The Grand Canal is the main street of Venice. Lined with beautiful, if aging, palazzo, you can hop aboard a gondola and imagine a time when these boats were the main means of transport (once there was 10,000 now there are 400). The impressive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 753 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dave B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was great , very knowledgeable of the local area and buildings explained in a very interesting way and could answer any questions on the walking tour, The Grand Canal boat trip part , took us around the back canals again with a guide and finished coming down the Grand Canal which was a really good end to the tour. I would recommend it if you haven't been before to get an insight into some of the areas of Venice -

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Christina S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

We were very disappointed with this experience. It did not match our previous individual gondola ride from 8 years ago. There were 6 gondolas, and only one singer, who we were unable to see or hear for the majority of the time. The gondolier did not introduce himself or the singer and did not make any attempts to speak or put any effort into the experience. Most time was spent sitting in the grand canal, waiting for the other boats. Very little time was spent cruising the canals, which should be the pinnacle of the entire ride.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Aravindhan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very informative and enjoyable tour. The guide for Grand canal ride was more awesome. We had bags that we had to carry on boat(had to take Ferry to venice train station right after the grand canal ride), both the tour guide and boat driver accommodated our request.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

denlori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was worth it's price and was the best tour we took in Venice. We had a fascinating 2 hour walking tour of the piazzas, narrow passageways, canals,St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge, then boarded a private boat for a 1 hour Grand canal tour. Our guide was very informative regarding the history of Venice, the trade with different countries that influenced it's prosperity and political changes and of course the influence of the rising water table. The guide explained that Venice is a network of canals, which largely take the place of what would be roads in other cities. Gondolas and water taxis transport people to and from destinations. Touring the Grand canal, we saw a library that you enter from the canal with boots on as the water inside the library floor is about 2 inches high, we saw Venetians leaving their homes in small boats there are no motorized vehicles or bicycles allowed in Venice. It is a pedestrian only city, our guide explained that ALL commerce is transacted by boat. This is a beautiful city and our guide was able to let us see beyond the highlight of St. Marks Square. I would highly recommend this tour to a friend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

John Franco Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was worth money as guides provided excellent information on sights. Grand canal tour was amazing and best way to see the Rialto bridge and buildings from the water. Highly recommend

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Tereza E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the experience including the music. Always wanted to do this. There are so many places with Gondola rides it was tricky to find the right one, but, everything is tricky to find in Venice!
What was disconcerting was the bulk approach, 5 or more gondolas filled with 3 or 4 couples meeting in the middle of the Grand Canal to listen to some singer serenade from 3 Gondolas away, then having your gondola break away only to here your serenade disappear among the general noise of the Canal area.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Robert M United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We were met at the gondola station. The guide was very knowledgeable and gave us a historical background as well as a rundown of the current events in the area. It was a great introduction for our first gondola ride in Venice. It's very expensive and the traffic on the grand canal is very heavy with other gondolas, motor boats and commute boats. Not a romantic setting with someone else on the gondola with us. Not what I was expecting. Next time we will get a gondola on the inner canals and it'll be just the two of us!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride Including the Grand Canal

The Gally

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Frederica was very good and we learnt a lot about Venice. Loved getting off the beaten track. The headsets worked very well you could hear every word and even if the group got strung out it did not matter. Be warned - the tourist office where you pick up the tour has no restrooms which means a scramble to buy a coffee and use the toilets in the cafe opposite between the walking tour and the gondola ride which is a bit stressful - they should get public restrooms in the tour office ! It is a 10 min walk to the gondola pick up point and it is the place all the different tours come to so we had to queue for some time to get onto the gondola. We were lucky that we were with three other charming people if you are not so lucky it could have been a different experience. It is pot luck ! I know you should go in a gondola but a better way to see the Grand Canal and all Venice has to offer is by buying a vaporetto return ticket and taking the Number 1 from San Marco to Piazzale Roma - wonderful views all the way !

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Scott L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Interesting tour with knowledgeable guide. Easy to find meeting place. She pointed out museums and palazzos on the Grand Canal. Had good facts so that you could visit them after the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Eliot S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The walking tour was very informative even thought the temperature was at or below zero. No stops for wink-wink shopping that most tours have set up in advance with their favorite merchants. However they could have arranged for a bathroom break either before or at the end of the tour especially for the price paid. The restaurant across from the tour agency only allowed you to use the facilites if you purchased something. The gondola ride was nice, especially the portion on the Grand Canal at just after dusk.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Red

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed the tour.Missed the Doges Palace due to a late vaparetto .The walking tour and St Mark's Basilica was interesting, but very fast paced and I have no problems with walking.The Grand Canal boat tour was my favorite part ,more relaxing interesting and informative.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

These were three tours tours in one day with 3 different tour guide, each of whom were native born in Venice. We started with the 9 AM Doges Palace tour and it was a trip into the seat and history of the old government and some of how they handled criminals. I enjoyed the painting and how they tried to keep power from being concentrated in too few hands.

We then took lunch and rejoined the tour of St Marks and the Venice Walking Tour. Our hotel was within 20 minutes of St. Marks Square so we knew the restaurants between the two places, The Venice walking tour was my favorite part as we walked the streets and learned how the locals really live, what are the challenges of living in this unique city.

The latter part of the afternoon was the Grand Canal boat ride. This one was good for pictures of St. Marks Square from a water view and the brides, houses on the Grand Canal. Our guide was pleasant and kept up a good flow of what we were seeing. My favorite part was at the end of the Grand Canal and the canals on the way back where we could see the back streets of the city where few tourists tread and even the gondola building shops!

If you are going to be in Venice for a short time, these tours are a great way to see and understand the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

bex004

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot about the beautiful city of Venice! This was a wonderful tour to start our trip here and acclimate ourselves to Venice. We loved the gondola ride, which was much longer than we thought it would be. We got to see the sunset over the grand canal. So beautiful!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Jpiperk

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed this a lot, but was disappointed it slightly went down the Grand Canal, then ended up on little back canals where it was just nothing but solid, dark walls. Not very interesting. The singing was great!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

SHARON D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Perfect day and great tours! This was actually 3 different tours with 3 different guides, all great. The only hiccup was we were told to be at the meeting location for the Grand Canal tour at 3:50, but the tour guide we had for the city tour kept telling us we should be there at 4 pm. We were the only ones on the city tour for the canal tour, and towards the end of the city tour felt like we had to keep pushing her along to finish the tour in time she seemed resistant to accommodating us. It was frustrating for us, and probably for her as well, but we didn't know our way around that part of the city to break free, and the one tour ended a good 10 minute walk from where the canal tour began. We did make the canal tour on time, but wish we didn't have the stress so we could more fully enjoy the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Ralph S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

To find the meeting point.....catch a grand Canal No 2 public boat to Rialto Bridge and ask one of the Gondoliers.. !!!! simple

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

JAMES B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It might seem obvious but be aware that if there is a high tide then St Mark's Square can get flooded for a few hours. Kiosks sell plastic over boots for 10 Euro. The tour takes you into the Basilica magnificent but not through the Doge's Palace - you have to do that separately, although the guide does tell you all about the Palace and of course about the Bridge of Sighs. You then wander through narrow streets, eventually emerging near the Rialto Bridge. One useful tip the guide provided was about the terrace on the roof of the department store near the bridge which offers great views over the Grand Canal and the city. The boat tour is interesting but after a while, the canals start to look the same and the magnificent architecture and palaces start to blur together. The two hour walking tour can only take in a small fraction of what Venice has to offer but it gives a great taster.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Michelle C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The Morning tour was awful , the lady tour guide had no clue what she was saying and we ended up not doing the doge tour with her since she was unorganized and could barely translates things in english ... The part two tour with Marco was great. He was very funny and very informative and would much rather have him tour us for both part of the deal. The boat tour was also a great part of the deal. You get to see the grand canal and the local side of the island. If it wasn't for the tour guide in the morning, the tour would have been perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Wendy C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was good but not great. The best part was once we got off the Grand Canal and into the smaller canals for a true Venetian experience. In total, the tour was about 25 minutes. Make sure you are first on the boat for the best seat.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jonathan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great times. Our walking tour guide was Marina and she did a fantastic job teaching us about the city and explaining what we were seeing. She told us about the interesting things that go on in the city occasionally like when it floods and how people deal with it. She pointed out interesting aspects of the historical sites that would not be visible otherwise. For instance, there were mosaics above the St. Mark's Basilica which were created in different centuries and had a very different style. The boat tour was a lot of fun because it really did take us everywhere in the city that can be reached by a small boat. It lasted about 40 minutes and we went all the way around the outside of the city to see the other islands of Venice and we went through the Grand Canal to see the heart of the city from the perspective of the water. Francesco was a great tour guide and he pointed out interesting details like the 7-star hotel where George Clooney got married. Apparently the two biggest enemies to Venice were Napoleon and George Clooney.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

jerhui.tan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great way to see Venice in one day. The Doge and #39;s Palace was beautiful and the grand canal cruise was wonderful as well. Reccommended!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent walking tour with knowledgeable guide. Boat trip on the Grand Canal was a highlight. I was expecting a boat filled with lots of tourists but it was a water taxi with 10 people and a guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent walking tour with knowledgeable guide. Boat trip on the Grand Canal was a highlight. I was expecting a boat filled with lots of tourists but it was a water taxi with 10 people and a guide. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

varnfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Did this tour the first full day we were in Venice, and I am so glad we did! First part morning was Doge's Palace - our guide was very knowledgeable, and spoke clearly and concisely, which is important when you are listening through headphones. She provided in-depth on he history and architecture of the Doges and the palace. Second part afternoon was St Marks/ walking tour - our guide was a native Venetian and we learned so much from her about the lay-out of the city and the daily life there. The third part was a boat tour - very relaxing way to end the day and learn more about the buildings along the Grand Canal. It was a perfect way to become oriented with the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

sandra.houghton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed seeing the Grand Canal and the Jewish ghetto. Our guide was very informative and it was nice to walk around the Jewish ghetto and learn about the history associated with it. It was a great way to see parts of Venice that tourists wouldn't normal see.

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals Small Group Tour by Boat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message