The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1998 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

murry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was great largely because of the professionalism and personality of Natasha, our tour guide. There was adequate time to enjoy all aspects of Versailles lunch was very good and it was nice to avoid long lines, as our guide knew her way around.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

CY Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day trip! Tour guide was very knowledgeable, the historical sights and architecture was outstanding. Lunch was another great highlight to the trip.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

abhurji

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Zara, was very informative and highly professional courteous guide. It was the best tour we took as a family in Paris. Versailles was not open, so we spent a few minutes at the cafe. Then got our headsets and she kept us informed about each and every detail on the tour thru the headsets. We had lunch and toured the jardins and small cottage houses village. Tired but very happy with this tour, we departed for the apartment.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

denlori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met our tour guide, William in the morning in Paris and our tour group took the RER train out to Versailles. We then headed to a small shop and each of us selected our own bicycle for the tour. William was amazingly organized with our group and was able to answer everyone's questions as we selected our bikes. We then rode our bikes to a village open air market to stock up on picnic supplies that we would have for lunch later in the afternoon. The market was stocked with farmers carrying every type of cheese, wine, baguettes, rolls, vegetables, meats, cooked sausage and chicken that you could ask for! We stored our picnic food in baskets attached to our bikes and rode on to Versailles. William kept our riding speed reasonable as we had ages from the very young to the middle age on our tour. Being on Bicycles allowed us to cover much more ground and see the gardens and small courts that you do not see on walking tours. William was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the French court and political intrigues of Versailles. We enjoyed eating our lunch in the same area and enjoying the same view of the palace that the French court would have seen in their day! Make sure you wear comfortable shoes and clothing for riding the bicycles. I would highly recommend this tour to a friend.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Adam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our Versailles experience was wonderful. Our tour guide was very sweet and highly knowledgeable, she really brought the history leading up to the French Revolution alive for us. Well worth it, but go in the summer. Versailles is MUCH colder than Paris and is downright brutal in winter.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

mpminske

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the way to tour Versailles. Our guide Vincent was fabulous. The tour had the perfect balance of being guided and exploring in your own.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Jo USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Jill J United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a nice guide and I appreciated the fact that the tour started as soon as she picked us up. She had a wealth of information. The lunch was nice and we enjoyed everything about the tour. Our friends also went to Versailles on their own that day although without a guide. In the gardens you can rent a golf cart and ride around to take in the whole area as well as small boats. Just know you will not have time to do these activities on this guided tour. We did not mind however.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of our best memories on our France vacation. Fun and informative for the entire family. Paddy was a great guide!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Ashley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Johnny was a great guide! We had an absolutely beautiful day and saw some great areas that we wouldn't have seen if we were not on a bike. The local market was such a cool experience. One of the highlights from our entire European trip! I would take this tour again the next time I go to Paris! Great, great day even though it was cold out!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Shane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I have been to Versailles many times and with many tour companies but this one was the best! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to articulate the history and background to many sites and surroundings on the way to Versailles. Once at Versailles she was a master at navigating her way around the palace and grounds. Lunch was very tasty. I would NOT hesitate to take this tour again. Great job!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

KAREN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was excellent, the tour guide was incredible, Her knowledge was incredible,
It is a must to see
Thanks again Viator,
Jim and karen

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Evelia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent. great way to see the sights without the crowds. well worth it.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the best tour and our driver/guide was spectagular very informative, we throughly enjoyed her. It was raining that day, we where lucky because when we toured the gArdens the rain stopped for a while. The gardens were beautiful with the fountains and the music playing. I hope I can come back someday when it is not raining. The queens little village was something totally unexpected and for me one of the best parts of the tour. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Richard USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Biking was so much fun with an excellent guide. We got to stop at the open air market and it was great.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

cheryllramos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a perfect day for a bike ride the time that we were there. I enjoyed this tour very much. It was a wonderful experience observing and buying food at farmer's market. The picnic in Versailles, the information that was given by our tour guide, and amount of time we got to tour the palace (independently) were all fantastic. I truly enjoyed every piece of the tour. Highly recommended and very much worth it!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Christina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Isabel was an amazing guide. The small group tour made the day extra special. Had a great time and learned many new things. Would do it again!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Shannon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an excellent tour day with Vincent! From the moment he picked us up at our hotel to the moment we were dropped off, Vincent kept up a dialogue of funny and insightful comments about the history of Versailles and its inhabitants. we learned much more than we would ever have learned if we had done the tour on our own. He took what could be an overwhelming place and pointed out the details we might have missed, identified the best views of the gardens and the outbuildings, drove us to the Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette's village and gave us narrated tours of each. The lunch that was arranged as part of the tour was very nice as well, and it was a treat not to have to worry about what, where and when we would have lunch. We appreciated the small size of our group - only 6 of us - and the fact that in the palace and Petit Trianon Vincent used discrete microphone which we listened to on our headsets. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

joshuachato

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was incredible and was a highlight of our trip to Paris. Rosemary was a great tour guide - super friendly and extremely informative, she was awesome! If you're debating between doing a half or whole day tour splurge on the whole day, it's worth it. We saw so much of the gorgeous palace and then we were able to wonder through the vast gardens, Grand and Petite Trianon and the hamlet. The only drawback was not being able to see the Queen's apartments because they are currently being restored. Otherwise the pick up at our apartment, the tour, lunch and return ride - getting to see a little bit of the picturesque town of Versailles - was something I couldn't have planned on my own and so glad I decided to do this tour. You won't regret it either!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Pleasant and informative day. Enjoyed the market and gathering items for the picnic.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

tdybear42

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was quite knowledgeable and made this Versailles tour a most memorable one.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message