Tokyo's most interesting details are best noticed on foot, slowed down, and off the main streets. From spotting eye-popping fashion in Harajuku to locals clad in traditional kimonos in Asakusa, Tokyo's neighborhoods can change personalities within ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Innah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour because there was so much to do and see! We visited shrines and temples and were told the religious differences about the two, walked through a miniture bamboo forest, had an amazing Japanese lunch, participated in a traditional tea ceremony, and had time for shopping!
If I'm not mistaken, our tour guide's name was Halle, and she was amazing! Very friendly and knowledgable. She consistently tried to engage the guests to participate but she didn't force anyone to stick around as she explained. She was very open to others roaming around while she spoke.
I really liked that we were given audio devices so she didn't have to yell while explaining to us on site. So you could walk about half a mile from her and take pictures of what I wanted to, while listening to her. It's very clever!
The pick up from our hotel was at 7:55AM and they dropped us off at the bus station where we hopped over to our tour bus. The tour ended at 6:30PM and we were given the choice of being dropped off at Shinjuku or Ginza. Kamakura tour is the less popular choice versus the infamous Mt Fuji tour but I highly recommend this tour for those who want to see this sea side prefecture!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Karen N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This walk was better than I expected Tour leader Alessandro was delightful and knowledgeable only 3 in the group and we went to some amazing buildings by cutting edge Japanese architects Loved every moment

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Poi Lin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best walking tour in Asakusa to see the cherry blossoms !! It and #39;s a must during cherry blossoms session

Doing what: Tokyo Cherry Blossom Walking Tour in Asakusa

Liliana N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was very cool. We got to see the temple, go shopping and see the beach in Tokyo. Also the lunch was great - There is lots of walking but just be prepared to be amazed. There was also plenty of time to look around, purchase items and take in the amazing views...The bamboo garden was amazing- breathtaking

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A really great experience - a chance to visit local food-spots that otherwise would have gone totally missed.

I was traveling on my own and the group was made up of three others from the US and the UK who were all in the same boat. We met our tour guide who then walked and subway'ed us around three fascinating areas where we learnt about and ate great local food - both hot and cold! Sake, Shocu and non-alcoholic drinks were on offer and I'm pretty sure that everyone on the group enjoyed it as much as I did.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Bhavani K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This is a great tour if you have not so much time in Tokyo. It can be tailored to your needs. If you are agile, you can make full use of it travelling in Metro and walking in Tokyo streets and around monuments. Sylvia, our guide, was so good that we enjoyed our time seeing places that interest us among various options she provided. Her suggestions turned out to be great because of her expertise. I will recommend this tour to all to get a good glimpse of Tokyo. Metro system is safe and great.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

Roberta H C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour is fast paced and covers several interesting neighborhoods. Our guide Mike was well informed and an enthusiastic advocate for some fantastic new architecture. We went inside some of the buildings, and learned about the architects and their philosophies of architecture. The tour requires lots of brisk walking and lots of stairs, but is well worth the effort.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Judith V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful guide, Isuki. The food was marvelous and varied. The pace of the walk was just right -- no rushing, and we had a very relaxing and delightful evening.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the advantage of being the only person on the tour so it was a an opportunity to chat to my guide and to find out not just about where we walked, but about life in modern day Tokyo and Japan. Joy was a very interesting and friendly guide, very enthusiastic about her subject. It was an extremely interesting tour with lovely discoveries tucked away down the tiny streets. To end the tour in a typical bar, the size of a front room, for a drink and a Japanese snack was a great end to the afternoon.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Audrey a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had tried to book from Australia, however found this online when we arrived in Tokyo on the Friday.

We paid and were confirmed within 24 hours for Mon the 11th of Jan. We had a great Tour Guide who met us at the location Hotel near Shinjuku. She gave us info and then helped us board the bus to Mitaka where the Museum is.

During the bus trip she explained about the vision for the museum, and that we were to experience this for ourselves and we should not have her provide us with all the information. She also after her briefing on the museum, came by to see how we were going to make our way back. Providing us with bus or train options.

For a non Ghibli buff....it was extraordinary to view the animation see Totoro, and the 10mins of animation. See how Animation was made, and walk around absorbed in this medium. My son loved it.

We did our tour at 4.00 and managed to finish around 6.00 to grab the bus out the front to head to the Mitaka Station to head back to Shinjuku.

I enjoyed it and here are some of our pictures

Doing what: Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Lot of walking. 25000 steps. That's the hard part. But our guide was simply superb. She knew the books and crannies of Tokyo. The itinerary was customized right at the start of the day. We had delicious hot ramen at a noodle bar. Great coffee on a cold morning in a scenic cafe at Akihabara. She shared a lot of history related to the Meiji shrine and the Asakusa area. Much better than a bus ride sightseeing.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

Judith L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience despite extremely hot weather. My guide Chiaki was thoroughly professional with lots of interesting anecdotes about this area. Actually saw two Geisha walking the small lanes and loved the quaint shops and shrines along the way. Have seen a lot of Tokyo but this was another delight. Thank you Chiaki.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Stefanie Dion J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

EXCELLENT tour. This was a day chock-full of different types of attractions, from visiting the Great Buddha to traversing peaceful gardens to walking through Kamakura and, later, Chinatown. Excellent and large! traditional Japanese lunch at a lovely beachside hotel. Our guide, Nao, and our driver, Koyagi-san, were both absolutely outstanding. The only downside is that it's only a one-day tour, so you really are rushed through some of the parts of the day. I can understand that, given the time constraints I only wish I could go back and spend more time in places like Chinatown! Either way, fantastic and I would absolutely recommend this to fun-loving travelers.

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

farhana.poppleton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We went with a small group which was nice. We walked through the back streets of Tokyo and our guide took really good care of us. You get to see a very different side to Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Travis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was our most favorite tour of our vacation...despite the rain. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and even took the rain into consideration a led us through covered paths instead out walking out in the rain. The food was excellent and the owners of the establishments that we stopped at were very friendly and also shared a bit of knowledge with us. I highly recommend this tour to anyone....even if you're not a foodie.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Carole B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Meg arrived early and we visited the fish market, which was VERY interesting. We walked gardens, toured the city, visited Buddhist temples and Shinto shrines. We had snacks at numerous places and lunch at a great Tokyo restaurant. The food was typical Japanese and we greatly enjoyed it. Meg was very good about letting four 70 year olds set the pace. We had a wonderful day and saw very much of Tokyo in 8 hours.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

Maryam A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Silvia was so good we felt as if we were walking around Tokyo with a friend. The best introduction to Japan so I highly recommend it and Meg from the same office emailed us before the trip to organize all the program thanks alot

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were in Japan for almost two weeks, and this was one of my favorite activities. We went to two restaurants, plus a bakery, where our guide picked up our dessert. Small, intimate group of about 12 people, and it was fun to get to know them over the meals, plus walking from one place to the next. Our guide was a friendly young woman who was perfect for this tour--she knew a lot about the food and the restaurants, and made a fun event even more so.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I am giving this tour a high recommendation more for the quality of the guide than for the tour itself--we had a sharp, young male guide who was very well informed. However, much of this tour is just walking past the stores in the Harajuku area, so there wasn't much for him to inform us about. The part of the tour we enjoyed more than Harajuku was the Otosando area, with its swanky stores and great people watching.

Doing what: Harajuku Fashion Walking Tour

Gwynarra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very enjoyable. Good variety of food types in interesting locations that we would not have experienced otherwise. It was also a good opportunity to meet some other English speaking travellers. Warning: there is quite a bit of walking involved in this tour. One of the group had a bad hip and I think she found the long walks and many subway stairs painful. So do not book if you have any mobility issues.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were lucky to meet Aurelia who was a knowledgeable and personable guide. It was like going for a walk with a friend who had done her research and more on the architecture and culture of Japan. We found out a lot about the symbolisms and the design concepts of the buildings. Aurelia started from the historical perspective at the Meiji temple in Harujuku and we learnt very quickly about the historical progression and architectural context. We proceeded to Omotesando and Roppongi. A Phd Scholar with a architectural background from Romania, Aurelia's acute perception and depth of knowledge of architecture was a plus and her personable skills made us feel like we were walking with friends. From an architectural perspective, this tour is highly recommended. My husband and I had a great time revisiting these buildings again in Tokyo from Australia. Make sure you have good walking shoes and architectural appreciation.

Doing what: Scholar-Led Architectural Walking Tour: Harajuku, Omotesando and Roppongi

Michael J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide (Silvia Regina Yamawaki) was absolutely excellent. Her English was extremely good and she was very understanding of my disabilities which made it difficult for me to walk as far or as fast as my wife. We both had a great day and will recommend you to our friends and colleagues.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Tokyo in a Day

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great tour and excellent tour guide. The areas we walked through were very interesting and unlike the usual tourist destinations. The streets were packed with delicious delights and tempting souvenirs. A great way to understand the inner workings of Tokyo.

Doing what: Kagurazaka Walking Tour

Catharine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The guide, Take, was excellent making jokes while guiding the tour. We went to Hasedera Temple first, then walked down the street to see the Great Buddha. I don't recommend this for anyone with walking issues since there are a fair amount of stairs up to the Temple and walking on the street to the buddha.

After that we went to Yokohama for the Chinese lunch in Chinatown. I had the vegetarian meal which was excellent. The view from the restaurant to the harbour is beautiful. We had time to shop in Chinatown and see a beautiful Temple at the end of the street. We then drove to Sankeien Garden to see a Samurai house and beautiful bridge and gardens. The tour disbands at either Ginza station or Shinjuku Station. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Kamakura and Tokyo Bay Day Trip from Tokyo

Solgracie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour didn't take long but we have stopped to lots of placed. Our tour guide, Sylvia, has very good English. The food was fantastic. We walked along the tour but it was very pleasant experience.

Doing what: Tokyo by Night: Japanese Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message