The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 716 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This gondola experience was very memorable. At first we were worried because when we arrived we were told to stand in a long line, but it turned out we were all a part of the same group. Being aboard one gondola as part of a small navy of gondolas was really fun, and the singer sang the whole time. He was a really talented singer, and sang many romantic Italian favorites. After some time in the Grand Canal flexing our strength as a tiny armada, we made our way down one of the smaller side canals and even got to see a newly married bride and groom awaiting their own gondola not a part of our group to whisk them away on their honeymoon. If you want your own gondola, I would suggest making other plans, but if you dont mind sharing a gondola and getting a professional serenade singer in the process this is a most entertaining experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This Viator 'Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour' was fantastic value, helped enormously by the quality of the guides who spoke very clearly and knowledgeably. I must also comment on the very good sound quality of the 'radios' for the walking tour. We had Rosanna as our group guide for the walking tour who was full of information on Venice, it's canals and buildings. To enter St Marks we had to step on raised duck boards due to there being slight flooding caused by a high tide, quite a common experience apparently. The walking tour finished at the Rialto Bridge allowing us to make our own way back.
For the evening boat tour there had been a slight mistake, where some of us had been given the wrong meeting time. This however was to our advantage, as an extra 'water taxi' was used and instead of about 10-12 in a boat we only had 6 plus the 'driver' and Christina the guide. The boat tour, under a clear blue sky and warm evening breeze, was probably the highlight of our stay and Christina did a marvelous job explaining the history of the town, its buildings and surrounding waterways. To stand up in the boat as it cruised up through the Grand Canal will be a memory to savour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guides. Be prepared to walk and walk, and go up and down tons of stairs on the walk and in the Doges palace.. If you don't like walking, the crowds and the skip the line , lines, this is not for you. You walk all over Venice to see the sites so it is a long day. It is like having three full tours in one day. I cannot stress enough how much walking is involved and your guides switch off midday. You see Doges palace and do a walking tour of Venice in which you visit St Mark's. At the end of the
day you ride the comfortable water taxi through the Grand Canal which is very nice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Randy R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a nice tour. It was interesting to learn about the Doge's Palace. I did not know anything about it. St. Marks's Basilica was nice as well as the walking tour. It was a nice way to see Venice. The best part of the trip was the Grand Canal Cruise. I would recommend this for anyone going to Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Scott H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We came off a cruise ship for this tour. The voucher time was early. I attempted to call the local tour company for 2 days prior and received fast busy signals. We were delayed getting off the ship and didn't make it to the meeting point until 9:03am. There was no one there. I called the local tour company and was told the tour left at 9am. They had no info that we were on a cruise ship. Our only option would be to try and catch up with them before they entered the Doge's Palace. They would not call the guide, nor give us a description of the guide. We rushed to the Palace and saw several guides but all that we asked stated we were not on their tour. Even if we had caught up with the guide, we would not have been able to hear him/her as we didn't have headsets. We ended up paying for tickets to the Doge's Palace again. It was interesting but we missed the history and stories behind much of what we saw. We met the St. Marks guide back in the garden and had an interesting tour. St. Marks is beautiful, though it was very rushed and we didnt have much time. We would have liked to go upstairs but could not. The walking tour was also informative. We ended back at the garden at 1pm to drop off our headsets, ie whispers to find out the Grand Canal tour didnt start until 4pm and lasts 1 hour. Nowhere in the tour description does it state this. We had an all aboard time of 5:30pm. We would not have made our cruise if we had taken the tour as it took us an hour to get back, due to the long lines for the water taxi. We spend a fair amount of money and only got the benefit of 1/3 of the tour package due to the poor description of the tour and it's times and the poor customer service of the local tour company.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Candice P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Yes, It's a Gondola ride on the Grand Canal in Venice. That much is true and you can take that for what it's worth. What was disconcerting was the bulk approach, 5 or more gondolas filled with three couples meeting in the middle of the Grand Canal to listen to some singer serenade from 3 Gondolas away, then having your gondola break away only to here your serenade disappear among the general noise of the Canal area. My suggestion would be to find a waiting gondola along the the many small canals and see what you can get. This was not what we had in mind when it came to a romantic gondola ride in Venice. We did see MANY Gondolas during our stay with only one couple on board, proof that they exist. We'll go that route if we ever come back.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Paul G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

this was intended to be the highlight of our trip to Venice, special and romantic seeing he Grand canal, and Rialto Bridge from the canal would be brilliant, and to have a musician and singer to serenade us would be the icing on the cake so to speak.
However, we joined a long queue at 6.15 for our 6.30 sunset trip to await our departure. We got into the gondola at approx. 6.40 not sat together as expected, and the were taken across the Grand canal a short distance to the other 5 boats. once the flotilla assembled, we then departed the grand canal to a small canal with the singer doing his best to sing without any music to help - he was also positioned in the third boat and we were all in a long line with our boat at the from so we couldn't hear a thing for most of the trip.. we travelled in total no more than 500metres in the narrow canals off from the Grand Canal and arrived back at the Gondola station at 7.00pm. we hadn't seen anything, or heard anything for that matter and found the whole experience a misrepresentation from the information provided at the time of making the booking. We tried to discuss this with the boss of the crew, who was like a ex-Mafia guy and suddenly he couldn't speak any English and he was very busy. Having failed to make any impression with him, I am dealing with Viator Customer Services now.
This is the most disappointing tour we have had with Viator, and we have used them for many of our City Break tours with great satisfaction - I think its all about the guy providing the Gondolas, but I can tell you to not book this until you get to Venice - there's no shortage of Gondolas and their only 80 - 100 for a definite 30 minutes

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brian Leslie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Viator company were fantastic as we missed our initial booking for this tour and phoned their call centre where they arranged for the same tour with an English speaking guide the next morning, pretty much hassle free. We missed the tour mainly because getting to your B and B Hotel in Venice is one of life's great challenges which took us 3 hours from parking off island to walking thru the lobby with cases in tow. The gondola ride however was an absolute highlight. With this ride we got to travel down the grand canal whilst many of the other rides are only in the skinny local canals. Alessandro Trabucco was an outstanding English speaking guide for three reasons. Firstly, his passion and love for this unique and fascinating city was infectious, secondly his insider knowledge of history and highlights was exceptional and finally he made our family of four feel so welcome especially our beautiful 14 year old daughter with special abilities. The trip went for 1 hour and was the best thing we did in Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide met us near the Grand Canal and walked us to our water taxi for a one hour tour along the Canal. We had just arrived that morning so were still adjusting to the new time zone and little sleep on the flight over, but she was very informative without being dull in any way. We went along the Grand Canal as well as along some of the quieter canals, and into the Lagoon as well. All in all, a great way to spend a late afternoon hour and a good introduction to Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Grand Canal Evening Boat Tour

Leah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Grand Canal Boat Tour was the first activity we did after arriving in Venice. Eight passengers on the bus was perfect and audio system made it easy to hear the knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide Christina. This is a definite must-do activity!

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Ma. Lope M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice ride along the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

TheKatzMeow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful walking tour. The guide was so informative. We learned so much more than we ever could have on our own. We went over the expected in San Marco, but it was the little alleyways, the backstreets, those little tidbits that were so interesting. That we would never have known.
The boat tour down the grand canal was perfect. After walking in the morning, no seeing Venice from the other side. Take this tour - It is worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Carla P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed the walking tour and then having a break before our tour of the grand canal

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Kate W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very good for the Dodges Palace and the Basilica - but we hadn't realized this was a mix and match tour e.g. different people joined each part of the tour, and so information felt quiet repetitive on these two tours as he had new people and so he repeated the info from the first tour.
Pros: great way to skip line and see 2 key sites in Vencie grand canal tour a favorite with our kids
Cons: repetitive, tour round basilica was very quick, and boat tour only 45 minutes, not the advertised hour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Gordon G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Doge Palace tour was excellent. However the next tour followed immediately afterwards leaving no time for a bathroom break, lunch or a brief rest. We were hurried through St. mark's Bascilica , spending less than 10 minutes in the church which was very disappointing and then the walking tour was a bit too long. We also were not taken back to our meeting point , being left to find our way back on our own to St. Marks's Square. Then we had a three hour wait for the Grand Canal Tour. I think the spacing of the tours could have been done better, with a break between one and two and a shorter break between two and three. The Canal tour was also very interesting. We were unable to do our tour today as the stress on my husbands knees from yesterday. And sadly refunds are not given for next day cancellation.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Chelsea C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

When I booked this ride, I did not realize that we would travel in a pack of gondolas and that the serenade would come from a nearby gondola. Would have enjoyed this much more if it traveled the grand canal, was more private and had the serenade on our gondola. Not really worth the price.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

YanJuan H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The Private Grand Canal Boat Tour was certainly not Grand as the the tour was entitled. The actual boat provided was a narrow covered boat with a small open seating area the rear, which was a tight fit for just four of us all small/medium framed and therefore, it not allow any room to take any meaningful photographs as there is no room to manoeuvre. In fact, the actual boat is a complete misrepresentation by the Tour writeup and its accompanying photograph. If the tour writeup was accompanied by the photograph of the actual type of boat, I would not have bought the tour for myself and family. Hence, it is not surprising that there is certainly the strong sour taste of being misled.
Furthermore, an hour prior to the tour, I had called the given telephone number to check on the specific location of the meeting place for the tour but I was given incorrect information to wait at the esplanade where there is a wooden booth in front of a flower garden to turn right of St Mark's Square, along the walkway by the waters. We had almost missed the tour completely as we had to rushed frantically to find the right meeting place after being advised by some people at the wooden booth.
However, the guide was knowledgeable and provided adequate commentary on the tour. Our rating would be a one-star rating and this is just for the guide of the tour only, and, for the Tour Company, its administration and logistics of the tour, our rating is a zero-rating.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Grand Canal Evening Boat Tour

Diane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great basic tour of the grand canal. The guide was informative and friendly.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Kristen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the gondola ride and the serenading was wonderful! All boats could hear the musicians. We spent some time and #34;floating and #34; in the grand canal all together, so all the boats could hear the music, and then went down some canals. I would and #39;ve liked to see more of the smaller canals though.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was very fun and off the grand canal out of traffic. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was split into 3 parts with different guides, and is a great way to skip the lines to see these heavily visited attractions, as the lines are very long. The Doges Palace tour was interesting, but my family and I felt that too much time and emphasis was placed on explanations of the paintings and history, and we walked by items in the palace that looked interesting, but our guide did not acknowledge or explain them because she was running out of time. St. Mark's Basilica was the most beautiful church I have ever been in. Unfortunately you have to keep walking through the tour path without stopping because it is very crowded - it would have been better to be able to stop and admire the mosaics. The Venice walking tour was fun and educational, as was the Grand Canal tour. I would recommend this all-in-one package as a great way to see Venice, but do it early in your trip, as the guides point out a lot of wonderful things that you will want to go back and visit on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Valerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a long day of fabulous tours. I really like that the first two tours give you a headset that you can hear the tour guide as we walk. I think we get more information and it helps for those who might be slower than others. Be aware that at both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's you have to check in your backpacks. Also at St. Mark's you need to have your shoulders and knees cover - or for 1 Euro you can buy a paper scarf. At 9 we started with Marco taking us through Doge's Palace. Marco was very knowledgeable about the history, but also very humorous. Then at 11 I had the walking tour/St. Mark's Basilica tour. The Basilica is amazingly beautiful no photos allowed. The walking tour was interesting and took us to a lot of interesting parts of Venice. At 5 we did the Grand Canal tour. This was done in small groups via taxi. It was very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

MARY LOTOYA C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The best part of the tour was seeing David and the Grand Canal Tour. It and #39;s a little disorganized so make sure you confirm the details such as the meeting place and time before hand for each one. Also, there will be one person checking you in before you are assigned a guide. Look for that person 1st

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

John L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We landed in Venice and went on this tour a few hours later. It was pretty good, but this tour is just to get acquainted with a little of Venice. The Gondola ride was worth the price itself. Very cool and we went on the grand canal too. Tour guide was very nice. It is a great first day tour to get acquainted.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Clark R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was actually 3 separate tours. They were all very interesting. We particularly enjoyed the boat tour of the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message