Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1925 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carmen Dora Estados Unidos de ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excelente visita. lo recomendamos 100

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Kenton P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome guide and day at the Castle. Highly recommend this to all!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

cmhelm7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Got to know an great group of people on the tour and during lunch. Bypassing the long lines allowed us more time and the behind the scenes tour was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

kdayna

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour, I just think it was a bit overpriced...I loved the pick up in the center of Paris, and appreciated the small group van for the drive to Versailles. Our tour guides were AWESOME! And it was so great to have only 6 people in our van.... The breakfast in the cafe close to the Chateaux was ok... Croissants and coffee, but when I asked for jelly with my croissant, that was not okay,,, Really?

The guide we had for the private tour was so knowledgeable and great and we were privy to the private areas of Versailles... So thankful. But i think it would have been better to mix the private areas with the grand apartments. We did see the Hall of Mirrors very early before the crowds... Great! But we spent too much time in the private areas and I think it should be more of a mix...

Glad to have tine to explore the grounds on our own and have lunch there. The gardens are always beautiful, but in winter it is so sparse and nothing like in the spring. Not the tour's fault, of course...

It just seems to me the price was a bit much for experience. Love the guides and the trip, just a bit pricey...

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

cbeggs2001

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

So crowded, even in the middle of the week. I will come again when the weather is better so I can enjoy the outside grounds too. The Palace was lovely, but so crowded.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Giselle L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We didn't get as much time in Versailles as promised and it felt very rushed.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Carrington C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I love Versailles! This was my second tour and even though the Chateau and gardens themselves could never disappoint I was a bit disappointed with our tour. Our group was so large it was almost impossible for the quiet shy man to gather us around and when he did he was rather rushed and flustered. We stood outside the Chateau for an awkward bit as many groups were let in before us due to a lack of organization and control our guide had. His details about certain parts of the Chateau did not flow well or make sense and we were herded from room to room as he tried to rush to complete the late tour he started to get to his next one. I would choose a different tour for my next visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

phill m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

if you do this, do it in the morning first thing or never. We waited in line for 2 hours and then were told there were no audio guides left because there were to many people there. they had shut all the exhibitions and we were herded through like sheep in a rushed visit.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful Versailles. How lucky were we , the sun shone and there was just us on the tour , heaven .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This visit is very recommeded, the palace is impressive and the trip by ground allows you to see the city and architecture, our guide was amazing and explained every detail of the palace and halls, then you have some time on your own to stroll at the gardens or come back to chambers that caught your attention. This place is a very important piece of French history so either you do a guided tour or your own, you need to come here.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

dianeronshelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic! What a place, what a story. But it wouldn't have been that outstanding without the history behind this beautiful castle. So much history, so wonderfully told. Can't say enough about our viator tour to Versailles...professional through out , right on time, knowledgeable, very experienced, even accomodated us with a different, closer drop-off point for our way to our home. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

marciewelker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was on time, exactly as explained in your offering. The tour representative was very knowledgeable and polite. A very good value for the money.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

chrism.ruff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, just enough time to see the inside. We also did the garden trolley tour, just amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

michellelewien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guides were absolutely amazing..! Loved this trip! Worth every cent, highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Gary R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Excellent tour. Our guide was wonderful. He whisked us up into the Hall of Mirrors so we would get there early. When our group arrived there were only 2 other people there. Perfect! We came back later by ourselves and it was very busy. He was incredibly well informed, a true enthusiast and very French, which all added to the experience. We visited in December so I wasn't sure we really needed 3 hours int he gardens, it turned out that 4 hours would have been better! This is the wa to see Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Kerry B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed the tour. It was a nice bus ride to Versailles. It was a good way to see the complex if you do not have an entire day as with some of the other tours.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Thomas W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour operator was very good. The train from Paris was not working, and when I called the company, they arranged for us to have an alternate tour when the trains were running again. The tour itself was good, however, due to our circumstances, we were only able to spend 20-30 minutes in the gardens. The gardens are magnificent, so allow a few hours to wander around.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour worth the expense to see the real Versailles given by passionate citizens. Was late for first tour due to lateness of flight and company adjusted tour time. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

june chang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience with small group that allow us to skip the Q and also private viewing of the Royal Quarters.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

JLC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic!!!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Kelleye B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I have to admit, that while we took this tour in 2012 and LOVED it, we were unable to make it to this tour this time due to a terrible mishap. The company however was GREAT about it, and when we explained we'd had to miss it as we were at the US Embassy they were very understanding. So the tour was wonderful in 2012, and the tour company was outstanding in 2016.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Deborah Z

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The only reason I'm not giving this tour 5 stars is because the guide who actually took us through the Palace of Versailles was only mediocre and not very easy to understand. We took a lot of tours this trip and the guide can make or break your experience. Initially we boarded the van with Nicolette not sure I've spelled correctly and she gave us the intro/history of Versailles and really brought French history to life during the drive there. She was incredibly knowledgeable and deserves 6 stars because her story-telling and understanding of of every angle of French history made up for the lack of information and enthusiasm at the palace. We did go through the King's private apartments with him, but I wish Nicolette had been our guide.
One other note - We were there in November and it was in the 40's F 7 deg C. If you want to visit the Petite Trianon and Marie Antionette's Hamlet when it is very cold - and you should! Make sure you rent a cart rented by the hour and worth it. The train is ok, but very slow also 4 euro. We normally love to walk, but got disoriented in the gardens - ok lost! And we had to be back at the van by 2 pm so you get the picture :-

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Deeda Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a very good tour. Our tour guide gave us enough information but also gave us some free time. I would recommend this to anyone that wishes to visit beautiful Versailles

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Ellen.c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Already reviewed this tour. Try reading the first review. Not good. Poor tour guide, very disorganized and poorly planned. Told to be at London meeting place two hours before Viator Rep bothered to show up. Mostly travel time with very little attractions time.
Try a different tour company.

Doing what: Paris Day Trip from London Including Visit to Versailles

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message