Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Guggenheim Museum (Peggy Guggenheim Collection)

Peggy Guggenheim was an important art collector who left the USA to live in Venice for the last thirty years of her life. When she died in 1979 her collection of early 20th century European and American art founded the Peggy Guggenheim Collection ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2319 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This gondola experience was very memorable. At first we were worried because when we arrived we were told to stand in a long line, but it turned out we were all a part of the same group. Being aboard one gondola as part of a small navy of gondolas was really fun, and the singer sang the whole time. He was a really talented singer, and sang many romantic Italian favorites. After some time in the Grand Canal flexing our strength as a tiny armada, we made our way down one of the smaller side canals and even got to see a newly married bride and groom awaiting their own gondola not a part of our group to whisk them away on their honeymoon. If you want your own gondola, I would suggest making other plans, but if you dont mind sharing a gondola and getting a professional serenade singer in the process this is a most entertaining experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Eileen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Venice tour guide we had was wonderful. I'm sorry I forgot her name. She was very knowledgeable about the area. 2 hours flew by even though it was hot and humid. The gondola ride was fun too! I would recommend this tour and gondola ride to any one who wants an authentic Venice experience!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Charmaine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Tour was excellent and the Gondola Ride although short is worth it just for the experience

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Evelyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Anna was EXTREMELY knowledgeable about the region and organized a very well conducted Chianti wine country private tour that were amazing. Imagine tasking wine with a typical Tuscany lunch on a farm where the family gathers to pick the grapes each season! Imagine an old 1400 vineyard with refurbished buildings and a veranda that overlooks miles of vines. Ann's thoughtfulness in the timing of our visits to each of these venues showed as we never felt part of a tourist mob. We really appreciated Anna and if you need someone who knows Florence and the Tuscany region, you must call this woman! She is a local expert and pleasant to boot!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Jaime H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was exactly as expected - 2 flotillas of 4 boats each, 1 of which had a singer and an accordion player. Our singer was amazing even the nuns along the canal popped out of their building to listen to his singing. A nice was to experience a gondola adventure without breaking the bank.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the highlights of my trip. My friend booked the sunset serenade ride and it was awesome! We had 4 boats go out at the same time and in one boat, there was a gentleman playing accordion. In another one was singing and our paddleman was good at pointing out sights. We saw a number of bridges and sights that can only be seen by these wonderful boats. And the sun setting on the water was wonderful. The price of this tour was about a 3rd of the others I saw there and totally worth it!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

hjc293

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I'm giving five stars because we had the best seats but this can be a one star ride for many others.

There's about 50 ppl going out at the same time. Bring your paper tickets because we saw a couple turned away. Our concierge gritti palace told us to have paper tickets ready so they must've seen some happenings here before. The guy collecting the ticket reminded me of someone from a mafia very nice guy actually so I don't think you would wanna argue with him.

So there's six ppl per boat and 6-7 boats per one seranade and music person. We had the best seat and the person singing and the instrument guy was in our boat as well. But I didn't think the other couple sitting in the middle facing each other was too pleased. And I can't imagine those same two ppl at the other boats where they may not be able to hear as well.

Our tenor was ok but his physical appearance reminded me of that weird funny guy from hangover you'll laugh if that's your guy. There was another well dressed guy from the other guide he appeared to sang much better.

If you don't want to take any chances go book the other more expensive private tour. I would've done that since this may have been my last gondola ride in Venice but I lucked out.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The ride was just under 30 min. We shared the gondola with another couple, the singer and an accordion player. The music was great and the musicians were wonderful and friendly. It was a highlight of the Venice visit.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

anita_wilkin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour loved it and was lucky to have a gondola to ourselves.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

bocagirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I was so happy we booked this in advance and chose to do the Gondola Ride with Serenade. The gondola rides without serenades were in a much busier area with lots of people waiting. This was in a more secluded area. We were 5 gondolas going out as a group. There is one singer and an accordian player for the whole group. We were lucky enough to have them on our gondola. It is a must do while in Venice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Liz.alicea

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The gondola ride and the serenade was fun but some of the seats were uncomfortable.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Muhammad Affan k

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Nice one ,I wish they could increase duration of the Gondola ride .

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Stephen N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Lots of fun and the singer was very good.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

lauram0907

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was great and we really enjoyed it. However, had we not had the singer and musician on our Gondola, I think I would have be disappointed

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Cynthia W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was lots of fun...enjoyed the ride and the music

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Venice

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Very good but be careful because the gondolier is not very kind. I have a new hip and he made fun of me because I was frightened when getting in. Also, we had tickets for 7:30 and due to the lines, we didn't get on until 8:05..almost missed dinner.
The ride itself was just lovely and the singer and the accordion player were great.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Angelina F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A truly enjoyable experience!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

rebe811

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a nice experience being the first time on a gondola. But they put 6 ppl in each boat and the seat I was on was higher up and made me feel like I was going to fall out. The singer was a nice touch. I would prefer to have had a private ride not with 5 other gondolas in our group.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Shannonboulanger

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Nice short loop into the surrounding canals although this is a bit overrated. Great if you have never done it.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Stephanie C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Enjoyed once we got on. Shame it was running quite late and felt our experience was rushed.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Mary V

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Good deal for a Gondola ride as they run about 80-100 euros privately. However it is shared and we had three couples in our gondolas. Not romantic to say the least!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Crystal S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We picked a good time near sunset but overall it felt very fast and commercialized.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

dbsayers Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I was a little disappointed that the Gondola ride and serenade was shared with 5 other Gondola's and the person who was doing the serenading was not in the same gondola. Our tour did not go past the Rialto bridge as suggested and only lasted for around 20 minutes. The Although I have ticked this off my bucket list it was ok.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

katie k

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

I was dissapointed with this gondola ride. It was way out of the way of main area and big line when we got there. We got put as last two to sit in gondola and didn and #39;t get to sit together, which is the point of romantic gondola ride. Our gondaleer was on his cellphone and talking to other drivers.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

itsmelat

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Don and #39;t be fooled by the video for this tour. The flotilla of gondolas is a joke and the gondoliers do not even speak to the guests. Unless the singer happens to be in your gondola, chances are they are behind you. The gondolier in the boat next to ours was drinking a budweiser and smoking.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message