Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at St ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 455 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

misha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was beyond any words to describe the guide was funny and well informed of local history
The doges palace was beautiful inside and out a fascinating walking tour and romantic gondola ride stopping near the San Marco vaparetto point and what better place than to enjoy a bottle of prosecco

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

emalfonso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This booking was very good. The lines to see the Doge's Palace and the Basilica are very long. The tour around Venice is very nice. You actually walk through very interesting areas within Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Sarah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Informative tour guide. She speaks clear and concise English and gave us an overview of the history of the Doge's rule.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family really enjoyed our walking tour with Monica. She spoke very good English and was very easy to understand. The headsets worked great. Mind you, if you got too far away, they were intermittent or stopped but that's to be expected.
We saw many of the big sights to see, Rialto bridge, Grand Canal, San Marco Square, Doges Palace, St. Marks Basilica, but also many hidden gems.
Enjoyable for the whole family including a 10yo. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Gina G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a combo of 3 tours. For the first 2 tours, we had Gina, a native Venetian, as our tour guide. She was excellent! We lucked out with a smaller group than they normally run so she was more accessible. The Doge's Palace is interesting and the walking tour took us primarily in the San Marco neighborhood. Gina was able to provide insights and great information. If there's any negative, it was that it felt a bit rushed going from one tour to the next - not enough time for the restroom.
For the gondola ride no more guides, be aware that each gondola takes 6 people and there's A LOT of people going on the gondolas! They take the bigger groups first so if you're travelling solo or as a couple, you could be a filler for the group gondola and you can forget about the great seat. If you can wait until there are no more big groups, you'll have a better chance of getting the great seat. The ride itself was really relaxing and enjoyable. Pretty quiet and no singing though the gondoliers were talking to one another as we passed them.
So, great experience!

Doing what: Doge's Palace, Unusual Venice and Gondola Ride Tour

Melinda M M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We did both St Mark's and the Doge's. Our tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable on all accounts. After hours is the way to go to beat the crowds. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Jorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Venice in itself is a site to see. That being said, it is that much better when you have some context and history to help understand the greatness behind it. Our tour guide, Moses, was perfect for this as he not only gave us the history but also helped decipher what possibly was fact from fiction. Very well versed on the history as well as the current events in Venice. Go on this tour and enjoy the day! Not that long of a tour which was perfect as only about 2 hours. We did not opt for the Doge's palace which was fine for us.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

wfschwind

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Susan, was an art history professor as well as a guide. She was fantastic! She provided a rich history narrative of Venice and the Doge's Palace. As a Brit her English was excellent and she did her best to accommodate all members of our tour group. It was well worth the price and we came away with a much better understanding of Venice and its people both current and historical. Well done Susan!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Elizabeth E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The guide was very good, but it was a bit chaotic getting the group sorted out in St Mark's Square then crossing the busy square to get to the entrance of the Doges Palace.It was raining ,so everyone was huddled in a small space and it wasn't clear at all who to see to hand tickets over, then collect headsetswhich we didn't know about in advance. There may be clearer queues when it isn't raining.
The tour was good and we did the free trip to Murano in the afternoon.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

William G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Not So Much - Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica Tours. Unfortunately do to security checks it is faster to go in as an individual than it is to go in with a tour. It didn't use to be that way, oh well!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Tina B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Doge Palace tour was very interesting from the limited areas I viewed. As mentioned in some of my other reviews, not for people with a disability in walking. While I was able to keep up on all the flat surfaces, climbing huge flights of stairs was a problem. I advised the guide when the tour began, but no mention was made of an elevator, so I assumed with the age of the Palace, that none was available. I finally sat out the last hour of the tour listening to the commentary with the headphone provided. At one point I heard the guide ask where is the lady that could not keep up? - someone answered that I was downstairs as there were too many steps to climb...to which she answered...Oh too bad, we could have made other arrangements. On my way out at the end of the tour, I saw an elevator - Here again, I think this should be included in the description of the tour so that participants will know that an elevator is available for those with limited walking ability.

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Whitney M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a very cool tour! Last time I came to Venice, I did not get to go into the Doge's Palace so this was new for me. I loved learning the history and hearing the stories of Casanova.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Lorraine United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Doge's Palace itself is a wonderful sight and well worth a visit. Our guide was knowledgeable but the tour did seem quite rushed. Was not impressed with the guy taking the tickets before the start of the tour who didn't seem to understand the concept of the electronic voucher - he was quite arrogant and verging on rude - some customer service training required there ...

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

ljp529

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We were not crazy about Venice in general or St. Marks. The Doges and #39;s palace was interesting though. We did enjoy seeing the legendary horses of St. Marks up close though. The tour guide was just ok, boring at some points.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

papa53122

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The guide for Doges Palace war excellent!
The guide for S.Marc and walking tour was absolutely uninteresting and this part was lost time and lost money.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Gordon G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Doge Palace tour was excellent. However the next tour followed immediately afterwards leaving no time for a bathroom break, lunch or a brief rest. We were hurried through St. mark's Bascilica , spending less than 10 minutes in the church which was very disappointing and then the walking tour was a bit too long. We also were not taken back to our meeting point , being left to find our way back on our own to St. Marks's Square. Then we had a three hour wait for the Grand Canal Tour. I think the spacing of the tours could have been done better, with a break between one and two and a shorter break between two and three. The Canal tour was also very interesting. We were unable to do our tour today as the stress on my husbands knees from yesterday. And sadly refunds are not given for next day cancellation.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

John H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

This event was planned on our first proper tourist day in Venice. We could not get our 'bearings' so we missed the tour start.When we arrived The 'Doge's Palace Office' made no effort to help us locate our booked 'tour' and would not let us use our tickets to enter the Palace, so we just purchased more tickets so we at least got to look around the place on our own.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

deedeekitts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

No crowd. Got to see places most tours don't go. Lighting was amazing and I didn't feel like we missed anything by being there at dusk. There are many Churches to go see in Italy. DONT MISS THIS ONE! Guide was great. Would do it again. Doge visit was a bit disappointing because many rooms were closed. But still very impressive.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

gail s United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

my after hours tour was so wonderful i can barely speak about it.our lovely guide, Raffa, was very knowledgeable and we really could ask anything and receive an informed answer. i have been to both the doges palace and st marks before. it is really valuable to be able to ask lots of questions along the way. probably worth it right there.my intent with this tour was to see san marco after the public. and this is where this tour shines. we waited in the square after the doges tour and were let into the church in the dark. going up the center aisle we took seats at the front. one by one the lights were turned on to their golden glow. it was quiet and peaceful and ever so beautiful. since it was st marks feast day the church was covered in red and white flowers in addition to its magnificence. we then went to st mark's crypt which i had not been to before. returning to the altar we viewed the pala doro. so since it was the feast day the church attendant turned the piece to face the congregation and that was pretty special to see. being there with just a few people is an amazing experience and one of the highlights of my trip.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Andrea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is one of those special tours that you want to take if you would like an insider's look at Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Being after hours, made the crowds disappear and the Palace and the Basilica come to life! Our guide, Italian Moses was excellent with pointing out key art designs and informing us about the special stories behind them. My children, ages 9 and 10, enjoyed it as well! We also had access to non-public items such as the under-the-altar crypt and walking around and behind St. Mark's altar to see the incredible hidden art work. Our understanding for the history of Venice grew exponentially as did our fondness for this unique city!

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Rena W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

An excellent tour providing an interesting insight into the history and workings of the Doge's Palace. Our guide was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. There are lots of stairs to climb so recommended only for those who are able?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

Monica Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A welcome tour - Barbara did a great job in explaining Doge's Palace and the St. Mark's Basilica. Gina's walking tour was also appreciated. The canal cruise was fun. Overall, a good tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was split into 3 parts with different guides, and is a great way to skip the lines to see these heavily visited attractions, as the lines are very long. The Doges Palace tour was interesting, but my family and I felt that too much time and emphasis was placed on explanations of the paintings and history, and we walked by items in the palace that looked interesting, but our guide did not acknowledge or explain them because she was running out of time. St. Mark's Basilica was the most beautiful church I have ever been in. Unfortunately you have to keep walking through the tour path without stopping because it is very crowded - it would have been better to be able to stop and admire the mosaics. The Venice walking tour was fun and educational, as was the Grand Canal tour. I would recommend this all-in-one package as a great way to see Venice, but do it early in your trip, as the guides point out a lot of wonderful things that you will want to go back and visit on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We absolutely loved Venice and this tour was perfect for what we were looking for. We really enjoyed how knowledgeable our tour guide was. Her knowledge about the history of Venice and the Doge's Palace ad St Mark's Basilica made everything so much more meaningful than it would have been if we just wandered around and looked at things without anyone to share the history. And skipping the line at St Mark's Basilica was a must!!! It was just right and still left us lots of time to do our own wandering throughout the gorgeous streets of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message