Ushuaia ATTRACTIONS See all

Tierra del Fuego National Park

Running north from the Beagle Channel, the Tierra del Fuego National Park offers visitors the chance to follow easy walking trails along scenic rivers and bays. The park’s forests of beech are home to coastal birds such as cormorants and albatross.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 105 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

TAJUL K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was very good. I enjoyed the PENGUIN ISLAD

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Precious G United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a fun tour. The hiking and canoeing were a little too rushed in my opinion. The lunch was excellent! I wish I could have had my own kayak because I didn't enjoy trying to canoe with the other folks in the tour group we didn't mesh well as a team and that was frustrating.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Hike and Canoe Tour

Jane M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Not worth the money! Certainly this trip is not for fit seniors who do not wish to be tossed around in the back of an old Land Rover with dirty bench seats and lap belt. When we were picked up, the front and middle seats were already occupied. We had to go in the cargo area. This is not my idea of travelling in a Land Rover. My younger travelling companion did not like it either. Canal Fun was the local provider. Their version of fun is driving down steep hills, over very rutted or muddy trails and bumping along the stones on the shore of a lake. It took away from the scenery we were supposed to be enjoying. The only saving grace of this misadventure was a good lunch. Think your description of this expensive trip should be more explicit as to what one can expect!

Doing what: 4x4 Off-Road Tierra del Fuego Adventure From Ushuaia

Henry P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

My wife and I booked this excursion through Viator for a local agent to meet us at the cruise terminal. The booking confirmation told us to meet the local Gray Line agent and the tour began at 8:00 am. No one showed up to pick us up. We looked around for an hour, begining at 7:30 am, and asked other tour companies, local officials, looked for our names on placards and walked around looking for a Gray Lines agent. We ended up just hiring a local excursion for a cruise down Beagel Channel to see the penguins. That was a great excursion. Tip to Viator, please let your customer know who the local agent is and where they will meet the customer.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Grace M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great little trip. You see seals, penguins, bunch of birds, great views. The guide is very knowledgeable. The tour of the homestead is interesting. They have a restaurant there which serves a nice lunch. Not included in the tour price. Generally a good day.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

frankmarquez_00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Who goes to Ushuaia and passes up the opportunity of seeing penguins? If you are going to Antarctica you can pass on this but for those of us who didn't its worth just seeing the penguins. The optional part is the second part with the estancia. You get to tour an estancia from that was founded by a local. You also tour the facilities of fossils from local sea mammals and have time for lunch. Feel free to bring your own lunch. Or they should consider changing tour to include lunch.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Toby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

great lunch, smooth pick up and very informed guide pointing out the varied and beautiful landscape of Tierra del Fuego

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

mbsnowski

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was great, everything I expected. The canoe was actually a narrow rubber raft with people sitting next to each other and paddling n each side. There were 7 per raft with a guide in the back steering. The river/lake was quite calm, easy to paddle, nothing difficult. The hike was along the water and in the trees. The variety of trees and the guides explanation of the flora and fauna was very good.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Hike and Canoe Tour

Amanda R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

you do not see penguins on this tour. the boat was extremely crowded and you could not hear the information. we went on another tour the next day, and it was 4.5 hours this tour is actually only 2.5 hours and we got to see penguins and the boat is much nicer.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

Juan P A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Is a great experience. There is a lot of things to sea and enjoy in the Beagle Channel.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

Rudolph V United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip itself into the National Park was great and the train ride fun. However, when I booked it, I read in the comments that someone had an experience of having booked and paid for the optional train ride, but it was not printed on the voucher and then the tour operator questioned it. I booked both and had the same trouble. Viator should print the price and the fact that opted for the optional items in future to prevent problems when we arrive at our destinations.

The operator then told me it is always Viator that do not do this and they suspect that they keep the money for themselves, since the operator was not informed either that the optional was paid for. Very poor sho Viator.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Laura N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This is definitely a tourist trap kind of tour. Its not that the tour itself was bad, but there is nothing to it. Ride a little train and see some nature. You dont even get to the end of the continent, just a lake....

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Cgogail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride was nice but I would not consider it a great tour we rode a few feet then stopped to take pictures of the surroundings. When I ask the guide why there were so many dead tree trunks she said because of the weather. There must be more to it than that.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Dennis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Spectacular scenery. While the tour we purchased was the english speaking tour, and did include some small amount of english, it was largely in spanish. This is a tourist hotspot, so there are tons of other tour busses and lines for everything. Our purchase included the train, but that was not clear to the tour operator and they wanted me to pay again for the train. After a few calls back to the home office they honored the voucher and we got the last two seats on the train with no time to visit the station, which looked very interesting. Once we got going, everything was peachy. The park is a true nature preserve and not full of rubber tomahawk tourist shops which I appreciated. We hit it on a clear day...bonus!

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Tyng C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was well organised and we thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the farm

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

judlich220

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour, wonderful guide- note rate does not include fare or train ride, but a must part of the trip.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Cgogail

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

If you do not speak fluent Spanish do not take this tour. The tour guide spoke primarily Spanish and her translation was limited at times. She was much more interested in booking additional tours. She was not engaging and appeared to have limited knowledge of the sites.
When I booked this tour was told we would be notified of the time of pick up and place. This took the exchange of many emails and was told to meet at 730 am and was not picked up until 9 then the tour guide initially told me we were not on her list. I wouild not use this company again and someone should teach the tour guide in order to be good at what she does she needs a script and knowledge of her surroundings to assure she receives a tip. My only tip is for her to get a script and practice so she comes across as if she knows what she is talking about.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Jocelyn L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Sorry , my review was submitted before I had finished . Can I just say that maybe a few less emails and an actual delivery of the product would be a good thing ! I hope to receive some explanation and apology from you . Thank you Jocelyn Lawson

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Superb day. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Hike and Canoe Tour

Jessica D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The train was fantastic. Our 6 year old son loved it. The rest of the tour stopped at some gorgeous places. The bus was incredibly hot and that plus very windy roads made for a lot of of nausea. A smaller bus or van would have made the trip a lot more enjoyable by the end. The tour guide was very knowledgable about the area. Since the tour is subcontracted out at least twice, you don't get any response when trying to make enquiries. We wandered around until the tour guide happened to bump into us. We had no idea where they were picking us up and never received responses to our emails days ahead inquiring about this. The tour itself is worth it, just frustrating working with faceless companies.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Ted S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Tour operator Rumbo Sur did not have the Train option information, which we had paid for. They did, however, make things right by paying for it at the park. Not blaming Rumbo Sur, but somewhere there was incomplete communication on our purchase of the tour. Made for a very stressful situation.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message