Venice ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco)

St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco) is filled with centuries of history and is still the symbolic heart of Venice; it has even been referred to as the drawing room of Europe. With the grand St Mark's Church at one end, the Campanile bell tower ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

lynnvivian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was excellent. Learned so much about the history, architecture, and art in the church and in the square.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

Edward G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

These were three tours tours in one day with 3 different tour guide, each of whom were native born in Venice. We started with the 9 AM Doges Palace tour and it was a trip into the seat and history of the old government and some of how they handled criminals. I enjoyed the painting and how they tried to keep power from being concentrated in too few hands.

We then took lunch and rejoined the tour of St Marks and the Venice Walking Tour. Our hotel was within 20 minutes of St. Marks Square so we knew the restaurants between the two places, The Venice walking tour was my favorite part as we walked the streets and learned how the locals really live, what are the challenges of living in this unique city.

The latter part of the afternoon was the Grand Canal boat ride. This one was good for pictures of St. Marks Square from a water view and the brides, houses on the Grand Canal. Our guide was pleasant and kept up a good flow of what we were seeing. My favorite part was at the end of the Grand Canal and the canals on the way back where we could see the back streets of the city where few tourists tread and even the gondola building shops!

If you are going to be in Venice for a short time, these tours are a great way to see and understand the city.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Sue

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was one of the best tours we have taken. Our guide was amazing. We started off on a Skip the Line tour of San Marco, which was definitely worth doing as the general queue was very long. The inside was amazing and I would have loved to have had more time inside. Our guide then took us to places in Venice we would have overlooked. Seeing all the hidden squares and learning about the architectural styles from a very knowledgeable guide was definitely enjoyable. His knowledge of Venice was incredible, and he made everything come to life. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Lesley H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This tour was certainly good value. Our tour guide for the Doges Palace was very knowledgeable of the history and shared this with us with a good sense of humour.
It was disappointing that we could not 'skip the line, to the St Marks Basilica- the clergy were apparently having a 'staff' meeting and the Basilica was closed. While we could take a tour when it reopened, the queue stretched right around the Square.
The Grande Canal boat tour was also very worthwhile. Knowledgeable guide and just a really lovely way to see some of Venice

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mary

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This is three combined tours. We did this on August 21, 2016. I DO NOT recommend due to St. Marc's. Book separate tours.

Doge's Palace - 5 Stars
A great tour. The tour was very informative and at a good pace. There was plenty of time to take in the information and beautiful rooms. Many opportunities to take amazing photos. The tour is well worth taking. Our guide kept talking about another tour, Doge's Palace Secret Itineraries Tour, which includes many extras that we were unable to see. I wonder if that would have been a better tour. This is a tour that I would tell people to take.

Walking Tour - St. Marc's - 1 Star
This walking tour was lacking in many aspects. Actual tour time was 45 minutes less than advertised time. The entire tour felt extremely rushed. There was not enough time to take photos and enjoy the city. Given a brief history of an area, we were off to the next campo as if on a race. This was a very fast pace tour. The most disappointing part of the tour was St. Marc's Basilica. We walked into St Marc's, were herded up towards the alter, a quick pass in front, and then back down the other side and out to the square. We were not able to walk around at all, and less than 10 minutes inside. The guide spent more time telling us about the mosaics and showing us pieces of tile before we entered. I will say that she was very knowledgeable about the history. If you want to SEE the beauty of St. Marc's, this is not the tour. I would NOT recommend this tour at all. Probably the BIGGEST DISSAPPOINTMENT of our entire trip.

Canal Cruise - 5 Stars
This was a lot of fun. Exactly one hour. We hopped on the motor boat very close to St. Marc's Square. We went through many canals and saw a lot of historical sites. The guide was a little slow on telling us what things were. It was almost like he was always saying the building we just passed is , causing missed photo opportunities. Overall, it was very enjoyable, and well worth doing.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Gordon G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The Doge Palace tour was excellent. However the next tour followed immediately afterwards leaving no time for a bathroom break, lunch or a brief rest. We were hurried through St. mark's Bascilica , spending less than 10 minutes in the church which was very disappointing and then the walking tour was a bit too long. We also were not taken back to our meeting point , being left to find our way back on our own to St. Marks's Square. Then we had a three hour wait for the Grand Canal Tour. I think the spacing of the tours could have been done better, with a break between one and two and a shorter break between two and three. The Canal tour was also very interesting. We were unable to do our tour today as the stress on my husbands knees from yesterday. And sadly refunds are not given for next day cancellation.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Jacqueline O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide gave us a very good review of St Mark's from outside. We went in for a short time which was fine because it was so crowded. The best part of the tour was the walk around the neighborhoods surrounding St Mark's Square where we learned a great deal about what it is like to live in Venice.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Deborah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour with an excellent and knowledgeable guide who provided lots of interesting facts and history. The first portion in Doge's palace was a very large group but the radios worked well and we saw lots of the palace. It was extremely hot and sticky inside so was nice we had 3 hours until the next part of our tour to pick up some lunch and head back to our hotel around the corner to eat and relax in the air conditioning. We met at the same place for the afternoon portion which is very easy to find Royal Gardens and this tour was much smaller group which was even better. St Mark's is definitely worth seeing with a guide to get the information - it is so beautiful with all the mosaics the only disappointment is you can't take pictures to remember. The walking portion at the end was also interesting as we got information and history about alleyways and squares we had encountered the day before

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had two great guides for the tour. Both had exceptional knowledge of art, architecture and history and spoke great English. The meeting places were easy to find and close to San Marco Square.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

mlboatwright

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Lesson learned. Even though St. Marks Basilica opens at two o'clock on Sunday's I would not recommend scheduling as other church events can be scheduled like Confirmations after you book which close the Basilica to tourists. This was our second trip to Venice and we intentionally scheduled a skip the line tour to avoid waiting as were not able to see the Basilica our first trip. We booked back in March. We were very disappointed when we got to the tour and found out we would not be getting into the Basilica. We were not contacted a head of time to reschedule. The guide went on with the tour of St. Marks square and some back streets that we had seen and walked before.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The title of this tour should be changed to St. Marks Cathedral tour as this is what the tour was about...and very good at it too. Unfortunately we did not tour or discuss the square which has a different history and story. I will use this tour company again as the tour and ease of signing up is easy but would call ahead when possible to confirm the content.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fabulous day of 3 Viator tours purchased as a Venice Super Saver package. All 3 were outstanding. The 9am tour was of the Doge's Palace -- our guide, Steffan, was very interesting and kept things moving along at a perfect pace leading us through the rooms of the Doge's palace including the prison rooms. The 11:30am tour was a fascinating walk mostly off the beaten tourist paths through the lanes, piazzas and across the pedestrian bridges of Venice. Our guide, Rita, was full of knowledge and enthusiasm and we thoroughly enjoyed this tour. One of the highlights was seeing the outside of the hospital ospedale with the water ambulances and a water hearse parked in the canal alongside. It was great getting in to see St. Mark's Basilica without waiting in line but our time touring it was a little too short with so much else to see on the rest of our walking tour. Rita's exuberance was infectious, she enjoyed the questions and dialogue with our group, and she brought Venice to life for everyone. The 3rd tour of the package was a motorboat/water taxi tour into the lagoon and then back around through the Grand Canal for an hour. I forget our tour guide's name but he was very charming and informative, and we enjoyed both the boat ride and his narrative immensely.

We highly recommend this 3-in-1 tour package to enjoy and learn about the history, geography, and life in Venice. The tour guides were all enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and personable. They keep the groups small, about 12 on the walking tours and 8 on the boat tour -- which is great. We met for each tour outside at the Royal Gardens along the waterfront next to St. Mark's Square. There are stairs in the Doge's Palace, and lots of walking and some pedestrian bridges in the walking tour, but one woman in our group with a cane was able to keep up very nicely. In between the 2nd walking and 3rd boat tours we had about 2 1/2 hours for lunch and strolling around on our own. Fantastic day!!

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

J S B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting and good to 'skip the lines'. The basilica was closed for a service but we could still go inside and up to a viewing balcony area - a very good view of the beautiful gold mosaic ceilings! Then we came out onto a terrace next to the horse statues and had a great view of St Mark's square. Very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Georgia B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Somewhat of a good news, bad news story. The good news is that we had the same guide, Andrea, for both the Doge's Palace and the St Mark's/Walking Tour tours. He was organized, knowlegeable and interesting. The tour of the Doge's Palace was particularly successful. I came away feeling that I had a good grasp of the history and importance of the palace and some appreciation of its artwork. After that, however, things went a bit downhill. The second tour began with a visit to St Mark's cathedral. This was quite disappointing. The cathedral was its usual mob scene but what we got was a visit rather than a tour. Essentially we walked down the right aisle, paused briefly at the front and then exited by the left aisle. This was a shame because tour-participants did not get a good overview of the cathedral. Please note that I am not blaming the guide. I'm sure that he was just following a program that had been laid out for him. I took a similar tour two years ago that devoted much more time to the cathedral and its mosaics, and included time on the balcony overlooking the square and also time to gaze at the original four horses in the cathedral museum. All that we missed out on. After that, the walkabout was pleasant and enjoyable. Late in the afternoon, we had a one-hour ride on the Grand Canal. Once again, this was an up and down experience. We were only six on the boat, which was agreeable, and the guide had some interesting comments about the current state of Venice in decline and buckling under the weight of mass tourism but actual commentary on the sights we were passing was limited. So, overall, not bad, I guess, but there were certainly missed opportunities.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Sunny L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The walking tour covered everything you need to learn about the city of Venice, including some of the locations of the movie Italian Job 2003 version.

St Mark's Basilica tour was good. The history felt a little light, but satisfactory. In addition, we didn't really skip the line. It was early in the morning and we waited about 10-15 min to get in. It wasn't bad, but I don't think it should be advertised as skip-the-line.

Doge's Palace: I missed this because my lunch took a bit longer than needed and the day was too beautiful to pass up having a drink in one of the squares.

Cons: Each tour of the 3 are considered separate. This means that once your first tour is done, you need to go back to the meeting place at the time to start your next tour. Unfortunately, the first guide didn't mention that I needed to go somewhere for the Doge's Palace tour and I missed it. I would have gotten a quick lunch before heading to Doge's Palace for the tour had I known in advance. The guide did ensure that Grand Canal Cruise meeting time and place were marked on my ticket.

Overall, the package covers the highlights of main island of Venice in 1 day. If you're there for a bit longer, you can also check out the St Mark's Campanile, do a Gondola ride, and check out Murano/Burano/Lido.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Mrs L J W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really interesting, we saw so much of the 'real' Venice, lots of small squares, deserted passages and empty canals, as well as the main, and much busier, main areas.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Kermit C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

After spending more than an hour in St. Mark's Square, waiting for the clock to strike the hour, our guide found the Basilica was not going to be open. She tried an alternate way to get in, which took another 15 minutes. Finally she led us on the walking tour, which wasn't very interesting. We saw where she had studied when she went to school, We felt we had wasted both time and money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Margaret L B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

4 of us missed the Doge's Palace tour. When we checked in for the morning walking tour, we were told to be back at 3 PM for the Grand Canal Tour. We thought that the Doge Palace would be included with the morning's tour guide, but she dropped us off at the Realli Bridge and told us to return in the afternoon for the boat tour. St. Mark's Square had been flooded in the AM, so we thought maybe access to the Palace had been blocked. It wasn't until we talked with others on the boat tour that we realized we'd missed the 1 PM Doge Palace altogether. We tried to take the Viator receipt to the Doge Palace but they would not honor it and we were out of time. Plus for 4 of us, we were out the 4 x 18 72 euros. The morning tour had been rushed and our tour guide did not hold the sign up very high so sometimes we were scrambling to find her. The Grand Canal Tour was great and really tied the whole city together.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

tygerness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide for everything except the Grand Canal Boat Ride was, Barbara, and she was fantastic! She was a wealth of knowledge. The meeting point for the tour was very easy to find once we made our way to Saint Mark's Square. We were SO glad we chose the Skip the Line option because the lines to both Doge's Palace and St. Mark's Basilica were ridiculously crazy long!!! The inside of the Doge's Palace was beautiful, and Barbara did a great job explaining the history of the Doge's as well as the architecture and the artwork inside.We were very happy to see that she was going to be our guide for St. Mark's Basilica and our walking tour. The inside of the basilica is breathtaking, and again Barbara did a fabulous job of explaining the history of and art within. The walking tour was fun, we got to see a lot of Venice without worrying about getting lost. We learned about gondoliers and the symbolism in the construction of the gondolas, the Rialto Bridge, and so much more. We had plenty of free time to wander around between the walking tour and the Grand Canal Boat Tour which was very interesting as well. I highly recommend this tour for the skip the line benefit, but also for the wealth of information shared by our guide that we would not have otherwise learned.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Relinda M Ireland

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Interesting, you could see Mark square from the balcony giving you a different view of the place.

Doing what: Skip the Line: St Mark's Square Highlights Tour

Florence L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Seemed a bit too quick on Doge's Palace and pretty long on basilica tour except it was not long in basilica but going around the streets of the St Mark's square.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

Melanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Barbara was absolutely fantastic. She gave us a great insight into the buildings in and around St Marks Square. She had the whole group laughing at her quirky discriptions and details of Venice. Inside the Basillica was totally breath taking.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

katrina f

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour started promptly with helpful organisers arriving well before the starting time of 9.a.m.Tour of the Doges Palace was excellent, finishing before 11a.m. and the next tour of St Marks Basilica starting at 2p.m.Rather a long break in between and an early start . The tour of St Marks however,was extremely disappointing. Although we received a very good lecture on the exterior of the Basilica, the time spent inside was extremely short, less than 10 minutes. Although there are rules about large groups not stopping for too long,which is understandable, we did not visit the Pala D'Oro, with its magnificent jewelled altarpiece and the sacristy door with the relief of Titian's head,or the upper floor where the original bronze horses that used to be over the door of St Marks are now sited. Also the upper floor provides excellent views of both St Mark's Square the lagoon , and beyond. There are beautiful mosaics/paintings e.g.Mary's family tree and a chance to see the church from upstairs --I know this because I was so disappointed that I went back the next day and paid my 5 Euro for the upper floor and 2 Euro for the Pala D'oro this part of the tour is NOT recommended-- do it yourself ! The subsequent walking tour was informative , scenic and very enjoyable. The highlight was the 1 hour ride in the water taxi entitled Cruise of the Grand Canal--GC we did so much more and saw a lot of Venice and the lagoon as well as the GC We had to arrive at 1.45 with the taxi ride finishing at 5.30 p.m and no breaks --on a hot day which necessitated drinking water, this was unacceptable in order to arrive at 1.45 I had to leave the hotel at 1.25 p.m. and 4 hours without a comfort break really spoiled the trip We should have been given a 10 minute break to visit the public loos near the Royal gardens where the water taxi ride started . This trip needs to be better organised --possibly less of a break in the morning, and a comfort break built in to the afternoon schedule.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours, Venice Walking Tour and Grand Canal Cruise

JonDoh

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

My rating for these tours is average and that has more to do with the sites themselves than the tour guides who were both very knowledgeable and engaging. Both the palace and the basilica are hot and overcrowded places to visit so it can be hard to listen to your guide with your radio earpiece while avoiding other large tours elbowing in narrow spaces and taking pictures all at the same time. The ceilings are the most impressive of both locations but overall I wasn't super impressed but glad I can check these iconic spots near St. Mark's Square off the list. It is important to mention that this was the only tour I have yet booked through Viator where the local tour affiliate did not have my name listed for the morning tour another couple who booked through Viator had the same issue. They added us to the list after seeing our vouchers but had it been a limited size tour, it could've been a bigger issue. The 3 hour gap in-between the two tours can be easily spent using your Doge's Palace ticket as entry to the other museums in the main square along with killing time by enjoying a leisurely lunch and people watching on the square. Overall I'm glad I did it but I would suggest you don't have high expectations as Venice in general is more about the atmosphere of the canals and bridges than any of the interior spaces.

Doing what: Venice Super Saver: Skip-the-Line Doge's Palace and St Mark’s Basilica Tours plus Venice Walking Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very informative tour of main church in St. Mark's square. The exploration of the old town away from the bustle of the main square was very interesting and gave a good insight into the real Venice. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice Walking Tour with St Mark's Basilica

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message