Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 477 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rebe811

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved everything about this tour! There was a different tour guide for all 3 parts and they were all very knowledgeable friendly and passionate about the city. Having skip the line passes for the basilica and doges palace is a must have because the lines are incredibly long so it was perfect.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

TourTaker123 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was amazing! She is very proud of her city and full of information, travel tips, history of the area and answered all of the questions the group had. We were awe struck with St. Mark's Basilica and the Dodges Palace this was an add-on and very much worth it. Both are beautiful and left us awestruck with the architectural details and art work.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Carmen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Skip the line is a must -- the lines to both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were substantial.

Our morning tour guide Doge's Palace was knowledgeable and friendly. The afternoon tour guide St. Mark's Basilica was our favourite in our entire Italy vacation. She was the most experienced, emotional, open and honest tour guide we ever had. She did a fantastic job at bringing Venice to life through her Venetian rooted background combined with her charisma and charm. It was a rare experience that left us enchanted with Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Dirk T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a very good tour with a Walks of Italy guide. Very informative and the St. Marks Basilica After Hours Tour is worth every penny! Absolutely stunning at night with the way it is lit. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

tyhinkle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The after hours of the basilica was amazing and you are able to take pictures when nobody else is! The Doge Palace was nice but it was a little too much for one day.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Steven P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both ends of the tour were very informative and entertaining. Andrea was very passionate about his city! Gave good tips to see the real Venice. Time in the Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica was just right. It's worth the price just to beat the lines, which were brutal when we went.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Brendan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guides for the Doge Palace, St. Mark's Basilica, and Venice Walking tour were all great. Taking the walking tour of Venice was helpful to learn extra information about the city. Having a guide in the Doge Palace and St. Mark's is much better than going alone since the guides had tons of concise knowledge about the artwork and other nuances that you would miss on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Rudra S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour. Seeing all the hidden squares and learning about the architectural styles from a very knowledgeable guide was definitely enjoyable. Venice is picturesque and Doge and #39;s palace held our interest. St Mark and #39;s basilica is also well worth the visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Tim P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Francesca the guide was very good. She knew her subject well. She was clear on Times and places to meet. The Gondola ride included a short spell on the grand canal. Shame the gondolier looked and acted like he had swallowed a sour lemon before we boarded. Then expected a tip. The skip the lines part was the best. Queues for the basilica and doges palace were an hour long. We were taken straight in.

Doing what: Small Group Venice In a Day with Basilica San Marco and Doges Palace plus Gondola Ride

Randy R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a nice tour. It was interesting to learn about the Doge's Palace. I did not know anything about it. St. Marks's Basilica was nice as well as the walking tour. It was a nice way to see Venice. The best part of the trip was the Grand Canal Cruise. I would recommend this for anyone going to Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Stanjul

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Two must do attractions whilst in Venice. However, we found doing the two on a very hot day, very tiring. We also found that during the afternoon tour of the Basilica a lot of the history of Venice was repeated from the morning and the Basilica tour didn't seem as structured.
The walking tour after the Basilica took you through the quieter streets around the back of Doges Palace. There was no real features to see and it seemed very rushed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Mary

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This is three combined tours. We did this on August 21, 2016. I DO NOT recommend due to St. Marc's. Book separate tours.

Doge's Palace - 5 Stars
A great tour. The tour was very informative and at a good pace. There was plenty of time to take in the information and beautiful rooms. Many opportunities to take amazing photos. The tour is well worth taking. Our guide kept talking about another tour, Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour, which includes many extras that we were unable to see. I wonder if that would have been a better tour. This is a tour that I would tell people to take.

Walking Tour - St. Marc's - 1 Star
This walking tour was lacking in many aspects. Actual tour time was 45 minutes less than advertised time. The entire tour felt extremely rushed. There was not enough time to take photos and enjoy the city. Given a brief history of an area, we were off to the next campo as if on a race. This was a very fast pace tour. The most disappointing part of the tour was St. Marc's Basilica. We walked into St Marc's, were herded up towards the alter, a quick pass in front, and then back down the other side and out to the square. We were not able to walk around at all, and less than 10 minutes inside. The guide spent more time telling us about the mosaics and showing us pieces of tile before we entered. I will say that she was very knowledgeable about the history. If you want to SEE the beauty of St. Marc's, this is not the tour. I would NOT recommend this tour at all. Probably the BIGGEST DISSAPPOINTMENT of our entire trip.

Canal Cruise - 5 Stars
This was a lot of fun. Exactly one hour. We hopped on the motor boat very close to St. Marc's Square. We went through many canals and saw a lot of historical sites. The guide was a little slow on telling us what things were. It was almost like he was always saying the building we just passed is , causing missed photo opportunities. Overall, it was very enjoyable, and well worth doing.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Chuck United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Definitely the best way to see the Basilica. No lines. No rush. And a very knowledgeable and passionate guide. One of the highlights of our time in Venice.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

emalfonso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This booking was very good. The lines to see the Doge's Palace and the Basilica are very long. The tour around Venice is very nice. You actually walk through very interesting areas within Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family really enjoyed our walking tour with Monica. She spoke very good English and was very easy to understand. The headsets worked great. Mind you, if you got too far away, they were intermittent or stopped but that's to be expected.
We saw many of the big sights to see, Rialto bridge, Grand Canal, San Marco Square, Doges Palace, St. Marks Basilica, but also many hidden gems.
Enjoyable for the whole family including a 10yo. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

lthieken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip. Moses our guide was so engaged and enthusiastic. He explained the political and cultural forces of the times into the best story of Venice. His timing as we walked through the square, basilica, and palace was perfect. We were on the viewing deck of the Basilica to see the clock tower chime 3:00. The Greek horses are a treasure to behold. It is a 3 hour tour and I could have just kept going for another 3! So interesting!

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace

skrishnan07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This exclusive tour made me look at Venice in a whole different way . First of all, we also added the Doge's palace option and together it was an unbeatable value, because our entrance tickets to the Doge's palace were good the next day, to visit the Correr museum in Piazza San Marco. Our guide Mosei, was very well informed and was passionate about explaining the history of the basilica. This after-hours tour was simply the best tour we had in Italy and we had booked several walking tours. The access to the altar, the crypt and jewels in the basilica to the tour visitors is simply unbelievable. The lights absolutely made a vey big difference to appreciate the ancient mosaics on the ceilings. Our guide explained even the symbolism depicted in some of the floor mosaics that few people would know. I used to think of Venice as more touristy and inherently less of a historic city as compared to Florence or Rome, but the artwork in the Doge's palace and the history of Venice that was communicated in this tour have completely changed my mind. Recommend this as an incredible tour to future visitors

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A tour like this is a must have if you'd like to see St. Mark's Basilica as you can get right in without having to wait for the line. That ticket alone was worth the price. Then Andre was also an excellent guide. He was funny with a lot of history. He knew when to get through a section and when to take a break to let the tour rest a moment and take in the sights.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Kate W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very good for the Dodges Palace and the Basilica - but we hadn't realized this was a mix and match tour e.g. different people joined each part of the tour, and so information felt quiet repetitive on these two tours as he had new people and so he repeated the info from the first tour.
Pros: great way to skip line and see 2 key sites in Vencie grand canal tour a favorite with our kids
Cons: repetitive, tour round basilica was very quick, and boat tour only 45 minutes, not the advertised hour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

William G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Not So Much - Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica Tours. Unfortunately do to security checks it is faster to go in as an individual than it is to go in with a tour. It didn't use to be that way, oh well!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

William W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

A decent tour, but too rapid at times in the Palace and all through the Basilica, and a rather abbreviated explanation of the St Mark's Basilica facts and features.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Andrea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is one of those special tours that you want to take if you would like an insider's look at Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Being after hours, made the crowds disappear and the Palace and the Basilica come to life! Our guide, Italian Moses was excellent with pointing out key art designs and informing us about the special stories behind them. My children, ages 9 and 10, enjoyed it as well! We also had access to non-public items such as the under-the-altar crypt and walking around and behind St. Mark's altar to see the incredible hidden art work. Our understanding for the history of Venice grew exponentially as did our fondness for this unique city!

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Monica Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A welcome tour - Barbara did a great job in explaining Doge's Palace and the St. Mark's Basilica. Gina's walking tour was also appreciated. The canal cruise was fun. Overall, a good tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was split into 3 parts with different guides, and is a great way to skip the lines to see these heavily visited attractions, as the lines are very long. The Doges Palace tour was interesting, but my family and I felt that too much time and emphasis was placed on explanations of the paintings and history, and we walked by items in the palace that looked interesting, but our guide did not acknowledge or explain them because she was running out of time. St. Mark's Basilica was the most beautiful church I have ever been in. Unfortunately you have to keep walking through the tour path without stopping because it is very crowded - it would have been better to be able to stop and admire the mosaics. The Venice walking tour was fun and educational, as was the Grand Canal tour. I would recommend this all-in-one package as a great way to see Venice, but do it early in your trip, as the guides point out a lot of wonderful things that you will want to go back and visit on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We absolutely loved Venice and this tour was perfect for what we were looking for. We really enjoyed how knowledgeable our tour guide was. Her knowledge about the history of Venice and the Doge's Palace ad St Mark's Basilica made everything so much more meaningful than it would have been if we just wandered around and looked at things without anyone to share the history. And skipping the line at St Mark's Basilica was a must!!! It was just right and still left us lots of time to do our own wandering throughout the gorgeous streets of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message