Whales frequently frolic in British Columbia’s Straight of Georgia and around the Gulf Islands, within day-trip distance from the city of Vancouver. If you’d like to spot these graceful marine mammals, plan a whale-watching excursion from the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia L Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely gorgeous day and experience! Great Whale Watching experience

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

M W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very accommodating where the tour was cancelled and I was transferred to another tour that weekend. The tour guide was extremely helpful and knowledgable, happy and it was a pleasure to gain so much from her forgive me I forgot the tour guides name. The added complimentary bus was very useful and informative. Got to see 4 generation of whales, so all in all an excellent tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

james w s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Although we didn't see any whales, the crew was amazing and very client oriented. The boat ride was very nice even though it rained. The captain and crew did their best to keep us warm and dry.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Cruise from Vancouver to Victoria

Sergio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Even if we could not see any whales, the staff made everything possible to make it. At the end we received a voucher to make the to same tour in the future for free!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Troy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an excellent time. The guide was very informative and fun. We saw two different types of whales and we saw an orca breech, which is not common.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Chris Cox United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

After being fully kitted out with waterproofs, also hats and gloves if required, we embarked on the largest of the vessels for what turned out to be a 5 hour approx 90 mile round trip. We saw Bald Eagles, several porpoise, a seal, cormorants and to cap it all Killer whales. Our guide was very attentive and ensured that everyone was ok, and kept us informed of progress in locating the whales and provided information sheets as well as interesting facts and figures. The whale watching community seem to help each other which is why the success rate for spotting whales is so good. Seeing the whales in the wild is such a thrill. Altogether a fantastic trip, highly recommended. .

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Ronald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guides went out of their way to make sure that we saw whales in this case, orca whales.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with enthusiastic, friendly guides. We saw humped back and killer whales and beautiful islands. The tour takes nearly five hours and it was cold and windy in July so wrap up very warm.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

ijanayajacob22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I had an amazing time at the whale watching tour. We saw a family of Orcas and a humpback whale that breached twice in front of us. It was an amazing experience. I had 5 tours this summer and this one was definitely the highlight of my summer. I highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Maria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1St time to Vancouver. Whale watching was amazing! Would do it again if I get the chance

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Leonardo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Honestly was a great trip. I was expecting to be a bit closer to the whales, but if you're like me, and you don't realize that even though they can control where the whale sightings are, that they can't control how close the whales will be to your boat, then you should try and come more prepared than I did when I went on the trip. If you are a photographer, then a tele converter is a must using a lens of 200mm or more as minimum range to get some usable shots. I used a 200 2.8 Nikon lense, and i barely managed to get a few usable shots, and the only reason why is because i shoot with a D810 and so the mega pixels allow for quite a crop without seriously compromising quality...... Either bring a tele converter or a 500mm lens to really get the most out of the experience..... The tour it self, was hands down spectacular, highly recommended....

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Ioi Kuan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We saw two different types of whales, the humpback and the killer whale, the tour guide was friendly and told us a lot about whales and also the area. Very nice experience!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Alan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great company and got to see a mother and baby whale breaching water together. Recommend bridge camera or better to get the shots in

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

ayledramos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I'm giving this tour a 5 star rating, because of the effort and the dedication of the staff, right from the beginning. We took the shuttle option. The shuttle was right on time, just remember to confirm with the company. Our Shuttle driver, Trevor, was fun and kept us awake with trivia questions. Did not know that the location of this place is just in front of the Set of 'Storybrook' of the TV Show Once Upon a Time. This was a super plus for me, being a huge fan of the show. This tour was so well organized. They offer jackets, should you need it. The vessel was super clean and comfortable, with huge windows. They give you a granola bar, and all the bottled water you wish. We got to see sea lions, and bald eagles. This was the frustrating part: We did not see Orcas in this journey. The staff did their best to find them, and we understood that this is not their fault. At first we did not get to see any whales at all, and we were heading back to base and they were going to hand us a rain-check voucher that did not expire. I was so frustrated, because its very likely that I was not visiting Vancouver for a long time. But then, out of NOWHERE, the vessel made a U-Turn. They received information that they saw Humpbacks Whales. Yay!! We saw two, and followed them for around 45 minutes. We saw them really close. We were in our journey for about 5-6 hours. The ride itself is fun. So, A for the staff!!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Andrew J C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Stunning! Saw a multitude of wild life, including a hump-back whale and several pods of killer whale. The highlight of our trip to Canada and not to be missed.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Tracy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Vancouver Whale Watch is an amazing tour group! Highly recommend them to anyone. Very friendly and knowledgeable! Could not have asked for a more exceptional experience. We saw many whales! And they made sure everyone had a chance to get some amazing pictures!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A very well organised, well run trip. The whales were incredible. We spent a couple of hours watching them. The company is very professional, they were very knowledgeable and I would have no hesitation in recommending this excursion - must-do!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour - spent about six hours out on the water and around 4 hours with Whales - saw both Humpbacks and Orcas - amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Kandis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The whale watching trip was incredible. Mine actually got moved because of gale force winds the morning I was supposed to go. They let me know first thing that morning and rescheduled me before my trip was over. It was wonderful. We saw about 6 Orcas while we were out there and they got really close to the boat. We also saw lots of sea lions and seals. The village you take off from is actually the fictional town of Storybrooke from Once Upon a Time so that was excited for me since I am a fan of the show. I have very happy I took this tour it was completely worth the money!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Areeya Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour program is amaziiiiing!!!
We saw 2 killer whales and 2 humpback whales. Then a hundred of seals and sea lions!!! I couldn't expect more from this. Totally the best day in my life. The boat drive was so nice, he always drove the boat closer to the animals for us not too close to interfere them and he also drove the boat to follow them for a bit too.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Dave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well this was a fantastic tour. We were picked up at a point very close to our hotel and driven to the departure point. Levi our driver was very good giving us lots of local information and history of the area. The boat trip was very smooth and we saw a large number of whales with the guide on the boat gives us lots of information on the pods that are in the area etc, From start to finish we were out for 4 1/2 hours so I suggest it might be worth you taking some food. The boat provides you with bottled water and a snack bar.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

ELEFTHERIOS T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

IT WAS A FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE , NOT TO BE MISSED. EVEN THOUGH THE BOATWAS ON ITS WAY BACK WHEN WE WERE INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A GROUP OF WHALES IT RETURNED AND WE WERE PRESENT CLOSE UP TO A FEW METRES AT THEM WHILE THEY WERE HUNTING.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Stephan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The trip was just perfect! The shuttle was perfectly in time, the driver Levi was sooo nice and gave us a little complimentary sightseeing tour on the way from Vancouver to Steveston.
The trip with the boat took 6 hours, we saw orcas, humpback whales, sea lions, seals, eagles and everything promised.
The included snack is a granola bar, that was really a little snack.
But all in all it was just amazing!

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

William R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing tour to see the whales. We saw two pods of orcas and a humpback whale. The boat was very comfortable and the guide was awesome. Glad we brought our lunch because we were out for 6 hours. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Roxanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a thrilling time out on the water. Clearly you are pros at finding the whales. The whales were impressive and the information offered was interesting and educational. Very glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Whale-Watching Tour from Vancouver

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message