Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Guggenheim Museum (Peggy Guggenheim Collection)

Peggy Guggenheim was an important art collector who left the USA to live in Venice for the last thirty years of her life. When she died in 1979 her collection of early 20th century European and American art founded the Peggy Guggenheim Collection ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2425 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Raith N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Gute Organisation. Ein unvergessliches Erlebnis! Köstlicher Gesang!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Patricia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very lovely and to be with my husband was even more romantic.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Amanda F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We arrived for the serenading gondola ride but expected it to be cancelled as it was pouring with rain but no, they were going ahead!!!!! We took ponchos to put over us due to the rain. It was so much fun. All the other gondoliers we passed were very miserable!!! Well worth the extra few pounds.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Heather N

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The ride was pleasant however, as the first gondola in the flotilla, we could not hear the serenade most of the ride.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

JANSEN FANG HUR T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Ride was not really into nicer looking canels in the main canel area. Serenade also was from one gondola only, shared within 5 other gondolas in near proximity. There was no tour introduction or commentary to introduce the canals or history.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

lucyl

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The route of gondola was poor........

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Christina S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

We were very disappointed with this experience. It did not match our previous individual gondola ride from 8 years ago. There were 6 gondolas, and only one singer, who we were unable to see or hear for the majority of the time. The gondolier did not introduce himself or the singer and did not make any attempts to speak or put any effort into the experience. Most time was spent sitting in the grand canal, waiting for the other boats. Very little time was spent cruising the canals, which should be the pinnacle of the entire ride.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Natasha H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

unprofessional shouting spitting smoking ruined the experience

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Carolyn Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The serenade was delightful as was the gondola. The company was easy to find near the hotel. We didn't realize there was a line until it was quite long but everyone left at the same time so that wasn't an issue. My daughter and I sat with just one other couple so we weren't cramped in like the last gondola ride I took four years ago. Highly recommended .

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I loved this. Went at night and was great to see Venice by night. I preferred sharing with others and the fact a few boats went out together as it added to the atmosphere. Everyone was nice and friendly. Great value for money and not to be missed.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

rony_fahd

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

it was nice we had the chance that the singer and the musician were in our boat and they were excellent!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Amanda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I wasn't lucky enough to experience this I booked the trip for my parents who were visiting Venice. The booking process was great everyone was helpful as I had to request the paper tickets be sent to their hotel for printing. My parents said 'An incredible experience, easy to find and everyone was helpful from the second we handed our paper tickets. We were assisted onto the Gondola, the singer and his accompanist were amazing they even took our photographs for us. The Gondola was in amazing condition and although I mum was a little nervous they put me at ease. They treated us like a King and Queen.'

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Wendi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Rory M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The most amazingly romantic tour!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Carrington C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

WONDERFUL!! I do wish it was a little longer

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Chris P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A memorable evening.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Dianne D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Nice walking tour , pace is good and the evening time is just right - less crowds - would have liked to have had gondola ride with just ourselves - sharing a gondola under a full moon - took away some of the ambience. It's not like there isn't a million gondolas in Venice . Would book again - but would also request own gondola if possible . I'm sure the newlyweds with us would have preferred it also :

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Tereza E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the experience including the music. Always wanted to do this. There are so many places with Gondola rides it was tricky to find the right one, but, everything is tricky to find in Venice!
What was disconcerting was the bulk approach, 5 or more gondolas filled with 3 or 4 couples meeting in the middle of the Grand Canal to listen to some singer serenade from 3 Gondolas away, then having your gondola break away only to here your serenade disappear among the general noise of the Canal area.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

A fun, beautiful and most memorable way to end the year!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Eugenia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The gondola ride was nice but the people arranging the ride are very rude.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Harvey F

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Knowing that the gondola ride was not private, the assumption was the singing gondolier would be close by. We previously did this with four gondolas and the singing gondolier arrived. Here he sat in the fourth gondola, we were in the second and he was way behind us and was hard to hear and even hard to see at many points in the trip. The gondolier driver never said a word. If you really want the singing part. and interaction, at least with this company take the private gondola ride. There ere about 10 gondolas on the caravan.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Phyllis K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I took this tour before without the serenade and it was wonderful. This tour was like a serenade meat market. A lot of shouting to get all the gondolas in place. Not even able to take good pictures. So disappointed.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Alison A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

THIS WAS BY FAR THE WORST TOUR WE HAVE EVER TAKEN. The owner or whoever was in charge of collecting the tickets screamed at me because he said I was in the wrong line I am still very confused as to what he was taking about...after he screamed at me and I went to the back of the line he accepted my ticket... He was also very rude to a few elderly women who were on the gondola ride as well. They couldn't stand for long periods of time so they were sitting on a bench parallel to the line for the gondola ride. He insisted that they stand up and move to the back of the line...they were not happy to say the least. I'm not sure exactly who this man was but he really ruined the experience for me. In addition, the original gondola ride was scheduled for 6:30-7pm and the passengers did not even begin to board the gondolas until almost 7. By the end of the tour we were 40 minutes behind schedule and had to pay 100 to take a water taxi back to the cruise ship because of this delay. Whatever smaller subcontractor runs this tour is absolutely deplorable. DO NOT BOOK THIS TOUR.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Susan H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

You are better off waiting until you arrive in Venice and engaging any one of the many, many gondola rides around the city. This was not really the serenade experience described mostly because our gondolier was shouting in Italian so loudly that we couldn't actually hear the musicians on the distant gondola that was far ahead of our boat. In fact, there were a few issues with this tour. First, there is a HUGE long line when you arrive. The line moves relatively quickly but you do have to wait. The next issue is that you have to share the ride with other people total number is 6. That is mentioned in the description so fair enough but what is not mentioned is the fact that they don't have seats for everyone so at least one person on each gondola has to sit on an uncomfortable bench with no padding we were there in January so it was very cold and uncomfortable to sit on the bench. If you go on a private gondola for about the same price and often for less, you sit in very cushy, lovely, comfy upholstered seats. The biggest issue though was the serenade. Frankly, that was a bit of a joke. There is only one musician for every 8 boats. So 8 boats leave, one has a musician and if you can hear him from your boat, you get serenaded. Unfortunately, we could only hear the musician for about 90 seconds. Our gondolier was apparently furious about something and began shouting at another gondolier who appeared to be a manager of some kind. The shouting continued for a long time and we couldn't hear the musician at all. Eventually, the gondolier stopped yelling at the manager but he greeted every boat we passed and we passed a LOT of other boats--other gondolas, water taxis, etc... The problem was that he didn't just greet them, he kept talking to them and shouting. He appeared to be complaining about and mocking the manager. He was laughing sarcastically. I don't really know what the professional standards of gondoliers are, I just didn't want to listen to this very loud man drowning out the musician for the entire ride. Maybe we got him on a bad day. We were with a family of 4 and the dad sort of half stood up at one point ok, maybe not the smoothest move, but he only did it for a second and his wife immediately chastised him and he instantly sat down again--no harm, no foul right? Nuh-uh, the gondolier started screaming at him too in Italian which seemed rather counter productive since the Californian dad clearly didn't speak Italian. It's unfortunate because the musician had an accordion and I LOVE accordion music! I would DEFINITELY not recommend this tour. You can get much better deals after you arrive in Venice don't worry, they won't ever run out of gondola rides! As for the serenade element, you can probably find a gondola with a musician if that's what you want but even if you can't, it's no great loss since you can't really hear the musician on this tour anyway!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

conor.d United Kingdom

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Not sure why they had posted a cover photo of a 'couple' - we had to share with a group, not what we had expected - however we got out before it set off and found a gondolier who took us on a 40 minute private trip, singing and all for less than what we had paid for this trip.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message