Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at St ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 431 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

deedeekitts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

No crowd. Got to see places most tours don't go. Lighting was amazing and I didn't feel like we missed anything by being there at dusk. There are many Churches to go see in Italy. DONT MISS THIS ONE! Guide was great. Would do it again. Doge visit was a bit disappointing because many rooms were closed. But still very impressive.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

gail s United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

my after hours tour was so wonderful i can barely speak about it.our lovely guide, Raffa, was very knowledgeable and we really could ask anything and receive an informed answer. i have been to both the doges palace and st marks before. it is really valuable to be able to ask lots of questions along the way. probably worth it right there.my intent with this tour was to see san marco after the public. and this is where this tour shines. we waited in the square after the doges tour and were let into the church in the dark. going up the center aisle we took seats at the front. one by one the lights were turned on to their golden glow. it was quiet and peaceful and ever so beautiful. since it was st marks feast day the church was covered in red and white flowers in addition to its magnificence. we then went to st mark's crypt which i had not been to before. returning to the altar we viewed the pala doro. so since it was the feast day the church attendant turned the piece to face the congregation and that was pretty special to see. being there with just a few people is an amazing experience and one of the highlights of my trip.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Andrea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is one of those special tours that you want to take if you would like an insider's look at Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Being after hours, made the crowds disappear and the Palace and the Basilica come to life! Our guide, Italian Moses was excellent with pointing out key art designs and informing us about the special stories behind them. My children, ages 9 and 10, enjoyed it as well! We also had access to non-public items such as the under-the-altar crypt and walking around and behind St. Mark's altar to see the incredible hidden art work. Our understanding for the history of Venice grew exponentially as did our fondness for this unique city!

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Rena W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour providing an interesting insight into the history and workings of the Doge's Palace. Our guide was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. There are lots of stairs to climb so recommended only for those who are able?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Monica Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A welcome tour - Barbara did a great job in explaining Doge's Palace and the St. Mark's Basilica. Gina's walking tour was also appreciated. The canal cruise was fun. Overall, a good tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was split into 3 parts with different guides, and is a great way to skip the lines to see these heavily visited attractions, as the lines are very long. The Doges Palace tour was interesting, but my family and I felt that too much time and emphasis was placed on explanations of the paintings and history, and we walked by items in the palace that looked interesting, but our guide did not acknowledge or explain them because she was running out of time. St. Mark's Basilica was the most beautiful church I have ever been in. Unfortunately you have to keep walking through the tour path without stopping because it is very crowded - it would have been better to be able to stop and admire the mosaics. The Venice walking tour was fun and educational, as was the Grand Canal tour. I would recommend this all-in-one package as a great way to see Venice, but do it early in your trip, as the guides point out a lot of wonderful things that you will want to go back and visit on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We absolutely loved Venice and this tour was perfect for what we were looking for. We really enjoyed how knowledgeable our tour guide was. Her knowledge about the history of Venice and the Doge's Palace ad St Mark's Basilica made everything so much more meaningful than it would have been if we just wandered around and looked at things without anyone to share the history. And skipping the line at St Mark's Basilica was a must!!! It was just right and still left us lots of time to do our own wandering throughout the gorgeous streets of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Tina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was along day, but fantastic! Both guides were exceptional. They were experts with fabulous personalities and experts in their fields. Skip the lines was essential. The Basilica was beyond amazing, and the Doge's Palace was great for kids. This was great to take in Venice in one day. We still had time for a lovely lunch before taking a boat ride around the canal. Great tips from the guides.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Joanne F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the day. The sites were very interesting...the tour of the Doge and #39;s palace was great! The tour if San Marco was very short. I would like to see the day organized differently. There was quite a bit of waiting around for the and #34;next and #34; tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Stephen H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very informative walk through the Basilica and Doges Palace. It was a very hot afternoon and beating the lines was very welcome.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Ron F

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Doge and #39;s Palace was good but felt rushed - an extra 30 min would have a difference.

The rest of the tour was more relaxed and insightful.

My real complaint was the inability to use bathrooms or get a drink as the schedule was tight - 3 and half hours on a hot day needed this factored in.

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

kevingaither

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Suuuper long. 11 year old bored out of his mind. Very knowledgeable guide but she was lacking in personality and didn and #39;t allow for questions. She basically told me to stop asking questions. Doges plus gondola would be enough

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

Ravish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed both the morning and afternoon sessions of the tour. Our guides, Gina and Marco were very good and well informed. Gina took us to all the important rooms at the Doge palace with a good sense of humour. Marco was equally funny and made the tour enjoyable even though the Basilica was closed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5m17hy Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was 2 different tours. The Doge's Palace tour was excellent and the guide was amazing. The Basilica was also excellent and the guide was good, but she tended to only talk to those in front of her and didn't worry if fo were well behind on the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

kerry.laine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour. The weather did not cooperate as we did the walking tour in the rain. In addition, I missed the departure time for the Doge's Palace and was not able to find the tour group upon my late arrival. Kudos to the tour company for allowing me to do the Doge's Palace the next morning. I have to say, The Doge's Palace was my favorite part of the day - I really enjoyed getting the political backgrounds information, as well as seeing the prison and Bridge of Sighs. Loved this tour.
cd iscoon

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a very cool tour that gave you access to areas of the Doge's Palace that you would not have access to otherwise. Our guide was very informative and knowledgeable. Definitely the way to go!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

jyoung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Elena was the BEST guide! Very knowledgeable, passionate and fun! She was organized and took us all around Venice. We had a wonderful experience exploring Venice and visiting St Mark's Basilica and the Doge's Palace with her. This was hands down the best tour we went on during our 2.5 weeks in Europe!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

CWalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The two tours were both well organized and informative. Having headsets for listening to the tour guide are a great plus! Ariana did a wonderful job with the Doges Palace. The paintings in the palace are amazing and the jail was interesting. Sylvia also did a wonderful tour of San Marco Basilica. Very beautiful inside! We will be booking tours for Athens through Viator.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Edward S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great way to see the Venice highlights in a day. The Doge's Palace tour was excellent. Our tour guide was also excellent. Knowledgeable and very pleasant. Great to skip the lines which were already long first thing in the morning. Only issue is this is actually three separate tours you need to check in for.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Melissa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting the information provided gave a good over view about the Doge Palace and Venice.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Jacqueline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Super knowledgeable tour guide on the particulars and history of the Palace and Venice. Entrance to Doge's Palace is ahead of official opening to the line that began wrapping around the entrance. Our group was a dozen or so people.
A look and historical information on the nuances of the palace and prisons. Free time after allows for actual going crossing within the Bridge of Sighs not part of the tour but part of your entrance ticket to the palace and absorbing the remainder of the huge property. As an FYI , this is more about the secrets not the well known portions - i.e. does not show/explain the Golden Staircase or some of the important parts of the palace itself.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Lisa D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was incredible! Three very different ways to see the city and learn of it's culture. Our guide for Doge's Palace was so empassioned and informative. The palace itself is beautiful. Having the time in between was perfect. Had some lunch and walked around. The St. Mark's tour was spectacular - after seeing the Basilica, we toured the city - learned so much about the local culture and the history of Venice and it's residence. Finally, the Gondola ride was such an enjoyable way to end the day and because it was Sunday, we made it back in time for a 6:45 mass at St. Mark's. Fantastic tour, highly recommended!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Barb United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed our tour of Doge's Palace and the explanations given by Marco. We are so glad to have taken this early tour when it was less crowded. We were shocked at how very crowded it was outside when we finished our tour----in mid May! I cannot imagine what June will bring.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

rsgranberry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our group of 8 four adults and four teenagers took this tour on our first day in Venice after arriving the night before. It was a great orientation to this beautiful city! All of us enjoyed the tour through Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica - just breathtaking! This tour set the standard for us on the duration of our trip through Italy - so informative and enjoyable. The walking tour was perfect - even in the misty rain. We loved this and highly recommend!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message