The pink-colonnaded Grand Trianon was built in 1687 by the famous architect Mansart, as a tranquil getaway from court life for Louis XIV. Setting the benchmark for Italianate garden conservatory design, the elegantly long and low palace of pink ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1988 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ashley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Johnny was a great guide! We had an absolutely beautiful day and saw some great areas that we wouldn't have seen if we were not on a bike. The local market was such a cool experience. One of the highlights from our entire European trip! I would take this tour again the next time I go to Paris! Great, great day even though it was cold out!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Shane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I have been to Versailles many times and with many tour companies but this one was the best! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to articulate the history and background to many sites and surroundings on the way to Versailles. Once at Versailles she was a master at navigating her way around the palace and grounds. Lunch was very tasty. I would NOT hesitate to take this tour again. Great job!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

KAREN L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was excellent, the tour guide was incredible, Her knowledge was incredible,
It is a must to see
Thanks again Viator,
Jim and karen

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Evelia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent. great way to see the sights without the crowds. well worth it.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the best tour and our driver/guide was spectagular very informative, we throughly enjoyed her. It was raining that day, we where lucky because when we toured the gArdens the rain stopped for a while. The gardens were beautiful with the fountains and the music playing. I hope I can come back someday when it is not raining. The queens little village was something totally unexpected and for me one of the best parts of the tour. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Richard USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Biking was so much fun with an excellent guide. We got to stop at the open air market and it was great.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

cheryllramos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a perfect day for a bike ride the time that we were there. I enjoyed this tour very much. It was a wonderful experience observing and buying food at farmer's market. The picnic in Versailles, the information that was given by our tour guide, and amount of time we got to tour the palace (independently) were all fantastic. I truly enjoyed every piece of the tour. Highly recommended and very much worth it!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Christina W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Isabel was an amazing guide. The small group tour made the day extra special. Had a great time and learned many new things. Would do it again!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Shannon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an excellent tour day with Vincent! From the moment he picked us up at our hotel to the moment we were dropped off, Vincent kept up a dialogue of funny and insightful comments about the history of Versailles and its inhabitants. we learned much more than we would ever have learned if we had done the tour on our own. He took what could be an overwhelming place and pointed out the details we might have missed, identified the best views of the gardens and the outbuildings, drove us to the Petit Trianon and Marie Antoinette's village and gave us narrated tours of each. The lunch that was arranged as part of the tour was very nice as well, and it was a treat not to have to worry about what, where and when we would have lunch. We appreciated the small size of our group - only 6 of us - and the fact that in the palace and Petit Trianon Vincent used discrete microphone which we listened to on our headsets. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

joshuachato

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was incredible and was a highlight of our trip to Paris. Rosemary was a great tour guide - super friendly and extremely informative, she was awesome! If you're debating between doing a half or whole day tour splurge on the whole day, it's worth it. We saw so much of the gorgeous palace and then we were able to wonder through the vast gardens, Grand and Petite Trianon and the hamlet. The only drawback was not being able to see the Queen's apartments because they are currently being restored. Otherwise the pick up at our apartment, the tour, lunch and return ride - getting to see a little bit of the picturesque town of Versailles - was something I couldn't have planned on my own and so glad I decided to do this tour. You won't regret it either!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Pleasant and informative day. Enjoyed the market and gathering items for the picnic.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

tdybear42

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was quite knowledgeable and made this Versailles tour a most memorable one.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Denise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Loved this tour. The Palace is beautiful but I loved Marie Antoinette place the best. The lunch was wonderful in a little quaint restaurant and the food was good. I would definitely recommend this tour but there is a lot of walking.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

rhansbarger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

WONDERFUL AFTERNOON WITH A GREAT GUIDE! PICNIC BY THE CANAL WAS SPECIAL!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Nikkiday

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I totally enjoyed this tour. The grounds and gardens were beautiful to view and the picnic lunch by the river was a charm. It gives a more comprehensive view of the vastness of the grounds at Versailles as well as learning about the foibles of the various Louis' who occupied the chateau. It was like getting a history lesson on the events that led up to the French Revolution as well as a window into what it was like to live like a king and queen in that era.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

ewa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing tour , highly recommended

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Bradley G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour is a great way to explore Versailles. Our tour guide Declan was very knowledgable and brought a lot of color to the history of the palace. The highlight of the tour was exploring the garden behind the Petit Trianon where Marie Antoinette built a replica of a local village.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

JART55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very enjoyable visit and our guide was very informative. Versailles is a must see.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Horacio E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An amazing way to visit Versailles and its surroundings. Out guide was great, very nice and knowledgeable. The bikes were in great condition and easy to ride.
We stopped at a local market to buy local food and wine for lunch.
A must

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Alanis W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My 2 sisters and I highly recommend the Fat Tire Versailles by Bike Day Tour. It was hands-down the highlight of our 4 day trip to Paris. Our guide Louis was fun and knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour. The bikes were well maintained and it was indeed a great way to see the enormous grounds. We went in early October and while it was a bit chilly with the wind, it was sunny and perfect for sitting down to a picnic. They provided a tarp for us to sit on which worked well, we had brought a blanket just in case. It is a wonderful way to get around the grounds and there are only a few places where it was a bit harrowing going through the town in traffic - however Louis instructed us on how to DOMINATE and we were all fine.

There is a bit of walking with the tour as well so you get your exercise in. But again, I would highly recommend it as a tour not to be missed for those who have no mobility issues.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour to Versailles was great. The Palace is beautiful and the grounds too. It was too bad that the Princess's apartment was closed for renovations but otherwise a spectacular tour. A couple issues we had though were that we were supposed to have premier access meaning not have to stand in line. The attendants monitoring the entrance seemed to be unaware of this and initially refused to let us enter without standing in the long line. Finally another attendant showed up and let us have premier access. The other issue was the audio guide equipment didn't work properly and once you are in the tour it's impossible to go back and get another audio guide. Otherwise the tour is highly recommended. Allow 5-6 hours to get through the palace and walk the grounds, so recommend getting there early.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Stephen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Lucille, was SO good! Well prepared, knowledgeable, and friendly. I don't think we could have had a better tour. Well worth the price. Thank you again!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message