The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1940 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The ticket was a very good value. We took the RER C-I think from right around the corner from our apartment. The train ride was easy and relatively short, and it was pretty easy to find the chateau from the train station. We were very happy that the ticket included audio, because the audio clips in each room made the visit so much more meaningful. The rooms were all very crowded, but it didn't keep us from seeing what we wanted. It was very interesting to see just how 'over the top' every detail of every room was - especially while so much of France was starving. No wonder the final royal couple lost their heads!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Gary N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We highly recommend this tour, led by Lucile. She picked us up on time, navigated the traffic, and provided clear instructions about the day's tour. Her background knowledge of French history was thorough--she was able to field all of our questions expertly. It was a great getaway day trip from Paris.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

HELEN W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful day. Our guide Natasha was bright and bubbly and full of information. Her instructions were clear re meeting places etc. and she was always close to guide us and was very knowledgable. Lunch was an added bonus. Would thoroughly record this our

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Lisa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great day! This was a fantastic way to see Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Michelle N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous day. Our guide Daniele was amazing. He was very inclusive and helpful and made sure everyone was comfortable and happy.
I just kept thinking, there is no way I could walk around Versailles and visit the Palace on foot. We would have been so limited in what we could see. The day was absolutely perfect. Thank you 'Fat Tire Company' and a BIG thank you 'Daniele'

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Teresa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My grand Daughter loved the Palace of Versailles but dont use viator to buy your tickets - for us it was a waste of money - although the tickets said entry to the Palace they were not honoured and we had to line up and buy more tickets - my grand daughter is sick so we wanted to not have to waste time in a line - the Palace is a must see - a wonderful day out

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

mw1642

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved this tour. Daniel was an amazing tour guide. Scenery was amazing. Would definitely recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the loveliest day! Our guide was smart and fun and easy to bike with. The outdoor market was unbelievable! The toughest part was what to buy! The biking on the grounds at Versailles was just beautiful. I would recommend this wonderful bike ride to anyone!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Stuart G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you, your follow up to my booking and our visit to Versailles were faultless!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Pamela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We knew we would not be able to see everything in one day, so bought a two day passport. This was good value for money. The queue to get into the Palace was very long but moved fairly quickly.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Michelle J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Absolutely loved this tour with Johnny. He gave us so much interesting information. Entertaining history. He took photos for us and was cheerful and helpful.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Wstrain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous experience. Would do again Lucille, our tour guide was a wealth of information.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

beautiful place and we were able to walk on our own and explore!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Lisa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I did the bicycle tour of Versailles and it was really fun. It was the best way to see Versailles for sure. There are a lot of tourists there so we were able to get around much better and see much more by bicycle. If your thinking about doing it then go for it, I definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Tara Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

THE BEST. All I can say is that if you are a fan of Versaille, just do it. Our tour guide was amazing, lunch was delicious, our group was fun.....it was worth every penny and for sure a highlight of our trip. It was my birthday as well. Our tour guide was understanding when my husband wandered off and held us up for about fifteen minutes too which we greatly appreciated. A long day wear comfortable shoes and a hot day, but amazing to see.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Ann ...  Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a must visit site. Highly recommend this tour. Great guide and wonderful lunch

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Kenneth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was so much fun! Daniel, our guide made it very interesting and also informative. We loved the whole day and appreciated seeing the Trianon and Marie Antoinette's village and having a charming lunch along the Grand Canal was fantastic! Of course ending with the Palace was amazing. Daniel was very clear and precise with his instructions regarding the RER and how to get back to our starting place. It is such a large place that I'm glad we had seen another review about riding bikes to see as much as possible! We were pretty tired but it was so worth it! We would highly recommend this tour - Tres Bien!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Kenneth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was so much fun! Daniel, our guide made it very interesting and also informative. We loved the whole day and appreciated seeing the Trianon and Marie Antoinette's village and having a charming lunch along the Grand Canal was fantastic! Of course ending with the Palace was amazing. Daniel was very clear and precise with his instructions regarding the RER and how to get back to our starting place. It is such a large place that I'm glad we had seen another review about riding bikes to see as much as possible! We were pretty tired but it was so worth it! We would highly recommend this tour - Tres Bien!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Lady C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Vincent, was beyond charming and accommodating. Super friendly form the onset, you could tell he had a passion for the history and beauty and enjoyed sharing it with others - he was a perfect host. When my mother needed to stop for a break, he did not hesitate to make her day more comfortable and enjoyable. Versailles, the Gardens, Petit Trianon and Hamlet were just gorgeous and we enjoyed every moment!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Being picked up and dropped off back at my apartment was the first benefit - especially after such a big day. Skipping the line was the second benefit. We were a small group of eight delightful people and the tour felt very personal. Lunch was included, in a beautiful setting and was terrific. Our guide Sarah spoke excellent English and was very knowledgable. Plenty of interesting stories and history. Had a great day and would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Amy Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike ride was lovely, Versailles was gorgeous, and the guide was really informative and made the tour interesting!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Dr Gary Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Luka our guide was terrific, knowledgeable and entertaining, the market and Versailles were truly a memorable and special experience

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Natalie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must even if you have toured the palace by foot before... such an awesome experience- the guides, the people of Versailles, the picturesque views all adds up to a great tour. Daniel our guide truly entertaining, relaxed manner allowing all the personalities to enjoy themselves, thank you.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Visiting the palace was nice, but going to the market in town to buy our picnic supplies and exploring the grounds of Versailles by bike was even better. Our tour guide Luke added tot he fun.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message