West meets East. East meets West. For many of us, the notions we have of the East and the Orient are mere stereotyped snapshots gleaned from childhood history classes, Hollywood movies, and maybe a random postcard from a lone wandering aunt. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

SUSAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Nice way to spend the morning getting to see the city, hear some history, and do a little bit of exploring on my own. The guide spoke English very well and was well informed. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed this half day tour. We were unable to get tickets to the tournament at short notice so this tour gave us entry to the second last afternoon of the tournament. Having a Japanese, English speaking guide made it far more enjoyable and informative than if we had gone alone.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Asta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you are looking for a fun and exciting way to experience Japans culture and rich heritage I would definitely recommend going to see Sumo Wrestling. We had a fantastic time ... even my Japanese sister in-law who had never seen Sumo had a blast. She has since booked a seasons pass for herself and her husband. Do yourself a favour and GO!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Michael

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour is the perfect thing to do at the start of your time in Tokyo or if you're pushed for time. Views from the Tokyo Tower are great - we had clear weather, and the Place and Temple are fascinating. The guides and tour itself are all very well run.

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Mark A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a great time on our tour to the Grand Sumo Tournament in Tokyo in January, we had a lovely guide and very happy with our experience, love Japan

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Hannah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great day out to see a more traditional side of Japan. We had a very enthusiastic guide who gave a really good and interesting insight to Sumo. For anyone thinking of going on this tour it is definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Marius G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We got pick up from the hotel as scheduled and transported to the Hato Bus terminal, from where we took the tour bus.
We ride for about 2 hours until we reach the Nikko Tosho-gu temple. We took this tour during the month of January, however I would strongly recommend to do it during spring or summer. As to get inside some part of the temple is required to take off your shoes, the outside cold make it a little uncomfortable.
After Nikko Tosho-gu temple, we took lunch at a Japanese restaurant. The lunch was very delicious.
We did a brief stop at Lake Chuzenji. The scenery if great, but we had not spend too much time outside due to low temperatures.
The last stop was at Kegon Falls. I recommend to take the elevator to the lower level. Around the parking area, souvenir shops and restaurants can be found.
The bus ride back to Tokyo took another 2 hours. We end our tour at Shinjuku area in Tokyo.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Sydney W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

All aspects of the tour were excellent.
The meeting arrangements were good, travel to the arena was simple and our guide Miki was excellent. She did a great job of explaining the rules and the traditions associated with Sumo and showed a real passion for the activity. I would recommend this tour if you are lucky enough to be in Tokyo during one of the Sumo tournaments.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Morrison M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Best experience I have ever had! Our guide was highly passionate about sumo wrestling and wrote a brief description of all the wrestlers we saw that day, explained all the rules very clearly and helpful about where to go for souvenirs, food, drinks! Seriously a MUST when you visit Tokyo! We did have the dinner included which was nice but could have done without it but overall one amazing experience!!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A beautiful trip into snow that provided a more extensive understanding into Japanese culture and traditions. Pick up was organised for us directly from our hotel foyer and the guide was highly organised and knowledgable.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Michael M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide Yume was very knowledgeable and friendly. She explained everything on the tour, as well as answered our many questions. Everything was timed perfectly - the amount of free time to go through the shopping street was appreciated also. We would definitely use this company again and request Yume as the guide if we could!

Doing what: Tokyo Morning Sightseeing Tour

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you're a Ghibli fan than this is a must!! It was very hard to get tickets straight from the official seller group, but we managed to find this tour. The guide was lovely and shared some wonderful information on the way there. It was also very helpful to have transport there, and be helped by the guide with directions back, as we were not familiar with the area and would have struggled to make our way there on our own. There was also no time limit around how long you're in the museum, don't be put off by the idea of a tour group because of that! Once you get to the muesli. Itself the tour ends and you are free to roam until closure if you so desire! Wonderful day, definitely the highlight of our japan trip...

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Kristy L S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Guide was really well prepared and knowledgable which really helped us understand the sumo action.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good guide. Made the night far more interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

ARTURO C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended, Tour Guide extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Ashley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A real treat to see the tournament live. It made watching it on tv for the balance of the week far more interesting.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Rosalia M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was very easy to arrive to this amazing museum with the tour. They gave us instructions on how to go back to where we stayed.
Awesome artist Miyazaki !!!

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

roy.beveridge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Well worth it

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Tammy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very nice tour. Enjoyed seeing the area north of Tokyo. It was a long day.

Doing what: Nikko National Park Day Trip from Tokyo

Benny Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were extremely lucky to be in Tokyo at the time of the Sumo Tournament in January 2017. We followed Emiko who told us about the traditional art of Sumo which has survived to this day, her English was perfect and the stories she told us about the celebrity wrestlers kept us entertained. She got us there with plenty of time to get comfortable and see all of the important bouts! We then enjoyed a traditional Japanese dinner complete with sake! Would definitely recommend this tour to people who haven't seen the amazing sport. Would love to return again some day to see the tournament again

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Hérica K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Good experience. The tour guide was nice and very knowledgeable, sharing a lot of interesting facts about sumo. The seats weren't the best but it was decent. If you do wish to see the sumo wrestlers arriving around 1400 you have to get there earlier and meet up with the group at the arena. We arrived after 1500 and by then pretty much all the the wrestlers had already walked in. It was a fun time, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Sheldeen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A wonderful tour guide and the amazing energy filled the stadium from all the Japanese people cheering for their number one fan. I loved every minute of it. A must do!!

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Jaime S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organized, great tour guide and was great to avoid the crowds trying to get tickets.
I'd recommend they advise you it's SUPER helpful to rent the radio for the english play by play. I was the only one who got one and was giving people updates about who the athletes were and more of the details. Price was 3300 yen and then you get 3000 back after the event about 3 CDN

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative guide who even helped us get pictures with some of the sumo competitors. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Tokyo Sumo Wrestling Tournament

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Lovely tour, a must if you enjoy Ghibli. Lots of details and production originals if you're curious, as well as props and recreations of settings. Great for kids and adults, and make sure to stop in the cafe on the way out.

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message