The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 694 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great basic tour of the grand canal. The guide was informative and friendly.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Kristen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the gondola ride and the serenading was wonderful! All boats could hear the musicians. We spent some time and #34;floating and #34; in the grand canal all together, so all the boats could hear the music, and then went down some canals. I would and #39;ve liked to see more of the smaller canals though.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was very fun and off the grand canal out of traffic. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was split into 3 parts with different guides, and is a great way to skip the lines to see these heavily visited attractions, as the lines are very long. The Doges Palace tour was interesting, but my family and I felt that too much time and emphasis was placed on explanations of the paintings and history, and we walked by items in the palace that looked interesting, but our guide did not acknowledge or explain them because she was running out of time. St. Mark's Basilica was the most beautiful church I have ever been in. Unfortunately you have to keep walking through the tour path without stopping because it is very crowded - it would have been better to be able to stop and admire the mosaics. The Venice walking tour was fun and educational, as was the Grand Canal tour. I would recommend this all-in-one package as a great way to see Venice, but do it early in your trip, as the guides point out a lot of wonderful things that you will want to go back and visit on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

MARY LOTOYA C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The best part of the tour was seeing David and the Grand Canal Tour. It and #39;s a little disorganized so make sure you confirm the details such as the meeting place and time before hand for each one. Also, there will be one person checking you in before you are assigned a guide. Look for that person 1st

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

John L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We landed in Venice and went on this tour a few hours later. It was pretty good, but this tour is just to get acquainted with a little of Venice. The Gondola ride was worth the price itself. Very cool and we went on the grand canal too. Tour guide was very nice. It is a great first day tour to get acquainted.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Clark R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was actually 3 separate tours. They were all very interesting. We particularly enjoyed the boat tour of the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Erika K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was worth the money just to skip the line for St. Marks. We enjoyed hearing some of the history of Venice and the boat ride around the grand canal was wonderful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Joseph Urso Israel

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a fun ride- about 30 minutes, with 6 passengers in our gondola. We had 5 or 6 gondolas in a convoy with an accordion player and singer in the center gondola. We all clustered together in the Grand Canal listening to the music for a while, then went single-file through some small neighborhood canals while the music was playing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Brian G United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Boat tour is same and Grand Canal. And covers same info as walking and boat tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

William B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

This was not what was expected, you get on a boat with up to 6 people. They bring your boat and several others over to another boat on the grand canal where there is 1 guy, ONE serenading up to 50 people. The boat then brought us through some not so clean canals. I couldn't eat seafood in Venice after this. I'm sorry Viator, this was the worst booking of our trip. All other bookings about 5 were just fantastic!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Rachel C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Temper your expectations. I thought we'd be 6 people in a gondola with a guy singing in Italian, but we were 8 gondolas each full of 6 people with 1 person singing so once we started moving you couldn't hear him. Also, the ride wasn't 30 minutes since we spent about 15 waiting for all 8 gondolas to fill up and move out into a line. There are places to take rides all along the water so there is really no reason to buy this in advance. Just make sure you take a ride along the grand canal so you're not in a fake gondola, the real ones have a metal thing on the front with 6 small horizontal bars.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Simone A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It has been the greatest tour we've ever made. As there was regatta on the Grand Canal, it was closed for motor boats. So our Gondola has been the only boat on the Grand Canal in the area of the Rialto Bridge. It was perfect.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

Steve R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent Tour and very knowledgeable guides for both the waking tour and private boat tour.
The meeting place was easy to find with the instructions supplied and had seating in a small park/garden area.
By-Pass the crowds for St Marks Basilica did just what it said and no waiting, Don't take a rucksack/large bag as these are not allowed in St Marks Basilica, however you can leave them free of charge just around the corner and the tour will wait whilst you drop them off. Also photographs are not allowed inside the Basilica.
We did not get to see the inside of the Dogge Palace but not sure if this was actually part of the tour as it now a museum and probably would have taken too long.
The walking tour of the back streets were very informative and the earphones kept us all together.
The hour boat tour was in a private water taxi the nice wooden ones and was excellemt, especially as the sun was setting.
The only complaint was that the guys checking us in at the walking tour told us to arrive at 5:00pm for the boat tour when in fact we should have been there at 3:00pm as on our itinerary. Not too much of a problem as the guides got us on another taxi and we got to see the amazing colours of the grand canal as the sun was setting,
Highly recommend Viatour and their great staff.
Steve and Kim

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Divina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow!! Venice was the highlight of our trip. Thank you so much for accommodating us to split the tour. Our ship was leaving at 5 pm and we could not take the boat tour at 4:30 so we asked if we could take it the evening before. We realized it was a fully booked and busy tour and prayed we could get on it. And very thankfully we did. The tour of the grand canal was so nice , we felt like movie stars on the grand canal. Our tour guide was fantastic. The following morning we took the morning walking tour with the skip the line. Boy it really is worth it to skip the line. They said it was going to be one of the busiest days of the season and it certainly was worth skiping the line. The local guide was so knowledgeable and we could tell he loved his city. What a treat. Thank you for an unforgettable experience of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The meeting point for this tour was right down the walkway from our hotel and easy to find. We met up with other people on the tour and divided up into four groups of 6 or 7 people to board four traditional Venetian Gondolas. We started our tour in the Grand Canal and were serenaded by a great singer who boarded one of the gondolas. We made our way through various channels where the acoustics were amazing. We even had a group sing-along to traditional Italian songs. This tour lasted about 45 minutes before we returned to our starting point. I recommend this tour because you get the full feel of Venice for a longer duration. If you want a private gondola ride with your significant other, expect it to be expensive and only 20 minutes average in duration. I would be hesitant to book the gondola restaurant packages see the reviews, go find a nice Cicchetti Bar instead.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Debra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We arranged to take this tour on our first full day in Venice. It was wonderful to be able to skip the very long line at St. Mark's, and really helpful to have headphones so we could hear the tour guide no matter how close or far we were in the group. The guide, Andrew, was a wealth of information and led us on a great tour of the highlights of the cathedral as well as a leisurely and informative walk through some quieter parts of town. The boat tour was several hours later, using water taxis for small groups. Barbara, who guided that tour, was also very knowledgeable and had a microphone so we could all hear and learn the history of the beautiful buildings along the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The walking tour and tour of St. Marks was great. We had great weather, which helped, but Marco was very informative and pleasant. His knowledge and passion for the city was obvious. The boat to was also exciting. The trip down the Grand Canal was informative, as our guide provided us with a lot of history. We also got to go down many smal canals to get a great feel for the city of Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Deryl Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you only take one tour in Venice, this would be the one. It had a very informative walking tour with an experienced guide. The water tour was great too. We had a chance to see many different things along the Grand Canal and other smaller waterways. I definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great package, which allowed us to do the things we most wanted to do in central Venice in a very efficient way. Skip-the-line tours of both the Basilica and Doge's Palace are definitely the way to go! Saved us lots of time and aggravation. We had a little bit of a hiccup with timing of the Grand Canal Tour a number of us were told to show up at 5:00p rather than 4:00p - but the company quickly resolved the problem and we had a lovely cruise.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Vik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent walking tour of Venice. This is a fast-paced tour with a lot of walking required so make sure you have comfy shoes. The boat tour provides a good overview of the Grand Canal and photo opps negating the need for a gondola ride. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you do one boat tour on Venice, make it this one! It is a MUST do on your trip - especially at the beginning of your trip. Christina the tour guide was truly exceptional and made the tour extra special. She was informative, knowledgeable, courteous, funny and very genuine. The group is small so that everyone has a place to stand up and take pictures on the boat. Christina also took the time after the tour to point out a few local spots to visit and answer any questions we had about our visit to Venice. The tour itself takes you through variety of hidden canals that you wouldn't otherwise see along with the Grand Canal. You also make a stop at the Jewish Ghetto for a short walking tour. Christina gives an entertaining history of Venice and has you hanging on her every word while showing you various points of interest and little known facts along the way. The tour was so wonderful, we would do it again on our next visit! Grazie mille to Christina for creating such a memorable experience!

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

Coolmitch United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour. I must admit the thought of spending 2 hours on a motorboat going up and down the canals in the heat did not sound good. What a surprise , me and my wife found it very interesting. We visited the boat yard first and I enjoyed the history being said by our guide. We then visited the Jewish Getto and were able to get off and walk through the streets. Very interesting the different style of houses and shops. We walked through to pick up the boat again and travelled down the grand canal. We got a good view of the Rialto Bridge from the end of the canal as from the normal side it has hordings up with advertisments. we were told they were doing up the bridge and we would not be able to get to the spot we got engaged at some 2 years before by foot. We next got off on the less busy side of the grand canal and were lead by our guide to a Gondola boat building business which was very interesting to see. We got back on the boat for the last few minutes of the tour which we fully enjoyed and would not hesitate to recommend. Thanks Viator I know you can get things right sometimes.

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

Frances H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

These 4 tours are an excellant way to hit the highlights of Venice. The Doge Palace is a can't miss. Our tour guide was very informative weaving Venice history into the beauty of the palace. Skipping the line at the Basilica is worth the cost of the tour. Our walking tour guide pointed out hidden gems. The grand canal cruise was a highlight of our Venice visit. It was informative about the beautiful villas and neighborhoods from the canal. Our boat driver also took us through smaller canals due to extra time.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Wendy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting, so much history in the Doges Palace, beautiful paintings and roof alfrescos, walked across the bridge of sigh and past the prison cells, walking tour interesting we were taken around some residential areas and ended at the Rialto Bridge, you then have some free time before your boat trip that was great going through the small canals, Grand Canal, good tour in all. Easy to find meeting place.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message