Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo del Merletto (Lace Museum)

The island of Murano in the Venetian lagoon is famous for its glass-making, but nearby Burano has its own crafty claim to fame - lace-making. The ancient tradition of hand-made lace is not nearly as common as it once was, but you can still see some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 442 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Not only was the tour beautiful, the guide was fantastic. Christina was very friendly and informative - an expert with the best personality for this job. It was a great perspective to see Venice as a coastal town. This tour is a must! You haven't experienced Venice unless you have seen these islands. The shopping is also wonderful. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Trisha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour gave me and my family the opportunity to experience a different style of living in the lagoon. We watched a master glass maker show off his skills and a woman lace maker intricately sew patterns while learning about the history of the craft. The tour guide was accommodating and friendly!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Joseph Urso Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide, Manuella, was very interesting. During the boat ride out to the islands she told us much history of the areas we were passing. On the Island of Murano we went to the New Murano Gallery and glassmaking shop. It was very hot so the glassmaking demonstration was short and we had some time in the gift shop. It would have been better if we had an extra hour to visit some of the other shops on the island. The same with the Borano Island. An extra hour of shopping/sightseeing would have been welcome. All in all, it was a very worthwhile tour!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Marc H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent, very good tourist guide as well!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Ashley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Claire was very informative and interacted with everyone on the tour. Very knowledgable and entertaining in her presentation.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Natalie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was fantastic. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history and life of Venitians as well and we learned quite a bit about Venice on the way to and from the islands as well as learning about the unique history of these two very special places.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Mildred L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

joniconsani

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful! Glass blowing and gallery were incredible. The guide was fabulous. Wish we could have walked around to have shopped in Murano. Burano was so quaint and colorful. Plenty of time for browsing.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Gail S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a terrific tour with Allesandra as our guide. She was knowledgeable and very helpful throughout the trip without being overbearing. I had a fall as I returned to the boat and she took the time to get ice for my hurt knee and brought me ice while we were in port to minimize further discomfort.
I highly recommend this tour and Allesandra although i didn't need to spend so much time at a high end glass factory as our first stop. perhaps a demonstration at a more moderate location would have appealed to more travelers and made shopping a bit easier.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Janice K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely relaxing motorboat ride to Murano and Burano. In Murano you get to see a glassblowing demonstration and tour the gift shop. Free time is also allotted to stroll through the picturesque city. In Burano you see a lace-making demonstration by hand and then get free time to meander through this quaint fishing village with its brightly colored houses.....a photograph's dream.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Janice T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Christina was lovely and knowledgeable. Murano and Burano are beautiful, highly recommend to join this tour!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Phillip W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip was good, what made it much better and excellent was the tour rep from city finders ... She was a local and has been for nearly 40 years!! Spoke very good English

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Gloria W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Alessandra made this a great afternoon. She was very professional and knowledgeable, only too happy to give explanations and advice. We visited a glass factory in Murano and watched very clever glass blowing. There was free time for some shopping. We would have liked a bit more time in beautiful Burano, with its many quaint shops. An enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Andrea B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Rachel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous trip! Absolutely perfect.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and well worth the trip. For those who get seasick/need the loo, don't worry, there is no problem with either of those things. The journey between the islands is very smooth. The tour guide also speaks very good English. I recommend to take a couple of bottles of water for the way there / and back in the boat, also, some change incase you need the toilets - I remember the Burano loo costing 1 Euro. Apart from that it's well worth the visit!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Katie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a lovely tour with a nice, private boat ride out to Murano and Burano. The tour of the glass warehouse was lovely and then there was plenty of time for shopping! The same thing went for Burano. Just be sure to bring your wallet/credit cards when you do go. The glass in very, very expensive.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Kim and Dave in ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful day spent seeing Venice by water and learning about it's history from a knowledgable and personable guide! Loved the artistry of glass-making in Murano and lace-making in Burano. Make sure to get a gelato and stroll the quaint streets and canals of Burano!!!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Ivo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, perfect length and very friendly tour guide. Beautiful islands.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Peggy L M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Peggy D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would definitely recommend. Murano and Burano felt like Venice more than Venice!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message