There’s no getting around the fact that Venice, while gorgeous and completely worth every gushing essay written about it, has an over-abundance of mediocre restaurant options. There is, however, good food to be found in Venice, if you know where to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 63 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kate W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We did this tour with our two teenagers and we all loved it! Our guide Bette was fabulous - very knowledgeable, friendly and entertaining. We felt like we'd made a friend and learned how to enjoy Cicchetti small snacks! by the end of the evening - our kids tried foods we'd have never expected them to like and enjoyed all of them! Thank you Bette!!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Aaron T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went on the Cicchetti and Wine tour and it was a highlight of our time in Venice! Our guide, Giovanna, was like a fabulous hostess of the city of Venice. She did a fantastic job leading our group of about 10 people through the neighborhoods including crossing the canal on gondola, giving us fun insight from a local perspective along the way, engaging with the group, and taking us through several places to try wine and cicchetti small plates like tapas.

At each location she was able to smoothly find us a place where we could gather and socialize while she got the food and wine out for us all and enjoy a variety of different foods and wines. We ended up getting to chat with almost everyone in our group and just had a great time overall, staying at the last place long after the tour ended! This tour is a great experience and value, given how the price includes so much food and drink.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

rtcsanet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An incredible experience, our guide Elisabetta Betta was amazing, she has lived her whole life in Venice and was so warm and friendly to everyone. She even took us on a Gondola ferry on the way to our first bar so we got to experience a gondola ride without paying. Each bar was incredible and unique, some date back centuries. Each stop we enjoyed a different local wine and cicchetti. Both the food and wine were amazing. You will not need dinner as there is so much food your ablsolutely stuffed in the end and in total we got 5 full glasses of local wine plus a dessert wine at the end so factoring in that the tour only goes for around 2 and a half hours you may want to bring some bottled water to sip in between glasses of wine.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

dsholderness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Simona was our guide and she was great. She did a nice job talking about the area. Enjoyed all the cicchetti and wine. We later returned to 2 of them for more food and wine. Felt very local.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Lorraine United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was an excellent tour and introduction to Venice. The group was a nice size, not too many of us, the guide was personable and knowledgeable and she took us to some great places to try the local cicchetti with some delicious wines. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highly recommend this tour!!! Excellent wine and cicchetti from different places in Venice. Enjoyed visiting local places off the beaten path of Venice. The variety and amount of food and wine served is well worth the money!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Jane E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Francesca was wonderful. Great fun exploring local wine and cicchetti bars.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

jesse

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Elisabetta was/is the best tour guide! Real local venetian cicchetti and wine that was mouth watering. We would take this tour again in a heart beat! Thanks again Betta.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Gilbert N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent our guide Simone was extremely informative and added great fun to the tour! Enjoyed the win end cicchetti

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

robert.ryn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour comprises visits to four wine/slow food bars to sample the cicchetti a sort of tapas made on the premises from local produce and local wines. Our guide was Clare although not a native had such a love for the city that her vibrant and knowledgeable commentary on the bars and places we visited on the way greatly enhanced our experience. The tour starts in the residential less touristy part of Venice and makes stops at interesting places on the way such as the food market. At each bar we tasted 2/3 cicchetti with a glass of wine finishing at the last bar with an additional desert wine. Although the cicchetti are generally small, the sum of food was like a delicious lunch with wine such that we could barely eat more that evening.
each bar had a different atmosphere, one being the oldest bar in Europe operating continuously from the same premises for more than 500 years and another was the watering hole of Casanova which he mentions in his memoirs.

Do not miss this one and do it early in your stay

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was loads of fun. Francesca was a terrific host and the people in the group were very interesting. The wine bars were quite varied and the wine was always good, as was the Cicchetti. We tasted something we had never had before - a sparkling red, served chilled. The pace was a comfortable stroll, as it was quite a hot night.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Keka I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Clair was our tour guide, and she was an excellent guide through the streets of Venice, introducing us to five of her favorite cicchetterias, or osteria that specialize in cicchetti. With each place we went to, she was able to explain everything from the history of the establishment to what wine pairings work best for the cicchetti you're eating. The best part about the tour is that after you're done, you now have added five great places to your HH arsenal whenever you stop into Venice. Bravissimo!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A real highlight of our Venice trip. Our guide from Urban Adventures was born and raised in Venice with family going back generations. She was extremely knowledgeable and was fun to be around. We tasted great wine and cicchetti and made sure to go back and hit some of those same spots again. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Esther T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is the perfect introduction to Venice for food and wine lovers, and those on their first visit. Francesca our tour guide gave us some of the history of this amazing city as well as some knowledge on the architecture. She steered us away from the more touristic spots, in favour of the quieter more local areas. The cicchetti was very good and varied, with only a few more local dishes that we not to my taste - although we did try everything! Keep the business cards for each of the wine bars that you visit, or you will never find these hidden gems again! If you do this trip, I would recommend going on your first day, it really gives you an orientation and introduction to the friendly and welcoming locals. Don't be afraid to try this tour if you have dietary requirements, just let your tour guide know as soon as you can so that they can make adjustments if possible to the cicchetti.Thank you Francesca!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Cat D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I really enjoyed this tour and was surprised at how young the group was. Amazing way to see a more and #39;local and #39; Venice. The venues were brilliant and the cicchetti delicious. Do this tour at the beginning of your trip to help you get into the Venetian groove.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Anthony F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide, Elisabetta, was amazing. She taught us a lot about Venice and took us to some great places where the wine and cicchetti were amazing. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Nicola M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We booked this tour as an activity for my friend's hen party and it was fantastic. Our guide, Francesca, gave us a great tour with really interesting commentary. All of the bars we then visited were great choices and the wine and cicchetti varied from place to place. We visited 5 bars in total and the timing was just tight. It was a fantastic experience and all ten girls in our party agreed. Thank you Francesca!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

What a great tour. We started off learning a little about Venice and getting our bearings, then a short gondola ride over the grand canal and we started to eat and drink. Our guide Francesca was great and the 6 Cicchetti bars we went to were really good. We tried to find our favorite one on another night but couldn't find it so take notes! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Jamie U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Claire was awesome! The tour was a great first experience for Venice. We received great wine and cicchetti. Claire shared her love for the city and gave us great ideas about where to eat and what to visit.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a blast! Our guide Claire was very knowledgeable and fun to be with. The cicchetti and wine was excellent. Great way to experience places you'd never find on your own, and learn about the local scene and history, all while drinking great wine and eating delicious food!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This lunchtime tour was one of the highlights of our trip to northern Italy. Our guide Giovanna, a native Venetian, started with a tour of Canareggio and a number of tips of how to see Venice best. She led us to the Rialto Market area by crossing the Grand Canal on a traghetto and brought us to five bars. In turn each served us wine and cicchetti, small hors d'oeuvres size snacks. What a delicious outing. Our group was international, from the US, England, Australia and Colombia, and sociable. The only negative was waiting for a couple who was lost to arrive at our starting point. Giovanna was knowledgable, friendly and made sure we were happy! It was more efficient and fun than it would have been to go on our own. If we are so lucky as to go to Venice again, we will probably take this tour again.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Robert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our tour guide Giovanna did an excellent job. The tour was well organized, and featured a wide variety of 5 differing locations for cicchetti and wine tasting. Being a native of Venice, she gave us great insights into the history, pronounciations, neighborhoods, and excellent recommendations. The tour included a brief gondola crossing of a canal, which was unexpected and enjoyable. The amount of walking and pace were just right for us. It's certainly worthwhile to get the services of an expert for our introduction to Venice. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Lively, informative guide introduced us to cicchetti at small eateries -- paired with local wines. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

quigleyconsulting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide Ileo was a native Venetian and obviously extremely familiar with the city and its culture. Due to scheduling issues the tour is not offered every day and fills up quickly we ended up taking it at lunchtime on our last day in Venice. Even though it was pouring rain, we had one of our most memorable experiences in Venice. We visited five cicchetti bars, intimate wine/beer bars that open early for the local workers and which youd be sure to overlook. Wed recommend that you schedule this early in your stay as youll want to revisit the bars again later. All the cicchetti snacks and wines were wonderful.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We took the cicchetti tour our first night in Venice and were glad we did. It gave us significant historical perspective as well as a clue to the local neighborhoods and restaurants that Venice offers. The food and wines were delicious and varied. We would absolutely recommend this tour, and would do it again ourselves. Don't miss this.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message