Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at St ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 479 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rebe811

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved everything about this tour! There was a different tour guide for all 3 parts and they were all very knowledgeable friendly and passionate about the city. Having skip the line passes for the basilica and doges palace is a must have because the lines are incredibly long so it was perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Carmen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Skip the line is a must -- the lines to both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were substantial.

Our morning tour guide Doge's Palace was knowledgeable and friendly. The afternoon tour guide St. Mark's Basilica was our favourite in our entire Italy vacation. She was the most experienced, emotional, open and honest tour guide we ever had. She did a fantastic job at bringing Venice to life through her Venetian rooted background combined with her charisma and charm. It was a rare experience that left us enchanted with Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

tyhinkle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The after hours of the basilica was amazing and you are able to take pictures when nobody else is! The Doge Palace was nice but it was a little too much for one day.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Karen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour. Our tour guid Sarah made the difference! She was really knowledgable and very personable. I would highly recommend for those wanting to learn more about St. Mark's and Doges palace.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both ends of the tour were very informative and entertaining. Andrea was very passionate about his city! Gave good tips to see the real Venice. Time in the Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica was just right. It's worth the price just to beat the lines, which were brutal when we went.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Robin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent surprise! We really felt like insiders' and saw things and learned things that we would never have known, both about the Doge's Palace and the history of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

james.brink

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent. Our guide for the Doge's Palace was an art historian, or should be at least. She understood the meanings of the art and explained them quite well. The afternoon tour of St Marks and the walk was conducted by an architect who was able to explain the history of the buildings we were touring. The boat ride was on a private water taxi and our third guide pointed out many, many interesting things. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guides. Be prepared to walk and walk, and go up and down tons of stairs on the walk and in the Doges palace.. If you don't like walking, the crowds and the skip the line , lines, this is not for you. You walk all over Venice to see the sites so it is a long day. It is like having three full tours in one day. I cannot stress enough how much walking is involved and your guides switch off midday. You see Doges palace and do a walking tour of Venice in which you visit St Mark's. At the end of the
day you ride the comfortable water taxi through the Grand Canal which is very nice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were recommended to take this tour by friends and very glad we did - it was excellent! The tour offers insights that you would never get by simply taking a walk through the Doge's palace. Staff were excellent - our guide Allesandra ? was pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful with questions. For future clients it may be useful to alert them when booking that the tour involves many stairs and moving through some confined spaces.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Chester W H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good waling tour: great amount of info about Venice, both history and present. Good presentation by the tour leader, kept it very interesting over a entire walk. The Doge's Palace tour was a little long and the leader seemed a little academic more like a lecture and we find it hard to stay with her presentation. We found the boat curse very good and excellent place for photos. Since we only had one day in Venice we packed as much into it as we could and needless to say we were quite tired doing all three items in the same day. One would enjoy more if spread out. Also a lot on the info in the Doge's tour and Walking tour were the same, esp. history of Venice. All in all I would rate the Walking tour and Boat ride as excellent and the Doge's Palace as OK.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Suzanne G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was excellent. The Doge's Palace was great. St. Mark's is less engaging.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

itsmelat

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Our guides for this tour were excellent!! Informative, knowledgeable of Venetian history and were good storytellers. The walking tour portion was not what we expected. We walked around Castello area near St. Mark and #39;s and that was about it. Use your Doges Palace ticket for Museo Correr entrance.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Tim P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Francesca the guide was very good. She knew her subject well. She was clear on Times and places to meet. The Gondola ride included a short spell on the grand canal. Shame the gondolier looked and acted like he had swallowed a sour lemon before we boarded. Then expected a tip. The skip the lines part was the best. Queues for the basilica and doges palace were an hour long. We were taken straight in.

Doing what: Small Group Venice In a Day with Basilica San Marco and Doges Palace plus Gondola Ride

Margaret P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were in Europe for about 6 weeks and this was my personal highlight.
I enjoyed the Doge's Palace tour. Informative and well paced.
But my favourite, without a doubt, was the After Hours tour of St Mark's Bascillica.
There were less than 20 of us, we went in around 7.00pm with 2 other groups of roughly 20 each.
Each group was led separately.
We got to view the amazing altar piece that comes out only a couple of times a year and we got to sit and watch the lights gradually come up and illuminate the gold tiled dome. Amazing.
We then got some background from our lovely guide and had time to wander around and look at everything.
Cant recommend highly enough.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Randy R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a nice tour. It was interesting to learn about the Doge's Palace. I did not know anything about it. St. Marks's Basilica was nice as well as the walking tour. It was a nice way to see Venice. The best part of the trip was the Grand Canal Cruise. I would recommend this for anyone going to Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Peter K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour of the Doges Palace, a bit disppointed in the cathedral

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Stanjul

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Two must do attractions whilst in Venice. However, we found doing the two on a very hot day, very tiring. We also found that during the afternoon tour of the Basilica a lot of the history of Venice was repeated from the morning and the Basilica tour didn't seem as structured.
The walking tour after the Basilica took you through the quieter streets around the back of Doges Palace. There was no real features to see and it seemed very rushed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Scott H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We came off a cruise ship for this tour. The voucher time was early. I attempted to call the local tour company for 2 days prior and received fast busy signals. We were delayed getting off the ship and didn't make it to the meeting point until 9:03am. There was no one there. I called the local tour company and was told the tour left at 9am. They had no info that we were on a cruise ship. Our only option would be to try and catch up with them before they entered the Doge's Palace. They would not call the guide, nor give us a description of the guide. We rushed to the Palace and saw several guides but all that we asked stated we were not on their tour. Even if we had caught up with the guide, we would not have been able to hear him/her as we didn't have headsets. We ended up paying for tickets to the Doge's Palace again. It was interesting but we missed the history and stories behind much of what we saw. We met the St. Marks guide back in the garden and had an interesting tour. St. Marks is beautiful, though it was very rushed and we didnt have much time. We would have liked to go upstairs but could not. The walking tour was also informative. We ended back at the garden at 1pm to drop off our headsets, ie whispers to find out the Grand Canal tour didnt start until 4pm and lasts 1 hour. Nowhere in the tour description does it state this. We had an all aboard time of 5:30pm. We would not have made our cruise if we had taken the tour as it took us an hour to get back, due to the long lines for the water taxi. We spend a fair amount of money and only got the benefit of 1/3 of the tour package due to the poor description of the tour and it's times and the poor customer service of the local tour company.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mary

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This is three combined tours. We did this on August 21, 2016. I DO NOT recommend due to St. Marc's. Book separate tours.

Doge's Palace - 5 Stars
A great tour. The tour was very informative and at a good pace. There was plenty of time to take in the information and beautiful rooms. Many opportunities to take amazing photos. The tour is well worth taking. Our guide kept talking about another tour, Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour, which includes many extras that we were unable to see. I wonder if that would have been a better tour. This is a tour that I would tell people to take.

Walking Tour - St. Marc's - 1 Star
This walking tour was lacking in many aspects. Actual tour time was 45 minutes less than advertised time. The entire tour felt extremely rushed. There was not enough time to take photos and enjoy the city. Given a brief history of an area, we were off to the next campo as if on a race. This was a very fast pace tour. The most disappointing part of the tour was St. Marc's Basilica. We walked into St Marc's, were herded up towards the alter, a quick pass in front, and then back down the other side and out to the square. We were not able to walk around at all, and less than 10 minutes inside. The guide spent more time telling us about the mosaics and showing us pieces of tile before we entered. I will say that she was very knowledgeable about the history. If you want to SEE the beauty of St. Marc's, this is not the tour. I would NOT recommend this tour at all. Probably the BIGGEST DISSAPPOINTMENT of our entire trip.

Canal Cruise - 5 Stars
This was a lot of fun. Exactly one hour. We hopped on the motor boat very close to St. Marc's Square. We went through many canals and saw a lot of historical sites. The guide was a little slow on telling us what things were. It was almost like he was always saying the building we just passed is , causing missed photo opportunities. Overall, it was very enjoyable, and well worth doing.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

cardcrazytn

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I would not recommend using them for this tour. We waited for 30 minutes for our guide to show up at the designated location and no one showed. The phone number given to us for the guide was a non-working number. We tried to use the tickets anyway and the Palace would not honor them. We DID NOT get to see the Doge's Palace. Very disappointed in VIATOR and their guide.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

misha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was beyond any words to describe the guide was funny and well informed of local history
The doges palace was beautiful inside and out a fascinating walking tour and romantic gondola ride stopping near the San Marco vaparetto point and what better place than to enjoy a bottle of prosecco

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

emalfonso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This booking was very good. The lines to see the Doge's Palace and the Basilica are very long. The tour around Venice is very nice. You actually walk through very interesting areas within Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Informative tour guide. She speaks clear and concise English and gave us an overview of the history of the Doge's rule.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family really enjoyed our walking tour with Monica. She spoke very good English and was very easy to understand. The headsets worked great. Mind you, if you got too far away, they were intermittent or stopped but that's to be expected.
We saw many of the big sights to see, Rialto bridge, Grand Canal, San Marco Square, Doges Palace, St. Marks Basilica, but also many hidden gems.
Enjoyable for the whole family including a 10yo. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Gina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a combo of 3 tours. For the first 2 tours, we had Gina, a native Venetian, as our tour guide. She was excellent! We lucked out with a smaller group than they normally run so she was more accessible. The Doge's Palace is interesting and the walking tour took us primarily in the San Marco neighborhood. Gina was able to provide insights and great information. If there's any negative, it was that it felt a bit rushed going from one tour to the next - not enough time for the restroom.
For the gondola ride no more guides, be aware that each gondola takes 6 people and there's A LOT of people going on the gondolas! They take the bigger groups first so if you're travelling solo or as a couple, you could be a filler for the group gondola and you can forget about the great seat. If you can wait until there are no more big groups, you'll have a better chance of getting the great seat. The ride itself was really relaxing and enjoyable. Pretty quiet and no singing though the gondoliers were talking to one another as we passed them.
So, great experience!

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message