Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale)

Until 1797, the Doges ruled the Venetian Empire and the Palazzo Ducale was where they ruled from. A Venetian Gothic fantasy palace, it was one of the first things those arriving in Venice saw as their ships sailed through the lagoon and landed at St ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 522 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donald C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Doge's Palace is a must see! Great tour - great guide, definitely worth it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

John F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed our guide Freddie. She was a local and lived right in the neighborhood we were touring. She gave it a real personal feel. It was really interesting to learn what used to go on in Doges Palace and San Marco's Basilica was beautiful/

Doing what: Small Group Venice In a Day with Basilica San Marco and Doges Palace plus Gondola Ride

Jeffrey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing! My favourite part was seeing Doge's Palace. The tour guide, Anthony, said that this was his favourite place, and you could tell. He really made me want to spend more time there and see and learn more about Venice and Venisian history. He really made the tour worth going on. Thank you!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

These were three tours tours in one day with 3 different tour guide, each of whom were native born in Venice. We started with the 9 AM Doges Palace tour and it was a trip into the seat and history of the old government and some of how they handled criminals. I enjoyed the painting and how they tried to keep power from being concentrated in too few hands.

We then took lunch and rejoined the tour of St Marks and the Venice Walking Tour. Our hotel was within 20 minutes of St. Marks Square so we knew the restaurants between the two places, The Venice walking tour was my favorite part as we walked the streets and learned how the locals really live, what are the challenges of living in this unique city.

The latter part of the afternoon was the Grand Canal boat ride. This one was good for pictures of St. Marks Square from a water view and the brides, houses on the Grand Canal. Our guide was pleasant and kept up a good flow of what we were seeing. My favorite part was at the end of the Grand Canal and the canals on the way back where we could see the back streets of the city where few tourists tread and even the gondola building shops!

If you are going to be in Venice for a short time, these tours are a great way to see and understand the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Jacqui R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you are visiting Venice, A visit to the Doges Palace is a must do. Guide was good, lots of explanations, ticket meant that after tour you were fre to stay in and look around and also gave you free entry to the Museo Correr opposite

Doing what: Doge's Palace Guided Tour

Ann L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed our tour of San Marco and Doge's Palace. Our tour guide, Valerie kept us well informed and moving.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace

David S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

We missed the Doge's Palace by 5 minutes and could't get to do another tour of it due to time constraints. St Mark's Basilica Tour was really very informative and so interesting if you enjoy all the history which I do!.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Michelle C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The Morning tour was awful , the lady tour guide had no clue what she was saying and we ended up not doing the doge tour with her since she was unorganized and could barely translates things in english ... The part two tour with Marco was great. He was very funny and very informative and would much rather have him tour us for both part of the deal. The boat tour was also a great part of the deal. You get to see the grand canal and the local side of the island. If it wasn't for the tour guide in the morning, the tour would have been perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Chuck

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Interesting tour. One of my distant relatives was mentioned in the Doge's palace. It was nice to walk around Venice with a guide for a while. That helped us find our way around town later quite a bit.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Scituate16

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

The tour turned out to be a complete fiasco. This tour was to be three part tour - Doge's Palace tour followed by St Mark's Basilica tour followed by a ride down the Grande Canal. It was to estimated to be a 5-6 hour tour. We arrived early and were told by the tour coordinator that our Doge's Palace tour would begin promptly at 9:00AM but that the St. Mark's tour wouldn't begin until 2:00 PM. Others in the group were able to get a noon tour - but we were told that 'scheduling issues' issues resulted in our group of four being at 2:00. This meant that we would have nearly 3 hours between the Doge's Palace tour and the St Mark's. We talked it over and, because the ST Mark's portion of the tour was the biggest reason we were on the tour in the first place, decided to go along with the coordinator's instructions and return at 1:45 to the meeting place to begin the St Mark's tour. We did the Doge's tour it was excellent and our guide, Julia was wonderful and walked around for nearly 3 hours before returning to the meeting place for the St Mark's portion. When we arrived we were informed that the Basilica was now closed for a special event and we would just do a walking tour. I know that the closing of the Basilica is beyond the control of the tour companies - but if we had been in the earlier slot we would have been able to have the tour as the others from our group who got the earlier slot were in fact able to take the tour. I don't know whether our coordinator knew that at 9:00AM but if he did he did not say so. Then to add insult to injury we were informed that the ride on the Grande Canal would be at 5:00 - meaning that the 5 hour tour would in fact be over 9 hours. Apparently the 4:00 Canal ride was booked. This was unacceptable to us as we had made dinner plans for 7:00PM based on the tour's advertised approximate length of 5 hours. Our tour company in Rome, City Wonder's, also did Doges/St Marks tours we saw them at the meeting place and we wish that was the company we had in Venice. The company we had was Aventura Belissimo and they were not well organized and our tour coordinator was not very friendly or helpful and we are not sure he was completely honest with us. Needless to say it was the low point of our entire vacation and I would not recommend this tour to anyone if the tour company was Aventura Belissimo.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Note from Viator: 

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback and are sorry to hear that your tour experience was unsatisfactory. We rely on your honest feedback to help ensure the value and quality of our travel experiences. Based on your concerns, we have contacted our local tour operator to address these concerns with them personally and will continue monitoring feedback from our travelers.

wendancer1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! Our guide Stefano was amazing and gave us such a good understanding of what we were seeing and the history of Doge's Palace as well as Venice. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Diane M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Doge palace was amazing, the walked tour guide was hot and the boat tour only had 4 couples with the guide.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Aileen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you do one tour in Venice, this should be it. I would make sure to do the optional Doge's palace portion too. It was so nice to have a tour with a personable guide who knew what she was talking about. We were able to get really great pictures and not feel overwhelmed by hoards of crowds since it was after hours and few people were inside other than our small group. When they turned the lights on at the Basilica it was just breath taking.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a must when you visit Venice. I particularly liked that our tour on these two incredible landmarks was split. We visited the Doge's Palace in the morning then returned at 2pm to tour St. Mark's and do a Venice walking tour. We also had different guides on each tour. Both guides were good but the gentleman conducting the tour of the Doge's Palace had a Venetian accent and was a little difficult to understand at times. The lady conducting the tour of St. Mark's was excellent. Both were very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

jerhui.tan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great way to see Venice in one day. The Doge and #39;s Palace was beautiful and the grand canal cruise was wonderful as well. Reccommended!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

rbatra854

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The Doges Palace tour and the guide were terrific. Could have spent two more hrs there. St. Marks and walking tour and guide not as good. The last part, the boat tour, guide was mediocre. We also had called the actual local tour company for help in rescheduling and found them to be rude and unhelpful.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Penny G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved this tour! Aga was a fantastic guide! Very knowledgeable and she has an excellent sense of humour and had a good rapport with the group. The tour was extensive and detailed and you get to see areas of the Doge's Palace you would not see otherwise! Really enjoyed this and would highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour

varnfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Did this tour the first full day we were in Venice, and I am so glad we did! First part morning was Doge's Palace - our guide was very knowledgeable, and spoke clearly and concisely, which is important when you are listening through headphones. She provided in-depth on he history and architecture of the Doges and the palace. Second part afternoon was St Marks/ walking tour - our guide was a native Venetian and we learned so much from her about the lay-out of the city and the daily life there. The third part was a boat tour - very relaxing way to end the day and learn more about the buildings along the Grand Canal. It was a perfect way to become oriented with the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Janet B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great guide for this tour who gave us so much information about the Doge's Palace and the government. Very interesting!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

FP7020 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved this tour! Doge's Palace was so much more than I imagined. Our guide Marco was funny and provided us with lots of information. There were 14 people in our group and we were provided headsets.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour of the Doge's Palace was amazing I learned so much, both about Venice's history and the palace itself. Daniella was very knowledgeable. Walking through the prison and over the Bridge of Sighs was very cool. The walking tour through Castello was very interesting. The boat ride was fabulous we traveled through small canals as well as the Canale Grande, and again, our guide was very informative. St. Mark's Basilica was closed that day apparently priests were being ordained, so we weren't able to see inside the basilica. This was not a problem, as I was in Venice for two weeks and could visit another day when the basilica was open. I thought this tour was really a good value, and a nice way to learn about the city's major landmarks.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Merrill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was excellent. Elizabetta shared her love of Venice with us and her considerable knowledge of her history. The tour moves to to a bird's eye view of the Piazza and the four horses through to the magnificent Doge's Palace, prisons and bridge. This tour is well worth taking.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace

1goddess1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was great. The guide was knowledgeable and relayed the information in an interesting way. We saw a lot and learned many interesting facts and stories about the Doge's Palace and it's inhabitants.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Andrea Bt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Thank you Susan for a great tour of Doges Palace and St Mark's Basilica. Your knowledge about the history of these buildings and Venice was fantastic. We really enjoyed the tour, and would recommend to others.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

gwen.dupre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Our tour guide was great -- VERY knowledgeable and very animated. I was much impressed with the Doge's Palace, as well as going over and thru the Bridge of Sighs which was under renovation last time I visited Venice - 6 years ago.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message