A highly evocative neighborhood of excellent character bars and a smattering of good restaurants, Gastown is Vancouver’s best old-town area. The Victorian era resonates in the cobblestone streets, antique lamps and old buildings, adding to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alexis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had Nevada as my tour guide and I loved this tour so much. We started at the Cathedral on Dunsmuir and travelled down to the Dominion Building, Chinatown and ended at GasTown. It was a wonderful and thorough explanation of what went down in the 1910's and 20s during the prohibition era, and taught me a lot about the city's history with immigrants, bootlegging, laws, key persona at the time, and all the major secrets! What really sold the adventure was the real life photos that Nevada showed us. The pictures really took us back to how life was like then so that it wasn't just a fairy tale, it made it real.

Thank you Nevada for the great time!

Doing what: Prohibition City Downtown and Chinatown Walking Tour

Frederick B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our favorite activity when visiting a new city is seek out a HOHO. It is the best way to see the best of the city in the least amount of time. Then we have the opportunity to jump off and explore some sections more deeply if desired.
Vancouver's HOHO covered a lot of territory - it allowed us the time desired to explore Stanley Park, Granville Island, and the Gastown. We just ran out of time to explore other areas of the city,

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Terry F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The perfect way to get your bearings in a new city. Our young man tour guide had so much personality and knowledge of the city, like cost of real estate, the buildings and their architecture, the old areas of the city like Gas Town, the beaches and the huge Stanley park. Loved it!

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

elaine w United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I caught to trolley at the Yaletown stop after riding the Sky Train to get there and got off in Gastown. I went to a wonderful First Nation native gallery there and had lunch at the Spaghetti place tight near one of the two Gastown stops. The food was plentiful, to be sure, and good. Then I went to Canada Place and around Stanley Park after switching to the other Hop on line, which was waiting for us. Got off at the Granville Island stop and took the free little ferry across False Creek to Granville Island where I shopped and then took a taxi back to my hotel. It was fun and convenient.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Dennis T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took this tour on a Friday afternoon/evening. We visited at least 10 different places that were unique, tasty, and close together. Our guide, Brent, was very cheerful and knowledgeable about both the places and the history of Gastown. Just be sure you're hungry before the tour starts you definitely won't be hungry after!

Doing what: Gastown Walking Food Tour

jamesjmp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide was great as well as the tour. The guide provided in a really nice way interesting details about both Chinatown and Gastown. I really advise to do this tour.

Doing what: Prohibition City Downtown and Chinatown Walking Tour

Enrique C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brent was an entertaining guide and showed us some of the highlights of Gastown. The food was great and the portions big enough. Recommended if you want to experience and insiders view of Old Town Vancouver.

Doing what: Gastown Walking Food Tour

richardlhill

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very friendly drivers and guides, dropped us at Vancouver Acquarium and Chinatown and Gastown stops we wanted. At end of day, our driver even dropped us off in front of our hotel. Great impression of Vancouver via this firm. There are other hop on hop off services, but be sure you sign up for the Trolley service.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The food was great and Brett infused a rainy day with some gassy info and fun!

Doing what: Gastown Walking Food Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Exceptional overview of the city. We love taking tours like this because you can see where you'd like to spend more time if you have a few more days. This tour covered inside the city as well as the surrounding area, from GasTown, Chinatown, Granville Island to Stanley Park and more. Another great tour guide with lots of info. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Christina D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour was certainly worth the money paid. Vancouver is a beautiful city and has many wonderful sights to see and things to do. Gastown was - well a gas! - and Granville Island was a must see full of many exciting shops and entertainers. Hopping on and off enabled us to see lots of places in Vanvouver that ordinarily as tourists we wouldn't be able to visit! Again, well done!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Patricia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Hop on Hop off in Vancouver worked out perfectly for our group to reach all the destinations we wanted to visit. We had no trouble catching another trolley after we exited in Chinatown, Stanley Park, Gas town and Grandville. We used the free False Ferry tickets provided in our included discount booklet, then caught the trolley back into Vancouver. We did find it was easiest to catch the first trolley of the day starting at Canada Place. We purchased the two-day ticket and it was perfect.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

WILLIAM D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

5 star jose vargas was wonderful

Doing what: Private Tour: Vancouver City Sightseeing

yvonne.d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great way to explore the city and the drivers provided a great commentary throughout the journey. She sure to stop off at Granville Island, Stanley Park, Yaletown, Gastown and Canada Place.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We very much enjoyed this tour, exchanging our voucher for 2 day hop on tkts + Harbour 360 viewing tower included.The trolley stopped right outside our hotel and we took 1st route through Stanley Park along the waterfront and on to Canada Place where we left the trolley. We had some brunch walked along to Gastown the Harbour 360 etc then took the 2nd route down to Granville Island. Drivers give an impromptu commentary about the areas. All very good fun and very obliging at the end of the day in dropping people off near their hotels. This company has lots of competition in Vancouver and they really want your business, we think they deserve recommendation.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

AILEEN D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Hop On Hop Off is the way to go to get around Vancouver! We went through Stanley Park, Gastown, Chinatown. Very convenient... Added feature was the buy 1 day get 2nd day free!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

larry_almasy

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

René was a great tour guide. He imparted tidbits of history or origins into many of the sights in Vancouver. Seeing Grandville Island was interesting but for the tour itinerary I would have preferred to stop in Gastown/Chinatown. Seeing iconic landmarks up close is way more important than shopping on a sightseeing tour.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

William F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Served it's purpose as a general introduction to the area. Kyle, our guide was very informative.
The tour was somewhat short. Not enough time allowed at stops.
Felt somewhat rushed.
Would have liked a stop at Gastown.
Needed more time at Stanley Park and Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

RJ H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Brent was friendly and was informative.
History of Gastown was fun, food was good.

Doing what: Gastown Walking Food Tour

Richard M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Purchased two consecutive days of the hop-on-hop-off tour which served as transportation throughout Vancouver. My initial day in the city was spent on the city tour. This tour allowed me to spend additional time on the sites that I felt were more noteworthy. The drivers have two routes which will allow the tourist an opportunity to spend 30-45 minutes at a particular spot. You can then hop on to proceed to your next destination whether you wish to shop, view the surroundings, or get wet in the rain! You can then plan each day to go back to Granville Island. Go to some museums. Or, take a picture of the clock in Gastown. Recommended.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Dane G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed the tour. Wished it had a short stop at Gastown to see the steam clock.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Esperanza M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

If you have limited time in this city, I recommend this tour. Our guide, Greg, was very informative and helpful. We took the 4-hr city tour so we can hit all the highlights of the city. Then we went back to those places that we want to see more of. We went to Gastown for souvenir shopping and to Granville Island for a leisurely walk and a visit to the public market. If you have more time in the city, I suggest taking a map and just ride the buses. It will be a lot cheaper.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

marieanneel

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour guide/driver gave us and excellent tour for our first trip to Vancouver. We loved all the interesting stories and places we saw on the trip. The only downside was that too much time was spent going through the residential areas and so we didn't get to stop for a walk around Gastown.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

BART P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We were on the Hop on Hop of Tour of Vancouver 8/16,8/17/13.The tour buses were fun and stops interesting.Stanely Park was are favorite and we enjoyed GasTown,Prospeck Park,Grandville Island and Totem Park.In 1 and a half days we were able to ride the Red and Blue route twice and get off many times at all stops of interest.The drivers were all interesting to here there points of interest and there different humor of the city of Vancouver.The only drowal back was some times the buses were full and we had to wate for the next bus.But overall it was a great value for seniors at $69 for two for two days.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Ann K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This tour gave us a good overall view of the City of Vancouver Canada. They were on time. The drivers were well informed and interesting. We especially loved Stanley Park and Gastown. One thing we were unhappy about was the Chinese Garden that was the stop just before Chinatown. It seems there are two Chinese Gardens: One that is free to the public and one that has a $15.00 fee for a short tour. We decided to view the garden on our own. It was very nice, but only about 50 square feet. We kept seeing people over on another side of the garden with no access TO this part of the garden for us. We were THEN informed by a fellow tourist, that we could have seen the garden for free,a but were not informed at the ticket counter that the Garden was actually free to the public. When I asked an employee of the garden why we weren't informed of the free public garden she said that the "for fee" garden contained "genuine stones etc from China" , while the public garden contained materials form Mexico and Italy, therefore was not an authentic! The driver should have given us a heads up on this scam. So if you aren't aware, you might want to give your paying passengers a "Buyer Beware" warning. Kick this stop off your list and just stop at Chinatown. I don't want to see others ripped off like we were.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message