Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 654 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Deborah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Value for money and run smoothly. This was a celebration weekend for my 50th birthday. We arrived at the Gondola station with several other guests. We were fortunate enough to be seated in the Gondola with the singer. We had a 35 minute trip around the canals being serenaded. After we had a lovely meal, with a fabulous menu selection at a local hotel. Amazing experience and not to be missed if you are on a short break in Venice

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Brewskiis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour is a must for anyone going to Venice. Sure, it may be cheesy, but being serenaded in a fleet of gondolas going through the canals of Venice is just a fun way to spend 35 minutes. I wish the tour would have been a full hour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Unbelievable experience!!! Best gondolier ever and the serenade was so beautiful!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

J Oliver B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The gondola ride was shorter than expected.
The serenade was very good and interactive.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

MARY LOTOYA C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A gondola ride is a must in Venice. The Serenade was cute. You row in tandem with other boats and the person singing will not likley be on your boat. But you and #39;ll be able to hear him just fine. It and #39;s a good value but you may want to spring for the individual tour as opposed to sharing the boat.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

stephendew

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Was good fun and enjoyable, couldn't always hear the serenaders but was very good when we could.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Sarel J

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was overrated. Our guide did not participate in the group, and we totally missed the serenade. An ordinary Gondola ride would rather suffice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

escalantemonsan

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A góndola ride is a unique experience in Venice and in my opinión is a must do. The only down side is that We booked a serenade but the serenator Was on a different góndola. We and two another góndola shared one serenator.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Veny P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very conveyer belt type of feel. Dinner at the end was just a certificate for local restaurant, nothing special. I would skip this one next time - the serenade and gondola ride was very rushed...

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

mina_ames

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Enjoyed the Gondola experience but the Serenada was not what we expected. The singer was on one of the gondolas however there were over 10 boats in the group so we did not get to hear the serenade when we started to row down some of the narrow streets. I don't think that it's worth the extra money as a normal Gondola ride would give you the same experience, unless of course you are lucky enough to have the singer in your Gondola... But that is more luck than anything else. If you really want someone to sing to you, go for a private Serenade. I didn't realise the group was going to be so big.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

shaman h

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Not what I expected. The serenade was from a separate gondola which made it hard to hear. I thought the gondola was going to drop us off at the restaurant, but it finished where we picked up.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Parker B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We were slightly disappointed with this experience mainly because of our gondolier. He didn and #39;t stay with the group for the 1st part of our trip, so we missed out on part of the serenade. He was the only one with headphones in and on his phone the entire ride. We didn and #39;t get authentic pics :(.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Sean S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Our gondola driver looked unkempt, He was listening to his phone. All our pictures have a driver who looks very unprofessional and disinterested in the ride. The serenade was in main canal with way too much noisey distraction. The small canal part was not scenic. Very disappointed.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Robert W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Avoid this activity, a total rip-off, from the start the voucher taker could not have been more rude. The serenade was in one gondola for 6 other gondolas while the other gondoliers were on their cell phones and loudly talking to each other. The 35 minute tour ended in 26 minutes. Our gondolier didn't offer to pose for a picture or interact with us at all. They were all a bunch of tattooed, macho guys with total disrespectful for the fact people were thousands of miles from their homes and at great expense and here to enjoy their vacation in Venice. They were an embarrassment to the city.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Eli R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Don't waste your money buying in advance! The staff were unattentive to the lines and were pretty rude to people when being asked questions. The gondoliers were talking the entire time between themselves instead of letting you just enjoy the ride they ride in packs of about 4-5 boats together. They ride together because the person serenading is only on one boat for all of them, and it inst the gondolier himself. He was also not a very good singer at all. Also, the 35 minute ride lasted only 22 minutes. They literally took us from the dock, waited about 10 minutes on the canal for all the boats to get together for the serenade, and took us around 1 block and back. For about the same price we paid for 2 of us on here, we could have had our own private gondola there are up to 6 people on each of the boats through this service, which all the gondolas had when we went. If you have more than 2 people, you would actually save money doing it this way. The only difference is that it typically wont include a serenade which as I said before was pretty bad anyway. You can walk up at nearly any time during the day and find gondoliers to take you for a tour. It is not as as hard to book as you might think, and we went during peak season in the beginning of July.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Kulbir B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This was a complete waste of money! This felt like a factory line production - our group of 6 barely fit in gondola, serenade was 6 boats away so hard to hear, guide was unfriendly, and the place it leaves from was difficult to find. Do not pay for shared ride - find a private one instead!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Erika M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Was not what I expected. Total disappointment. Too many other boats with us trying to listen to only 1 Serenade that you couldn't hear that was on a different boat. Wouldn't do it again.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Scott M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The meeting point for this tour was right down the walkway from our hotel and easy to find. We met up with other people on the tour and divided up into four groups of 6 or 7 people to board four traditional Venetian Gondolas. We started our tour in the Grand Canal and were serenaded by a great singer who boarded one of the gondolas. We made our way through various channels where the acoustics were amazing. We even had a group sing-along to traditional Italian songs. This tour lasted about 45 minutes before we returned to our starting point. I recommend this tour because you get the full feel of Venice for a longer duration. If you want a private gondola ride with your significant other, expect it to be expensive and only 20 minutes average in duration. I would be hesitant to book the gondola restaurant packages see the reviews, go find a nice Cicchetti Bar instead.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Gina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS SERENADED RIDE! DO IT, IT WAS AWESOME AND A ONCE IN A LIFETIME OPPORTUNITY. I WILL REMEMBER THIS THE MOST!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Tamstafry

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful serenade on a gondola on the canal, how very Venice! You must do this if you're visiting, but I felt this was a bit rushed....we enjoyed it nevertheless, worthwhile.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Deirdre M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It is such a lovely thing to do and being serenaded is great. It is still busy out there on the canals, but we went on a Sunday so maybe that is an exceptionally busy day. It is definitely one of those things you have to experience once in a lifetime, so go for it. I had a problem getting out of the gondola and actually fell and did not receive the appropriate help at the time and have a scar to prove it. It blighted the wonderful experience a little.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Belkys L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Was kind of disappointed as I was under the impression the serenade was going to be individual and there were about 6 gondolas in a group. There were times when my gondola was far from the one the singer was at and could hardly be heard.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Jacqueline O

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

They say, do not leave Venice without a gondola ride. It was very touristy for sure! The boat held 6 people. We went out on the water and waited 15 minutes or more for the other 5 boats to join us. Then, we took off down one canal and up another with the serenade. If you were not in a boat near the boat with the serenade, I'm not sure your could hear it. So, we have done it once..........I do not need to do it again.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Susan L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

To be on the Grand Canal in Venice is quite an experience, the singer who serenaded us was very good, very funny, had it not been for him my rating would have been one star less.
What was not good was paying for a 45 minute tour, then being dumped ashore after 25 minutes.
Bad customer service, tried to complain which fell on very deaf, very rude Italian ears, we had already paid, so they could not charge us 100 Euros, so we got the cheap seat service.
This reflects on you Viator, not the people doing the tour, might I suggest a secret shopper
Graham Southampton, England

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Adrienne M

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I will break my review into three parts.
Part 1. - The Gondola ride: the crew of the Gondola ride leave a lot to be desired. They were not helpful or friendly when we arrived for a Gondola ride. If we hadn't already paid - I would have gone elsewhere.
Part 2 - the Serenade. The singer and musician were wonderful. Thank you
Part 3 - The dinner: the service was great, the food was tasty and while the tour started out ordinary - it ended on a high note.
Don't bother booking the Gondola ride - but do go to the restaurant and enjoy a nice meal.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message