Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 686 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Matthew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This gondola experience was very memorable. At first we were worried because when we arrived we were told to stand in a long line, but it turned out we were all a part of the same group. Being aboard one gondola as part of a small navy of gondolas was really fun, and the singer sang the whole time. He was a really talented singer, and sang many romantic Italian favorites. After some time in the Grand Canal flexing our strength as a tiny armada, we made our way down one of the smaller side canals and even got to see a newly married bride and groom awaiting their own gondola not a part of our group to whisk them away on their honeymoon. If you want your own gondola, I would suggest making other plans, but if you dont mind sharing a gondola and getting a professional serenade singer in the process this is a most entertaining experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the highlights of my trip. My friend booked the sunset serenade ride and it was awesome! We had 4 boats go out at the same time and in one boat, there was a gentleman playing accordion. In another one was singing and our paddleman was good at pointing out sights. We saw a number of bridges and sights that can only be seen by these wonderful boats. And the sun setting on the water was wonderful. The price of this tour was about a 3rd of the others I saw there and totally worth it!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

bocagirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I was so happy we booked this in advance and chose to do the Gondola Ride with Serenade. The gondola rides without serenades were in a much busier area with lots of people waiting. This was in a more secluded area. We were 5 gondolas going out as a group. There is one singer and an accordian player for the whole group. We were lucky enough to have them on our gondola. It is a must do while in Venice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Liz.alicea

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The gondola ride and the serenade was fun but some of the seats were uncomfortable.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

dbsayers Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I was a little disappointed that the Gondola ride and serenade was shared with 5 other Gondola's and the person who was doing the serenading was not in the same gondola. Our tour did not go past the Rialto bridge as suggested and only lasted for around 20 minutes. The Although I have ticked this off my bucket list it was ok.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Candice P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Yes, It's a Gondola ride on the Grand Canal in Venice. That much is true and you can take that for what it's worth. What was disconcerting was the bulk approach, 5 or more gondolas filled with three couples meeting in the middle of the Grand Canal to listen to some singer serenade from 3 Gondolas away, then having your gondola break away only to here your serenade disappear among the general noise of the Canal area. My suggestion would be to find a waiting gondola along the the many small canals and see what you can get. This was not what we had in mind when it came to a romantic gondola ride in Venice. We did see MANY Gondolas during our stay with only one couple on board, proof that they exist. We'll go that route if we ever come back.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Bradley N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We were disappointed with the experience. We had a reservation for 6:30 pm but arrived to find a line that ended up being first come, first served. We waited an extra 40 minutes before finally getting on a gondola. When they took us into the main canal, my daughters described it as like being on bumper boats. There were eight gondolas trying to crowd around one that had the serenade. If you really want a more romantic atmosphere, probably best if you pay the extra money for a private tour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Chester W H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

This was not what we expected.We had been to Venice in 1989 and our Gondola Ride then was quite quaint and we travelled many of the small canals and landmarks were identified. This time a lot of the ride was on the main canal, quite noisy and busy, could not hear the Serenade and since there was only one person doing the singing for five boats the serenade did not add much. Also there were a long q-line even with reservations and the operations personnel were quite unfriendly. Would not recommend this Gondola Ride.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Robert C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

the worst thing I payed for in Venice. Dont buy ever. just walk around canal after 9 oclock and find a lot nicer and better deals. the serenade was one instrument and one guy that didnt know how to sing. and the restaurant menu was one piece of paper that had two courses written on it. from 35 minutes on gondola we had only 25 and in bad places. never in my life.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Monique S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Very bad experience, the gondola tour was shorter than advertised, the serenade was basically one singer for about 6 gondolas no one showed us where was the restaurant and after walking around in the dark for about 30 minutes we gave up and decided to eat somewhere. Do not recommend.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Paul G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

this was intended to be the highlight of our trip to Venice, special and romantic seeing he Grand canal, and Rialto Bridge from the canal would be brilliant, and to have a musician and singer to serenade us would be the icing on the cake so to speak.
However, we joined a long queue at 6.15 for our 6.30 sunset trip to await our departure. We got into the gondola at approx. 6.40 not sat together as expected, and the were taken across the Grand canal a short distance to the other 5 boats. once the flotilla assembled, we then departed the grand canal to a small canal with the singer doing his best to sing without any music to help - he was also positioned in the third boat and we were all in a long line with our boat at the from so we couldn't hear a thing for most of the trip.. we travelled in total no more than 500metres in the narrow canals off from the Grand Canal and arrived back at the Gondola station at 7.00pm. we hadn't seen anything, or heard anything for that matter and found the whole experience a misrepresentation from the information provided at the time of making the booking. We tried to discuss this with the boss of the crew, who was like a ex-Mafia guy and suddenly he couldn't speak any English and he was very busy. Having failed to make any impression with him, I am dealing with Viator Customer Services now.
This is the most disappointing tour we have had with Viator, and we have used them for many of our City Break tours with great satisfaction - I think its all about the guy providing the Gondolas, but I can tell you to not book this until you get to Venice - there's no shortage of Gondolas and their only 80 - 100 for a definite 30 minutes

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Tim W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This was by far the biggest let down of our trip to Venice. We planned the Gondola Ride and Serenade at sunset thinking it would be a romantic ride and a lovely way to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived about 15 minutes prior to our assigned time to find an extremely long line of people gathered at the docks and were told to get in line. We then realized that everyone had the same vouchers. There were several shoots that the Gondolas were being loaded from in groups of 6. Almost 30 minutes past our time we were loaded into a Gondola with a family of 4. My husband and I were not seated near each other, in fact my husband was seated on a step that was used to board the boat. There was no singer or accordion player on our boat. I asked if we could sit near each other as were celebrating our anniversary and we were told no because of the balance. After bumping into all the other boats we came next to a boat that had a singer and accordion player so we could listen to the music but had to move on pretty quickly. To be honest, i actually had a better more romantic experience in Vegas in the basement of The Ventian Hotel. Quite frankly the entire thing couldn't have been more terrible. Do yourself a favor and book one from the desk at your hotel. it may be more expensive but we will never have a chance to have a romantic gondola ride with a saranade for our 25th wedding anniversary again. I feel like the entire advertisement is a bait and switch because it leads you to believe you will actually be serenaded the entire time.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must do for every couple .. This is the best price you can find in the entire Venice .. Most Charge starting at 80-100 .. Plus they serenaded everyone which made it extra special.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

ray m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Having a gondola ride, and also getting serenaded made this trip extra special.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Yes, it is expensive. But if you want a romantic boat ride, this is it. In the two days we spent in Venice, we rarely saw any other gondolas with serenades. It really stuck out as something special and we really enjoyed our specific soloist - his voice was wonderful and I know we will always associate our ride with our time in the city.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

Howard S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Enjoyed the ride and serenade, meet our expectations. Take your own bottle of wine, glasses and enjoy!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

ayshe

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

great ride through the canals
didn't feel very serenaded though with about 80 other people waiting to get on too and all travelling together

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Eddy E. N

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

2 families a total of 9 people, went on this tour. It was a very good experience of being on a gondola and hearing the serenade, esp through the little canals. it lasted about 35 minutes and was worth the experience. We recommend it.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Karen A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

there was an initial mix up with the people operating the Gondolas. We arrived early but ended up not getting the time we had booked. The entry point was not organized and the workers seemed a little overwhelmed. It was lovely when we finally did get the Ride and the Serenade was quite nice. We were a group of 6-I would recommend one couple per gondola for the best experience!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Susan P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Okay, so you are in the boat with a lot of people and the boats sort of cluster together and don't travel too much, but our accordianist and serenader made up for it all. They were both elderly original Italians who were clearly wise and funny and old chums, and played exceptionally well. The singer was Opera worthy, and I was thrilled to be in the floating audience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Paul C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

What s not to love about a Gondola ride and serenade? About one minute after pulling away the skies opened we knew it was threatening but it was booked ahead of time and it POURED...buckets of rain. We weren't thrilled but felt especially bad for the young Honeymooners in the boat with us. Even the singer and musician had to stop....But there s little anyone can do about weather!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

John D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A nice gondola ride at sunset. The serenade was great and the gondolier an authentic Venetian.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

skrishnan07

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a great way to create a memory of Venice riding the Gondola on the Grad Canal and making your way through some smaller canals while being serenaded. Although, this is a convoy and only one of six or eight gondolas in the group has a singer, they maneuver the gondolas so that every gondola gets to be near the gondola with the singer for at least some of the time and you can hear the music all through. The only issue I found was that some of the seats are not very comfortable they are small stools really when there are six people in the boat. But in such a exotic location it is a minor detail

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Mike

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We got to the gondola place 5 minutes too late due to ferry delay and we were told to come back tomorrow. After about 1/2 hour of begging the operator and giving him 20Euro tip he finally agreed to give us and another couple a gondola ride. No serenade as was promised!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Charlotte D

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I booked this as a birthday/anniversary gift for my husband. We arrived at the venue and it was very well organised in ensuring that everyone got on board swiftly. Unfortunately and sadly my husband and I were not able to sit together which spoilt the experience for us a little bit. The serenade was fantastic and was in the boat behind ours. In hindsight I wish I had actually paid the extra for us to be on our own as it was the least romantic experience I've ever had!! More fun if you are with friends I
imagine. We didn't travel very far just round in a loop so the whole thing only took about 25 mins.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message