Sightseeing on Malta is all about 5,000 years of history -- from Neolithic ruins through early Christianity to the epic Siege of Malta and the role the island played in World War II. The fortified city of Valletta has the lion's share of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

joseph_vallee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Gozo is a must see if you are going to Malta and this tour brings you to all of the highlights in one day. Coach bus pick up at your hotel and transportation to the ferry and back. Another coach bus picks you up in Gozo and brings you to all of the sites. The temples making you feel like you are stepping back in time and of course the Azure Window is absolutely beautiful. Lunch was very good and not rushed. Gozo is a great break from the hustle and bustle of the main island and the landscape is indescribable. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

Ron C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The HOHO tour is great to have a quick overview of this scenic country. We fully enjoyed the tour. That said, those that will take this tour will find out that most people stay on board the bus except at Mdina. So one may have to wait a while to get back on the bus if one get off at locations that are not popular to tourists from the cruise ships.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Constanse M S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Really good tour of Gozo covering all key highlights but also includes some smaller less well known parts. Lunch was good but expected a bit more. Very impressive guide who had extensive knowledge and spoke / communicated clearly in three languages. Worth going!

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

joseph_vallee

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Great tour! The Blue Grotto is so beautiful. I would recommend paying the extra fee to do the boat ride as you get up close to all the wonderful structures and cliffs. Marsaxlokk is a quaint fishing village where we had lunch at a great restaurant. The fish was extremely tasty. We had a little too long to walk around the village but I think it was more so because of the time of year small tour and few tourists which gave us a lot of extra time. The temples and Ghar Dalam were so interesting and our guide was great about giving us very good information about all of the sites.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

Albert A

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The hotel pickup was punctual and the time to meet the ferry for Gozo done well. There could have been more explanation of the areas we passed to meet the ferry. The ferry ride was quick and the bus on the other side ready for us. From then it seemed a routine schedule of visiting a sight for a boat ride and then a trip to a local craft market. One of these would have been acceptable, but both seemed too much. I had hoped for more time in villages or at vista points to hear of the history and of the people. So much was seen, but not explained. The lunch was fun, with us being on a second floor, away from local customers. The selections most delectable.

After lunch the time at Victoria included a 30 minute movie of Gozo, which should have been done earlier. That introduction would have helped to set the pace of the day. But then the tour guide walked us up to the Citadel and then left us there to enjoy the sights. We needed an explanation of what we were seeing. So much history and sacrifice for the people. We learned little. The final moments were dedicated to the Temples and the explanation there was quite good. I felt we needed more time to really sense the immense proportions of the endeavor and the significances of the archeological finds. The trip back to the ferry was fast, and the connections on the Malta side done well.

Overall I enjoyed the tour's ability to cover the area and roads in minimal time, to bring us to a most interesting site. I only wished less tourist stuff and more involvement with the history and special areas of the island.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

Louis B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

When we got off the ship in Malta we were directed to a location to pick up the hop on hop off bus. We asked to go on either the red or blue route and were told they started later, so they put us on the yellow route which we didn't even know existed, One of the stops we wanted to see was the Cathedral and walled city of Mdina. We got there just fine and were told we could catch the blue route from there at 10:30. 4 more yellow route buses came by and at 11:00 still no blue route bus. All we kept hearing is it's coming. We finally gave up and took the yellow bus route back to the original spot of pick up. That took almost 1 1/2 hours due to Saturday traffic. When we did finally get to our original pick up location, we were told the red bus would be by at 130 and it was a 3 hour trip. That is 3 hours if we do not get off the bus. We never got to take it or the blue route due to the time we had to be back on the ship. The only highlight was Mdina was spectacular

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant tour, well presented and very informative. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

David I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant tour, well presented and very informative. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Valletta Sightseeing Cruise and Tour

Dan K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Busses operate on a schedule. Make the most of the time waiting by visiting local attractions.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sophia S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a lovely trip esp Gozo and the Azure window but there wasnt much time there which was disappointing. 10 mins is not enough at this gorgeous site.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

Karm Sum T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Thank you for adding an additional route from cruise port to Mdina gate. Really helpful for cruise tourist

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Christian S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very good tour! I highly suggest to do this tour.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

Daura M d

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The tour itself was great because the local guide was great. Viator, however, was NOT great. Once I booked and paid, Viator washed their hands of the process, instructing me to call the local guide company IN MALTA at least 24 hours in advance to confirm pickup and failing to provide an email address for said guide company. RIDICULOUS!!! No one who is traveling should have to call another country to confirm details. I sent Viator an email which they got around to answering a week later too late!!!
The tour was 5 stars and Viator wax 1 star.

Doing what: Malta Sightseeing Tour: Blue Grotto, Marsaxlokk and Ghar Dalam

Florin M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

A quick tour for visiting tourist sights in Gozo, but easily done in a hurry, one cafeteria food restaurant.

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

Florin M

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

A whole day means from 9.30 - till 15.30. And bus arrival 30 min means in fact around an hour.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

PAM

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2016

Worst shore excursion! Hop on-hop off coordinator said Blue Grotto was closed for "filming." My daughter "let's take a taxi", she again said it's closed. Later, we found people who had scuba dived in Blue Grotto! She lied. Spent 2 hrs on bus just trying to get back to ship. Terrible excision.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alvin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We arrived in Malta on a cruise ship. The hop on/hop off tour had a bus stop within easy walking distance of the cruise port. The bus was clean, well driven, and took us on an above average tour. We were very satisfied. The tour was a good value.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

s a p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

a very good trip highly recommended

Doing what: Gozo Day Trip from Malta Including Ggantija Temples

DaisyR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I loved this Hop-On Hop-Off tour that takes you to see the most important sites of Valetta and Mdina.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Maureen R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Excellent way to see the sights when your time is limited. Only managed two of the routes due to Bus waiting over half an hour at one of the stops.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Lynne P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Bus was excellent way to see the island. We went to Mdina stopped for an hour and then picked up the bus again back to the city area.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Dan

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We were in Malta for a short time off the cruise boat and it was a good way to see the island. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Doing what: Malta Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Malta Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message