Ushuaia ATTRACTIONS See all

Beagle Channel

The frigid Beagle Channel provides a watery highway for the world’s southernmost city, Ushuaia, en route to the icy Antarctic. The strait separates Argentina’s Isla Grande de Tierra del Fuego, to the north, from remote Chilean islands like Nueva, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Toby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

great lunch, smooth pick up and very informed guide pointing out the varied and beautiful landscape of Tierra del Fuego

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Amanda R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

you do not see penguins on this tour. the boat was extremely crowded and you could not hear the information. we went on another tour the next day, and it was 4.5 hours this tour is actually only 2.5 hours and we got to see penguins and the boat is much nicer.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

dshevans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this catamaran cruise in the Beagle Channel in late October 2016. It was short enough to not tie up the entire day, but long enough to give us a wonderful experience in the Channel. The views were spectacular. We loved our guide. He spoke both English and Spanish although we were the only English speakers on the trip. He made a point of speaking with us personally several time throughout the trip, sharing some personal experiences.
We got very close to several islands and were able to watch the birds and sea wolves sea lions sitting on the rocks and swimming in the water. It was mating time, so we saw some of the mating rituals as well. The boat captain would turn the boat from one side to another so that everyone had a close view of the animals and lighthouse. There was plenty of time for photos and selfies. We stopped at one island and got off for a short walk. Our guide told us to leave the rocks, leaves, plants, etc for others to see. As we were leaving the island, another large tour boat pulled in beside us. The tourists on that boat began picking up rocks and other things, and putting them in their pockets as souvenirs. So sad that they felt they could take what they wanted.
It was a great trip and I highly recommend it. We took a morning cruise, having been forewarned that the afternoons are sometimes too windy for the boats on the Channel. The next day all cruises were cancelled in the afternoon due to the wind and waves. I would recommend going on the cruise the first day we only had two days there and taking it in the morning. If there had been a bad weather day, we would still have had a second day to attempt the cruise.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Sea Wolves Island Catamaran Cruise

Juan P A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Is a great experience. There is a lot of things to sea and enjoy in the Beagle Channel.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

Rudolph V United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip itself into the National Park was great and the train ride fun. However, when I booked it, I read in the comments that someone had an experience of having booked and paid for the optional train ride, but it was not printed on the voucher and then the tour operator questioned it. I booked both and had the same trouble. Viator should print the price and the fact that opted for the optional items in future to prevent problems when we arrive at our destinations.

The operator then told me it is always Viator that do not do this and they suspect that they keep the money for themselves, since the operator was not informed either that the optional was paid for. Very poor sho Viator.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Laura N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This is definitely a tourist trap kind of tour. Its not that the tour itself was bad, but there is nothing to it. Ride a little train and see some nature. You dont even get to the end of the continent, just a lake....

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

ddrp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful scenery, lots of fun, excellent guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Adventure Tour of Ushuaia: Hiking, Canoeing and Sailing at the End of the World

Cgogail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride was nice but I would not consider it a great tour we rode a few feet then stopped to take pictures of the surroundings. When I ask the guide why there were so many dead tree trunks she said because of the weather. There must be more to it than that.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great with amazing views, staff on the boat was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Sea Wolves Island Catamaran Cruise

Dennis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Spectacular scenery. While the tour we purchased was the english speaking tour, and did include some small amount of english, it was largely in spanish. This is a tourist hotspot, so there are tons of other tour busses and lines for everything. Our purchase included the train, but that was not clear to the tour operator and they wanted me to pay again for the train. After a few calls back to the home office they honored the voucher and we got the last two seats on the train with no time to visit the station, which looked very interesting. Once we got going, everything was peachy. The park is a true nature preserve and not full of rubber tomahawk tourist shops which I appreciated. We hit it on a clear day...bonus!

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Tyng C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was well organised and we thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the farm

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

judlich220

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, wonderful guide- note rate does not include fare or train ride, but a must part of the trip.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Cgogail

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

If you do not speak fluent Spanish do not take this tour. The tour guide spoke primarily Spanish and her translation was limited at times. She was much more interested in booking additional tours. She was not engaging and appeared to have limited knowledge of the sites.
When I booked this tour was told we would be notified of the time of pick up and place. This took the exchange of many emails and was told to meet at 730 am and was not picked up until 9 then the tour guide initially told me we were not on her list. I wouild not use this company again and someone should teach the tour guide in order to be good at what she does she needs a script and knowledge of her surroundings to assure she receives a tip. My only tip is for her to get a script and practice so she comes across as if she knows what she is talking about.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Jocelyn L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Sorry , my review was submitted before I had finished . Can I just say that maybe a few less emails and an actual delivery of the product would be a good thing ! I hope to receive some explanation and apology from you . Thank you Jocelyn Lawson

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Jessica D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The train was fantastic. Our 6 year old son loved it. The rest of the tour stopped at some gorgeous places. The bus was incredibly hot and that plus very windy roads made for a lot of of nausea. A smaller bus or van would have made the trip a lot more enjoyable by the end. The tour guide was very knowledgable about the area. Since the tour is subcontracted out at least twice, you don't get any response when trying to make enquiries. We wandered around until the tour guide happened to bump into us. We had no idea where they were picking us up and never received responses to our emails days ahead inquiring about this. The tour itself is worth it, just frustrating working with faceless companies.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Ted S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Tour operator Rumbo Sur did not have the Train option information, which we had paid for. They did, however, make things right by paying for it at the park. Not blaming Rumbo Sur, but somewhere there was incomplete communication on our purchase of the tour. Made for a very stressful situation.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Sari R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Enjoyed the tour and the live tour guide was great. On the train, the sound of the audio guide was not good - not quite loud enough to hear over the chatter of others in the train car and not crisp/clear enough. So, I missed a lot of the commentary, which was quite a disappointment. This was true in English AND in Spanish.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Geert V

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Good. Nice views, Estancia Harberton is an interesting place.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Greavesie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent day. It is a l,ong day, so value for money. The boat trip is long so plenty of time to appreciate the amazing views. The highlight was seeing the penguins in their natural habitat.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

YOLANDA CORTES Puerto Rico

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very entertaining tour. National Park is a must see.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message