Sure it can seem a bit kitsch, but you’re in Venice, the sun is shining or it’s a romantically balmy evening, so what do you do? Take a ride in a gondola! Venice is meant to be viewed from the water, and riding in a beautiful curved wooden gondola ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 715 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Niall P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A wonderful Venetian experience, to serenade the ladies. Taken around both back, quiet canals and along the main ones as well.
The gent singing the serenades had a great voice and the musical accompaniment was good also, with melodic interludes in between.
While we saw a lot, sadly it was over so quickly. Time flies when you enjoy yourself!
If you want to treat the lady in your life, I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

Mike

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The Gondola ride and the Serenade were really nice, but the mess before we found the right place were less nice... I'm glad we checked everything in good time before the ride because otherwise there wouldn't have been any ride. The voucher told us to meet up at the office of the agency, and when we talked to a clerk at the office we were told to go to one gondola station. When we came to the gondola station they had no idea about what we were talking about since they had no bookings or serenades. After some phone calls we found out that we should be at a completely different gondola station.
So...if you book this tour, please make sure that you got a confirmation from the gondola station, otherwise there will probably not be any ride for you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

Heather N

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The ride was pleasant however, as the first gondola in the flotilla, we could not hear the serenade most of the ride.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

JANSEN FANG HUR T

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Ride was not really into nicer looking canels in the main canel area. Serenade also was from one gondola only, shared within 5 other gondolas in near proximity. There was no tour introduction or commentary to introduce the canals or history.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Carolyn Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The serenade was delightful as was the gondola. The company was easy to find near the hotel. We didn't realize there was a line until it was quite long but everyone left at the same time so that wasn't an issue. My daughter and I sat with just one other couple so we weren't cramped in like the last gondola ride I took four years ago. Highly recommended .

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Tereza E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the experience including the music. Always wanted to do this. There are so many places with Gondola rides it was tricky to find the right one, but, everything is tricky to find in Venice!
What was disconcerting was the bulk approach, 5 or more gondolas filled with 3 or 4 couples meeting in the middle of the Grand Canal to listen to some singer serenade from 3 Gondolas away, then having your gondola break away only to here your serenade disappear among the general noise of the Canal area.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Bryan T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The gondola ride was excellent, and the singer was great, but the dinner was a bit mediocre. If I were to do this again, I would probably just go for the ride with the serenade.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Phyllis K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I took this tour before without the serenade and it was wonderful. This tour was like a serenade meat market. A lot of shouting to get all the gondolas in place. Not even able to take good pictures. So disappointed.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Susan H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

You are better off waiting until you arrive in Venice and engaging any one of the many, many gondola rides around the city. This was not really the serenade experience described mostly because our gondolier was shouting in Italian so loudly that we couldn't actually hear the musicians on the distant gondola that was far ahead of our boat. In fact, there were a few issues with this tour. First, there is a HUGE long line when you arrive. The line moves relatively quickly but you do have to wait. The next issue is that you have to share the ride with other people total number is 6. That is mentioned in the description so fair enough but what is not mentioned is the fact that they don't have seats for everyone so at least one person on each gondola has to sit on an uncomfortable bench with no padding we were there in January so it was very cold and uncomfortable to sit on the bench. If you go on a private gondola for about the same price and often for less, you sit in very cushy, lovely, comfy upholstered seats. The biggest issue though was the serenade. Frankly, that was a bit of a joke. There is only one musician for every 8 boats. So 8 boats leave, one has a musician and if you can hear him from your boat, you get serenaded. Unfortunately, we could only hear the musician for about 90 seconds. Our gondolier was apparently furious about something and began shouting at another gondolier who appeared to be a manager of some kind. The shouting continued for a long time and we couldn't hear the musician at all. Eventually, the gondolier stopped yelling at the manager but he greeted every boat we passed and we passed a LOT of other boats--other gondolas, water taxis, etc... The problem was that he didn't just greet them, he kept talking to them and shouting. He appeared to be complaining about and mocking the manager. He was laughing sarcastically. I don't really know what the professional standards of gondoliers are, I just didn't want to listen to this very loud man drowning out the musician for the entire ride. Maybe we got him on a bad day. We were with a family of 4 and the dad sort of half stood up at one point ok, maybe not the smoothest move, but he only did it for a second and his wife immediately chastised him and he instantly sat down again--no harm, no foul right? Nuh-uh, the gondolier started screaming at him too in Italian which seemed rather counter productive since the Californian dad clearly didn't speak Italian. It's unfortunate because the musician had an accordion and I LOVE accordion music! I would DEFINITELY not recommend this tour. You can get much better deals after you arrive in Venice don't worry, they won't ever run out of gondola rides! As for the serenade element, you can probably find a gondola with a musician if that's what you want but even if you can't, it's no great loss since you can't really hear the musician on this tour anyway!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Elaine A

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

I could not hear the serenade... The guy who was serenading was on a different gondola and was quite a distance away from ours. I felt ripped off after having paid for a gondola ride with serenade to later find out that the serenade was not on every gondola.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Mary ann D

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

YOU BARELY HEAR THE SERENADE.. THE GONDOLIERS TALK LOUDER THAT THE SERENADE

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Joseph L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our private tour in Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade was absolutely amazing. We had it as a family of four. It was incomparable. The musician, esp. the vocalist singer was brilliant! He sings well and his voice was modulated. We would highly recomnend this tour and if given chance,we and #39;ll do it again

Doing what: Private Tour: Venice Gondola Ride with Serenade

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do, lots of gondolas around but none with the serenade well worth the money, we didn and #39;t get the most comfy seats and were opposite each other but the musicians were on our boat which made up for it, will def return and do again

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Keisha United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The ride was good but very quick. The serenade singer was in another boat for there was a group of 6 Gondola's set out together and the singer was in a different boat. I would have enjoyed a single ride and paid the cost.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

sille

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A fun way to end our Italy vacation. We were probably only on the water for 20 minutes, but did enjoy the serenade at sunset!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Mario S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved the serenade and the peaceful ride on the canal. It was amazing. So different.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

weweres425

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We have done this tour before and loved it! The serenade is a must! There is nothing like being on a gondola with a serenade in Italian!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Seamus H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Gondola was really nice but there was not a serenade per gondola there were a few gondolas and only one floating with the person doing the serenade. It was nice but felt a little let down by this also there and #39;s a long line on arrival and the younger guys aren and #39;t to helpful on where to go.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Andrew W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were a part of a gondola flotilla of 8 boats with a singer and accordion player on one to serenade us.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Murray B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good value for the money. My wife and I enjoyed the Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade. Enjoyable and relaxing.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

azngirl56

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

i thougth the serenade will be in each boat but otherwise it was fun. need to explain more on the tour

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Sheri D

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The gondola ride was fabulous. The only thing is, if you are not on one of the Gondolas closer to the singer you don't hear him. If you are lucky enough you will be the ones on the Gondola with the singer and accordion player. Expensive for a serenade

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

Sara S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The gondoliers were rude, and unpleasant. They were an hour behind schedule, and all they seemed to care about was tipping them at the end when the short ride was over. Serenade was nice, but not worth what I paid.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade

zita

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The gondola ride is a must see if you're in Venice, its more for the experience. I found the ride rather short, approx. 20 minutes. I did not expect the serenade to be shared with another 8-10 gondolas as the voice, although good and strong, sometimes sounded in the far distance. The ushers at the entry port were a little rude and we had to wait until we got back from the gondola ride for quite a ride to find out which restaurant our dinner was at. Food at the restaurant was good but they did hurry us up a bit. A bit of mixed emotions on this one, was a little disappointing as our previous tours during the day were really great.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Danielle H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Very disappointed. Waited over an hour even though we arrived 15 minutes prior to departure. Gondola drivers more interested in telling jokes and laughing at the 100 mer long line whilst smoking.. Do not book. The serenade is divided between 4 gondolas and seats are completely cramped. Keep crashing into adjacent Gonda - force-no relaxation. And uncomfortable. They didn't even, Balance the gondola so, My mother in law was constantly wet from passing boats. Terrible shame but the dinner was excellent n inviting.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message