Whales frequently frolic in British Columbia’s Straight of Georgia and around the Gulf Islands, within day-trip distance from the city of Vancouver. If you’d like to spot these graceful marine mammals, plan a whale-watching excursion from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 89 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alicia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I very much enjoyed the seaplane flight to Victoria. The Whale watching was cold and wet, the rain was the only thing I would have changed and you can't change the weather. It was all so amazing! We saw 6 whales, our guide was great! The ferry was late but it was still all good. I HIGHLY recommend this adventure if you are ever out that way! Totally worth the money!

Doing what: Seaplane Flight to Victoria with Whale Watching and Return by Ferry

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Collected on time early in fact on comfortable coach. Others picked up on route with some nice commentary to the journey. Booked in at their office where waterproofs available. The boat was very safe and comfortable with mostly enclosed seating. Some open seating at the back and an open upper deck which was great for photos. When moving at speed it can be a bit bumpy but less so if sitting at the back. Professional and very well informed guide and lots of time to take photos and ask questions once whales spotted. Everyone got some good photographs and got a good look at orcas, seals, sea lions and bald eagles. Very enjoyable day in spite of some rain and slightly chilly conditions. Highly recommended to see these wonderful animals in their natural conditions as well as good views of the islands and locality from the water.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

FLAVIO R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I recommend, very corteous, very professional, and the shutler driver was a real gentleman, entertainer and educated. The whales show up, the pilot very calm and pacient.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A great day out in Vancouver. We were fortunate to track a family of transient killer whales Orca. Our tour guide Joan was very knowledgeable. We also were able to see large male Sea Lions, smaller harbor seals, and the gorgeous coastal landscape and sandstone of the Veldez island. On the way back we saw 2 bald eagle which are usually gone by this time of year. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Claudia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We have seen about 12 to 15 whales. Great!!! it was a rainy day

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

John O R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic as we were very fortunate to see a wonderful pod of killer whales and the lady who accompanied us was very forthcoming with terrific information.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Paula B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

saw alot of whales

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Patricia L Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely gorgeous day and experience! Great Whale Watching experience

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

M W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very accommodating where the tour was cancelled and I was transferred to another tour that weekend. The tour guide was extremely helpful and knowledgable, happy and it was a pleasure to gain so much from her forgive me I forgot the tour guides name. The added complimentary bus was very useful and informative. Got to see 4 generation of whales, so all in all an excellent tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

james w s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although we didn't see any whales, the crew was amazing and very client oriented. The boat ride was very nice even though it rained. The captain and crew did their best to keep us warm and dry.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Vancouver to Victoria

Sergio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Even if we could not see any whales, the staff made everything possible to make it. At the end we received a voucher to make the to same tour in the future for free!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Troy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an excellent time. The guide was very informative and fun. We saw two different types of whales and we saw an orca breech, which is not common.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Chris Cox United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

After being fully kitted out with waterproofs, also hats and gloves if required, we embarked on the largest of the vessels for what turned out to be a 5 hour approx 90 mile round trip. We saw Bald Eagles, several porpoise, a seal, cormorants and to cap it all Killer whales. Our guide was very attentive and ensured that everyone was ok, and kept us informed of progress in locating the whales and provided information sheets as well as interesting facts and figures. The whale watching community seem to help each other which is why the success rate for spotting whales is so good. Seeing the whales in the wild is such a thrill. Altogether a fantastic trip, highly recommended. .

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Ronald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guides went out of their way to make sure that we saw whales in this case, orca whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with enthusiastic, friendly guides. We saw humped back and killer whales and beautiful islands. The tour takes nearly five hours and it was cold and windy in July so wrap up very warm.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

ijanayajacob22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had an amazing time at the whale watching tour. We saw a family of Orcas and a humpback whale that breached twice in front of us. It was an amazing experience. I had 5 tours this summer and this one was definitely the highlight of my summer. I highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Maria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1St time to Vancouver. Whale watching was amazing! Would do it again if I get the chance

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Leonardo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Honestly was a great trip. I was expecting to be a bit closer to the whales, but if you're like me, and you don't realize that even though they can control where the whale sightings are, that they can't control how close the whales will be to your boat, then you should try and come more prepared than I did when I went on the trip. If you are a photographer, then a tele converter is a must using a lens of 200mm or more as minimum range to get some usable shots. I used a 200 2.8 Nikon lense, and i barely managed to get a few usable shots, and the only reason why is because i shoot with a D810 and so the mega pixels allow for quite a crop without seriously compromising quality...... Either bring a tele converter or a 500mm lens to really get the most out of the experience..... The tour it self, was hands down spectacular, highly recommended....

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Ioi Kuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We saw two different types of whales, the humpback and the killer whale, the tour guide was friendly and told us a lot about whales and also the area. Very nice experience!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great company and got to see a mother and baby whale breaching water together. Recommend bridge camera or better to get the shots in

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

ayledramos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I'm giving this tour a 5 star rating, because of the effort and the dedication of the staff, right from the beginning. We took the shuttle option. The shuttle was right on time, just remember to confirm with the company. Our Shuttle driver, Trevor, was fun and kept us awake with trivia questions. Did not know that the location of this place is just in front of the Set of 'Storybrook' of the TV Show Once Upon a Time. This was a super plus for me, being a huge fan of the show. This tour was so well organized. They offer jackets, should you need it. The vessel was super clean and comfortable, with huge windows. They give you a granola bar, and all the bottled water you wish. We got to see sea lions, and bald eagles. This was the frustrating part: We did not see Orcas in this journey. The staff did their best to find them, and we understood that this is not their fault. At first we did not get to see any whales at all, and we were heading back to base and they were going to hand us a rain-check voucher that did not expire. I was so frustrated, because its very likely that I was not visiting Vancouver for a long time. But then, out of NOWHERE, the vessel made a U-Turn. They received information that they saw Humpbacks Whales. Yay!! We saw two, and followed them for around 45 minutes. We saw them really close. We were in our journey for about 5-6 hours. The ride itself is fun. So, A for the staff!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Andrew J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Stunning! Saw a multitude of wild life, including a hump-back whale and several pods of killer whale. The highlight of our trip to Canada and not to be missed.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Vancouver Whale Watch is an amazing tour group! Highly recommend them to anyone. Very friendly and knowledgeable! Could not have asked for a more exceptional experience. We saw many whales! And they made sure everyone had a chance to get some amazing pictures!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very well organised, well run trip. The whales were incredible. We spent a couple of hours watching them. The company is very professional, they were very knowledgeable and I would have no hesitation in recommending this excursion - must-do!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour - spent about six hours out on the water and around 4 hours with Whales - saw both Humpbacks and Orcas - amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message