Vancouver ATTRACTIONS See all

Granville Island

Brimming with arts and crafts studios, bars and restaurants with eye-popping views, Granville Island is a popular spot for visitors and locals alike. Though it’s really a peninsula, jutting out into False Creek, the island draws visitors who can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

elaine w United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I caught to trolley at the Yaletown stop after riding the Sky Train to get there and got off in Gastown. I went to a wonderful First Nation native gallery there and had lunch at the Spaghetti place tight near one of the two Gastown stops. The food was plentiful, to be sure, and good. Then I went to Canada Place and around Stanley Park after switching to the other Hop on line, which was waiting for us. Got off at the Granville Island stop and took the free little ferry across False Creek to Granville Island where I shopped and then took a taxi back to my hotel. It was fun and convenient.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

An enjoyable trip, providing a useful overview of Vancouver. Only disappointing part was the 1.25 hours at Granville Island - far too long.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Rhana J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would have liked more time at the Granville Market but otherwise it was a comprehensive look at Vancouver. Very interesting.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Dan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We used the all-day pass as part of our Granville Island and False Creek day during a week in Vancouver. We enjoyed it so much we went the full circuit 3 times! Each pilot was enjoyable and informative. The beauty of the False Creek area is amazing and the AquaBus is the way to see it. And of course Granville Island and the Public Market are a must. Later we walked along much of the seawall on the Yaletown side, which is fantastic.

Doing what: Vancouver AquaBus Ferry Ticket

Trevor C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Informative and well delivered. Visited areas we would not normally have gone to, impressed with Granville Island. Prompt pick ups at the hotels and the tour kept to time at a pace we could cope with.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Helen F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was not made very clear where to catch the bus from when getting off the Ferry at Granville Island. Also the final bus was earlier in the day that identified in the timetables. Some of the drivers were excellent 7 some were very difficult to understand.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Laurafu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

DO NOT BOOK THIS. My friends and I signed up for this. We thought it would be a great way to see the city. This company overbooked and did not fulfill its obligations. They were supposed to come by every 20 minutes or so. Instead, they came by every 45 minutes!!! Even if the trolley does come by, it is always full! No one was getting off the trolley, which means no new person was getting on. Our first stop was lunch at the Tea House. We were stuck there after lunch in the pouring rain. We had to wait for a second trolley to come by because the first one was full. Each wait was 45 minutes. Once we got on, we were stuck again at Granville Island and this time, it was way worse! There were 35 people waiting in line ahead of me to get on the trolley to get off Granville Island. Those people said that each trolley can only accommodate 2 to 4 new people and that they had already been waiting 1.5 hours. By this time, the line was getting long and 20 more people showed up behind me. Some people in line eventually gave up and hailed a taxi. All this happened in the pouring rain. In the meantime, the competitor's sightseeing bus green and blue color kept coming by every 15 minutes, half empty, while all of us were waiting in the rain for our red trolley. My friends and I waited for 1.5 hours for the red trolley with no luck. We were so desperate that one of my outgoing friends went to the competitor's bus and begged for mercy. They took pity on us because we were drenched from the rain, and they dropped us off at the next stop which was Yaletowm. We gave them a nice tip, which they did not expect and was appreciative. In summary, the red trolley company is terrible because they overbooked and did not have enough trolleys to accommodate all the people.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

mst529

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Tour was unorganized from the start. I was picked up late by a shuttle that took me to another pick up point to wait again, this time with two other people waiting for the same tour. After a few minutes of that, we were told she was waiting for two guests to finish their breakfast. Seriously? No respect for other people's time. Next, a good tour guide should be able to provide you with relevant facts and history about the city in which you are visiting. Suffice it to say, I was very underwhelmed by the information I was given. Useless would be an apt description. At one point, she asks us to play a game to name two things we like about the City in which WE live. Really? I'm not in Vancouver to learn about what I like about living in New York. Again, deflecting away from the fact that she knows or is unwilling to share any pertinent history/facts of Vancouver. Then, we were only given an hour at Granville Market which was packed by the time we reached there. At this stop, it was never made clear where she would meet us with the bus, which ended up with some of us walking around for 15 mins. trying to locate her. I seriously believe that part of her poor job performance was due to her allowing herself to be distracted by all the attention she was receiving from the male guests that were sitting right behind her in the front row seats. One woman said she was texting her husband about how horrible to tour was going. It would be quite helpful if you would refresh your people's business etiquette that time is money and that people won't want to spend it with this company if they get the sense that they are the one's being taken for a ride. Since using Viator, this is the absolute worst tour I've had the displeasure of paying for.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Blefson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great way for an overview of the city. We saw the most important parts and ended at the Lookout Tower where we could see almost all of our trip within the city. Our guide Juan was fine and he knows his city. Being picked up and dropped off at our hotel was very nice. Going to Granville in this way saves a headache in looking for parking.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Maridol G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

great stops especially the granville island stop , very helpful ferry drivers

Doing what: Vancouver AquaBus Ferry Ticket

Catherine C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

An excellant introduction to Vancouver for first timers like me. Perhaps a longer time at Granville Market.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Liz S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Liked the tour a lot-reasonably priced-knowledgeable drivers-great way to see Stanley Park and Granville Island. However, after Granville Island the trolley was 20 minutes late-it was a Saturday-but I didn't expect them to be that late for a pick up.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Erica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very fun way to experience Granville Island and learn more about the local vendors. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area, food and gave us great recommendations for local restaurants. I really liked how the first tasty was hearty and then followed with great bites - we definitely didn't leave hungry, but weren't over-stuffed. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

Richard M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Purchased two consecutive days of the hop-on-hop-off tour which served as transportation throughout Vancouver. My initial day in the city was spent on the city tour. This tour allowed me to spend additional time on the sites that I felt were more noteworthy. The drivers have two routes which will allow the tourist an opportunity to spend 30-45 minutes at a particular spot. You can then hop on to proceed to your next destination whether you wish to shop, view the surroundings, or get wet in the rain! You can then plan each day to go back to Granville Island. Go to some museums. Or, take a picture of the clock in Gastown. Recommended.

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard M USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Devin was our experienced, excellent guide. We had four major stops which included Stanley Park, Granville Island, the Observation deck. Stanley Park offers you serenity in a bustling city along with totem poles, shopping, and picturesque views of the skyline. The observation deck allows you to see the city from above it all!! Granville Island is the Canadian city's answer to Seattle's Pike Street market with beautiful arrays of flowers, fruits and vegetables, and culinary treats. This tour is well worth the 4-5 hours spent.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Cindy-Lee Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

What a disaster!!! I usually book the double decker city sightseeing hop-on hop-off tour when I go on holiday, this time I made the mistake of booking the TROLLEY hop-on op-off tour of Vancouver. I only had an afternoon and the next full day in the city , so I booked a 2 day pass. The first afternoon we got off at Granville Island, took the ferry back and then hopped back on and off again at the first stop. We walked around a little then went back to the bus stop to get back on the bus, unfortunately the bus just never came back even though it was still supposed to be running We spent the rest of our afternoon waiting for the bus incase it was just running late very late!!!! Then ended up walking back to our hotel.
The next day we made our own way to the aquarium because I had an encounter booked for early morning. After the encounter the trolley came passed and we hopped on, we got off at the first stop and that was the end of our sight seeing....every time the bus stopped it was full so we couldn't get on, 3 busses went passed us, and there was a group of people waiting to get on the bus. Eventually one lady who had been waiting to get on the bus for 2 hours convinced another bus driver from the Stanley park bus to give us all a lift to the closest exit of Stanley park and then we all walked back to our hotel. What a waste of our time!!

Doing what: Vancouver Trolley Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Exceptional overview of the city. We love taking tours like this because you can see where you'd like to spend more time if you have a few more days. This tour covered inside the city as well as the surrounding area, from GasTown, Chinatown, Granville Island to Stanley Park and more. Another great tour guide with lots of info. Very enjoyable.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great way to get acquainted with Granville Island, meet interesting people, and sample delicious local foods. Our tour guide, Emmanuella, was informative, engaging, and cheerful. We had a fun experience and will highly recommend it to friends.

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

Wendy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great way to get over to Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver AquaBus Ferry Ticket

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I finished our holiday in Canada with the Granville Market Food Tour. Nadia, our tour guide, was simply brilliant - an expert in her field, her knowledge on each vender/restaurant and breadth of general food understanding was very impressive. In terms of the tastings, you get a lot of them we were stuffed - and we have fairly formidable appetites. There were too many culinary highlights to list, but Lee's Doughnuts were life-changingly good.

A must for any foodie in Vancouver

Doing what: Small-Group Granville Island Market Tour

Marcy H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Mitch was very accommodating and informative. He picked us up at our hotel and explained everything that would happen. We enjoyed all the stops, especially Granville Island - we probably would not have gone there ourselves but it was fun to explore all the unique shops and the market there, and the Conservatory - again, would not have gone there ourselves, but the birds and plants were very colorful. It was a very good way to get oriented to the Vancouver area and we were able to navigate on our own the rest of the few days we were there.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Nancy A

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Good tour to see a quick glimpse of the city. Would like to have spent more time in Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Mandy W

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

We enjoyed our morning city sights tour of Vancouver. Always a help to get an idea of how the city is setout, see the highlights and then if you have time go back to places you would like to explore a little more. Unfortunately, we were flying out the next day so didn't have time to go back to Granville Markets - as our guide said everyone definitely needs more than an hour here!!

Doing what: Vancouver City Sightseeing Tour

Sunny in Spain

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Only used the ferry ticket for one return journey but enabled easy access to Granville Island.

Doing what: Vancouver AquaBus Ferry Ticket

brantamas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The dynamic duo,father and son, Frank and Nicolas were outstanding with their private city tour. They took us to Stanley park and other great spots for photo taking. We had a nice quick bite at Granville island. Nicolas is very knowledgeable about Vancouver. I would highly recommend Wild BC tours.

Doing what: Private Tour: Vancouver City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message