Ushuaia ATTRACTIONS See all

Beagle Channel

The narrow Beagle Channel, separating Argentina's island chain of Tierra del Fuego to the north from remote Chilean islands to the south, serves as a waterway for the world's southernmost city, Ushuaia. The channel is one of the most important ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cobrablue10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My wife and I truly enjoyed this 3-day adventure.......we arrived early for our trip to Antarctica and wanted to see the local sites around Ushuaia. We decided on this adventure and was pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the trek around Ensenada Bay after which we had lunch......it was GREAT. The rest of the day we spent rafting and paddling along the Lapataia River into Lapataia Bay. The guide was superior! We had people from various countries of the world and he spoke each of the languages required to communicate with our group. WE HAD A GREAT TIME!!!!!! Walter and Marion Schade

Doing what: 3-Day Adventure Tour of Ushuaia: Hiking, Canoeing and Sailing at the End of the World

lise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Be sure you have arranged transport to the marina as hotel pickup isn't included. It was fantastic to be so close to the cormorants, sea lions and penguins...they put the catamaran right on the sand and the penguins were on the beach and swimming around the boat. We got lucky too and saw a pair of King penguins, not very common there. The estancia was interesting, though I thought it was a working one when I booked that part of the trip, but it's been a tourist destination since the 1990s when a big snow storm killed most of the areas sheep and that estancia decided to go all tourist. The restaurant on the estancia is good- the stew was delicious, but a bit pricey.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Ryan T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We enjoyed the trip, though it was a long ride between stops 1-1.5 hours - but was well worth the trip. You'll need cash for the boat, it was very cold outside and everyone was getting hot chocolate. The boat pulls up very close to the rocks and island to see the sea lions and penguins. The stop at Estancia Harberton was very nice as well, make sure you bring cash for lunch.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Moise K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The day spent hiking and canoeing was great. Sailing on the second day is OK but could be improved. Overall, guides were excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Adventure Tour of Ushuaia: Hiking, Canoeing and Sailing at the End of the World

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The boat experience is ok-this lighthouse/island is really pretty small-even though it looks so much bigger in photos. Expected to be bigger considering ships that come through here. They do get you up close to island to take plenty of photos and then again when go to penguins. We had done another tour in Chile where we walked around with the penguins so this was a bit of a let down. Again, they do stay long enough for you to take photos-they are adorable.
We took the extended tour of the Estancia Harberton and so glad we did. The Marine animal museum is an excellent display of the marine animals life size murals and their actual skeletons next to the paintings. Guide informative as well. We were two of 4 English speakers so had small group tour. One smart Argentine who knew English joined our group for the small group experience.
There is a small restaraunt-food ok-but hit the spot and they work to serve you quickly so can get on with tour. Also-they take any currency.
The tour of the Estancia was fascinating-how built, how came about, family still living working there. Again, guide was very informative, fun and knew excellent English. Can't think of her name--sorry-but young, funny and excellent.
Ride back to Ushuaia is by bus-down gravel roads but scenic drive through forest, etc.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Zoe R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

We opted to not take the train. The tour failed to tell us that though you don't take the train you still have to wait for the other tourists to buy their tickets to get on the train and then wait for them when they get off. I thought we would be completely separate. It was 2.5 hours I before we really got a tour.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

TAJUL K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was very good. I enjoyed the PENGUIN ISLAD

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Michael B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was very interesting but a little chaotic in the beginning. I noticed some people's reservations were lost and they had to pay extra money to get in. the park itself is beautiful. However, I would add a visit to the post office. It is the post office at the end of the world. You can get your picture taken there and mail post cards from the bottom of South America. This tour should include that.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Henry P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

My wife and I booked this excursion through Viator for a local agent to meet us at the cruise terminal. The booking confirmation told us to meet the local Gray Line agent and the tour began at 8:00 am. No one showed up to pick us up. We looked around for an hour, begining at 7:30 am, and asked other tour companies, local officials, looked for our names on placards and walked around looking for a Gray Lines agent. We ended up just hiring a local excursion for a cruise down Beagel Channel to see the penguins. That was a great excursion. Tip to Viator, please let your customer know who the local agent is and where they will meet the customer.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Grace M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great little trip. You see seals, penguins, bunch of birds, great views. The guide is very knowledgeable. The tour of the homestead is interesting. They have a restaurant there which serves a nice lunch. Not included in the tour price. Generally a good day.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

frankmarquez_00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Who goes to Ushuaia and passes up the opportunity of seeing penguins? If you are going to Antarctica you can pass on this but for those of us who didn't its worth just seeing the penguins. The optional part is the second part with the estancia. You get to tour an estancia from that was founded by a local. You also tour the facilities of fossils from local sea mammals and have time for lunch. Feel free to bring your own lunch. Or they should consider changing tour to include lunch.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Toby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

great lunch, smooth pick up and very informed guide pointing out the varied and beautiful landscape of Tierra del Fuego

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Amanda R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

you do not see penguins on this tour. the boat was extremely crowded and you could not hear the information. we went on another tour the next day, and it was 4.5 hours this tour is actually only 2.5 hours and we got to see penguins and the boat is much nicer.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

dshevans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this catamaran cruise in the Beagle Channel in late October 2016. It was short enough to not tie up the entire day, but long enough to give us a wonderful experience in the Channel. The views were spectacular. We loved our guide. He spoke both English and Spanish although we were the only English speakers on the trip. He made a point of speaking with us personally several time throughout the trip, sharing some personal experiences.
We got very close to several islands and were able to watch the birds and sea wolves sea lions sitting on the rocks and swimming in the water. It was mating time, so we saw some of the mating rituals as well. The boat captain would turn the boat from one side to another so that everyone had a close view of the animals and lighthouse. There was plenty of time for photos and selfies. We stopped at one island and got off for a short walk. Our guide told us to leave the rocks, leaves, plants, etc for others to see. As we were leaving the island, another large tour boat pulled in beside us. The tourists on that boat began picking up rocks and other things, and putting them in their pockets as souvenirs. So sad that they felt they could take what they wanted.
It was a great trip and I highly recommend it. We took a morning cruise, having been forewarned that the afternoons are sometimes too windy for the boats on the Channel. The next day all cruises were cancelled in the afternoon due to the wind and waves. I would recommend going on the cruise the first day we only had two days there and taking it in the morning. If there had been a bad weather day, we would still have had a second day to attempt the cruise.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Sea Wolves Island Catamaran Cruise

Juan P A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Is a great experience. There is a lot of things to sea and enjoy in the Beagle Channel.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

Rudolph V United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip itself into the National Park was great and the train ride fun. However, when I booked it, I read in the comments that someone had an experience of having booked and paid for the optional train ride, but it was not printed on the voucher and then the tour operator questioned it. I booked both and had the same trouble. Viator should print the price and the fact that opted for the optional items in future to prevent problems when we arrive at our destinations.

The operator then told me it is always Viator that do not do this and they suspect that they keep the money for themselves, since the operator was not informed either that the optional was paid for. Very poor sho Viator.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Laura N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This is definitely a tourist trap kind of tour. Its not that the tour itself was bad, but there is nothing to it. Ride a little train and see some nature. You dont even get to the end of the continent, just a lake....

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

ddrp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful scenery, lots of fun, excellent guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Adventure Tour of Ushuaia: Hiking, Canoeing and Sailing at the End of the World

Cgogail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride was nice but I would not consider it a great tour we rode a few feet then stopped to take pictures of the surroundings. When I ask the guide why there were so many dead tree trunks she said because of the weather. There must be more to it than that.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great with amazing views, staff on the boat was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Sea Wolves Island Catamaran Cruise

Dennis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Spectacular scenery. While the tour we purchased was the english speaking tour, and did include some small amount of english, it was largely in spanish. This is a tourist hotspot, so there are tons of other tour busses and lines for everything. Our purchase included the train, but that was not clear to the tour operator and they wanted me to pay again for the train. After a few calls back to the home office they honored the voucher and we got the last two seats on the train with no time to visit the station, which looked very interesting. Once we got going, everything was peachy. The park is a true nature preserve and not full of rubber tomahawk tourist shops which I appreciated. We hit it on a clear day...bonus!

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Tyng C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was well organised and we thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the farm

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message