Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1817 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nidiagarcia21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I were amazed by how smooth this tour went. Our guide Corrine was amazing, she was knowledgable, helpful, professional and astute. Her sense of humor made the trip even better. The hotels they chose were clean and comfortable. The meals were average, nothing to write mom home about. We were pleasantly surprised. Oh, take an umbrella, it rains A LOT.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We decided last minute to book this tour, and we and #39;re glad we did. We went early in the day, so the crowds were not awful but we still got in quite a bit faster this way. But getting it wasn and #39;t the point, the point was all we learned from the tour guide. We got so much more out of our visit then we wou

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

GEORGIA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

No problems with ticket. No queue cutting so get there early!! Gardens gorgeous, recommend hiring a buggy especially if going to see the trianons as well. Time your visit with the fountains being on as so much better.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide Pauline lead us everywhere and told us so much interesting history. Very knowledgable and passionate about Versailles. I couldn and #39;t have asked for a better expierence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

John Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Before booking this tour, I read the reviews posted to make sure we and #39;d find this tour worth the expense. From first hand experience, I say, and #34;Spend the money!! and #34;
We were the first group to see the Hall of Mirrors -- AMAZING! Our guide was fantastic and showed us so many rooms not open to the public.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Entire tour was outstanding from start to finish. Well organized and well worth the cost.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Mrs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was excellent

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Joanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing -- couldn and #39;t have been any better!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Narell Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Prepaid tickets were great as the queue quickly built up to buy on the day. This ticket enabled us to visit all parts of Versailles and the Audio guide was fantastic. The only extra we paid for eur5 pp was the Petite Train which was great to cover most of Versailles and that was our choice you could walk if you want to.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Tom W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was great to see Versailles! What really sets it apart from anything else we saw was the gardens. Make sure you plan to send some time to strolling through the gardens.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lester S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had great guides and the VIP tour let us bypass long lines and see many places in the Palace that aren't seen up close without this tour! We enjoyed the private viewing of the chapel and opera house. Our guide was both knowledgeable and fun. This tour is great value compared to general admission. The recommended cafe for lunch was excellent as well. Big thumbs up!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

phillip.jones0816

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Palace of Versailles is definitely not a place you want to skip out on during a visit to Paris. The tickets don't have any skip the line advantage. It does come with an audio guide which was filled with information. We visited first thing in the morning and there were still a lot of people. Since there is so many people visiting the Palace, stopping in each room and listening to the audio guide was a little challenging because there wasn't any room to stop due to the large amount of people. Still it's great to do without a tour guide!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Maria M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Garry F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was great, such crowds would have made it tough to do this on our own, and not waiting in line to get in was worth every penny.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

cmep90

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was enjoyable but quite rushed. If you would like to spend time in the palace and its gardens exploring at your own pace this is not the tour for you. Although if you were after a taster of the gardens and palace this tour is worthwhile.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Andre D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour guide was fantastic and made it worth it! Otherwise it was SO CROWDED we couldn't even walk into rooms and had to wait, we were packed like sardines! We also had a huge crowd waiting in line with many tour guide companies waiting to get in as well as us... amazing how they herd people in Versailles at 20,000 per day during this season, awful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Melanie

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We booked the half day tour, but should have booked full day, as the gardens are magnificent
and we did not get to spend enough time at the shops, restaurant, etc before the bus left for Paris again. Glad we booked this to skip the line, which was almost 2 hours long! Our guide did her best to keep everyone together as the palace is so crowded, but it is definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Michelle M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

It was nice to have the tickets in advance, however, there was no line for the tickets but an extremely long line to get into the palace even with the tickets. The palace was extremely crowded good to see once in one and #39;s life. I would return for the gardens

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

ABEL, III G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

i have to say i and #39;m disappointed with viator. i paid $500 for 2 to see the chapel or the royal opéra and i saw NEITHER! why? because viator planned poorly for this day. this day should have been blacked out. some official function closed both of these and ruined the tour!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message