Ubud ATTRACTIONS See all

Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary

A Balinese Hindu site, the famed Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary is populated by cheeky long-tailed macaques and serves as a popular site among visitors to Ubud who come from all over to see the monkeys and the temples within the sanctuary. Hundreds ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 135 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lauren L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was awesome! He provided a lot of information about the country and its history as we drove 2 hours to the volcano. There is a lot of commute time from Kuta area so be prepared also the entrance fees are not included so bring rupiah with you. The Monkey forest was incredible they are truly everywhere but you are not allowed to touch them and do not wear jewelry because they monkeys will try to take it. The volcano is incredible and you eat at a buffet restaurant overlooking Mt. Batur at least 150 rupiah per person. The spa was very relaxing. The first hour is a massage and the 2nd hour is an exfoliating cream and honey milk extract and then a tub soak.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour Including Mt Batur the Sacred Monkey Forest and a 2-Hour Spa Treatment

Molly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Anang was very friendly and spoke great English. We were also given the option to pick and choose some of the parts of the tour to either go to or miss out. The spa at the end was fantastic and a relaxing way to end a long and exciting day.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour Including Mt Batur the Sacred Monkey Forest and a 2-Hour Spa Treatment

Juan Carlos United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Great view on Tanah Lot....good experience with the praying moments in the temple.The othe stops were not that great. Rice terrance is not the one in Ubud. This one you do not see the terraces...very little. The monkey forest is not the same than Ubud one.....you do not see many thing in here.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Lori M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I loved this tour because I was able to tour the major tourist spots of Bali outside of beaches all in one day which was excellent for me. Our driver Eddie was amazing!! He was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Bali and was very accommodating to our request throughout the tour. He also looked out for us when we were interacting with local vendors which we really appreciated. Personally I could have done without the Spa however overall the tour was an excellent deal and I highly recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour Including Mt Batur the Sacred Monkey Forest and a 2-Hour Spa Treatment

sla27214

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

trip was excellent our guide/driver was excellent,we got to see a lot of sites that we were interested in while our guide/driver explained to us all the things we asked and wanted to know,our experience was more enjoyable as we were the only ones in our group,our guide/driver even asked at the end of the day was there anything else we wanted to see.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour Including Mt Batur the Sacred Monkey Forest and a 2-Hour Spa Treatment

ROSEMARIE E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent driver, places taken was great and the 2 hour spa treatment wonderful.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour Including Mt Batur the Sacred Monkey Forest and a 2-Hour Spa Treatment

danjsmith86

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a nice tour, worth spending an afternoon on. At the monkey forest not the main one, one in Ubud is better by miles and a must-see a shop owner took us around maybe 15-20mins before taking us back to her shop where we were obliged to buy something. We even offered a donation, but in the end had to buy an extortionate badly-made wooden monkey! Mengwi Temple was really beautiful and our guide explained as best he could, English wasn't great a bit about what the different structures represent and some of the history. We arrived at Tanah Lot much too early to be worth staying for the sunset, so had a wander about then left. Perhaps we didn't spend enough time at other areas beforehand, but it was so busy we weren't too bothered. It is a beautiful place, and I imagine especially so at sunset, but wasn't much to actually see there and incredibly busy with other tourists. Our guide was nice, and tried to give information where he could, but the language barrier was unfortunate. He did also take us for a traditional snack at a rice field, which was a nice extra.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

philipyuyu Philippines

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

A good halfday tour for tourists who wants to maximize their stay in Bali but beware the traffic situation could be bad and the time spent in transit could be longer than the tour itself.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Hayley P

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Monkey forest was a bit of a disappointment and we were taken round quickly (ie 5 mins) then pressurised into buying items for the guides shop.
Coffee plantation good, temple was nice to see and walk around.
Our guide was good and very passionate about Bali.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Dariusz S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing Trip, the guide was very nice and helpfull. Air Conditioned vehicle was nice as well. Fantastic if you want to see Bali in one day. Go and try the luwak coffe in the jungle mountains was amazing.
Five stars hands down.

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour Including Mt Batur the Sacred Monkey Forest and a 2-Hour Spa Treatment

David T. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I can't say enough wonderful things about our guide! His English was excellent and he was such a sweet man, and very knowledgeable! We had to personalize our tour quite a bit because we had people in our family who ranged from one year to 91 years old! He let us modify the tour to suit our needs. He was a wonderful guide and fabulous with my two young grandsons!

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour Including Mt Batur the Sacred Monkey Forest and a 2-Hour Spa Treatment

Debra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Everything was fabulous especially our wonderful guide Putra!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Elyce M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was out of this world fantastic. We went on a sunday, which we didn't realize wasn't the best day for the guides as there are religious obligations in the morning. That said, we were the only ones on the tour and i don't know if our guide took us at all off the beaten path, but we thought he may have taken us to some extra spots. It was an absolute blast. First stop was a local thread factory, where you have time to shop although this will be the priciest shopping probably in all of Bali, then a jewelry village also very expensive but you can negotiate to an extent. After that it was a bit of a longer drive to Mengwi Temple, which is just gorgeous. Then a local rice farm/coffee shop before Tanah Lot. if you don't want to get stuck in hours of traffic, ask your guide to time it right where you see the sun beginning to set at Tanah lot but don't stay for the whole duration as it is insanely crowded. I definitely recommend this day! The scenery even during the drive was amazing. It was a fun-filled day completely full of culture. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful experience on this tour! the tour guide was knowledgeable, spoke good English, and was flexible with the itinerary. would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

J A M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Well informed guide, small group, great sights

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

bluebeetlemio

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The tour was good although there were some stops included which were not mentioned initially when I booked this tour i.e: coffee plantation, which in my case was an unnecessary stop and meant that we missed out on enjoying more time at Tanah Lot Temple which I would have preferred. The other couple I shared the car with also agreed on this. Lucky that I asked the driver to put his foot down in order to reach the temple for Sunset, otherwise we totally would have missed out on that experience as well. Other than that, pleased with the experience.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic guide, took us to many places along the way to the monkey temple. Beautiful sunset at Tanah lot

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Kelsey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the perfect way to see the highlights Bali in one day. Our guide was very informative and well educated on everything we saw. My favorite was definitely the Rice Terraces and the volcano. The buffet lunch was perfect and delicious with a gorgeous view. We all thoroughly loved the tour and even though it was over 10 hours...the 2 hour massage treatment was the perfect end to a wonderful day!

Doing what: Full-Day Bali Island Tour Including Mt Batur the Sacred Monkey Forest and a 2-Hour Spa Treatment

Steve R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I was the only one of the tour which was disappointing. did not like visiting the factories as felt obliged to buy. overall ok

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Edward S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This trip was a lot of driving between the three major activities... and was intersperced with multiple shopping stops Batik, Silver, Art, even coffee beans. So much time was spent on the shopping stops that it permitted much less time at the actual places we had wanted to see. Our guide was pleasant but not very talkative. If you wanted to know something, you were expected to ask. It was great to see the temples, but that can be easier done without all the unwanted shopping. However, if you also like to shop, this is the tour for you!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

LYE HENG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent trip and great tour guide with good knowledge. will recommend to anyone who to see sunset. Tanah Lot is a very beautiful temple seen from a far!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message