Venice's annual Carnival is a celebration known for elaborate masks and costumes, street theater, and indulgence in the form of food and wine. Take full advantage of being in town during this special time of year (February 11–28) by booking a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1299 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

april.streets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This tour was absolutely amazing. Our guide, Simona, was the BEST! She had tons of information about the neighborhoods, the food, each of the places we stopped, Italian wine. I consider this tour a MUST for anyone traveling to Venice. We would absolutely do this tour again if we are ever back in Venice.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

N Robert C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The architecture and history vividly reveals the customs, skills, wisdom, and laws of the day. We highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

Katherine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour from start to finish. It was easy to find the tour group - even in the busy St. Mark's square. The headsets worked throughout - which was helpful for me as I walk slower with a cane and often cannot keep up with the rest of the tour group. However, I could still hear everything that was being said so didn't miss out on anything. Plus, the tour guide was simply amazing. She had all sorts of information that really made the tour come alive - I felt I was back in the 1600s as we travelled through the Doge's Palace. The tour of the Basilica was simply breathtaking. So nice to hear the Christian perspective on how and why the church was laid out as it is. I would HIGHLY recommend this tour. DO NOT go through these sites without a tour guide. You simply miss out on too much and it won't do justice to what you see.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

Katherine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a MUST tour when in Venice. It was easy to find the tour guide even in the busy St. Mark's Square. The tour guide was simply amazing and had LOTS of interesting information to make the sites come alive. I felt that I was back in Venice in the 1600s visiting the Doge. The headsets worked perfectly and were very comfortable to wear. I walk slower as I use a cane and am often left behind in tours. But with the headset, I could hear everything and didn't feel that I missed out on anything. I loved the St. Mark's Basilica and the tour guides ability to explain what we were seeing through a Christian lens. Very respectful. DO NOT go through these sites without this tour to help you understand the magnificence of what you are seeing.You even get a bonus tour of the museum in the square. Which was truly amazing. Well worth every single penny!!!

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

JOSEPH K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The information provided was detailed and helpful, providing a greater understanding of these two places in the history of Venezia. The ticket to get into the Doge's Palace was useful to get into other museums in the San Marco area. You didn't need to do the other museums on the same day as the ticket was good for a longer period of time, but only one entry into each place. You can't go back to the same place twice on a single ticket.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

Carla T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic tour, our guide was incredibly knowledgeable on the history of Venice, so was able to provide many insights that we would not have gained if we did not do this tour. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

ANN F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

a well worth tour with a very knowledgeable and charming guide. two amazing places and no queuing was a tremendous bonus

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Best Way to Experience Food and Wine in Venice the way the locals do. The Tour Guide was extremely informative. She provided history on the island, landmarks, people and food. She gave tips on how to best do Venice. She's Venetian but spoke excellent English, making our experience super easy. If you're a foodie and you enjoy tasting new beverages this tour is a must do!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Kinzie Winfield

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We loved this tour, we have been to Venice probably close to 10 times and this was by far the best experience yet! You get a more local look at Venice, touring bars that have been around forever! The food is mostly seafood, but the tour guide is happy to make dietary and preference changes for you! We had Simona and she was so sweet and friendly and knowledgable about Venice! Would highly recommend! Worth every penny!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

gfwaters

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Mastering cicchetti is important for any extended stay in Venice. This tour took out some of the mystery so it was very worthwhile.
Our tour guide, Elisabetta, struck a good balance providing good information and commentary. Other useful learnings - how to take the traghetto.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Isobel G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The tour was really interesting the only snag was our guide had a very strong accent and it was difficult at times to understand her! She also rather laboured on the history of St Marks, we ended up paying after our tour ended to see more of the building! I just felt that we didn't really get to see everything that was available on this tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

JANSEN FANG HUR T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Tour guide was good and knowlegable. Very polite and punctual. Tour guide pace was a little fast to cover and allow for photo taking, perhaps time allocated for tour to be more comfortable if it was extended or planned for an additional 1/2 hr longer. Could be improved to allow for toilet breaks as we pass by the toilet area in the Doge Palace twice.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

Robert F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

This tour was not a tour it's essentially an overpriced water taxi in Venice. I must add the caveat that I did not read the extra info that the last boat was at 3:30 p.m and it was clearly stated. However, the tour was unlike other hop on hop off tours I have taken. There was no narration and the boat sounded like it was about to break down. The dock was extremely hard to find based on the map provided with the voucher. Also when boarding at the first stop the boarding ramp is at about a 60 degree angle and very slick. If you have any kind of physical limitation you should not take this tour. Venice has a water taxi system that is cheaper and runs on a much more reliable schedule. I would not recommend this tour to anyone based on my experience.

Doing what: Venice City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alex M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

I was very disappointed. Even though we had skip the line access we had to wait another 30 minutes in line once the tour started to enter Doge and #39;s Palace. Our tour guide, Ilaria,was horrible; very boring. The listening devices also make it very hard to hear the tour guide.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

Reynie A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

We did the Gondola Ride at 3:30PM, completed around 4:15PM. We did not get any good directions nor a voucher for the restaurant. We arrived at the restaurant around 4:45PM because it was difficult to locate, and the restaurant was closed. We waited until 5:15PM and it was still closed. We had prearrange plans for after the dinner, so could not wait longer. Very disappointed, ruined our anniversary evening!

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

Gwen H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Skip it. I usually love the Red City Sightseeing HOHO tours but this one was disappointing. There were only a few stops and the audio was over the speaker system and was hard to hear, especially when more than half the passengers were talking plus the sound of the engine.

Doing what: Venice City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Qurratulain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's pretty good if you want to get from one place to another and the guide was informative.

Doing what: Venice City Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was our second time a year later taking the exact same tour. The tour visited five cicchetti bars in the Rialto area following a walk through Canareggio, a more residential and less crowded neighborhood. Our guide was personable and helpful to all. The cicchetti are what locals snack on mid-day and delicious. Our guide asked about dietary restrictions and was largely able to accommodate preferences, such as those who don't like seafood. Overall the variety was great and my husband and I found everything delicious. The wines were different at each stop and we found a couple we really liked! The day we toured there was a strike of most public transportation so the vaporetti weren't running. That made getting to the meeting point take longer on foot but didn't impact the tour itself or the Grand Canale crossing that is part of the tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a GREAT tour! Our tour guide was not only knowledgeable, but was FUN and told some great side stories about the palace and St. Marks. If we had had more time, we would have taken another tour with the same guide specifically to see the horses. The only negative comment I can make was that we went in December, it was cold, and we didn't realize that the buildings wouldn't be heated. So... the tour was a little chilly. That being said, the tour was worth it to stand in the cold. I would strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

Frank S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was unexpectably a fantastic tour! We enjoyed every minute and wished it wouldn't end. The cicchetti were different and delicious and Elizebetta was an outstanding guide. We loved this tour so much we are doing it again next Summer when we return to Venice!

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Richard A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We were late and unable to redeem our voucher at that the time, but the Viator vendor worked with us and allowed us to redeem for the next the day without any penalty or extra cost. Thanks a lot for understanding. I suggest not being late though, arrive at least 15minutes early.
Adriano, our gondolier was most entertaining and very knowledgeable about Venice. Showed us some of the more ancient buildings and even where some of Venice elite live.

Doing what: Venice Gondola Ride and Serenade with Dinner

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour experience was great, and our guide was very knowledgeable about the Palace and St Marks Cathedral. My only issue was that near the end, the talk about the Cathedral seemed to drag on a bit. But if that is what you are interested in hearing about no complaints. Overall excellent tour.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! Our guide was knowledgeable and shared plenty of information about the Palace and Cathedral. I felt that during the Cathedral portion of the tour, some things seemed to drag on a bit too long in her explanations, but if you are interested enough it was all good information. Would certainly recommend.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was great tour and guide was knowledgable and friendly. This one is a must.

Doing what: Skip The Line: St Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace Tours

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I would do this again. Will be visiting Venice next year and I will be booking this trip. Total highlight of our week. The guide was nothing short of amazing and ensured we had a fabulous time. We loved her! Met the most amazing people during this tour and we really bonded. The memories from this tour will stay with us forever. Food and wine awesome. My husband hates wine and I thought I would get his but no he loved them all. Obviously Venice has the best wine! Let them know in advance if you have any food intolerances or allergies and they will cater for you. Advise at time of booking and tell guide at the beginning of the tour. Superb value for money. Don't hesitate in booking this tour.

Doing what: Venice Food Tour: Cicchetti and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message