There’s no getting around the fact that Venice, while gorgeous and completely worth every gushing essay written about it, has an over-abundance of mediocre restaurant options. There is, however, good food to be found in Venice, if you know where to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ruth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Simona was an excellent guide for this tour. Friendly and informative, she took us to some interesting bars in the vicinity of Rialto where we tried a different wine in each one along with a variety of cicchetti. All were really delicious. Altogether a thoroughly enjoyable evening in the company of some lovely people from around the world. Definitely recommended.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Best thing we did in Venice.... A veritable pub crawl Italian-style. Loved all the wine and most of the cicchetti! Strong recommend!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Chris H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fun tour. Small Group of about 10-12. Lots of food and drink in tiny out of the way places.

Manola, ourGuide, filled us in on Venetian history as we walked through the city from place to place. She was energetic, fun and informative about Venice and Cicchetti customs. Very enjoyable.

Was to be a two hour tour but ended up for like four hours. We went to four different bars and ended with tiramisu and dessert wine as a special treat.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Lynn V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Giovanna, you were a charm and a blast. Loved the places you introduced us to, the wines, the foods, the people. Also, loved your Venice history lessons as well as the tips and tricks to follow save water, drink wine. My traveling companion and I both agreed that of all the tours we've been on, yours was the best and the most fun. Hope to share some wine and cicchetti with you on my next trip to Venice in one of those wonderful, small bars.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Suzanne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A lot of fun! Learned a ton and had some good wine and cicchetti! Claire the guide was very effusive and knowledgeable about the back neighborhoods of Venice! She had great recommendations for out of the way restaurants and bars!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Gail B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Yummo, again a great way to get your bearings in a city, learn about cicchetti. Our guide was knowledgeable, and friendly and fun. Participants were awesome and again so glad of the walking

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Kate W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We did this tour with our two teenagers and we all loved it! Our guide Bette was fabulous - very knowledgeable, friendly and entertaining. We felt like we'd made a friend and learned how to enjoy Cicchetti small snacks! by the end of the evening - our kids tried foods we'd have never expected them to like and enjoyed all of them! Thank you Bette!!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Aaron T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on the Cicchetti and Wine tour and it was a highlight of our time in Venice! Our guide, Giovanna, was like a fabulous hostess of the city of Venice. She did a fantastic job leading our group of about 10 people through the neighborhoods including crossing the canal on gondola, giving us fun insight from a local perspective along the way, engaging with the group, and taking us through several places to try wine and cicchetti small plates like tapas.

At each location she was able to smoothly find us a place where we could gather and socialize while she got the food and wine out for us all and enjoy a variety of different foods and wines. We ended up getting to chat with almost everyone in our group and just had a great time overall, staying at the last place long after the tour ended! This tour is a great experience and value, given how the price includes so much food and drink.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

rtcsanet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An incredible experience, our guide Elisabetta Betta was amazing, she has lived her whole life in Venice and was so warm and friendly to everyone. She even took us on a Gondola ferry on the way to our first bar so we got to experience a gondola ride without paying. Each bar was incredible and unique, some date back centuries. Each stop we enjoyed a different local wine and cicchetti. Both the food and wine were amazing. You will not need dinner as there is so much food your ablsolutely stuffed in the end and in total we got 5 full glasses of local wine plus a dessert wine at the end so factoring in that the tour only goes for around 2 and a half hours you may want to bring some bottled water to sip in between glasses of wine.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

dsholderness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Simona was our guide and she was great. She did a nice job talking about the area. Enjoyed all the cicchetti and wine. We later returned to 2 of them for more food and wine. Felt very local.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Lorraine United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour and introduction to Venice. The group was a nice size, not too many of us, the guide was personable and knowledgeable and she took us to some great places to try the local cicchetti with some delicious wines. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend this tour!!! Excellent wine and cicchetti from different places in Venice. Enjoyed visiting local places off the beaten path of Venice. The variety and amount of food and wine served is well worth the money!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Jane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Francesca was wonderful. Great fun exploring local wine and cicchetti bars.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

jesse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Elisabetta was/is the best tour guide! Real local venetian cicchetti and wine that was mouth watering. We would take this tour again in a heart beat! Thanks again Betta.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Gilbert N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent our guide Simone was extremely informative and added great fun to the tour! Enjoyed the win end cicchetti

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

robert.ryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour comprises visits to four wine/slow food bars to sample the cicchetti a sort of tapas made on the premises from local produce and local wines. Our guide was Clare although not a native had such a love for the city that her vibrant and knowledgeable commentary on the bars and places we visited on the way greatly enhanced our experience. The tour starts in the residential less touristy part of Venice and makes stops at interesting places on the way such as the food market. At each bar we tasted 2/3 cicchetti with a glass of wine finishing at the last bar with an additional desert wine. Although the cicchetti are generally small, the sum of food was like a delicious lunch with wine such that we could barely eat more that evening.
each bar had a different atmosphere, one being the oldest bar in Europe operating continuously from the same premises for more than 500 years and another was the watering hole of Casanova which he mentions in his memoirs.

Do not miss this one and do it early in your stay

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was loads of fun. Francesca was a terrific host and the people in the group were very interesting. The wine bars were quite varied and the wine was always good, as was the Cicchetti. We tasted something we had never had before - a sparkling red, served chilled. The pace was a comfortable stroll, as it was quite a hot night.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Keka I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Clair was our tour guide, and she was an excellent guide through the streets of Venice, introducing us to five of her favorite cicchetterias, or osteria that specialize in cicchetti. With each place we went to, she was able to explain everything from the history of the establishment to what wine pairings work best for the cicchetti you're eating. The best part about the tour is that after you're done, you now have added five great places to your HH arsenal whenever you stop into Venice. Bravissimo!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A real highlight of our Venice trip. Our guide from Urban Adventures was born and raised in Venice with family going back generations. She was extremely knowledgeable and was fun to be around. We tasted great wine and cicchetti and made sure to go back and hit some of those same spots again. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Esther T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the perfect introduction to Venice for food and wine lovers, and those on their first visit. Francesca our tour guide gave us some of the history of this amazing city as well as some knowledge on the architecture. She steered us away from the more touristic spots, in favour of the quieter more local areas. The cicchetti was very good and varied, with only a few more local dishes that we not to my taste - although we did try everything! Keep the business cards for each of the wine bars that you visit, or you will never find these hidden gems again! If you do this trip, I would recommend going on your first day, it really gives you an orientation and introduction to the friendly and welcoming locals. Don't be afraid to try this tour if you have dietary requirements, just let your tour guide know as soon as you can so that they can make adjustments if possible to the cicchetti.Thank you Francesca!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Cat D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I really enjoyed this tour and was surprised at how young the group was. Amazing way to see a more and #39;local and #39; Venice. The venues were brilliant and the cicchetti delicious. Do this tour at the beginning of your trip to help you get into the Venetian groove.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Anthony F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide, Elisabetta, was amazing. She taught us a lot about Venice and took us to some great places where the wine and cicchetti were amazing. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Nicola M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked this tour as an activity for my friend's hen party and it was fantastic. Our guide, Francesca, gave us a great tour with really interesting commentary. All of the bars we then visited were great choices and the wine and cicchetti varied from place to place. We visited 5 bars in total and the timing was just tight. It was a fantastic experience and all ten girls in our party agreed. Thank you Francesca!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great tour. We started off learning a little about Venice and getting our bearings, then a short gondola ride over the grand canal and we started to eat and drink. Our guide Francesca was great and the 6 Cicchetti bars we went to were really good. We tried to find our favorite one on another night but couldn't find it so take notes! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Jamie U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Claire was awesome! The tour was a great first experience for Venice. We received great wine and cicchetti. Claire shared her love for the city and gave us great ideas about where to eat and what to visit.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message