Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Bassin de Neptune

Versailles’ chateau gardens are vast, laid out in formal French style and famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths and, notably, their ponds. Of all the lovely fountain pools gracing the Versailles gardens, the Bassin de ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1293 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kelleye B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I have to admit, that while we took this tour in 2012 and LOVED it, we were unable to make it to this tour this time due to a terrible mishap. The company however was GREAT about it, and when we explained we'd had to miss it as we were at the US Embassy they were very understanding. So the tour was wonderful in 2012, and the tour company was outstanding in 2016.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Naomi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a wonderful tour, I recommend doing the tour first then exploring around the Gardens. I wasn't able to make it over to Marie Antoinette's estate not included in tour in time before it closed, so I definitely plan on returning in the future.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Maria F. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great way to see Versailles. Didn't have to wait much in line. OUr tour guide, Ana Sophie was great and very helpful. If you can, takle advantge of the rental golf carts that they have outside in the gardens. Its about 40euros for 1 hour. You can see the other gardens as well. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

JLC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic!!!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guide was excellent!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

David Guayasami G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Palace and Gardens at Versailles are an experience like none other in the world. Its overwhelming, frankly, and equally stunning. You'll be musing about your experience for weeks later. Our guide Katherine was engaging, caring and knowledgeable -- fellow US travelers, you should tip your guide at least 20 euros, because isnt a a guided one-in-a-lifetime experience worth a 20 euro gratuity?

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour from Versailles

june chang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience with small group that allow us to skip the Q and also private viewing of the Royal Quarters.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour worth the expense to see the real Versailles given by passionate citizens. Was late for first tour due to lateness of flight and company adjusted tour time. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Carine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Uitstekende gids. Ze kende heel wat leuke anekdotes waardoor je een goed beeld krijgt van het leven in die tijd. We vermeden zo ook de lange wachtrijen voor het kopen van een ticket. Na de rondleiding konden we meteen een bezoek brengen aan de tuinen.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Barbara L c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was fun .informative and nice people .

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour from Versailles

Roma S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great time we had at Versailles. We had a wonderful guide but I can't remember his name unfortunately. He was so informative and explained in great detail. We saw the main rooms and the Hall of Mirrors.
Great not to have to queue to enter Versailles.
Outside we walked right down to the fountain and the forest, I had been there in 1999 but didn't walk as far down then.
It was such a lovely afternoon and I would recommend this tour to all.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an amazing tour!!!!!!! The price is well worth the money. Our driver out to Versailles was fantastic. She was able to tell us a lot about the palace before we arrived. We had a light breakfast at a small cafe across the street which was a great way to start the day. This tour enables you to see areas of the palace that are not open to the public. Our tour guide was VERY knowledgable about Versailles and she was very happy to field questions along the way. After the tour, we were given three hours to roam the gardens. We thought that seemed like a long time, but there is so much to see outside of the palace. If you are even thinking about this tour DO IT!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Angela E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The best tour of Versailles I've had and this was my 5th visit! If you can get Paulette you'll be entertained and informed by one of the most professional and friendly tour guides in France. No trip to Paris is complete without this wonderful tour. Our guide narrated the story of Versailles like no one I'd ever seen!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Heather L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour guide Paulina was especially great. She did an amazing job making it interesting for my two 11 year olds as well. If we had walked through that enormous and decorative palace without a guide we would have missed so much and not enjoyed it as well. Skipping the line was great too. However when he tour was finished around 3pm there was no longer a line. The commentary was worth it's weight in gold!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Jim J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our trip to Versailles was wonderful. There was a little confusion getting the guide to the hotel but once he arrived we were very impressed. Gustav was a very friendly and knowledgable guide. If you can get him as your guide to Versailles you will definitely come away very well informed as well as having had a really enjoyable, stress free visit!!

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

Chanelie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Pauline was super friendly and highly knowledgeable of the history! We are so happy that we decided to try this as we would most likely not appreciate the Palace of Versailles the way Pauline explained it to us.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Wendy Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing, loved the fireworks and fountains show. Perfect evening for seeing the Versailles gardens

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Pauline was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Megan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Gustavo, was amazing. Friendly, knowledgeable, a history major, and gave a very unique perspective on the background of the kings of France and how their time played into French history and culture. The 4 hour tour was perfect if you're just trying to hit the highlights.

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

Edwin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The private tour was very good.
Driver on-line and very accommodating.
His inside knowledge made the tour much more educational than the standard walk thru.
Recommend you take the morning tour, as crowds got significantly larger as day progressed.
Well worth the money over the standard tours.

Doing what: Versailles 4-hour Private Guided Tour with Hotel Pickup

Helen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Clothilde was a great guide, she was very knowledgable and kept us all interested throughout the whole tour, us adults to our 3 boys aged 11 - 14

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Larissa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing !! Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. She told us a lot about the monarchy who lived in the palace that we wouldn and #39;t have otherwise known about if we and #39;d chosen to walk through on our own. It was great to skip the line and have a small group for this very interesting tour.

Doing what: Skip-the-line Versailles Classic

Jessica J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The gardens and fountain tour are a must. We saw them with the music playing...Its definitely not to be missed. The palace tour was ho hum, but the gardens were by far the best part. Late September was beautiful there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Tour from Versailles

applehazar USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was fantastic. Pickup place looked a little seedy. no water as advertised Private tour is the only way to go. Crowds at the palace are overwhelming and the looks on their faces when our group was escorted through locked doors was priceless. We went to completely empty rooms no tourists

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was an amazing trip and the guide was fantastic. We loved every minute of it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message