Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Bassin de Neptune

Versailles’ chateau gardens are vast, laid out in formal French style and famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths and, notably, their ponds. Of all the lovely fountain pools gracing the Versailles gardens, the Bassin de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide and we enjoyed the entire experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Edgar A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Experience , on time, great service

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Jon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was great! She was fun, energetic and very knowledgeable. She made sure everyone in the group could see and hear throughout the tour it was very crowded. and she even waited for my daughter and I when we our train was delayed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Jennifer O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great from beginning to end. The trip in the bus to Versailles was easy and we immediately stepped into a coffee shop for coffee and croissants. They even had hot chocolate for my 11 year old son. Then it was off to Versailles. Our tour guide from Versailles, Ann, kept us moving and provided just the right amount of information. She took us to places that others not in a guided tour didn't get to go to. We didn't have to wait in lines either. After the tour, we had a few hours to roam the beautiful gardens and have a nice lunch. This tour was worth the cost in terms of what we were able to see, the great guides and no lines. I highly recommend the tour. It was one of the highlights of our vacation.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ec926

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! We were a small group of six so it was even better. We had a nice driver/guide who brought us to Versailles and turned us over to a really wonderful guide who shared his knowledge of the palace and France's history with us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Martin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour and the guide we had was fantastic, she really did love the place and made the tour very enjoyable

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour from Versailles

ravipotharlanka United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome, awesome, awesome. Great value for the money. Wonderful way of seeing the large garden areas, and it was nice to be envied by others as we zoomed past them -:
Great guide and friendly.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fabulous -- being able to see many rooms that are not open to the general public royal quarters, the opera, the chapel -- which can only be seen by the general public from behind a rope, while we were able to walk thru the chapel, up to the altar, etc. My only complaint was that it wasn't long enough -- I'd have liked to spent the entire day there, versus only a half day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Richard G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worthwhile getting the skip the line tickets. It was great to be able to zoom by the long line waiting to purchase tickets to enter the Chateau.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Versailles Pass

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Such a treat to be picked up outside of our apartment and escorted right to Versailles. Our guide was incredibly informed and brought our visit to a higher level. My only issue is the half day tour doesn't allow enough time to visit Maria Antoinette's apartment so check beforehand exactly what your tour will include.

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

DAVID WILLIAM B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide was absolutely great, he was on time and took time during the excursion to explain everything, after the palace he took us down to park at the bottom, he was extremely well educated in his knowledge of the Bourbons and the French aristocracies and their extravagant way of lifestyle, the tour of the American exhibitions was great but a little too quick. Glad I made the booking through this web site and have strongly recommended it through another site. It was great to get through all the crowds, the tour was made simple, but the gardens should have been included in the price!

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was worth every penny to skip the lines (which were enormous!) and have a small group tour with a docent who knew everything about Versailles! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Rohit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Clothilde was an excellent guide...she was humorous, knowledgeable, fiercely protective of the group's space to ensure all of us had good views of the exhibits. The tour is a bit short as it does not cover the Queen's apartment and Trianon. The group size was at the maximum 30 people but Clothilde ensured that all questions were answered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Gabriela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Love this self - guided audio tour. Got to see a lot of Versailles at our own pace. Highly recommended taking this tout, and avoid the large tour groups.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Versailles Pass

lordcbjohnson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guides were great. We had one who gave us a tour of the city of Versailles and the outside grounds of the palace. Our other, Francesca, was AMAZING inside. She was super knowledgeable and she kept our three small children entertained as well. If you can get her as a guide you'll be very pleased.

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

ROBERT C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

ABSOLUTELY WORTH EVERY PENNY. SAVED US OVER TWO HOURS IN HOT SUN IN LINE. WE WERE ESCORTED RIGHT IN AND HAD THE BEST SPOT IN EVERY CROWDED ROOM. GUIDE WAS TOP NOTCH. PALACE AND GARDENS ARE A MUST SEE.DON'T MISS THIS TOUR OR THE CHARMING TOWN OF VERSAILLES.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Versailles is magnificent, and our tour guide gave us a detailed view of what life was like in the castle.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Marilyn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gorgeous night of fountains, bubbles, fire fountains, mists and classical music amongst countless flowers and tall mysterious trees. Definitely do this if you can!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a magical experience. To see the fountains play is to enjoy one of the wonders of the world. I would recommend any visitor to make this the centre of their trip to Versailles. Sensational!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

johnnav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Paulina our guide was excellent and did her best to keep us together during the tour in a very busy Versailles. The 90 minute your was very informative and a great introduction before we went off on our own to explore. Would definitely recommend as we missed the long lines!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Kuanghua H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We love it. The tour guide is nice and knowledgeble.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Grisham P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience! Our guide, Gustabo, I think that was his name was very informative and made the visit to Versailles really come alive! The fact that we didn't need to find transportation and stand in line for tickets was great.

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

Renata S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Pricey, but worth it. Advice: take the morning tour - you will be one of the first people in the palace and you can enjoy the Hall of Mirrors without huge crowds. Then, you can skip the pick up at 2:30 and spend the whole day exploring the HUGE property. There is a train back or ask your guide.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Annmarie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed the tour with our guide Clotilde who was charming and informative. Great time!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message