Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1874 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would highly recommend the Skip the Line Tour. Just the fact of being able to skip the line is fantastic when you realise that you could spend hours just waiting in line to get in so it's worth it on that basis alone. Apart from that the tour gave us a really good look at the gardens and the palace itself. We could have stayed on afterwards to explore more of the gardens if we'd chosen to. The guide on the day was brilliant - very informative, funny, kept us moving but not in a way that felt hurried or hassled. Excellent value for money and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Mary Beth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience -- I highly recommend the Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Vivian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved it. Had a great commentary to and from the site. Versailles was fabulous. It met my expectations.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

beautiful place and we were able to walk on our own and explore!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Jet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fascinating, interesting! Tour guide was excellent. The small group and the private viewing of the Royal Quarters made it extra special and easier being away from the crowds. Next time I would stay overnight in Versailles to have more time.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Stuart G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thank you, your follow up to my booking and our visit to Versailles were faultless!

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Pamela D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We knew we would not be able to see everything in one day, so bought a two day passport. This was good value for money. The queue to get into the Palace was very long but moved fairly quickly.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Ronald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was well worth the additional expense. We saw numerous rooms that were otherwise not available to tourists. Our group of 16 were the only ones in these rooms when visiting them, making the tour live up to the private tour advertising a highly significant advantage in such a popular attraction. The docent who led the tour was remarkably knowledgeable about French history, able to answer questions about the intricacies of the French monarchy and society. The tour of the chateau began with gaining admission through a side door and away from the masses congregated at the gates. Following the tour, we enjoyed the gardens and, especially, the fountain displays coordinated with classical music. Be certain to select the day you go carefully if you wish to witness those displays, since they are offered only select days during the week. This was one of the best things we did during our Paris trip, even if it was the most expensive. It was a great value.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Roy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great tour, fantastic guide, learned a lot and the Palace is beyond anyone's imagination.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. Guides were very knowledgeable and approachable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Teresa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My grand Daughter loved the Palace of Versailles but dont use viator to buy your tickets - for us it was a waste of money - although the tickets said entry to the Palace they were not honoured and we had to line up and buy more tickets - my grand daughter is sick so we wanted to not have to waste time in a line - the Palace is a must see - a wonderful day out

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Alyson J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour. It was great to get to see the rooms that are not usually open to the public. Our guide was helpful and everything ran on time. It was a full, and satisfying day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

trainu06

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Marilyn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gorgeous night of fountains, bubbles, fire fountains, mists and classical music amongst countless flowers and tall mysterious trees. Definitely do this if you can!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

ROBERT C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

ABSOLUTELY WORTH EVERY PENNY. SAVED US OVER TWO HOURS IN HOT SUN IN LINE. WE WERE ESCORTED RIGHT IN AND HAD THE BEST SPOT IN EVERY CROWDED ROOM. GUIDE WAS TOP NOTCH. PALACE AND GARDENS ARE A MUST SEE.DON'T MISS THIS TOUR OR THE CHARMING TOWN OF VERSAILLES.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide and we enjoyed the entire experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Rohit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Clothilde was an excellent guide...she was humorous, knowledgeable, fiercely protective of the group's space to ensure all of us had good views of the exhibits. The tour is a bit short as it does not cover the Queen's apartment and Trianon. The group size was at the maximum 30 people but Clothilde ensured that all questions were answered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Jon H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Tour guide was great! She was fun, energetic and very knowledgeable. She made sure everyone in the group could see and hear throughout the tour it was very crowded. and she even waited for my daughter and I when we our train was delayed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was worth every penny to skip the lines (which were enormous!) and have a small group tour with a docent who knew everything about Versailles! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jennifer O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great from beginning to end. The trip in the bus to Versailles was easy and we immediately stepped into a coffee shop for coffee and croissants. They even had hot chocolate for my 11 year old son. Then it was off to Versailles. Our tour guide from Versailles, Ann, kept us moving and provided just the right amount of information. She took us to places that others not in a guided tour didn't get to go to. We didn't have to wait in lines either. After the tour, we had a few hours to roam the beautiful gardens and have a nice lunch. This tour was worth the cost in terms of what we were able to see, the great guides and no lines. I highly recommend the tour. It was one of the highlights of our vacation.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ec926

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! We were a small group of six so it was even better. We had a nice driver/guide who brought us to Versailles and turned us over to a really wonderful guide who shared his knowledge of the palace and France's history with us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fabulous -- being able to see many rooms that are not open to the general public royal quarters, the opera, the chapel -- which can only be seen by the general public from behind a rope, while we were able to walk thru the chapel, up to the altar, etc. My only complaint was that it wasn't long enough -- I'd have liked to spent the entire day there, versus only a half day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Perry T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Comfortable motor coach departs from central Paris behind Louvre, for a relatively short trip. Getting into, or out of Paris can take some time traffic. I went to three chateaus south of Paris which were unique, but Versailles was the most opulent, with the best grounds. Of course there is a lot more people to contend with, which detracts a little. The tour is on a tight schedule entering at a specific time. Tour guide was obviously knowledgeable. There was sufficient time for photos inside, and about an hour and a half outside before entering.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful bus ride on a clean modern double decker bus. Enjoyed the information from our tour guide. Also enjoyed the freedom to revisit or continue to explore any areas during our informal times. Very punctual. Would have loved to have had a bottle of water included on the bus ride for both travelling to and from destination.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message