Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Bassin de Neptune

Versailles’ chateau gardens are vast, laid out in formal French style and famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths and, notably, their ponds. Of all the lovely fountain pools gracing the Versailles gardens, the Bassin de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1241 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roberto L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice, even the driver had a good historical knowledge of versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Bob and Michele United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Private room viewing was wonderful. Being out of the crowd with special access and routes made the visit more enjoyable. Was astonished by by the crowd when we left the tour, so this is the tour to take. Having a private driver from Paris made travel so easy. Lunch in the garden under the canopy of trees was cool, relaxing, and the food was good.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The ticket was a very good value. We took the RER C-I think from right around the corner from our apartment. The train ride was easy and relatively short, and it was pretty easy to find the chateau from the train station. We were very happy that the ticket included audio, because the audio clips in each room made the visit so much more meaningful. The rooms were all very crowded, but it didn't keep us from seeing what we wanted. It was very interesting to see just how 'over the top' every detail of every room was - especially while so much of France was starving. No wonder the final royal couple lost their heads!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Paula E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful time. We missed the meeting place. When we called they were happy to arrange a meetup at the palace. Our guide got us right in and found the best spots inside to tell us anout each room. She was delightful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Francesa our guide was amazing she was knowable about all that we asked. She was attentive to our needs and very friendly.

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour and well worth the visit. We took the train to Versailles and it is quite easy. This is something worth seeing.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Teresa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My grand Daughter loved the Palace of Versailles but dont use viator to buy your tickets - for us it was a waste of money - although the tickets said entry to the Palace they were not honoured and we had to line up and buy more tickets - my grand daughter is sick so we wanted to not have to waste time in a line - the Palace is a must see - a wonderful day out

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Guides were very knowledgeable and approachable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Carol W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Versailles is a must-see. Guide was very knowledgeable and informative.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Murray M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was excellent, moving us through the rooms in the best way to avoid the crowds. It was great to hear the history and meaning of the Palace and I would definitely recommend this tour to help you enjoy your visit to Versailles.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Ronald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was well worth the additional expense. We saw numerous rooms that were otherwise not available to tourists. Our group of 16 were the only ones in these rooms when visiting them, making the tour live up to the private tour advertising a highly significant advantage in such a popular attraction. The docent who led the tour was remarkably knowledgeable about French history, able to answer questions about the intricacies of the French monarchy and society. The tour of the chateau began with gaining admission through a side door and away from the masses congregated at the gates. Following the tour, we enjoyed the gardens and, especially, the fountain displays coordinated with classical music. Be certain to select the day you go carefully if you wish to witness those displays, since they are offered only select days during the week. This was one of the best things we did during our Paris trip, even if it was the most expensive. It was a great value.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Mitzi A. Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour went super smooth. We met up at the Tour office across from the train station and were walked directly into Versailles. If you wanted, you could get an audio tour set but we chose not to as this was not our first visit. Our tour was at 12:30pm and when we arrived there really was no line, so did we need skip the line...probably not but I have waited over 2 hours in the blazing heat in the past. For me, this was worth taking the chance.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Special Versailles Chateau Tour

Prach S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Need it to avoid the crowd... Do not queue in front...

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Prach S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Need it to avoid the crowd... Do not queue in front...

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Jet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fascinating, interesting! Tour guide was excellent. The small group and the private viewing of the Royal Quarters made it extra special and easier being away from the crowds. Next time I would stay overnight in Versailles to have more time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Stuart G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you, your follow up to my booking and our visit to Versailles were faultless!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Pamela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We knew we would not be able to see everything in one day, so bought a two day passport. This was good value for money. The queue to get into the Palace was very long but moved fairly quickly.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

beautiful place and we were able to walk on our own and explore!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Mary Beth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience -- I highly recommend the Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Vivian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved it. Had a great commentary to and from the site. Versailles was fabulous. It met my expectations.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lynette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would highly recommend the Skip the Line Tour. Just the fact of being able to skip the line is fantastic when you realise that you could spend hours just waiting in line to get in so it's worth it on that basis alone. Apart from that the tour gave us a really good look at the gardens and the palace itself. We could have stayed on afterwards to explore more of the gardens if we'd chosen to. The guide on the day was brilliant - very informative, funny, kept us moving but not in a way that felt hurried or hassled. Excellent value for money and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Carol F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The guide was good, but a bit slow, also though not his fault, a lot of the rooms are not open. Also unless you pay for the cart or train, getting around can be a challenge. However, the Versailles is truly an amazing palace, which should not be missed by anyone, and well worth the trip. I went by train which was so easy. The opulance, grandeur, art works, etc are absolutely amazing. Carol August 2016

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Clotilde was great. Very knowledgeable and very pleasant. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour greatly exceeded our expectations. Clotilde was an excellent guide and made a busy day at Versailles enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Aamir B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Some walking required but totally worth it. get a guided tour for sure.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour from Versailles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message