Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

Rialto Bridge (Ponte di Rialto)

Rialto Bridge or Ponte di Rialto was the city's first bridge over the Grand Canal. Connecting the highest points on the lagoon islands settlement, the first bridge was built in 1180 and this more solid marble one in 1588-92. The bridge is an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 210 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Briony D

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

The tour kicked off on top of the Rialto Bridge. We then were led around by the lovely Christina while she pointed out interesting buildings and places. She was very knowledgeable and friendly and happy to answer any questions.
HOWEVER - there was nothing ghostly about the tour. It was a very interesting walking tour at night but the scariest aspect of the tour was when Christina put on the cape and mask and that was not particularly spooky. I think the tour was best summed up by the following exchange from the night -
Christina so when you see a square like this one that is near a church, you are most likely at an old graveyard with bodies buried underneath!!
Tourist So hang on, is this square an actual graveyard??!! Is there bodies underneath us?
Christina no - this square is not an old grave yard - the old grave yards that are everywhere in Venice look like this one..

Doing what: Venice Ghost Walking Tour

Hollis R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The meeting location was easy to find. The tour guide and the use of the headsets was an excellent combination. We completed a walking tour that began at San Marco Piazza and ended at the Rialto Bridge, combining historic and cultural information nicely. Tour guide was personable and knowledgeable. Gave us 1 1/2 hours to get lunch and explore before embarking on a one hour boat ride on a taxi boat that put the sites and their locations into proximity. This was our second tour in Venice having already had a layout of the water taxi services and the drop off sites

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Ralph S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

To find the meeting point.....catch a grand Canal No 2 public boat to Rialto Bridge and ask one of the Gondoliers.. !!!! simple

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

JAMES B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It might seem obvious but be aware that if there is a high tide then St Mark's Square can get flooded for a few hours. Kiosks sell plastic over boots for 10 Euro. The tour takes you into the Basilica magnificent but not through the Doge's Palace - you have to do that separately, although the guide does tell you all about the Palace and of course about the Bridge of Sighs. You then wander through narrow streets, eventually emerging near the Rialto Bridge. One useful tip the guide provided was about the terrace on the roof of the department store near the bridge which offers great views over the Grand Canal and the city. The boat tour is interesting but after a while, the canals start to look the same and the magnificent architecture and palaces start to blur together. The two hour walking tour can only take in a small fraction of what Venice has to offer but it gives a great taster.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was very informative and spoke excellent english. We toured a lesser known area around the Academia bridge. Away from the crowds was a nice change. We never felt rushed yet we still learned and covered a great deal in 2 hours. The gondola ride was a bonus touring around the small canals for a little over half an hour. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Patricia A M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were very happy with our tour guide in Venice for St. Mark's and the Grand Canal cruise. My husband had challenges with a walker, but the guide was sensitive to this and the captain of the cruiser we had was very helpful. I was surprised that all of the men, on our walking tour with us, did not ask to help me carry the walker over the several bridges we had to cross. Seriously!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Sandy H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Really enjoyed the grand canal boat trip.Walking tour was interesting - round the quiet streets and finished near the Rialto bridge but there then there was a big time gap until the boat trip. Very quick whizz through in the church.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Joy R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The guide who led us around Venice was very informative and genuinely enthusiastic. However the Gondola ride was very disappointing.
Very little lighting down the canals at that time of night and I would say the Gondolier was keen to get home. I had asked the City Wonders Guide where we would be dropped off at the end of the tour and he said in the same place we where picked up. This did not happen, the Gondolier said he would be dropping us near the Rialto Bridge instead I did wonder if he lived nearby. This was very inconvenient as I was a lady on my own and had to find my way back alone late at night. I didn't feel this one was worth the price.

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Rita C C

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

High hopes for this tour. It was good timing to do it in the afternoon. It took us 2 hours to find the location. We were close but could not located the address. Was lent a phone by a couple who live in Italy and called the contact number. The man on the phone was RUDE. His directions were to go to the plaza and go to the southeast corner. SE means nothing to someone who doesn't live there! Eventually found the location. Ear phones were helpful. Tour guide gave interesting information. She did not watch for her group. We were intersected by other non tour folks walking and knew we were out of range when we could not hear her. Also, need to advise multiple bridges will need to be crossed. It would have been helpful to include the closest water taxi stop for the meeting place. It would save time and concern. The gondola ride was fun and it was a good ride up part of the Grand Canal.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Dennis D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Very disappointed in this tour. We only had one day to explore Venice before leaving on a cruise and thought this would be a good way to get an overview of the city. We were led around the streets and alleys and narrated with information on the history of the area which was repeated numerous times during the tour. We really didn't get to see any place of note aside from the Rialto Bridge and Grande Canal. We'd been told prior to our visit that you must see St Marks Basilica and the Doges Palace and although these were mentioned in the tour description we never got a glimpse of either.
The notes for the tour even said Please note: The walking tour does not include entry to the monuments. implying that we would see things that required entry but this was not so. The gondola ride was okay, but we had to stand in line with two other groups combined with our own and waited for at least 35 to 45 minutes for a short ride of only about 20 minutes, not the half hour in the tour description. I would not recommend this tour and wish I'd spent my time in Venice differently.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Brian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This Viator 'Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour' was fantastic value, helped enormously by the quality of the guides who spoke very clearly and knowledgeably. I must also comment on the very good sound quality of the 'radios' for the walking tour. We had Rosanna as our group guide for the walking tour who was full of information on Venice, it's canals and buildings. To enter St Marks we had to step on raised duck boards due to there being slight flooding caused by a high tide, quite a common experience apparently. The walking tour finished at the Rialto Bridge allowing us to make our own way back.
For the evening boat tour there had been a slight mistake, where some of us had been given the wrong meeting time. This however was to our advantage, as an extra 'water taxi' was used and instead of about 10-12 in a boat we only had 6 plus the 'driver' and Christina the guide. The boat tour, under a clear blue sky and warm evening breeze, was probably the highlight of our stay and Christina did a marvelous job explaining the history of the town, its buildings and surrounding waterways. To stand up in the boat as it cruised up through the Grand Canal will be a memory to savour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Aileen M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Morning tour included a stop in St. Mark's plaza with a discussion of the main buildings and monuments. This was followed by a short interior tour of St. Mark's Basilica. About half of the tour was devoted to a walk from St. Mark's to the Rialto primarily through the Castello district. Provided interesting facts about the lesser traveled areas of Venice. Guide was knowledgeable, friendly and offered tips on restaurants and shops in the less pricey areas. We tried one of the restaurants for lunch and found the food to be very good with reasonable prices. The tour stopped at the Rialto but did not actually go onto the bridge - understandable given the crowds
Late afternoon boat tour was on a standard water taxi which was nice since 6 of the 8 people onboard were able to stand outside for the better views. Tour started near St. Mark's, proceeded through the Giudecca Canal, onto the Grand Canal, past the Rialto and back to St. Mark's. Highly recommended. The view of Venice from the water complements the experience you get from walking within the city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Tamar M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This is a two-part tour: First, a 2-hour walking tour, followed by a break, then a 1-hour boat tour. The boat tour was fun and informative, taking us through the Venice Lagoon past the islands of Murano and Burano, then through the canals of Venice. We enjoyed the views and the background on how Venice was built. The walking tour could have/should have been good, but it was a bore. We did skip the line at Saint Mark's Basilica as the tour promised, and we learned a lot about how it was built and its significance to Venice. Same with San Marcos Square. But we missed the home of Marco Polo and the Rialto Bridge, and we really didn't explore many small back streets, narrow passageways and piazzas as the write-up on the tour highlights promised. The tour was so boring that every 15 minutes 1 or 2 people would return their wi-fi headset to the guide and leave the tour. Why not take us on a walk of famous palazzos, like the one owned by the Brandolinis at one time, or show us where Vivaldi, Wagner, Modigliani and Fortuny lived? The tour guide should have been given a more compelling script and itinerary to follow.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

dawngoremykina1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide, with a huge knowledge of Venice, she was a Venetian and showed us all how proud she was of her city. Unfortunately, on a person note, I had forgotten how many bridges with steps there are in Venice and I have a problem with my knees, so this proved very difficult for me. The visit to St Mark's alone was worth the ticket price, so if anyone else is in the same position as me, they might want to skip the rest of the tour, which would have been the sensible thing for me to do.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family really enjoyed our walking tour with Monica. She spoke very good English and was very easy to understand. The headsets worked great. Mind you, if you got too far away, they were intermittent or stopped but that's to be expected.
We saw many of the big sights to see, Rialto bridge, Grand Canal, San Marco Square, Doges Palace, St. Marks Basilica, but also many hidden gems.
Enjoyable for the whole family including a 10yo. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Susan P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very funny very tall young man Marco? with a dry and dark sense of humor guided us expertly through the tight alleys and over bridges past all manner of historical sites. Very informative and entertaining. Our afternoon boat guide was a woman with a great knowledge of history. It was a little problematic as our tour had dwindled down to sweet but goofy young people who preferred giggling and taking selfies over listening to a fascinating accounting and this was distracting. But I learned a lot none the less.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Meet at the Gardens and check in with the Guides. Several groups were leaving since it is the busy time of year. The guide was very informative and made sure everyone stayed together. The walk is not difficult but wear good walking shoes. We walked several times before going on vacation to prepare our bodies for the trip. Wear pants and cover your shoulders to enter St. Marks Church. My wife forgot to wear a shirt that covered her shoulders but she had a scarf to cover up. They are very strict on this rule. The guide told us that the church is only lit up inside only in the afternoon for an hour. Our guide at 11:10am was able to see the ceilings lit up while the early morning group did not. The walking tour ends up near the Rialto Bridge. This gives you time to eat and shop before going to the Gardens to meet the Boat tour. The boat leaves right outside the Gardens and ends in the same place. It is a small boat that fits about 10 people. You can get great pictures from the boat and you get some good information and history from the guide. During nice weather like we had, everyone gets to be outside to get good pictures. Great way to see the sightseeing areas.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Denny United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The first half of the tour was the walking tour. Our guide spent the time going down back walkways and over small bridges to see the backstreets of Venice. Not what we expected. Wanted more of what were the not miss things to see while there. Even if it was a walk past something with the explanation to put this on the list. The second half was the gondola ride. There must have been at least 3-4 other groups that went out at the same time as us from this tour provider. We had to all wait and walk over to the area to get the gondola ride at the same time. It was a mess! Too many people, congested in walkways that were already crowded and then having to que in line and wait. Once on the gondola, the gondolier we had kept yelling at our friend who is 6'5 to keep to the ride side of the boat. In doing this, it made the boat feel like it was going to tip. This made the ride not so much fun. No one wanted to move an inch on the gondola for fear we would tip! All in all, not one of my favorite tours on our entire trip. Don't think I would recommend this one....sorry.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a great combo pack. The tour doesn't go to the crowded places Rialto Bridge/San Marco and you get to learn a little more about the city. Then you get a shared, 6 person total gondola ride for probably the cheapest you can find it in the city.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Malc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As we have found on most occasions using Viator beat the line tours in many locations the guide was excellent. The day started with a visit to San Marco Basilica and extended to a walking tour of the City taking in the sights between San Marco and the Rialto Bridge.
A thoroughly engaging and informative guide which created a lovely experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Heather Wilde Mull

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Although we enjoyed this tour, and it is definitely worth it just for the history and the skip-the-line for St. Mark's, it wasn't exactly as it had been described. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative, but she was a little difficult to understand. Also, we didn't go to Marco Polo's house, or end at the Rialto bridge, as was described in the overview.

Overall, we enjoyed this tour, and I would definitely recommend going on it, but I think Viator needs to update the posting for it so that it is accurate.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

popo63

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour,! Our guide Franca was from Venice and provided great insight about the history of Venice, brought us to areas of the city that weren and #39;t full of tourists. Ended the evening with an amazing gondola ride! Only issue was the initial meeting point.it and #39;s the accademia bridge, viators error

Doing what: Venice Tour Including Gondola Ride

Andrew K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I would give the boat trip down the Grand Canal 5 out of 5 however the walking tour needs to spend more time within the Basillica and would have been good to walk to the Rialto Bridge instead of touching the outskirts of a couple of Districts which lacked interest. The tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgeable.The tour was on time and very well organised.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Johan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I visited Venice for the first time and decided to book this tour with my family. It was a fantastic introduction to Venice and very interesting. Our guides were fantastic, very knowledgeable and entertaining throughout. It is a easy two hour walk around the main sights. You will learn a lot about the history and interesting water ways while walking through the various areas. I learnt that across every bridge there is a Church, absolutely fascinating. After that we went on a 1 hour boat trip around the canals looking at Venice from a different perspective. Again our guide was very entertaining, friendly and happy to answer a number of questions. It was a top class day and a must to get a feel for Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Gary M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Our guide a woman whose name I can't remember on the walking/gondola tour of Venice was excellent. Unfortunately the tour did not include St Mark's square, the Bridge of Sighs, or the Rialto Bridge. We also had to wait 30-45 minutes for the gondola ride - it was as if they weren't prepared for our group. The sound system was not the best on the tour.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message