. Our guide also would let us know what exciting or unique warm up or signature move certain wrestlers are known for, which was nice to have our cameras ready. It would have been really great to arrive earlier so we could walk around and take pictures, get snacks and watch more matches, but overall this was an amazing experience. Loved it!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Christine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great tour! Thank you!

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message