Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo del Merletto (Lace Museum)

The island of Murano in the Venetian lagoon is famous for its glass-making, but nearby Burano has its own crafty claim to fame - lace-making. The ancient tradition of hand-made lace is not nearly as common as it once was, but you can still see some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 503 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nic1206

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We booked this at the last minute and we were very glad we did. Our start was delayed due to the Venice regatta, but the tour guide did the best she could to keep us informed and waiting in the shade. The tour guide was excellent and as a local was able to tell us lots of interesting information about Venice and the local area. We enjoyed visiting Murano and Burano and at no time felt pressured to buy anything. The crafts people were just happy to share their knowledge and let us look at their products. For us the extra highlight was cruising the lagoon on the boat as this gave us an extra perspective on Venice and the people that lived there.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

louistedesco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

These two islands are breathtaking, just like a picture postcard. Really enjoyed the Murano Glass store. Beautiful glass pieces. We just had to buy a wonderful bowl for our dining room table. Of course, we purchased some lace pieces too.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Elaine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Murano glass is wonderful, from chandellias to beads, the range,the colours, the artistry is magnificent.
Burano is a jewel of another sort, with its colourful houses and reflective waterways. A photographers dream. A lovely trip,informative, scenic, with shops offering a stunning array of quality products.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Most enjoyable. Excellent guide. Interesting islands.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Paulo N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Best tour to do in Venice, the duration of the cruise is perferct, and gives you a extra information about Venice islands of Burano and Murano. Guide our as well awesome.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

CHRISTINE A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was interesting and very enjoyable. The guide was polite and friendly. Burano is very picturesque. A lovely afternoon.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Ken R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful trip. Guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. Only improvement would be sound system - slightly hard to hear on the boat and missed some of her commentary. Great amount of time to explore both islands. Just be prepared for high pressure sales pitch from glass blower company, but otherwise very pleasant.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Paul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great boat ride between the islands with a very informative tour guide. The glass blowing demonstration was excellent, though it might have been nice to have time for a visit to a less expensive show room on Murano as well as the premium one. Burano was just fabulous with a sadly quite short demonstration but time to browse the lace shops, look around and have a coffee. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Lucas O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour. Jennifer was FANTASTIC, gave all the best hints and tips for where to go. Access to New Murano Gallery and also Burano lace store were great as we got discounts going with the group. I would not change a single thing about this tour. Ample time everywhere. If you try to do this by yourself, it would cost roughly the same and take SO much longer and not be as personable or NEARLY enjoyable! HIGHLY Recommend!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Janine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had a wonderful time with this tour! Our guide, Monique- was entertaining, well informative and full of wonderful little side notes about the island- The Murano Glass and the surrounding islands and people! Had a great day- the boat, the tour, the guide and the SHOPPING! Now I am armed to go back on my own and spend more time at each place!!! Loved it!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Christine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great trip excellent value for money and a Great Guide. Well done and thanks.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Pnina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Such a wonderful tour. Our guide Hazel was absolutely delightful, charismatic and full of information. We loved it .

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

karlbethel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend getting to these two islands. Many people warned us of the hard sale tactics of the people at the Murano factory. I was very pleased with the people at our location. They talked about everything but did not press us to buy anything.
We loved Burano. It is combination of Venice and Charleston, SC. We loved the lace and bought some great paintings by Carraro when we happened upon his studio. The colors are wonderful here and their tower leans even more than the one in Pisa.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Gokhan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very nice tour and excellent tour guide. She was well organized, very pleasant, and knowledgable, kept us busy and entertained about different fact on Venice during the beat ride. Especially Burano is very pretty to roam around. A bit more time there would have been great. A recommended tour.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great host! good fun all around. beautiful islands and amazing craftsmanship of the glass

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Liz D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour - great value for money. Thoroughly loved every minute. Our guide was professional, informative, entertaining and I could have spent the whole day with her. Thank you for this experience.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to experience Murano and Burano, with an easy boat ride and knowledgeable guide. Free time in Burano was great for getting photos of the amazing, colorful homes on the island.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Christina was wonderful re: the Murano/Burano tour and Monica was a perfect tour guide for the Walking tour of the Doge's and area of San Marco. Thank you to the two of you!!!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Oana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guide who brought a lot of the historical background into the narrative. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

RW C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting. Great guide. Good value.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Mike B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our gude, Alexandra, was extremely knowledgable and informative. Murano and Burano were very nice to visit. The glass demonstration was a once in a lifetime experience. I found Burano to be a fun village and a photographer's paradise. Alexandra made the boat trip between the island fun and relaxing with information about the surrounding area.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Leanne H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was great and guide was lovely and very knowledgeable. She loved the city and this was evident by her enthusiasm throughout the tour.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message