While historic Venice itself is enough to make your trip worthwhile, if you have any love of wine at all you should take the opportunity to head inland for a day or so and see where those whites and reds you like to drink come from. The Veneto area ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide Marco was very informative and really knew the area and the wines. All 4 of us totally enjoyed the day with him. He took us out to the Valdobbiadene I believe that's the right name wine region. Had a great lunch at a local restaurant in a small town, the food was fantastic. We were very lucky to make the last tour of the season. One day later and we would have missed it. It is definitely a must do while in Venice. Once small complaint was that the directions from Viator to find Marco at the Tronchetto were not that clear. We did of course find him and he was there waiting on us. It is really a great tour!!.

Doing what: Private Tour: Prosecco Wine Tasting Day Trip with Lunch from Venice

George S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent tour from Venice. It took a little over an hour to get to the winery. Met the owner of the winery and then took a tour of their process ending with a wine tasting of their wines. We then proceeded to Verona where we had several hours to have lunch and visit a few of Verona's sites. Our tour guide was excellent and very personable. We spend 2 weeks in Europe and this was one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend this tour if you are interested in wine.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

jkhgwh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent outdoor location. very good meal and wine, a lot of food. Keep in mind that this is really not a group event. We sat at a table by ourselves as did the other three people that did this event.

Doing what: Veneto Wine and Dinner Pairing in Venice

selinagodfrey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Don't miss this tour. Simone our tour guide was wonderful, helpful and a joy to travel with! Verona is beautiful and the wine tasting was great, especially if you like Amarone wine. We bought 3 good bottles but will only take 2 home...lol

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Arlan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Marco was super in arranging our wine tasting to two wineries and the Lunch was memorable because it really was local cuisine with homemade real Italian foods. The owner chef provided high quality food with really so much to eat and the bottle of wine was great with the meal. This was an all day fun filled tour which we will remember always.

Doing what: Private Tour: Prosecco Wine Tasting Day Trip with Lunch from Venice

Gail B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful scenery, fantastic guide and lovely company. The wine wasn't bad either!. Actually Villa Spinossa was a dream, all that Amarone waiting to be drunk, and we loved helping.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Gillian D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really wonderful tour. March was very informative and we had a lovely day. He was very patient with our broken Italian that we were practising on him. The two wineries we visited were very nice and we risked being overweight in our luggage by buying a couple of bottles of prosecco which we cannot get at home.
Would not hesitate to recommend this tour and being personally guided by Marco was a treat.

Doing what: Private Tour: Prosecco Wine Tasting Day Trip with Lunch from Venice

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour on a hot but nice July day. Stefano was waiting for us when we got off the water taxi and it was just our family of three and him this day. We drove for about 40 minutes and reached the town of Soave, where we had 30 minutes to walk up to the castle and back. It would have been nice to have a little more time but the wine tasting at Serego Alighieri required us to be punctual. The wine guide was very informative and the place was beautiful. After that we drove on to Verona and had some 2.5 hours on our own there. Stefano told us the touristy things to avoid and we had a great time exploring with lunch on our own. All in all, a great trip!

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Benjamin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My wife and I had a great experience with this trip. The church they take you to is really cool, and the winery was as well. I am somewhat of a wine snob, and I really liked their wine. Our guide was very friendly and spoke at least 3 languages.

I agree with some of the other reviews that said that 3 hours in Verona is too long, but that might only be that it was so hot that we just wanted to be back in air conditioning, so we weren't interested in seeing very much we went in July. All in all, it was a great trip, I would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very nice, the guide knowledgeable and helpful. Verona is quaint and cute and the winery was very good, too.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Dnporter66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The food, staff and atmosphere were all exceptional.

The staff took the time to explain the wine pairings and the portion size was more than sufficient.

Great experienced.

Doing what: Veneto Wine and Dinner Pairing in Venice

Tim D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Another fantastic trip with a great guide. We thouroughly enjoyed our trip to Verona and loved the wine! Both our driver and our wine expert at Spinosa were very knowledgeble and personable. A real joy to experience.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Lorna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was the high lite of our trip. Marco picked us up on time and we had a great drive out to the Valdobbiadene wine region. We had the owners/wine makers of each vineyard give us a private tour. Marco took us to lunch at a very cozy restaurant in a tiny town near the vineyards and the lunch was fabulous. This is a must do tour when visiting Venice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Prosecco Wine Tasting Day Trip with Lunch from Venice

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I could easily have skipped the first stop, the very old church at the top of the hill, but it did have amazing views of the surrounding countryside from across the street. The winery and the tour guide were excellent! We tasted 3 wines. I bought 6 bottles and shipped them home. Three hours in Verona is enough. We ate lunch, we walked around, we toured inside a church or two, but the best site was the ancient Roman arena which pre-dates the Colosseum, which I didn't know about.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Thomas V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this was an absolutely excellent trip! we have toured many vineyards, including Bordeaux, and we learned more at this one than anywhere else! our guide at the vineyard Marta was knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the wines and the wine-making process. she is also a sommelier, which added to her excellent presentations and our understanding of the wines. not to mention, the wines were really excellent! the vineyard itself was gorgeous and we loved learning its history and evolution.
our trip to Verona gave us plenty of time to have lunch and do our own walking tour. it is a beautiful town, with lots of locals, not just a tourist destination.
we really appreciated our guide Stefano. he was informative about the region and it's history, as well as the wines. we also loved that he offered an alternate quick stop at the town of Soave to see an ancient castle, in place of the planned scenic stop to see the mountains all of those on the tour had either been to the dolomites, or had a trip scheduled that week. he did a great job!
we had several tours during our 2 weeks in Italy-- this one was our favorite!!

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Louis B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Well paced visit to Valpolicella winery and Verona - nice day

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

lawtk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a tour not to be missed. My only recommendation would be to put the wine tasting in the afternoon and the Verona visit in the morning. The tour was excellent and the vineyard was a real treat.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Terrance M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Highly recommended given our experience. Great winery and driver treated us superbly. Provided a map of Verano which helped. He was very knowledgeable of the areas we traveled. Verano was beautiful.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Suresh G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well arranged. Very good guide and transportation. Excellent visit to vineyard with good wine tasting.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Jan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Good wine good food and a explanation of each wine.

Doing what: Evening Wine Tasting Experience in Venice

Kathleen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There were 3 stops on this tour and they were all delightful. Our first stop was at a small, walled town and we were lucky enough to be there on market day. The winery tour was beautiful and very interesting, and the wines we tasted were excellent. Verona had some different things to see too. It was a nice get away from the bigger cities.

Doing what: Valpolicella Day Trip from Venice: Wine Tasting and Verona

Judith F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My name is Christine Forth and this was a gift from my sister in law for me and my husband. The evening was a great success and we both thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Claudio was our wine expert and he was spot on with each wine for each course. The restaurant was quite unique and the staff were lovely. we will remember our visit for ever and would love to do it all over again one day.

Doing what: Veneto Wine and Dinner Pairing in Venice

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highlite of our trip? Wine was great, food at lunch was out of this world! Mario is amazing!
Try and fit this in, it is well worth it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Prosecco Wine Tasting Day Trip with Lunch from Venice

Matt C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had such a great time! The information about the grapes and wine we had and his professional nature and personality was worth every penny! Look forward to that experience again! He was fantastic, and the food was perfect

Doing what: Veneto Wine and Dinner Pairing in Venice

peterfcoxhead

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful meal with delicious wines selected and discussed by the sommelier.
We would do this activity again

Doing what: Veneto Wine and Dinner Pairing in Venice

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message