Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 449 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is one of those special tours that you want to take if you would like an insider's look at Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Being after hours, made the crowds disappear and the Palace and the Basilica come to life! Our guide, Italian Moses was excellent with pointing out key art designs and informing us about the special stories behind them. My children, ages 9 and 10, enjoyed it as well! We also had access to non-public items such as the under-the-altar crypt and walking around and behind St. Mark's altar to see the incredible hidden art work. Our understanding for the history of Venice grew exponentially as did our fondness for this unique city!

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Monica Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A welcome tour - Barbara did a great job in explaining Doge's Palace and the St. Mark's Basilica. Gina's walking tour was also appreciated. The canal cruise was fun. Overall, a good tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was split into 3 parts with different guides, and is a great way to skip the lines to see these heavily visited attractions, as the lines are very long. The Doges Palace tour was interesting, but my family and I felt that too much time and emphasis was placed on explanations of the paintings and history, and we walked by items in the palace that looked interesting, but our guide did not acknowledge or explain them because she was running out of time. St. Mark's Basilica was the most beautiful church I have ever been in. Unfortunately you have to keep walking through the tour path without stopping because it is very crowded - it would have been better to be able to stop and admire the mosaics. The Venice walking tour was fun and educational, as was the Grand Canal tour. I would recommend this all-in-one package as a great way to see Venice, but do it early in your trip, as the guides point out a lot of wonderful things that you will want to go back and visit on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We absolutely loved Venice and this tour was perfect for what we were looking for. We really enjoyed how knowledgeable our tour guide was. Her knowledge about the history of Venice and the Doge's Palace ad St Mark's Basilica made everything so much more meaningful than it would have been if we just wandered around and looked at things without anyone to share the history. And skipping the line at St Mark's Basilica was a must!!! It was just right and still left us lots of time to do our own wandering throughout the gorgeous streets of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

JLobster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour - best way to see the Basilica hands down! Our guide Andre was very knowledgable and passionate - very enjoyable.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gotta do the tours! We met another couple in Florence after our Venice trip, they had not done a tour, big mistake! They didn't even know that the statues rang the bell in San Marco. We got to see it happen for the first time at the top of the Basilica! Knew exactly what to do to see it happen again at the top of the Campanile. Super enthusiastic guide that made me feel like we were getting more than we paid for.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Aina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

At first I didn't want to book a tour to see the basilica and the palace, however once I saw the queues to get in, I hopped straight online to book - and I'm so glad I did. There are two separate tours, and both were fantastic. You skip the lines, and hear great stories that bring both buildings to life. The walking tour was also great, and we went to a few places away from the typical tourist locations. The only downside was that I had about 2.5hrs break between the two tours, but I took the opportunity to climb the campanile tower in the meantime and went for another wander through the town.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Tina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was along day, but fantastic! Both guides were exceptional. They were experts with fabulous personalities and experts in their fields. Skip the lines was essential. The Basilica was beyond amazing, and the Doge's Palace was great for kids. This was great to take in Venice in one day. We still had time for a lovely lunch before taking a boat ride around the canal. Great tips from the guides.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Susan T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour. The only comment is that, in hindsight, we would have preferred a more thorough tour of St. Marks Basilica tour as this is more of a walk-thru tour. But the rest was great and we enjoyed the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Ralph H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tours, three different tour guides for each tour and they were all very friendly. I wouldn't suggest this tour if you want to spent a lot of time at St. Mark's Basilica. We only had a few minutes inside the church before having to leave.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Stephen H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very informative walk through the Basilica and Doges Palace. It was a very hot afternoon and beating the lines was very welcome.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Kathryn C United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We had an excellent guide but were a bit disappointed to spend so little time in the Basilica. The walk around Venice was excellent, however, and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Ravish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed both the morning and afternoon sessions of the tour. Our guides, Gina and Marco were very good and well informed. Gina took us to all the important rooms at the Doge palace with a good sense of humour. Marco was equally funny and made the tour enjoyable even though the Basilica was closed.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

5m17hy Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was 2 different tours. The Doge's Palace tour was excellent and the guide was amazing. The Basilica was also excellent and the guide was good, but she tended to only talk to those in front of her and didn't worry if fo were well behind on the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

jyoung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Elena was the BEST guide! Very knowledgeable, passionate and fun! She was organized and took us all around Venice. We had a wonderful experience exploring Venice and visiting St Mark's Basilica and the Doge's Palace with her. This was hands down the best tour we went on during our 2.5 weeks in Europe!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

CWalk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The two tours were both well organized and informative. Having headsets for listening to the tour guide are a great plus! Ariana did a wonderful job with the Doges Palace. The paintings in the palace are amazing and the jail was interesting. Sylvia also did a wonderful tour of San Marco Basilica. Very beautiful inside! We will be booking tours for Athens through Viator.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Tim J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth every dollar. Mirco, our guide, was great, super informative and passionate. He really made the Basilica come to life. When in Venice make plans to do this tour and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Lisa D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was incredible! Three very different ways to see the city and learn of it's culture. Our guide for Doge's Palace was so empassioned and informative. The palace itself is beautiful. Having the time in between was perfect. Had some lunch and walked around. The St. Mark's tour was spectacular - after seeing the Basilica, we toured the city - learned so much about the local culture and the history of Venice and it's residence. Finally, the Gondola ride was such an enjoyable way to end the day and because it was Sunday, we made it back in time for a 6:45 mass at St. Mark's. Fantastic tour, highly recommended!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Stanton M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best excursions we have taken. The Palace, Basilica and boat ride on the canals were all great. All 3 tour guides were excellent.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Edda L P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Having a tour was the best thing to do. I really recommend it because it is the best way to learn about the city and also to skip the line to see the majestic Saint Mark Basilica with somebody explaing to you each detail os the church

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Kathryn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great way to get an overview of Venice. The walking tour was informative and fun and gave us a good starting point for our time in Venice. We spent about 20 minutes in the Basilica San Marco as she guided us through several highlights. I know others had complained this was not enough but we found it the perfect amount. We ended our tour with the gondola ride which was our favorite part. No first trip to Venice is complete without floating through the waterways on a gondola. Our gondolier gave us a tour of small, hidden canals as well as the Grand Canal and told us fun information along the way. I would definitely recommend this for all ages. You do need to be mobile enough to get in and out of the gondola.

Doing what: Welcome to Venice Small Group Walking Tour with Basilica San Marco and Gondola Ride

rsgranberry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our group of 8 four adults and four teenagers took this tour on our first day in Venice after arriving the night before. It was a great orientation to this beautiful city! All of us enjoyed the tour through Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica - just breathtaking! This tour set the standard for us on the duration of our trip through Italy - so informative and enjoyable. The walking tour was perfect - even in the misty rain. We loved this and highly recommend!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

katscox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent walking tour and our guide Merco was great. He was very informative and answered all our questions. He had interesting anecdotes doubt Venice and particularly St. Mark's. I learned a lot about the Basilica itself and it's history. We were not bored for one minute. Highly recommend this tour but be prepared, it says a lot of walking and it is, and so worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Poi Lin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was amazing!!! St Mark and #39;s Basilica is just so beautiful. Doge and #39;s Palace and St Mark and #39;s basicilla is a must !!!
High Recommended !!!

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is remarkable. Worth every cent. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable with a degree in art history . Seeing the Basilica without the crowds of tourists was a treat and the moment the lights turned on and lit up the golden mosaic ceiling was a priveledge. Recommend.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message