Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Bassin de Neptune

Versailles’ chateau gardens are vast, laid out in formal French style and famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths and, notably, their ponds. Of all the lovely fountain pools gracing the Versailles gardens, the Bassin de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1314 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rilde1313

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality and length of this tour. For the price, I expected a very short tour and just a skip the line entry. But our tour guide, a Louvre guard as well, was vastly knowledgeable about the Palace. We strolled past endless crowds of people and walked right inside. From there, our guide spent about 1.5 hours showing us all the Palace has to offer and sharing tons of valuable information. Even through the insane crowds of people inside, he made this a great experience. After, you are free to walk the gardens at no charge.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Luna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

cmhelm7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Got to know an great group of people on the tour and during lunch. Bypassing the long lines allowed us more time and the behind the scenes tour was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Hetali L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our train was running late coming from the city - so we actually missed the 10:15 guided tour we were supposed to get - but the local staff were kind enough to put us on another tour time so we were still able to take advantage of the 'skip the line' and see everything ourselves. Plan ahead and come early - it's a marvelous place!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Kenton P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome guide and day at the Castle. Highly recommend this to all!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

mitchell J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

great guide ann claire, highly informative,

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

Peter M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It is a necessity to have this pass. The tour company is very organized and our guide brought us to the Palace, navigated the many guides present and ensured we had our tickets and functioning audioguides. I recommend getting the full park pass to see the other palaces and gardens.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Versailles Pass

Bryce P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Nikolas, our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the place, and gave us a great tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Rebecca H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An amazing experience with a very good guide. Thanks,

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Gary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was wonderful. He whisked us up into the Hall of Mirrors so we would get there early. When our group arrived there were only 2 other people there. Perfect! We came back later by ourselves and it was very busy. He was incredibly well informed, a true enthusiast and very French, which all added to the experience. We visited in December so I wasn't sure we really needed 3 hours int he gardens, it turned out that 4 hours would have been better! This is the wa to see Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Stefanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Versaille was breathtaking! Every nook and cranny in this building was totally glammed out. It's worth having a tour guide explain the history of each room to you - it makes the tour that much more interesting. What I was a little let down by is that when we visited Dec 2016 the area of Versaille that was for Marie Antoinette was all under renovation, so we could not view it. Because of this, it seems like we spoke a lot of about Louis XIV, Louis XV, but not so much about the last tenants Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette -- nor the French Revolution all that much. The ticket only covered the chateau - so we walked out to go see Antoinette's Hamlet, which this too was under renovation but we were still able to see most of the other buildings in Hamlet. It's totally understandable that the area needs to be under renovation to keep everything in tack - i guess I'll just have to visit again when it's completed - maybe this time in Spring/Summer to really see the gardens at their peak beauty.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

michellelewien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guides were absolutely amazing..! Loved this trip! Worth every cent, highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

chrism.ruff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, just enough time to see the inside. We also did the garden trolley tour, just amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

dianeronshelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic! What a place, what a story. But it wouldn't have been that outstanding without the history behind this beautiful castle. So much history, so wonderfully told. Can't say enough about our viator tour to Versailles...professional through out , right on time, knowledgeable, very experienced, even accomodated us with a different, closer drop-off point for our way to our home. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful Versailles. How lucky were we , the sun shone and there was just us on the tour , heaven .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Kelleye B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I have to admit, that while we took this tour in 2012 and LOVED it, we were unable to make it to this tour this time due to a terrible mishap. The company however was GREAT about it, and when we explained we'd had to miss it as we were at the US Embassy they were very understanding. So the tour was wonderful in 2012, and the tour company was outstanding in 2016.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Naomi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a wonderful tour, I recommend doing the tour first then exploring around the Gardens. I wasn't able to make it over to Marie Antoinette's estate not included in tour in time before it closed, so I definitely plan on returning in the future.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Maria F. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Versailles. Didn't have to wait much in line. OUr tour guide, Ana Sophie was great and very helpful. If you can, takle advantge of the rental golf carts that they have outside in the gardens. Its about 40euros for 1 hour. You can see the other gardens as well. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

JLC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic!!!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

David Guayasami G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Palace and Gardens at Versailles are an experience like none other in the world. Its overwhelming, frankly, and equally stunning. You'll be musing about your experience for weeks later. Our guide Katherine was engaging, caring and knowledgeable -- fellow US travelers, you should tip your guide at least 20 euros, because isnt a a guided one-in-a-lifetime experience worth a 20 euro gratuity?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour from Versailles

june chang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience with small group that allow us to skip the Q and also private viewing of the Royal Quarters.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour worth the expense to see the real Versailles given by passionate citizens. Was late for first tour due to lateness of flight and company adjusted tour time. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Carine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Uitstekende gids. Ze kende heel wat leuke anekdotes waardoor je een goed beeld krijgt van het leven in die tijd. We vermeden zo ook de lange wachtrijen voor het kopen van een ticket. Na de rondleiding konden we meteen een bezoek brengen aan de tuinen.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Barbara L c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was fun .informative and nice people .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour from Versailles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message