No wonder remote Ushuaia has an end of the world feel – it’s the southernmost city in the world! Surrounded by the glacial peaks of the Fuegian Andes, and lapped by the icy waters of the Beagle Channel, there is some stunningly scenic country to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 129 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cobrablue10

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My wife and I truly enjoyed this 3-day adventure.......we arrived early for our trip to Antarctica and wanted to see the local sites around Ushuaia. We decided on this adventure and was pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed the trek around Ensenada Bay after which we had lunch......it was GREAT. The rest of the day we spent rafting and paddling along the Lapataia River into Lapataia Bay. The guide was superior! We had people from various countries of the world and he spoke each of the languages required to communicate with our group. WE HAD A GREAT TIME!!!!!! Walter and Marion Schade

Doing what: 3-Day Adventure Tour of Ushuaia: Hiking, Canoeing and Sailing at the End of the World

lise

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Be sure you have arranged transport to the marina as hotel pickup isn't included. It was fantastic to be so close to the cormorants, sea lions and penguins...they put the catamaran right on the sand and the penguins were on the beach and swimming around the boat. We got lucky too and saw a pair of King penguins, not very common there. The estancia was interesting, though I thought it was a working one when I booked that part of the trip, but it's been a tourist destination since the 1990s when a big snow storm killed most of the areas sheep and that estancia decided to go all tourist. The restaurant on the estancia is good- the stew was delicious, but a bit pricey.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Ryan T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We enjoyed the trip, though it was a long ride between stops 1-1.5 hours - but was well worth the trip. You'll need cash for the boat, it was very cold outside and everyone was getting hot chocolate. The boat pulls up very close to the rocks and island to see the sea lions and penguins. The stop at Estancia Harberton was very nice as well, make sure you bring cash for lunch.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Moise K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The day spent hiking and canoeing was great. Sailing on the second day is OK but could be improved. Overall, guides were excellent.

Doing what: 3-Day Adventure Tour of Ushuaia: Hiking, Canoeing and Sailing at the End of the World

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The boat experience is ok-this lighthouse/island is really pretty small-even though it looks so much bigger in photos. Expected to be bigger considering ships that come through here. They do get you up close to island to take plenty of photos and then again when go to penguins. We had done another tour in Chile where we walked around with the penguins so this was a bit of a let down. Again, they do stay long enough for you to take photos-they are adorable.
We took the extended tour of the Estancia Harberton and so glad we did. The Marine animal museum is an excellent display of the marine animals life size murals and their actual skeletons next to the paintings. Guide informative as well. We were two of 4 English speakers so had small group tour. One smart Argentine who knew English joined our group for the small group experience.
There is a small restaraunt-food ok-but hit the spot and they work to serve you quickly so can get on with tour. Also-they take any currency.
The tour of the Estancia was fascinating-how built, how came about, family still living working there. Again, guide was very informative, fun and knew excellent English. Can't think of her name--sorry-but young, funny and excellent.
Ride back to Ushuaia is by bus-down gravel roads but scenic drive through forest, etc.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Zoe R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

We opted to not take the train. The tour failed to tell us that though you don't take the train you still have to wait for the other tourists to buy their tickets to get on the train and then wait for them when they get off. I thought we would be completely separate. It was 2.5 hours I before we really got a tour.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

TAJUL K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was very good. I enjoyed the PENGUIN ISLAD

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Michael B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The tour was very interesting but a little chaotic in the beginning. I noticed some people's reservations were lost and they had to pay extra money to get in. the park itself is beautiful. However, I would add a visit to the post office. It is the post office at the end of the world. You can get your picture taken there and mail post cards from the bottom of South America. This tour should include that.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

chiuliqi

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Unfortunately the weather was bad and cloudy - lake escondido was really well-hidden! Haha
Nevertheless I would only recommend this tour if you have more difficulty moving around or hate the outdoors (much of it was spent in the van).
I would recommend some hiking and the 4WD experience instead.

Doing what: Full-Day Tour to Lake Fagnano and Lake Escondido

Mary S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The only good part was the lunch, which was good and plentiful. The tour itself was not good. The Land Rover was tight, had to rear seats facing each other with no support? Quite uncomfortable for hours off road. The sites we traveled were pretty but not stupendous. The driver talked mainly to two Spanish speaking passengers and rarely pointed anything out. Maybe because it was a bit boring. The people in back heard all most no comments. Strong fuel smell in the rear, necessitating opening windows which blew on the necks of other passengers. Would not recommend it.
Sr Way too expensive to just bounce around.would not recommend it.

Doing what: 4x4 Off-Road Tierra del Fuego Adventure From Ushuaia

Jane M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Not worth the money! Certainly this trip is not for fit seniors who do not wish to be tossed around in the back of an old Land Rover with dirty bench seats and lap belt. When we were picked up, the front and middle seats were already occupied. We had to go in the cargo area. This is not my idea of travelling in a Land Rover. My younger travelling companion did not like it either. Canal Fun was the local provider. Their version of fun is driving down steep hills, over very rutted or muddy trails and bumping along the stones on the shore of a lake. It took away from the scenery we were supposed to be enjoying. The only saving grace of this misadventure was a good lunch. Think your description of this expensive trip should be more explicit as to what one can expect!

Doing what: 4x4 Off-Road Tierra del Fuego Adventure From Ushuaia

Henry P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

My wife and I booked this excursion through Viator for a local agent to meet us at the cruise terminal. The booking confirmation told us to meet the local Gray Line agent and the tour began at 8:00 am. No one showed up to pick us up. We looked around for an hour, begining at 7:30 am, and asked other tour companies, local officials, looked for our names on placards and walked around looking for a Gray Lines agent. We ended up just hiring a local excursion for a cruise down Beagel Channel to see the penguins. That was a great excursion. Tip to Viator, please let your customer know who the local agent is and where they will meet the customer.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Grace M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great little trip. You see seals, penguins, bunch of birds, great views. The guide is very knowledgeable. The tour of the homestead is interesting. They have a restaurant there which serves a nice lunch. Not included in the tour price. Generally a good day.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

frankmarquez_00

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Who goes to Ushuaia and passes up the opportunity of seeing penguins? If you are going to Antarctica you can pass on this but for those of us who didn't its worth just seeing the penguins. The optional part is the second part with the estancia. You get to tour an estancia from that was founded by a local. You also tour the facilities of fossils from local sea mammals and have time for lunch. Feel free to bring your own lunch. Or they should consider changing tour to include lunch.

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Toby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

great lunch, smooth pick up and very informed guide pointing out the varied and beautiful landscape of Tierra del Fuego

Doing what: Beagle Channel Sailing Tour: Islands, Penguins and Estancia Harberton

Amanda R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

you do not see penguins on this tour. the boat was extremely crowded and you could not hear the information. we went on another tour the next day, and it was 4.5 hours this tour is actually only 2.5 hours and we got to see penguins and the boat is much nicer.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

Charles C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I purchased this 5-day trip in Ushuaia and El Calafate but worked with Viator and the local tour operator that Viator subcontracts Signature to increase it to 9 days. One nice thing about booking through Viator is that you can be assured that the local operator is reputable and, in this case, that was crucial to the success of our trip. Signature was able to help us with the additional hotel accommodations, box lunches, and transfers to make this an outstanding vacation. In addition, we had problems with our internal flights in Argentina and Signature was invaluable with regard to helping us adjust our itinerary.

We did all the excursions included in the 5-day itinerary: Tierra del Fuego National Park, Austral Feuguino train, Beagle Channel boat ride, Pertio Moreno glacier, and the Punta Bandera boat trip to see Upsala glacier. While that would have been a fine itinerary I'm really glad we added the extra days since we traveled so far to experience Patagonia.

In addition to the above we added Mini Trekking on the Perito Moreno glacier, a day trip to Torres del Paines National Park in Chile, and the Nativo Excursion near El Calafate which, all together, combined for the trip of a lifetime.

I think we enjoyed the Mini-Trekking extra trip that we arranged the best followed by the Torres del Paines day trip also an extra add on.

This 5-day itinerary is a great starting point for a longer adventure. It may be too short as a stand alone vacation, especially if you fly a long ways to get to Patagonia Chicago for us, but that's the nice thing about Viator they can adjust itineraries to meet your needs. Be aware that your air transportation between cities is not included and you have to book those things on your own.

The hotels they booked us into were fine and we never had any issues with any of the arrangements. We were always picked up on time and everyone we worked with was friendly and helpful.

Doing what: 5-Day Trip in Ushuaia and Calafate

Juan P A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Is a great experience. There is a lot of things to sea and enjoy in the Beagle Channel.

Doing what: Beagle Channel and Seal Island Catamaran Tour from Ushuaia

Rudolph V United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip itself into the National Park was great and the train ride fun. However, when I booked it, I read in the comments that someone had an experience of having booked and paid for the optional train ride, but it was not printed on the voucher and then the tour operator questioned it. I booked both and had the same trouble. Viator should print the price and the fact that opted for the optional items in future to prevent problems when we arrive at our destinations.

The operator then told me it is always Viator that do not do this and they suspect that they keep the money for themselves, since the operator was not informed either that the optional was paid for. Very poor sho Viator.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Laura N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This is definitely a tourist trap kind of tour. Its not that the tour itself was bad, but there is nothing to it. Ride a little train and see some nature. You dont even get to the end of the continent, just a lake....

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

ddrp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Beautiful scenery, lots of fun, excellent guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Adventure Tour of Ushuaia: Hiking, Canoeing and Sailing at the End of the World

Cgogail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The train ride was nice but I would not consider it a great tour we rode a few feet then stopped to take pictures of the surroundings. When I ask the guide why there were so many dead tree trunks she said because of the weather. There must be more to it than that.

Doing what: Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with Optional End of the World Train Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message