Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Museo del Merletto (Lace Museum)

The island of Murano in the Venetian lagoon is famous for its glass-making, but nearby Burano has its own crafty claim to fame - lace-making. The ancient tradition of hand-made lace is not nearly as common as it once was, but you can still see some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 546 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our time on this tour.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Donna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Enjoyed this very much. Our guide was terrific helpful and informative. Too much time in Murano though. The glass was beautiful to see but way too expensive for purchase. Glass blowing was okay. Impersonal. Burano was very good. Beautiful island and quaint, picturesque fishing village which was fun to explore. Visit to lace shop was informative and I did buy a beautiful lace runner for a gift for my daughter.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

rosegeiszler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide Rico was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable. Both islands are so beautiful. I did succumb and buy a beautiful vase in Murano - something to remind me of the trip. Burano was so cute with all the colorful houses. The lace is beautiful. I enjoyed the leaning tower of Burano! It was a well spent afternoon and I highly recommend it.
Rico also helped us get the correct vaparetto back to our hotel.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Jeffrey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was informative and a definite for first time visitors to Venice.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Stuart M L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Seeing the actual glass blowing was amazing. Burano was my favorite. Beautiful area. The guide Alessandra was terrific! She was so knowledgeable, and gave history of all of Venice and the different islands. Perfect excursion!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great overview of both islands. Hazel did a great job of both the tours and filling in on culture.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

love2count

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

love2count

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Mike L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Alissandra our tour guide was excellent - she provided a interesting historical review during the tour. Not to be missed and worth every penny!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Chris B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had such a great time on this Trip. Our guide, Hazel, was very knowledgeable and gave us dinner recommendations after the tour was complete.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Krista N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide, Christina, was SUPER comprehensive and provided an amazing level of detail from start to finish. I was more in it for the boat ride and scenery and not to go shopping, so I thought the time to explore Murano and Burano was just perfect. Burano in particular is super picturesque and cute. The only small complaint I have is that the boat ride from Burano back to Venice is about 50 minutes...this would be the perfect time to serve Aperol Spritzes and cicchetti onboard!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great trip. Our tour guide was awesome and she made the day very informative and enjoyable.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

dtpt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a great trip. Francesca was very informative. I would have liked a little more time in Murano to look around.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome experience visiting the islands of Murano and Burano. Great way to see up close and personal... especially the glass making which is an amazing form of art. We even had the good fortune to catch sunset returning to Venice. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour!! I loved hearing the information about each town. Only complaint was not having enough time to explore each city.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

e.angelahenry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the 30 min. boat rides interesting and informative with his talk about the history of the islands we were about to see and about the creation of Venice. Very clear, well organized tours of both islands complete with demonstrations and free time to wander and shop. Nice size group. Very welcoming people on each stop. The islands are beautiful, unique and rich with art. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Linda H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We took a water taxi over to the island of Murano first. It was a short walk to the glass making shop where a glass master made a small pitcher then a glass horse right in front of us. The process was explained to us as he was working. Then came the visit through the gift shop which contained some amazing pieces of blown glass - we're talking chandeliers, huge vases, gorgeous pieces! The sales staff was not pushy but were helpful. There was a little time to walk over to a little shopping area. Then we had to be back to the boat to go to Burano which was a 30-40 minute ride away. During this time our tour guide told us about local facts regarding the areas we were passing. Burano truly is absolutely picturesque. I did go into the lace shop and look at the lace maker hand making lace, but I wanted to soak in as much as possible of the outside buildings - take in all the colors and savor the charm that was there. We walked and shopped - there are more shops here than on Murano. Cute little shops in these awesome colored buildings. I would love to spend a whole afternoon just on Burano. I would definitely go back again.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

a_mandachan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely worth the price considering how expensive transportation is in Venice.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Marylou B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved the glass blowing demonstration! I forgot that thee tours was so long and we had to leave early on our own. Francesca was sooo helpful in directing us to the right water bus. Greatly appreciated. MLB

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

deborah.wallis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very informative guide in Emmanuella and good amount of time on each island seeing the demonstrations and browsing the shops.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING GO GO GO !!!

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

larrainel1 Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Emurella ? Was fun and informative.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Jose W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Gorgeous places, a must if you go to venice

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Alex B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very engaging and informative guide. Clearly has a passion for his city.
Enjoyed the Murano glass tour and the Burano village, but the lace visit was rather disappointing.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

john.follows

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed the group size and we had the BEST guide! She has passion for Murano and Burano. She talked to us about the history, culture and of course - the foods of the region. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Murano Glass and Burano Lace Tour from Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message