It's official: the Dolomite mountains in northeastern Italy make up one of the most beautiful landscapes in the world, and in 2009, UNESCO added them to the list of Natural World Heritage sites. At 200 million years old, these craggy, colorful, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 581 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JULIE

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing! Simply beautiful. Free time. Incredible guide! Worth every penny!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Wendy P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was by far the best tour we went on! The driver was nice, and I felt safe riding with him. He was very experienced with the area. The mountains are some of the most beautiful mountains in the world. We got to stop in some mountain towns and do a little looking around, and I didn't expect to do that. It is just a really good tour.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Laurie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The biggest mistake a visitor to Venice can make is to try to do Venice in a couple of days. We spent a week and realized that we only saw a fraction of what the city has to offer. However, one of our days was this tour to the Dolomites, and it made a welcome break from the noise and crowds of Venice. We had 8 people in the minivan which was a nice number for our guide/driver to work with. Our guide, Justin, knows the area intimately, and provided lots of excellent photo ops, plus of course essential toilet and coffee stops. Also, unlike many tours that run strictly according to a timetable, we took 9 hours rather than the advertised 8, as Justin adapted to the interests of the group. The ride took us to beautiful villages, wide open lake vistas, and at one point into cool temperatures high above the tree line, and always with the rugged Dolomite mountains as a backdrop. Adding to the beauty, Justin provided interesting historical and cultural information.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Phoebe M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was fantastic! The guide was excellent and informative about the local knowledge. Although it was a whole day tour, the car journery was all right. There were few nice stops all the way. It had given me good chance to explore. It is worth for recommendation.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Evan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a mind blowing experience with awesome views combined with a entertaining and informative tour by Giovanni our guide. We would highly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Ming-Yang H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

suz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic scenery. Eight of us in a van. Quite comfortable. Excellent driver/ guide. Lunch stop had several options. We chose a restaurant with a great view and got a window booth. Photo stops were at great sites. Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

chokirou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an excellent day, though it was a full 8 hour tour. The weather was perfect for viewing the mountains. Our tour guide was Phillipo I hope I spelled him name properly and he was generous in offering information and taking numerous photos of us. Our tour was limited to 8 people and this added greatly to our satisfaction. I would recommend this tour to anyone that would like to see the Dolomites up close.
This tour company exceeded our expectations as did Phillipo!
My problem now it editing the huge number of photos we took!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Maria W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The driver was great. Knew a lot about the area and gave us time to enjoy each stop even though we lost a bit of time due to heavy traffic on the roads. The van was good - large windows so that everyone could see. Very glad we decided to take the small group tour rather than rent a car for the day or do a larger bus tour.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Jill M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great customer service and wonderful tour guide.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Dolomite Mountains Day Trip and Skip-the-Line Venice in One Day Tour

GG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

OMG this trip was fantastic, Justin the Tour Guide was fun, energetic and so in love with The Dolomite Mountains that he brought his energy to us on the tour I could have not asked for a better Tour Guide than Justin. I will never forget this trip, I Loved it from Beginning to End. Thank you Justin and your energy..... TI AMO

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Dognumber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an amazing trip! First class all the way.. our tour guide, Marco, was engaged with our interests, happy to help get us to places to take great photographs, and a great driver!! This tour was one of our high points of our Italy trip... amazing!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely tour of the mountains. You will ride in comfortable mini vans and stop along the way to view magnificent scenery. The lunch stop is very nice in the mountains too. I would suggest this tour when you feel you want to get wavy from the noise and crowds of the Venice city area. We took this tour on our last day in Italy before returning home. It was a great way to end out journey.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Dolomites were awesome - more than expected.
This is a great way to see something different and fun, outside the usual bustle of Venice.
Guide was quite well informed and had a great personality.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Charles F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our driver was excellent, very informative. He was very patient while we took photos and more photos. Marco made the experience very fun, even though there was cloud cover when we got to the top for photos.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Timsuerichmond Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time on this trip. The area was just beautiful and well worth visiting. Our guide, Justin, was excellent. He was full of information, friendly and a fantastic photographer. I would definitely recommend taking the time to visit the Dolomites.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

KGauta United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It's more than what's described. Must recommend to everyone to witness the beauty and mesmerizing dolomite in it's natural form. The coach was friendly and an awesome guide.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Shannon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day trip from Venice. Different from any other mountains. First rate guides who clearly love the area.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

k8frank

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Justin was PHENOMENAL!!! The small group size of this tour was perfect. This is an incredible part of Italy and we almost missed it! My biggest regret is that we only arranged for this one short day to be there. If you're wondering if the trip is worth it, trust me, it is! Pictures do not do justice to the actual area.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Karen S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a beautiful place to visit and the guide was fine. He could have been more talkative on the ride. The only negative thing was our last stop in a town in the Dolomites. When we got there NO SHOPS were open!! We just wandered around without anything to do. That was disappointing and I wish we had just headed back.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

kuypers71

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Please read this! We went yesterday. It was rainy, cold, and miserable and views were obscured by low clouds but that was not the problem. Your first stop for a break will be in Cortina where you will have 30 minutes to walk up the pedestrian street and get a drink or use the bathroom. It was 11:00 and we were told we would stop for lunch later at 1:30. In Cordina, just a few feet along your way on the right there is Embassy Bar Cafe. GO IN! Order some of the scrumptious sweets, and don't pass up the hot chocolate with cream. I knew I would never make it until 1:30, so I also had a great small ham sandwich. So light and delicious. The hot chocolate, cookies, and sandwich were just enough to hold me over until our next wonderful eating stop. What a disappointment that was! The next stop was something like Denny's in the US. Only they served mostly pizza. It was not horrible, but it was NOT good. This little restaurant just happens to be on a beautiful lake that you can walk around if the weather is nice. So, my recommendation ---- either take your own lunch and picnic somewhere around the lake you'll have 1.5 hours. Or better yet, see if Embassy Cafe will make a lunch for you to take out. I so regret not doing that. Oh, it just so happens that we stopped in Cordina at 11:00, were told we would top again for lunch at 1:30, but guess what? We stopped at the Denny's pizzeria at noon! Had I known that the food was going to be so blah I would have just eaten my whole lunch at Embassy Cafe. You'll get another pit stop on the way home for gelato or drink. Think Dairy Queen. The gelato selections didn't look particularly appetizing so I passed. Tour guide, Daniel, was terrific, mini-van was indeed luxury, drive was beautiful and vistas gorgeous even in spite of rain. I gave a 3 because I would have enjoyed more time in Cortina. Definitely go, but take my advice on the food.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

sharonwahrmund

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I actually didn't go on the trip. The meeting place and time allowed us no way to get there with the ferry schedule. I called Viator, and they were really helpful. However, the tour group who ran this particular tour were not. The tried to refuse my money.

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Scott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic day with spectacular scenery.
Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Dolomite Mountains Day Trip and Skip-the-Line Venice in One Day Tour

Yael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour! The scenery was amazing. Just like taking a walk inside a postcard. The guide Marco was very friendly, funny and gave useful and interesting information.
Highly commanded!

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

ameveleigh69

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Stunning countryside ,mountain ranges and this was the perfect trip to see a totally different side of Italy .i would recommand this to every body..

Doing what: Dolomite Mountains Small-Group Day Trip from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message