Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1908 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour worth the expense to see the real Versailles given by passionate citizens. Was late for first tour due to lateness of flight and company adjusted tour time. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

june chang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience with small group that allow us to skip the Q and also private viewing of the Royal Quarters.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

JLC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic!!!!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Kelleye B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I have to admit, that while we took this tour in 2012 and LOVED it, we were unable to make it to this tour this time due to a terrible mishap. The company however was GREAT about it, and when we explained we'd had to miss it as we were at the US Embassy they were very understanding. So the tour was wonderful in 2012, and the tour company was outstanding in 2016.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Deborah Z

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The only reason I'm not giving this tour 5 stars is because the guide who actually took us through the Palace of Versailles was only mediocre and not very easy to understand. We took a lot of tours this trip and the guide can make or break your experience. Initially we boarded the van with Nicolette not sure I've spelled correctly and she gave us the intro/history of Versailles and really brought French history to life during the drive there. She was incredibly knowledgeable and deserves 6 stars because her story-telling and understanding of of every angle of French history made up for the lack of information and enthusiasm at the palace. We did go through the King's private apartments with him, but I wish Nicolette had been our guide.
One other note - We were there in November and it was in the 40's F 7 deg C. If you want to visit the Petite Trianon and Marie Antionette's Hamlet when it is very cold - and you should! Make sure you rent a cart rented by the hour and worth it. The train is ok, but very slow also 4 euro. We normally love to walk, but got disoriented in the gardens - ok lost! And we had to be back at the van by 2 pm so you get the picture :-

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Deeda Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This was a very good tour. Our tour guide gave us enough information but also gave us some free time. I would recommend this to anyone that wishes to visit beautiful Versailles

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Ellen.c

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Already reviewed this tour. Try reading the first review. Not good. Poor tour guide, very disorganized and poorly planned. Told to be at London meeting place two hours before Viator Rep bothered to show up. Mostly travel time with very little attractions time.
Try a different tour company.

Doing what: Paris Day Trip from London Including Visit to Versailles

stephen k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing experience, skipping the line is a must! Great guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a must see, and tour. Without our guide we would have missed so much. They know where to go, and how to do it, to miss the crowds! And, it is crowded! So very beautiful!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This behind the scenes tour is worth every penny! Got to see parts of the Palace not open to the public. The narration offered by our guide offered unique insight into the history of the Palace as well as it's component parts that really added to the overall experience. Unforgettable.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Victoria S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

perfect! Just what I expected.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Greats day at Versailles! Rent the golf carts and tour the gardens our other homes in the property! The tour guide got us into areas not accessible to the general public which made it special!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour to Versailles was great. The Palace is beautiful and the grounds too. It was too bad that the Princess's apartment was closed for renovations but otherwise a spectacular tour. A couple issues we had though were that we were supposed to have premier access meaning not have to stand in line. The attendants monitoring the entrance seemed to be unaware of this and initially refused to let us enter without standing in the long line. Finally another attendant showed up and let us have premier access. The other issue was the audio guide equipment didn't work properly and once you are in the tour it's impossible to go back and get another audio guide. Otherwise the tour is highly recommended. Allow 5-6 hours to get through the palace and walk the grounds, so recommend getting there early.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Marilyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best tours I have been on. Both the tour guide and the local guide were amazing. Loved that we could get into rooms not available to the general public. Easy access to Versailles without the lines. Best way to visit Versailles.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

TIMOTHY N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An incredible place. We took the tour of the Chateau and the gardens which made for a full day. Our guide Clotilde was hugely knowledgeable and willing to engage. Remember to take a water bottle and to wear comfy shoes!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was an amazing trip and the guide was fantastic. We loved every minute of it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

applehazar USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was fantastic. Pickup place looked a little seedy. no water as advertised Private tour is the only way to go. Crowds at the palace are overwhelming and the looks on their faces when our group was escorted through locked doors was priceless. We went to completely empty rooms no tourists

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

barb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Guide was well informed and explained all of the highlights of the tour. Well worth the price!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Brian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is an amazing tour!!!!!!! The price is well worth the money. Our driver out to Versailles was fantastic. She was able to tell us a lot about the palace before we arrived. We had a light breakfast at a small cafe across the street which was a great way to start the day. This tour enables you to see areas of the palace that are not open to the public. Our tour guide was VERY knowledgable about Versailles and she was very happy to field questions along the way. After the tour, we were given three hours to roam the gardens. We thought that seemed like a long time, but there is so much to see outside of the palace. If you are even thinking about this tour DO IT!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Crystal L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The palace was gorgeous. .the tour guide was ok. Nothing was ever said about Marie Antoinette! ! Felt rushed through the palace. ..Buy tickets yourself and get the audio. .

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Premela J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of palace and gardens. The commentary was very informative. Must see in Paris

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Joewray3

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Guide was very good but suggest allowing more time to visit palace and gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Akera G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

I was VERY disappointed. Skip the line isnt really the case. We had tour guides that didnt seem to know what was going on in the beginning and then we waited in line for at least 45 minutes before walking in. We could have purchased skip the line tickets and went on our own.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message