Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1860 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marilyn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gorgeous night of fountains, bubbles, fire fountains, mists and classical music amongst countless flowers and tall mysterious trees. Definitely do this if you can!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

ROBERT C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

ABSOLUTELY WORTH EVERY PENNY. SAVED US OVER TWO HOURS IN HOT SUN IN LINE. WE WERE ESCORTED RIGHT IN AND HAD THE BEST SPOT IN EVERY CROWDED ROOM. GUIDE WAS TOP NOTCH. PALACE AND GARDENS ARE A MUST SEE.DON'T MISS THIS TOUR OR THE CHARMING TOWN OF VERSAILLES.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide and we enjoyed the entire experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Rohit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Clothilde was an excellent guide...she was humorous, knowledgeable, fiercely protective of the group's space to ensure all of us had good views of the exhibits. The tour is a bit short as it does not cover the Queen's apartment and Trianon. The group size was at the maximum 30 people but Clothilde ensured that all questions were answered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Jon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was great! She was fun, energetic and very knowledgeable. She made sure everyone in the group could see and hear throughout the tour it was very crowded. and she even waited for my daughter and I when we our train was delayed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was worth every penny to skip the lines (which were enormous!) and have a small group tour with a docent who knew everything about Versailles! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jennifer O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great from beginning to end. The trip in the bus to Versailles was easy and we immediately stepped into a coffee shop for coffee and croissants. They even had hot chocolate for my 11 year old son. Then it was off to Versailles. Our tour guide from Versailles, Ann, kept us moving and provided just the right amount of information. She took us to places that others not in a guided tour didn't get to go to. We didn't have to wait in lines either. After the tour, we had a few hours to roam the beautiful gardens and have a nice lunch. This tour was worth the cost in terms of what we were able to see, the great guides and no lines. I highly recommend the tour. It was one of the highlights of our vacation.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ec926

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! We were a small group of six so it was even better. We had a nice driver/guide who brought us to Versailles and turned us over to a really wonderful guide who shared his knowledge of the palace and France's history with us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fabulous -- being able to see many rooms that are not open to the general public royal quarters, the opera, the chapel -- which can only be seen by the general public from behind a rope, while we were able to walk thru the chapel, up to the altar, etc. My only complaint was that it wasn't long enough -- I'd have liked to spent the entire day there, versus only a half day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Perry T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Comfortable motor coach departs from central Paris behind Louvre, for a relatively short trip. Getting into, or out of Paris can take some time traffic. I went to three chateaus south of Paris which were unique, but Versailles was the most opulent, with the best grounds. Of course there is a lot more people to contend with, which detracts a little. The tour is on a tight schedule entering at a specific time. Tour guide was obviously knowledgeable. There was sufficient time for photos inside, and about an hour and a half outside before entering.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Nadeem A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

informative
guide was excellent
wish we could have had more time in the gardens

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

tonymayfield

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We were unable to get to the office in time--RER A was not in service.The tour office was not able to get us in to meet the tour, but she was helpful an kind. She got our tickets 5 people including my parents and young daughter to the gardens/fountains and future access to the apartments, etc. The wait was long but we really enjoyed the party. It made me imagine that I was invited as a member of the royal court to a garden party music, unbelievable bubbles, fire, food, jesters, etc. Well worth the travel and time!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

asm5127

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great! There was so much to see at Versailles and it was a lot of walking. Getting our tickets ahead of time helped a little bit, but there was still a very long line and we got there 10 minutes after it opened 9:10 am. We waited in line about 1/2 hour before going through security and by the time we were entering, the line had almost tripled behind us. So I recommend getting there as early as possible! The gardens were beautiful and we loved walking through all the rows and discovering new areas. We bought tickets to the Trianons as well and didn't even get over there because we were exhausted. Versailles is just very large and there is so much to see!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

denisecott

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a really good tour. We started off with a croissant, coffee, or drink and then we met out guide. Our cute French guide hurried us along so we could see everything that was promised. Her English was pretty good, but still meant that we really had to focus and concentrate on what she said. I wish that we would have had earphones and sets to hear her with, and even though we were a fairly small group, it would have been helpful. We had plenty of time on our own to spend wandering around in the gardens and take in lunch if we chose to. It is a beautiful place with a lot of history. The only way to see it properly is to do it with a small group, and if you can afford it, it's worth it. We enjoyed this experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Ruth D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good tour. Covered the basics.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Savvy Sightseer USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Versailles was absolutely worth doing, especially the Petit Trianon. The audioguide was not available at the Petit Trianon, only the palace itself. People should note this advance ticket does not give you direct and immediate access to the palace - there was still an almost 1 hour wait in the sun to enter the security checkpoint. The palace, grounds and Trianon are time well spent, so I wouldn't expect to rush through it all in an hour or two plan to give it the better part of a day.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Pauline H

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Unfortunately there was no escaping the queues despite having purchased a ticket on line.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

george p

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Too crowded. Too long to wait to get in. If you issued tickets for a specific time and limited numbers for that particular time, it would make the experience far more meaningful and enjoyable. Customewrs could visit the gardens while waiting for their time slot to visit the palace.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

klawson702

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Don't waste your money! We showed up 5 minutes late due to RER closures and the tour had already left without us. Which wasn't a huge deal, we got our tickets and did it ourselves. To start off the Palace closes at 6 so you only have a 90 minute tour of the grounds and then you have to leave at 6 and go back at 8 for the fireworks. Save yourself the money and just purchase the tickets online and go in the morning and do it all yourself. You get a free audio guide too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

nidiagarcia21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I were amazed by how smooth this tour went. Our guide Corrine was amazing, she was knowledgable, helpful, professional and astute. Her sense of humor made the trip even better. The hotels they chose were clean and comfortable. The meals were average, nothing to write mom home about. We were pleasantly surprised. Oh, take an umbrella, it rains A LOT.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message