Whales frequently frolic in the Strait of Georgia and around the Gulf Islands, which means you can easily see them on your visit to Vancouver. Read on for everything you need to know about spotting these graceful marine mammals in British ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JILL M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour was led by Andy and Captain James CPN James is also a native of the area, if I recall. The initial commute to the whales was well spent with several interesting native animals to see along the route. Once we did reach the whales, we spent hours alongside them. The boat is large enough to allow one several vantage points to catch a glimpse of the wildlife, but small enough to allow group conversation / questions for the guide as they reveal extensive information on species. The guides were also very knowledgeable about several organizations working to protect the animals and the history of whale treatment, current aquarium efforts, and research.

Finally, for all the Once Upon a Time fans out there, this tour kicks off in Steveston, BC aka Storybrooke.

An incredible time, for sure.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

steven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Saw whales, bald eagles, and more

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Glenn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A little cold when we went but very enjoyable. Lots of videos taken.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Alicia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I very much enjoyed the seaplane flight to Victoria. The Whale watching was cold and wet, the rain was the only thing I would have changed and you can't change the weather. It was all so amazing! We saw 6 whales, our guide was great! The ferry was late but it was still all good. I HIGHLY recommend this adventure if you are ever out that way! Totally worth the money!

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria with Whale Watching and Return by Ferry

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Collected on time early in fact on comfortable coach. Others picked up on route with some nice commentary to the journey. Booked in at their office where waterproofs available. The boat was very safe and comfortable with mostly enclosed seating. Some open seating at the back and an open upper deck which was great for photos. When moving at speed it can be a bit bumpy but less so if sitting at the back. Professional and very well informed guide and lots of time to take photos and ask questions once whales spotted. Everyone got some good photographs and got a good look at orcas, seals, sea lions and bald eagles. Very enjoyable day in spite of some rain and slightly chilly conditions. Highly recommended to see these wonderful animals in their natural conditions as well as good views of the islands and locality from the water.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

FLAVIO R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I recommend, very corteous, very professional, and the shutler driver was a real gentleman, entertainer and educated. The whales show up, the pilot very calm and pacient.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

daynasbemail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a day! The girls that checked us in were very helpful and pleasant. They even reminded us to get food to take on the trip! Cody explained the safety rules and was very helpful telling us where we were along the trip and explained what wildlife we were seeing. We got to see harbor seals, sea lions, huge walrus. The we happened upon 6 Orca whales going up the coastline! The were swimming along and eventually went into the middle of the ocean and had a feeding frenzy! It was amazing! The we saw Mama Humpback whale and her baby! The sun was shining and it was a Beautiful day! I would definitely recommend The Prince of Whales! The boat had seats inside and out and you were somewhat protected from the environment.

Doing what: Half-Day Whale Watching Adventure from Vancouver

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great day out in Vancouver. We were fortunate to track a family of transient killer whales Orca. Our tour guide Joan was very knowledgeable. We also were able to see large male Sea Lions, smaller harbor seals, and the gorgeous coastal landscape and sandstone of the Veldez island. On the way back we saw 2 bald eagle which are usually gone by this time of year. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Tracy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The whole experience was amazing and well worth every penny. All the staff were friendly and professional. I would definitely do this excursion again.

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

epiontnica

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great naturalist guides. Saw lots of wildlife. Can't describe how great it was to have all transportation for the day taken care of.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

Hazel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The trip was fantastic. We saw approx. 35 whales, a shed load of seal-lions and some harbour seals as well. Taz our guide was so informative and friendly. Everybody who was involved really put themselves out to make sure that we all had a brilliant time.
I can't recommend this trip highly enough. In a word ....
FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Adventure

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We have seen about 12 to 15 whales. Great!!! it was a rainy day

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely day. We didn't get to see whales, but they give you a lifetime guarantee to take their tour again to whale watch. The staff was wonderful. Next time we're in Vancouver we'll take them up on the guarantee and hope the whale will appear. Guess they were on vacation too. :-

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

tajathome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day out

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very informative guides. A great experience

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

John O R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic as we were very fortunate to see a wonderful pod of killer whales and the lady who accompanied us was very forthcoming with terrific information.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Paula B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

saw alot of whales

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

marjan.vansteenhoven

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a great experience ! Pickup at our hotel in Vancouver, than Granville Island and than Whale watching. Great combination.

Doing what: Vancouver Whale Watching Safari

Bernard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, passionate, knowledgeable crew!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Adventure

Patricia L Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely gorgeous day and experience! Great Whale Watching experience

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

M W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very accommodating where the tour was cancelled and I was transferred to another tour that weekend. The tour guide was extremely helpful and knowledgable, happy and it was a pleasure to gain so much from her forgive me I forgot the tour guides name. The added complimentary bus was very useful and informative. Got to see 4 generation of whales, so all in all an excellent tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Alistair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An exccelent day trip superb weather knowledgeable staff with Orca's sea lions seals and various bird life to see I would highly recommend this trip to anyone coming to Vancouver on holiday 10 out 10 for everything about it and really friendly local staff

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The whole package was fantastic. We were lucky enough to have a warm clear day. The Seaplane trip was fantastic with great views and on the Whale watch saw a Humpback as well as Killer whales, Seals and otters .... and a US Submarine!

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria and Whale-Watching Cruise

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lets start with the boat we were on, a very comfortable, clean boat! You can be inside or outside for viewing. On the inside you can open the windows as well. The captain and his helper answered questions and were both so nice. We saw two families of whales, so seals, and a couple eagles. It was amazing to see them and they gave us quite a show. The only thing I would improve on is having water for sale on board. We were out there 3 hours with out water. Or if there was water I didn't know about it.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Adventure

james w s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although we didn't see any whales, the crew was amazing and very client oriented. The boat ride was very nice even though it rained. The captain and crew did their best to keep us warm and dry.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Vancouver to Victoria

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message