Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 705 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elaine A

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

I could not hear the serenade... The guy who was serenading was on a different gondola and was quite a distance away from ours. I felt ripped off after having paid for a gondola ride with serenade to later find out that the serenade was not on every gondola.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Joseph L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our private tour in Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade was absolutely amazing. We had it as a family of four. It was incomparable. The musician, esp. the vocalist singer was brilliant! He sings well and his voice was modulated. We would highly recomnend this tour and if given chance,we and #39;ll do it again

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do, lots of gondolas around but none with the serenade well worth the money, we didn and #39;t get the most comfy seats and were opposite each other but the musicians were on our boat which made up for it, will def return and do again

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Keisha United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The ride was good but very quick. The serenade singer was in another boat for there was a group of 6 Gondola's set out together and the singer was in a different boat. I would have enjoyed a single ride and paid the cost.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

sille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A fun way to end our Italy vacation. We were probably only on the water for 20 minutes, but did enjoy the serenade at sunset!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Mario S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved the serenade and the peaceful ride on the canal. It was amazing. So different.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

weweres425

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We have done this tour before and loved it! The serenade is a must! There is nothing like being on a gondola with a serenade in Italian!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Seamus H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Gondola was really nice but there was not a serenade per gondola there were a few gondolas and only one floating with the person doing the serenade. It was nice but felt a little let down by this also there and #39;s a long line on arrival and the younger guys aren and #39;t to helpful on where to go.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Andrew W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were a part of a gondola flotilla of 8 boats with a singer and accordion player on one to serenade us.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Murray B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good value for the money. My wife and I enjoyed the Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade. Enjoyable and relaxing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

azngirl56

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

i thougth the serenade will be in each boat but otherwise it was fun. need to explain more on the tour

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Sheri D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The gondola ride was fabulous. The only thing is, if you are not on one of the Gondolas closer to the singer you don't hear him. If you are lucky enough you will be the ones on the Gondola with the singer and accordion player. Expensive for a serenade

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Sara S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The gondoliers were rude, and unpleasant. They were an hour behind schedule, and all they seemed to care about was tipping them at the end when the short ride was over. Serenade was nice, but not worth what I paid.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

zita

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The gondola ride is a must see if you're in Venice, its more for the experience. I found the ride rather short, approx. 20 minutes. I did not expect the serenade to be shared with another 8-10 gondolas as the voice, although good and strong, sometimes sounded in the far distance. The ushers at the entry port were a little rude and we had to wait until we got back from the gondola ride for quite a ride to find out which restaurant our dinner was at. Food at the restaurant was good but they did hurry us up a bit. A bit of mixed emotions on this one, was a little disappointing as our previous tours during the day were really great.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Danielle H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Very disappointed. Waited over an hour even though we arrived 15 minutes prior to departure. Gondola drivers more interested in telling jokes and laughing at the 100 mer long line whilst smoking.. Do not book. The serenade is divided between 4 gondolas and seats are completely cramped. Keep crashing into adjacent Gonda - force-no relaxation. And uncomfortable. They didn't even, Balance the gondola so, My mother in law was constantly wet from passing boats. Terrible shame but the dinner was excellent n inviting.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Beatriz I

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This was a total disappointment / scam. We signed up for a serenaded gondola ride. That's not what we got. What we did get was a gondola ride with 3 or 4 other gondola's near by and someone playing an accordion on one of them. You could barely hear the music. Therefore, do not pay for a serenade ride. You won't get it. Just do a gondola ride. Don't pay extra for nothing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

mcbigmmac United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Very disappointed in this excursion. First of all our reservation was at 6:30 pm. We arrived early, but we were put in a LONG line with others, some who had no reservations. It took an hour to work our way up to the front. Then we were put on a gondola along with six to eight more gondolas which shared ONE serenade singer. We then all followed in a line, like a group of ducks, around the canal streets for about 20 minutes. After our, NOT-SO-ROMANTIC, ride we were given a hand drawn map of how to get to our restaurant for dinner. It was POORLY marked and drawn. With much help from people along the way, even two police officers, we finally were able to find the restaurant. The meal was good, not great, but, of course, very late. We took 12 excursions with Viator on our Mediterranean Trip. Most of them were good to great. This one was a waste of money and very POOR! This was one of my most anticipated excursions. A Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with my wife and friends and a great dinner to follow. What a BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

tolerbc

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Do not waste your time or money. We arrived early and noticed a line, but figured it was for an earlier ride. The person in charge told us to come back ten minutes before our 6:30 ride. This was supposed to be a romantic, daylight ride with serenade. BAH! We arrived at 6:15, and the line was as bad as any Disney line we have been in. Needless to say, they ran out of gondolas, we stood until 7:15, now totally dark, finally got on, could not sit next to each other. One singer, who was lovely, for seven gondolas, our driver was grumpy and just wanted to go home. Do not waste your money on this, just go during any day and ride any gondola, at least you will be able to sit together and see the sights!!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Matthew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This gondola experience was very memorable. At first we were worried because when we arrived we were told to stand in a long line, but it turned out we were all a part of the same group. Being aboard one gondola as part of a small navy of gondolas was really fun, and the singer sang the whole time. He was a really talented singer, and sang many romantic Italian favorites. After some time in the Grand Canal flexing our strength as a tiny armada, we made our way down one of the smaller side canals and even got to see a newly married bride and groom awaiting their own gondola not a part of our group to whisk them away on their honeymoon. If you want your own gondola, I would suggest making other plans, but if you dont mind sharing a gondola and getting a professional serenade singer in the process this is a most entertaining experience.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the highlights of my trip. My friend booked the sunset serenade ride and it was awesome! We had 4 boats go out at the same time and in one boat, there was a gentleman playing accordion. In another one was singing and our paddleman was good at pointing out sights. We saw a number of bridges and sights that can only be seen by these wonderful boats. And the sun setting on the water was wonderful. The price of this tour was about a 3rd of the others I saw there and totally worth it!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

bocagirl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I was so happy we booked this in advance and chose to do the Gondola Ride with Serenade. The gondola rides without serenades were in a much busier area with lots of people waiting. This was in a more secluded area. We were 5 gondolas going out as a group. There is one singer and an accordian player for the whole group. We were lucky enough to have them on our gondola. It is a must do while in Venice.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Liz.alicea

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The gondola ride and the serenade was fun but some of the seats were uncomfortable.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

dbsayers Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I was a little disappointed that the Gondola ride and serenade was shared with 5 other Gondola's and the person who was doing the serenading was not in the same gondola. Our tour did not go past the Rialto bridge as suggested and only lasted for around 20 minutes. The Although I have ticked this off my bucket list it was ok.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Candice P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Yes, It's a Gondola ride on the Grand Canal in Venice. That much is true and you can take that for what it's worth. What was disconcerting was the bulk approach, 5 or more gondolas filled with three couples meeting in the middle of the Grand Canal to listen to some singer serenade from 3 Gondolas away, then having your gondola break away only to here your serenade disappear among the general noise of the Canal area. My suggestion would be to find a waiting gondola along the the many small canals and see what you can get. This was not what we had in mind when it came to a romantic gondola ride in Venice. We did see MANY Gondolas during our stay with only one couple on board, proof that they exist. We'll go that route if we ever come back.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Bradley N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We were disappointed with the experience. We had a reservation for 6:30 pm but arrived to find a line that ended up being first come, first served. We waited an extra 40 minutes before finally getting on a gondola. When they took us into the main canal, my daughters described it as like being on bumper boats. There were eight gondolas trying to crowd around one that had the serenade. If you really want a more romantic atmosphere, probably best if you pay the extra money for a private tour.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message