Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Basilica (Basilica of San Marco)

Basilica di San Marco (St Mark's Cathedral) is magnificent. It is both a wonderful architectural flurry of Gothic, Byzantine, Romanesque and Renaissance styles declaring the wealth of Venice over centuries, and a spiritual place of worship. Its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 462 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chuck United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Definitely the best way to see the Basilica. No lines. No rush. And a very knowledgeable and passionate guide. One of the highlights of our time in Venice.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

emalfonso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This booking was very good. The lines to see the Doge's Palace and the Basilica are very long. The tour around Venice is very nice. You actually walk through very interesting areas within Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Angela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My family really enjoyed our walking tour with Monica. She spoke very good English and was very easy to understand. The headsets worked great. Mind you, if you got too far away, they were intermittent or stopped but that's to be expected.
We saw many of the big sights to see, Rialto bridge, Grand Canal, San Marco Square, Doges Palace, St. Marks Basilica, but also many hidden gems.
Enjoyable for the whole family including a 10yo. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Kate W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very good for the Dodges Palace and the Basilica - but we hadn't realized this was a mix and match tour e.g. different people joined each part of the tour, and so information felt quiet repetitive on these two tours as he had new people and so he repeated the info from the first tour.
Pros: great way to skip line and see 2 key sites in Vencie grand canal tour a favorite with our kids
Cons: repetitive, tour round basilica was very quick, and boat tour only 45 minutes, not the advertised hour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

William G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Not So Much - Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark's Basilica Tours. Unfortunately do to security checks it is faster to go in as an individual than it is to go in with a tour. It didn't use to be that way, oh well!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

William W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

A decent tour, but too rapid at times in the Palace and all through the Basilica, and a rather abbreviated explanation of the St Mark's Basilica facts and features.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Andrea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is one of those special tours that you want to take if you would like an insider's look at Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica. Being after hours, made the crowds disappear and the Palace and the Basilica come to life! Our guide, Italian Moses was excellent with pointing out key art designs and informing us about the special stories behind them. My children, ages 9 and 10, enjoyed it as well! We also had access to non-public items such as the under-the-altar crypt and walking around and behind St. Mark's altar to see the incredible hidden art work. Our understanding for the history of Venice grew exponentially as did our fondness for this unique city!

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Monica Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A welcome tour - Barbara did a great job in explaining Doge's Palace and the St. Mark's Basilica. Gina's walking tour was also appreciated. The canal cruise was fun. Overall, a good tour!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was split into 3 parts with different guides, and is a great way to skip the lines to see these heavily visited attractions, as the lines are very long. The Doges Palace tour was interesting, but my family and I felt that too much time and emphasis was placed on explanations of the paintings and history, and we walked by items in the palace that looked interesting, but our guide did not acknowledge or explain them because she was running out of time. St. Mark's Basilica was the most beautiful church I have ever been in. Unfortunately you have to keep walking through the tour path without stopping because it is very crowded - it would have been better to be able to stop and admire the mosaics. The Venice walking tour was fun and educational, as was the Grand Canal tour. I would recommend this all-in-one package as a great way to see Venice, but do it early in your trip, as the guides point out a lot of wonderful things that you will want to go back and visit on your own.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mark S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We absolutely loved Venice and this tour was perfect for what we were looking for. We really enjoyed how knowledgeable our tour guide was. Her knowledge about the history of Venice and the Doge's Palace ad St Mark's Basilica made everything so much more meaningful than it would have been if we just wandered around and looked at things without anyone to share the history. And skipping the line at St Mark's Basilica was a must!!! It was just right and still left us lots of time to do our own wandering throughout the gorgeous streets of Venice.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

JLobster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour - best way to see the Basilica hands down! Our guide Andre was very knowledgable and passionate - very enjoyable.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

William B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gotta do the tours! We met another couple in Florence after our Venice trip, they had not done a tour, big mistake! They didn't even know that the statues rang the bell in San Marco. We got to see it happen for the first time at the top of the Basilica! Knew exactly what to do to see it happen again at the top of the Campanile. Super enthusiastic guide that made me feel like we were getting more than we paid for.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Venice Walking Tour including Basilica di San Marco

Aina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

At first I didn't want to book a tour to see the basilica and the palace, however once I saw the queues to get in, I hopped straight online to book - and I'm so glad I did. There are two separate tours, and both were fantastic. You skip the lines, and hear great stories that bring both buildings to life. The walking tour was also great, and we went to a few places away from the typical tourist locations. The only downside was that I had about 2.5hrs break between the two tours, but I took the opportunity to climb the campanile tower in the meantime and went for another wander through the town.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Tina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was along day, but fantastic! Both guides were exceptional. They were experts with fabulous personalities and experts in their fields. Skip the lines was essential. The Basilica was beyond amazing, and the Doge's Palace was great for kids. This was great to take in Venice in one day. We still had time for a lovely lunch before taking a boat ride around the canal. Great tips from the guides.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Valerie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a long day of fabulous tours. I really like that the first two tours give you a headset that you can hear the tour guide as we walk. I think we get more information and it helps for those who might be slower than others. Be aware that at both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's you have to check in your backpacks. Also at St. Mark's you need to have your shoulders and knees cover - or for 1 Euro you can buy a paper scarf. At 9 we started with Marco taking us through Doge's Palace. Marco was very knowledgeable about the history, but also very humorous. Then at 11 I had the walking tour/St. Mark's Basilica tour. The Basilica is amazingly beautiful no photos allowed. The walking tour was interesting and took us to a lot of interesting parts of Venice. At 5 we did the Grand Canal tour. This was done in small groups via taxi. It was very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The voucher gave very clear directions on where to meet. I would for sure recommend this tour because it is after hours when the Basilica is closed to the public. You go in with a small group. And this way you get so much information from your guide and avoid massive lines.

Doing what: St Mark's Basilica After-Hours Tour with Optional Doge's Palace Visit

Marie Ann G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very well informed and charming guide. An enjoyable tour which would have been even more memorable if we had had more time in the Basilica to further explore its wonders.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Susan T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a good tour. The only comment is that, in hindsight, we would have preferred a more thorough tour of St. Marks Basilica tour as this is more of a walk-thru tour. But the rest was great and we enjoyed the walking tour.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Ralph H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tours, three different tour guides for each tour and they were all very friendly. I wouldn't suggest this tour if you want to spent a lot of time at St. Mark's Basilica. We only had a few minutes inside the church before having to leave.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Stephen H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very informative walk through the Basilica and Doges Palace. It was a very hot afternoon and beating the lines was very welcome.

Doing what: Small-Group Legendary Venice St Mark's Basilica and Doges Palace

Alex V

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Felt like not that much time was spent in st Mark'S basilica. Would always do skip the line tickets. The lines to the basilica and doge's palace were huge.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Anand India

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The value of skip the line entrance will be best understood if checked with those getting roasted under the bright sun in long queues. Stephanie, our tour guide to Doge's Palace, was patiently going through the history and the background to the art work within the palace. Interesting it was. Rozanna, our second tour guide, did a good job with the St Mark's Basilica tour. Although all these tours were supported with personal head phones, the sheer heat and humidity drenched us in sweat and made the walking tour unbearable. It would have been a pleasant experience if not for the heat our trip was in July. Venice is full of restaurants and bridges, both being wonderful. During the 4 hr break, we took the Gandola ride from one of the many private guys around. Costs EUR80 - Worth it. The Grand Canal cruise in the evening was the highlight of the day.The lady guide Christina? was ecstatic and friendly. A full hour cruise across the various monuments of the city, comforted by pleasant breeze after the scorching heat of the day0, is a wonderul way to end the day. An excellent tour to cover the maximum of Venice, if you are short of time. Comfortable shoes are a must to do the plenty of walking and a satisfied tour is what you get in return.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Kathryn C United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We had an excellent guide but were a bit disappointed to spend so little time in the Basilica. The walk around Venice was excellent, however, and the guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Kavi

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Skip the line is a must as there were long ques especially to St Marks Basilica.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Jerry J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We recently went on this tour, the tour was well over booked. We had two groups meet at the set meeting point, we were given audio equipment and the two groups split up. When we first started our group had approx. 30-35, then after 15 min into the tour, at St. Marks Basilica a group of 10 persons approached our guide, they were late to the meeting point for the origin of the tour. THe guide no longer had headsets in an already over crowded tour. Rather than have them come back another day or later tour. the guide had them all stay close to him and continued the tour. The group was so large, many times we lost audio connection, the guide would point to things and say look over here and many on the tour couldn't see what was being pointed out. We also were separated from the group and many on the tour were upset with the lack of attention to making sure we were all together. We as a group had to signal turns on the street as many times the guide was to turns ahead of the group in a very crowded area. I mentioned it to the guide and the end of the tour and his response was, it was a difficult and over sold tour. Make sure if you go on this tour to confirm the number of persons on the tour. Venice is beautiful and has much to offer, sorry we missed much on this tour.
Generally Viator has good tours, this was by far the worst we had attended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message