Water is a fundamental element of Venice. While in any other city you might take a bus or the subway to get where you’re going, in Venice it’s the boat that reigns supreme. No doubt the most classical way to travel the waterways is the old ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8866 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This gondola experience was very memorable. At first we were worried because when we arrived we were told to stand in a long line, but it turned out we were all a part of the same group. Being aboard one gondola as part of a small navy of gondolas was really fun, and the singer sang the whole time. He was a really talented singer, and sang many romantic Italian favorites. After some time in the Grand Canal flexing our strength as a tiny armada, we made our way down one of the smaller side canals and even got to see a newly married bride and groom awaiting their own gondola not a part of our group to whisk them away on their honeymoon. If you want your own gondola, I would suggest making other plans, but if you dont mind sharing a gondola and getting a professional serenade singer in the process this is a most entertaining experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Laurie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour should be taken early in your visit to Venice as it gives an overview of the layout of the city and of course of the way in which the intricate system of canals are the arteries of Venetian life. The trip also includes a quick visit to the Jewish quarters which played an important role in the trade industry that was essential to the area. As with most Viator tours our group was small and our guide was excellent.

Doing what: Venice Canal Cruise: Grand Canal and Secret Canals by Motorboat

Burgi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very informative and interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable and a local.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Laurie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide was informative and engaging. Excellent experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We unfortunately forget the name of our guide but he was fantastic.

He made sure we could all hear all he had to say.
He bantered with all of us and made us feel welcome and included.
He brought us to all the points of interest and shared the history with such passion and delight it encouraged us to look for more information as we continued our stay.

He was full of interesting little anecdotal facts and straightforward information but delivered with a great sense of fun and humour.

We really regret not remembering his name but would heartily give him 10 out of 10 for his time and presentation.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Martin T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Marina, was excellent! Being a Venetian, she is very, very knowledgeable about the history and sites of Venice.

While the gondola ride was only 25-30 minutes long, we very much enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Lori B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the best tour we took during our 10 day stay in Italy. Our guide was so good, and she shared her love of her home town with us. Wish I was there right now : Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Barry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I've done this very same tour twice now - once with my wife and a few months later with a son. Both times, we have a great guide. This guide was upbeat, and loved questions. His answers were more like stories, giving lots of context to different things we were seeing. When I took him aside after the tour, he had great recommendations for off-the-touristed-path places to visit and dine. His advice turned out to be great! Locals know, if you ask about things!

The gondola ride is a checklist item. Fun to experience the city from the waterways. The only reason I'd do it again though, is for the singing that's optional on some. That would add a fun flair.

A good tour. I recommend it.

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Lai C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you're of the opinion that it's better to do rather than watch, then this is a must. My husband and I took our 13 and 16 year old sons on this. We all had a go at paddling, both in the canals and in the lagoon, at the front of the training godola and also standing up at the back. It was the best thing we did during our short stay. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Venice Gondola School: Learn How to Be a Gondolier

lauram0907

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an amazing trip. Our tour guide Gina was Fantastic!! Gina had so much knowledge and imparted it in a very interesting way. The boat trip was also a great experience. Take this trip!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Jacqueline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fun tour with a great and funny guide. It poured we rain for part of it full on thunder storm so she did her best to keep us dry whilst sticking to the itinerary. Luckily it stopped before the gondola ride and 6 of us shared a fun experience. If you are by yourself like me and want to tick that bucket list item then this is a cheap way to do it

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

margat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was great - informative, with history and humour thrown in. Less than a half hour on the gondola though!

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

ralphuy.kimle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was great to learn about Venice and its history. It also helps to skip the massive lines at the basilica. We had Marco for our tour, his very entertaining.The taxi boat cruise around the Island was one of my favorites, it gives you an opportunity to see most of what the island has to offer

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great guide! We had a wonderful trip through the canals of Venice taking in all the beautiful sites. For people visiting Venice for the first time, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Venice Grand Canal Boat Tour

Jaime H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was exactly as expected - 2 flotillas of 4 boats each, 1 of which had a singer and an accordion player. Our singer was amazing even the nuns along the canal popped out of their building to listen to his singing. A nice was to experience a gondola adventure without breaking the bank.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the highlights of my trip. My friend booked the sunset serenade ride and it was awesome! We had 4 boats go out at the same time and in one boat, there was a gentleman playing accordion. In another one was singing and our paddleman was good at pointing out sights. We saw a number of bridges and sights that can only be seen by these wonderful boats. And the sun setting on the water was wonderful. The price of this tour was about a 3rd of the others I saw there and totally worth it!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

hjc293

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I'm giving five stars because we had the best seats but this can be a one star ride for many others.

There's about 50 ppl going out at the same time. Bring your paper tickets because we saw a couple turned away. Our concierge gritti palace told us to have paper tickets ready so they must've seen some happenings here before. The guy collecting the ticket reminded me of someone from a mafia very nice guy actually so I don't think you would wanna argue with him.

So there's six ppl per boat and 6-7 boats per one seranade and music person. We had the best seat and the person singing and the instrument guy was in our boat as well. But I didn't think the other couple sitting in the middle facing each other was too pleased. And I can't imagine those same two ppl at the other boats where they may not be able to hear as well.

Our tenor was ok but his physical appearance reminded me of that weird funny guy from hangover you'll laugh if that's your guy. There was another well dressed guy from the other guide he appeared to sang much better.

If you don't want to take any chances go book the other more expensive private tour. I would've done that since this may have been my last gondola ride in Venice but I lucked out.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

hjc293

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I skipped out on the first portion because we wanted to freely roam the city and came back for the boat tour. They assign you to an assigned boat time at 4 or 5 pm 8ppl per boat. Guide was great and view was awesome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great tour, starting with a walking tour of the walkways of Venice. Our guide took us through the busy areas and then through the quiet backstreets where the local live, eat and play. We saw first hand their lifestyle in Venice. Our tour was filled with great stories and tidbits of knowledge and helped enlighten our group with the real Venice....and its even more beautiful than imagined. Please note the tour does not go back to the starting point but leaves you in the middle of Venice and you need to find your own way back. It's not a problem as this is the best way to explore and it's easy to navigate.
The second half of the tour is the same as far as the stories and knowledge but it takes place on a boat exploring the busy waterways and the less travelled areas as well. This is an excellent tour that has a nice break in-between for lunch.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Michael M A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife thought we were just taking a regular gondola ride. She was very surprised to see the singer and accordion player climb on board as well! While the tour is pricey, it was worth it. Both musicians were fantastic! I noticed that as soon as the singer starts, your boat instantly becomes a magnet for cell phone video. Everyone walking by was filming us. If that kind of thing makes you uncomfortable, this isn't the tour for you. We don't mind that so we had a blast! Our gondolier was great, too. Very quiet, but when he spoke he was very funny. I would definitely do this tour again!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

tinkerbell011259 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed both aspects of this tour very much. well worth the money and a good very 'witty' guide Marco I believe .

Doing what: Venice Walking Tour and Gondola Ride

Chandresh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very good city tour to do - we did it on the first day and so glad we did. We were shown around the main bits of Venice by the excellent guide. Everyone gets an earpiece and they can hear the guide clearly we saw other tours out there where the guide had to shout loudly for the group to hear because in certain areas the places are very busy and noisey with tourists, having the earpieces was great for this. Our guide was called Ele and she was very informed about the city as she has lived there all of her life. He learnt about Venician history which was nice to know as we walked around. The boat tour at the end was also enjoyable. I'm definitely glad we booked this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Guide, skip the line well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Kevin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and the boat tour portion was amazing!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Venice in One Day Including Boat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message