Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo del Merletto (Lace Museum)

The island of Murano in the Venetian lagoon is famous for its glass-making, but nearby Burano has its own crafty claim to fame - lace-making. The ancient tradition of hand-made lace is not nearly as common as it once was, but you can still see some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 470 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Liz D Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour - great value for money. Thoroughly loved every minute. Our guide was professional, informative, entertaining and I could have spent the whole day with her. Thank you for this experience.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Casey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The best way to experience Murano and Burano, with an easy boat ride and knowledgeable guide. Free time in Burano was great for getting photos of the amazing, colorful homes on the island.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Christina was wonderful re: the Murano/Burano tour and Monica was a perfect tour guide for the Walking tour of the Doge's and area of San Marco. Thank you to the two of you!!!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Oana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent guide who brought a lot of the historical background into the narrative. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

RW C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very interesting. Great guide. Good value.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Mike B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our gude, Alexandra, was extremely knowledgable and informative. Murano and Burano were very nice to visit. The glass demonstration was a once in a lifetime experience. I found Burano to be a fun village and a photographer's paradise. Alexandra made the boat trip between the island fun and relaxing with information about the surrounding area.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Leanne H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour was great and guide was lovely and very knowledgeable. She loved the city and this was evident by her enthusiasm throughout the tour.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Jay G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Trip was very interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable and the demonstrations were great.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thought for the price the entire trip was worth it. Our favorite was Burano, we could have spent the entire time there. Thanks for a nice day out and getting us to and from safely.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Helen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We were lucky to be on a small tour by water taxi which made the trip out more exciting and longer on the islands. Glass beautiful and watching the glass maker at work was great. Lace making so delicate and a dying art. Buramo is so colourful and quiet. Wonderful experience.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

T. Matthew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour. The Murano glass factory is incredible, and we loved the glass making demonstration what he did in a minute, I could work all day... and still have a lump of glass. The Burano lace demonstration was good, but not as good as the Murano part. You also get a good overview of the Venetian lagoon on your travels.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Lisa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Easy way to see the two islands. The guide was very interesting and provided a lot of info there and on the way over.
The glass tour and demonstration was great but there wasn and #39;t much time to walk around Murano. Another option is the waterbus but we would have missed the demos and guided info.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Peggy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Chiara was a wonderful guide who added to a pleasurable trip with all of her remarks about the history and local information.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Pamela W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Private boat ride to the islands with enough time to explore on your own. Great choice!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

lmanetti25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was very interesting. Our guide was very nice and knowledgeable. We learned a lot.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Robyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great way to spend an afternoon in Venice. Our guide Manuela was well organised and incredibly knowledgeable about Venice and the surrounding islands. The sales pitch at Murano was not unexpected but the staff were charming so all good. Burano is a feast for the eyes and an excellent tourist alternative from the main island. This tour is a comfortable, stress-free way to explore the islands for first time visitors.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Vinith N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour. It was easy to find the starting point of the tour. There is a statue of a man on a horse, on the lagoon side of the Doge's palace. We met our particular tour there. The boat we went on from Venice was beautiful and well-piloted, and our guide Christina did not let us get bored on the ride she showed us the landmarks we passed, told us the history and some interesting stories. The glass factory on Murano Island was amazing, and the store was worth seeing - we did not feel pressured to buy anything. We had enough time to walk around the Island. The same was the case on Burano Island, which is famous for its lace. It is a picturesque tour, and it is very relaxing and fun. Christina also told what food and drinks to try in Venice, and told us how we could go to the Lido beach near Venice the next day, which we did.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Kim E E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour to the islands. A guide who made the boat journey entertaining with her stories about each island. The islands didn't disappoint, beautiful.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Tina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Not only was the tour beautiful, the guide was fantastic. Christina was very friendly and informative - an expert with the best personality for this job. It was a great perspective to see Venice as a coastal town. This tour is a must! You haven't experienced Venice unless you have seen these islands. The shopping is also wonderful. Excellent tour!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Trisha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour gave me and my family the opportunity to experience a different style of living in the lagoon. We watched a master glass maker show off his skills and a woman lace maker intricately sew patterns while learning about the history of the craft. The tour guide was accommodating and friendly!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Joseph Urso Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide, Manuella, was very interesting. During the boat ride out to the islands she told us much history of the areas we were passing. On the Island of Murano we went to the New Murano Gallery and glassmaking shop. It was very hot so the glassmaking demonstration was short and we had some time in the gift shop. It would have been better if we had an extra hour to visit some of the other shops on the island. The same with the Borano Island. An extra hour of shopping/sightseeing would have been welcome. All in all, it was a very worthwhile tour!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Marc H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent, very good tourist guide as well!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Ashley P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip! Claire was very informative and interacted with everyone on the tour. Very knowledgable and entertaining in her presentation.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message