The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 709 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brian Leslie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Viator company were fantastic as we missed our initial booking for this tour and phoned their call centre where they arranged for the same tour with an English speaking guide the next morning, pretty much hassle free. We missed the tour mainly because getting to your B and B Hotel in Venice is one of life's great challenges which took us 3 hours from parking off island to walking thru the lobby with cases in tow. The gondola ride however was an absolute highlight. With this ride we got to travel down the grand canal whilst many of the other rides are only in the skinny local canals. Alessandro Trabucco was an outstanding English speaking guide for three reasons. Firstly, his passion and love for this unique and fascinating city was infectious, secondly his insider knowledge of history and highlights was exceptional and finally he made our family of four feel so welcome especially our beautiful 14 year old daughter with special abilities. The trip went for 1 hour and was the best thing we did in Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide met us near the Grand Canal and walked us to our water taxi for a one hour tour along the Canal. We had just arrived that morning so were still adjusting to the new time zone and little sleep on the flight over, but she was very informative without being dull in any way. We went along the Grand Canal as well as along some of the quieter canals, and into the Lagoon as well. All in all, a great way to spend a late afternoon hour and a good introduction to Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Grand Canal Evening Boat Tour

Leah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Grand Canal Boat Tour was the first activity we did after arriving in Venice. Eight passengers on the bus was perfect and audio system made it easy to hear the knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide Christina. This is a definite must-do activity!

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Ma. Lope M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Nice ride along the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

TheKatzMeow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A wonderful walking tour. The guide was so informative. We learned so much more than we ever could have on our own. We went over the expected in San Marco, but it was the little alleyways, the backstreets, those little tidbits that were so interesting. That we would never have known.
The boat tour down the grand canal was perfect. After walking in the morning, no seeing Venice from the other side. Take this tour - It is worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Carla P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed the walking tour and then having a break before our tour of the grand canal

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Kate W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very good for the Dodges Palace and the Basilica - but we hadn't realized this was a mix and match tour e.g. different people joined each part of the tour, and so information felt quiet repetitive on these two tours as he had new people and so he repeated the info from the first tour.
Pros: great way to skip line and see 2 key sites in Vencie grand canal tour a favorite with our kids
Cons: repetitive, tour round basilica was very quick, and boat tour only 45 minutes, not the advertised hour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Gordon G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Doge Palace tour was excellent. However the next tour followed immediately afterwards leaving no time for a bathroom break, lunch or a brief rest. We were hurried through St. mark's Bascilica , spending less than 10 minutes in the church which was very disappointing and then the walking tour was a bit too long. We also were not taken back to our meeting point , being left to find our way back on our own to St. Marks's Square. Then we had a three hour wait for the Grand Canal Tour. I think the spacing of the tours could have been done better, with a break between one and two and a shorter break between two and three. The Canal tour was also very interesting. We were unable to do our tour today as the stress on my husbands knees from yesterday. And sadly refunds are not given for next day cancellation.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Chelsea C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

When I booked this ride, I did not realize that we would travel in a pack of gondolas and that the serenade would come from a nearby gondola. Would have enjoyed this much more if it traveled the grand canal, was more private and had the serenade on our gondola. Not really worth the price.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

YanJuan H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The Private Grand Canal Boat Tour was certainly not Grand as the the tour was entitled. The actual boat provided was a narrow covered boat with a small open seating area the rear, which was a tight fit for just four of us all small/medium framed and therefore, it not allow any room to take any meaningful photographs as there is no room to manoeuvre. In fact, the actual boat is a complete misrepresentation by the Tour writeup and its accompanying photograph. If the tour writeup was accompanied by the photograph of the actual type of boat, I would not have bought the tour for myself and family. Hence, it is not surprising that there is certainly the strong sour taste of being misled.
Furthermore, an hour prior to the tour, I had called the given telephone number to check on the specific location of the meeting place for the tour but I was given incorrect information to wait at the esplanade where there is a wooden booth in front of a flower garden to turn right of St Mark's Square, along the walkway by the waters. We had almost missed the tour completely as we had to rushed frantically to find the right meeting place after being advised by some people at the wooden booth.
However, the guide was knowledgeable and provided adequate commentary on the tour. Our rating would be a one-star rating and this is just for the guide of the tour only, and, for the Tour Company, its administration and logistics of the tour, our rating is a zero-rating.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Grand Canal Evening Boat Tour

Diane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great basic tour of the grand canal. The guide was informative and friendly.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Kristen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the gondola ride and the serenading was wonderful! All boats could hear the musicians. We spent some time and #34;floating and #34; in the grand canal all together, so all the boats could hear the music, and then went down some canals. I would and #39;ve liked to see more of the smaller canals though.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was very fun and off the grand canal out of traffic. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was split into 3 parts with different guides, and is a great way to skip the lines to see these heavily visited attractions, as the lines are very long. The Doges Palace tour was interesting, but my family and I felt that too much time and emphasis was placed on explanations of the paintings and history, and we walked by items in the palace that looked interesting, but our guide did not acknowledge or explain them because she was running out of time. St. Mark's Basilica was the most beautiful church I have ever been in. Unfortunately you have to keep walking through the tour path without stopping because it is very crowded - it would have been better to be able to stop and admire the mosaics. The Venice walking tour was fun and educational, as was the Grand Canal tour. I would recommend this all-in-one package as a great way to see Venice, but do it early in your trip, as the guides point out a lot of wonderful things that you will want to go back and visit on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Valerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a long day of fabulous tours. I really like that the first two tours give you a headset that you can hear the tour guide as we walk. I think we get more information and it helps for those who might be slower than others. Be aware that at both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's you have to check in your backpacks. Also at St. Mark's you need to have your shoulders and knees cover - or for 1 Euro you can buy a paper scarf. At 9 we started with Marco taking us through Doge's Palace. Marco was very knowledgeable about the history, but also very humorous. Then at 11 I had the walking tour/St. Mark's Basilica tour. The Basilica is amazingly beautiful no photos allowed. The walking tour was interesting and took us to a lot of interesting parts of Venice. At 5 we did the Grand Canal tour. This was done in small groups via taxi. It was very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

MARY LOTOYA C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The best part of the tour was seeing David and the Grand Canal Tour. It and #39;s a little disorganized so make sure you confirm the details such as the meeting place and time before hand for each one. Also, there will be one person checking you in before you are assigned a guide. Look for that person 1st

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

John L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We landed in Venice and went on this tour a few hours later. It was pretty good, but this tour is just to get acquainted with a little of Venice. The Gondola ride was worth the price itself. Very cool and we went on the grand canal too. Tour guide was very nice. It is a great first day tour to get acquainted.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Clark R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was actually 3 separate tours. They were all very interesting. We particularly enjoyed the boat tour of the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Erika K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was worth the money just to skip the line for St. Marks. We enjoyed hearing some of the history of Venice and the boat ride around the grand canal was wonderful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Joseph Urso Israel

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a fun ride- about 30 minutes, with 6 passengers in our gondola. We had 5 or 6 gondolas in a convoy with an accordion player and singer in the center gondola. We all clustered together in the Grand Canal listening to the music for a while, then went single-file through some small neighborhood canals while the music was playing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Carl R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We went on a flotilla - so we had 6 in our gondola. It was a little crowded. There was one man who serenaded us for the 5 gondalas. It was 30 minutes and we were able to go on the grand canal as well as some of the smaller ones. We enjoyed it very much.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Anand India

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The value of skip the line entrance will be best understood if checked with those getting roasted under the bright sun in long queues. Stephanie, our tour guide to Doge's Palace, was patiently going through the history and the background to the art work within the palace. Interesting it was. Rozanna, our second tour guide, did a good job with the St Mark's Basilica tour. Although all these tours were supported with personal head phones, the sheer heat and humidity drenched us in sweat and made the walking tour unbearable. It would have been a pleasant experience if not for the heat our trip was in July. Venice is full of restaurants and bridges, both being wonderful. During the 4 hr break, we took the Gandola ride from one of the many private guys around. Costs EUR80 - Worth it. The Grand Canal cruise in the evening was the highlight of the day.The lady guide Christina? was ecstatic and friendly. A full hour cruise across the various monuments of the city, comforted by pleasant breeze after the scorching heat of the day0, is a wonderul way to end the day. An excellent tour to cover the maximum of Venice, if you are short of time. Comfortable shoes are a must to do the plenty of walking and a satisfied tour is what you get in return.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Nelda D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The walking tour was great! Federica was very knowledgeable and set a fairly relaxed pace. However, the gondola ride was a huge disappointment. We didn and #39;t go on the Grand Canal and for about 2/3 of the time, was stuck in small canals where gondola traffic wasn and #39;t moving. No stars deserved for that.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Brian G United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Boat tour is same and Grand Canal. And covers same info as walking and boat tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

William B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This was not what was expected, you get on a boat with up to 6 people. They bring your boat and several others over to another boat on the grand canal where there is 1 guy, ONE serenading up to 50 people. The boat then brought us through some not so clean canals. I couldn't eat seafood in Venice after this. I'm sorry Viator, this was the worst booking of our trip. All other bookings about 5 were just fantastic!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message