The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 743 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eliot S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The walking tour was very informative even thought the temperature was at or below zero. No stops for wink-wink shopping that most tours have set up in advance with their favorite merchants. However they could have arranged for a bathroom break either before or at the end of the tour especially for the price paid. The restaurant across from the tour agency only allowed you to use the facilites if you purchased something. The gondola ride was nice, especially the portion on the Grand Canal at just after dusk.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

These were three tours tours in one day with 3 different tour guide, each of whom were native born in Venice. We started with the 9 AM Doges Palace tour and it was a trip into the seat and history of the old government and some of how they handled criminals. I enjoyed the painting and how they tried to keep power from being concentrated in too few hands.

We then took lunch and rejoined the tour of St Marks and the Venice Walking Tour. Our hotel was within 20 minutes of St. Marks Square so we knew the restaurants between the two places, The Venice walking tour was my favorite part as we walked the streets and learned how the locals really live, what are the challenges of living in this unique city.

The latter part of the afternoon was the Grand Canal boat ride. This one was good for pictures of St. Marks Square from a water view and the brides, houses on the Grand Canal. Our guide was pleasant and kept up a good flow of what we were seeing. My favorite part was at the end of the Grand Canal and the canals on the way back where we could see the back streets of the city where few tourists tread and even the gondola building shops!

If you are going to be in Venice for a short time, these tours are a great way to see and understand the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

bex004

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about the beautiful city of Venice! This was a wonderful tour to start our trip here and acclimate ourselves to Venice. We loved the gondola ride, which was much longer than we thought it would be. We got to see the sunset over the grand canal. So beautiful!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Jpiperk

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed this a lot, but was disappointed it slightly went down the Grand Canal, then ended up on little back canals where it was just nothing but solid, dark walls. Not very interesting. The singing was great!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

SHARON D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Perfect day and great tours! This was actually 3 different tours with 3 different guides, all great. The only hiccup was we were told to be at the meeting location for the Grand Canal tour at 3:50, but the tour guide we had for the city tour kept telling us we should be there at 4 pm. We were the only ones on the city tour for the canal tour, and towards the end of the city tour felt like we had to keep pushing her along to finish the tour in time she seemed resistant to accommodating us. It was frustrating for us, and probably for her as well, but we didn't know our way around that part of the city to break free, and the one tour ended a good 10 minute walk from where the canal tour began. We did make the canal tour on time, but wish we didn't have the stress so we could more fully enjoy the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Ralph S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

To find the meeting point.....catch a grand Canal No 2 public boat to Rialto Bridge and ask one of the Gondoliers.. !!!! simple

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

JAMES B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It might seem obvious but be aware that if there is a high tide then St Mark's Square can get flooded for a few hours. Kiosks sell plastic over boots for 10 Euro. The tour takes you into the Basilica magnificent but not through the Doge's Palace - you have to do that separately, although the guide does tell you all about the Palace and of course about the Bridge of Sighs. You then wander through narrow streets, eventually emerging near the Rialto Bridge. One useful tip the guide provided was about the terrace on the roof of the department store near the bridge which offers great views over the Grand Canal and the city. The boat tour is interesting but after a while, the canals start to look the same and the magnificent architecture and palaces start to blur together. The two hour walking tour can only take in a small fraction of what Venice has to offer but it gives a great taster.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Michelle C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The Morning tour was awful , the lady tour guide had no clue what she was saying and we ended up not doing the doge tour with her since she was unorganized and could barely translates things in english ... The part two tour with Marco was great. He was very funny and very informative and would much rather have him tour us for both part of the deal. The boat tour was also a great part of the deal. You get to see the grand canal and the local side of the island. If it wasn't for the tour guide in the morning, the tour would have been perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Wendy C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was good but not great. The best part was once we got off the Grand Canal and into the smaller canals for a true Venetian experience. In total, the tour was about 25 minutes. Make sure you are first on the boat for the best seat.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jonathan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great times. Our walking tour guide was Marina and she did a fantastic job teaching us about the city and explaining what we were seeing. She told us about the interesting things that go on in the city occasionally like when it floods and how people deal with it. She pointed out interesting aspects of the historical sites that would not be visible otherwise. For instance, there were mosaics above the St. Mark's Basilica which were created in different centuries and had a very different style. The boat tour was a lot of fun because it really did take us everywhere in the city that can be reached by a small boat. It lasted about 40 minutes and we went all the way around the outside of the city to see the other islands of Venice and we went through the Grand Canal to see the heart of the city from the perspective of the water. Francesco was a great tour guide and he pointed out interesting details like the 7-star hotel where George Clooney got married. Apparently the two biggest enemies to Venice were Napoleon and George Clooney.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

jerhui.tan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great way to see Venice in one day. The Doge and #39;s Palace was beautiful and the grand canal cruise was wonderful as well. Reccommended!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent walking tour with knowledgeable guide. Boat trip on the Grand Canal was a highlight. I was expecting a boat filled with lots of tourists but it was a water taxi with 10 people and a guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent walking tour with knowledgeable guide. Boat trip on the Grand Canal was a highlight. I was expecting a boat filled with lots of tourists but it was a water taxi with 10 people and a guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

varnfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Did this tour the first full day we were in Venice, and I am so glad we did! First part morning was Doge's Palace - our guide was very knowledgeable, and spoke clearly and concisely, which is important when you are listening through headphones. She provided in-depth on he history and architecture of the Doges and the palace. Second part afternoon was St Marks/ walking tour - our guide was a native Venetian and we learned so much from her about the lay-out of the city and the daily life there. The third part was a boat tour - very relaxing way to end the day and learn more about the buildings along the Grand Canal. It was a perfect way to become oriented with the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

sandra.houghton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed seeing the Grand Canal and the Jewish ghetto. Our guide was very informative and it was nice to walk around the Jewish ghetto and learn about the history associated with it. It was a great way to see parts of Venice that tourists wouldn't normal see.

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

Greg B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really a good value. I recommend this on your first day in Venice. By the end of the tour you will be familiar with most of the city. Cruise down the Grand Canal was a very nice way to end the day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Arlene B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The best part of the tour was the gondola ride. We really enjoyed the ride along the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Patricia A M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were very happy with our tour guide in Venice for St. Mark's and the Grand Canal cruise. My husband had challenges with a walker, but the guide was sensitive to this and the captain of the cruiser we had was very helpful. I was surprised that all of the men, on our walking tour with us, did not ask to help me carry the walker over the several bridges we had to cross. Seriously!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Mlehman10

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Unfortunately, it was raining the morning of the walking tour, though we enjoyed learning about Venice. This was especially true for those visiting Venice for the first time. The guide was good and was very informative. The afternoon weather cleared up and all thoroughly enjoyed the Grand Canal boat tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

janetschwartz186

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Venice was very crowded when we were there and this morning tour helped to orient us to the city as well as gave us, cut the line status at a very crowded St. Marks. Worth doing. The guide was excellent and informative as well as cheerful and friendly. Our group had about 20 people.

Note that the boat tour is in the evening so there are hours in- between the tours for you to shop, eat and explore. It is two different organizations that run the parts of the tour. The boat tour is wonderful..no need for a gondola ride at twice the price! There were only 8 in the boat. We saw many side canals as well as the Grand Canal. The guide pointed out so many things that we otherwise would not have noticed. Do this for sure!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Krista N

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I really enjoyed the two hour walking tour and I particularly enjoyed the one hour Grand Canal boat cruise -- the boat was really the highlight for me. The only challenge I had on my walking tour was hearing the tour guide and it wasn't the equipment but rather the weather -- it was pretty rainy/windy. The tour guide did what she could to stay out of the wind, which did help. Overall, a great tour though but the sound issues made it a solid B for me.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Robert M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Really interesting tour - interesting commentary along the way.
Tours the Grand Canal as well as side trip into smaller more intimate canals to provide variety of views and experiences.
Relaxing and easy way to immerse yourself into Venice as a great introduction.
Only thing I would change would be to use personal ear pieces for the commentary rather than the PA on the boat as the system is not that great on quality and loud.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Sandy H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed the grand canal boat trip.Walking tour was interesting - round the quiet streets and finished near the Rialto bridge but there then there was a big time gap until the boat trip. Very quick whizz through in the church.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Rita C C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

High hopes for this tour. It was good timing to do it in the afternoon. It took us 2 hours to find the location. We were close but could not located the address. Was lent a phone by a couple who live in Italy and called the contact number. The man on the phone was RUDE. His directions were to go to the plaza and go to the southeast corner. SE means nothing to someone who doesn't live there! Eventually found the location. Ear phones were helpful. Tour guide gave interesting information. She did not watch for her group. We were intersected by other non tour folks walking and knew we were out of range when we could not hear her. Also, need to advise multiple bridges will need to be crossed. It would have been helpful to include the closest water taxi stop for the meeting place. It would save time and concern. The gondola ride was fun and it was a good ride up part of the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Matthew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This gondola experience was very memorable. At first we were worried because when we arrived we were told to stand in a long line, but it turned out we were all a part of the same group. Being aboard one gondola as part of a small navy of gondolas was really fun, and the singer sang the whole time. He was a really talented singer, and sang many romantic Italian favorites. After some time in the Grand Canal flexing our strength as a tiny armada, we made our way down one of the smaller side canals and even got to see a newly married bride and groom awaiting their own gondola not a part of our group to whisk them away on their honeymoon. If you want your own gondola, I would suggest making other plans, but if you dont mind sharing a gondola and getting a professional serenade singer in the process this is a most entertaining experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message