Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Grands Appartements du Roi

The highlight of a visit to Versailles is entering the Grand Apartments of the king and queen, built for Louis XIV by Le Vau in the 1670s. The King’s Apartments - or Grands Appartements du Roi - are a succession of salons dedicated to the gods ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1937 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julie P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing place! This value for money ticket was all that we needed to enjoy the palace and gardens.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

V J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wasn't high on my list when we were planning our trip to Paris but am so glad we went. Loved seeing the grand golden gates as we walked up the long esplanade. Since we had already purchased our tickets we breezed on passed the lines and entered quickly! Highly recommend this be done before you leave home!!! Audio guide was a must as it really made the Palace come alive. It's not just about the Louis lines but also about French history and all the battles that were fought. However with all the opulence I can see why the people rebelled / Since it was January went we went the crowds were not hugh but we still bought our tickets prior to leaving home. Helped save time.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I loved this tour, so much I recommended this to all my friends and family. The local guide was amazing, the driver brilliant and the overall service could not have been higher.

However, and it is a big however, I will never use Viator again after today and I will be advising everyone to use other tour operators. Having booked a different tour in October 2016 for February 2017 and planning a whole long weekend around it, including flights and Hotels, we found out from the local operator not Viator itself that the tour wasn't running. I had to call America as my request for them to call me did not receive a response, I receive no form of apology, no explanation, the only alternative offered was after I asked if they could help and I was offered a different tour for almost twice the price. Needless to say, I declined and I will now be as vocal about avoiding Viator as I was pro them until today. Furious.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Melissa Rush

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was fabulous!!! She had so much personal information about many different places in Versailles. There is so much to look at and to learn about it's a bit overwhelming. We had our 3 older children with us. It's a great tour, worth every penny!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

sandy42bb

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Nice half day tour. Perfect amount of time as the gardens are not in full service in February. Do not expect the fulfill garden experience during this time of the year as the fountains and fauna are not as impressive as during the summer. Guide was great and the palace and grounds were beautifully.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Joseph W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

tour itself would have received higher grades except it took 30 minutes to get into Palace due to a ticketing issue. The tour guide seemed knowledgeable and friendly and tried to be helpful. bus ride to and from center of paris was comfortable.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

DELLA K

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Our tour guide was excellent-prompt, friendly, informative--provided lots of interesting facts and stories traveling to and from Paris and Versailles. Our Versailles docent was also excellent, and the private rooms tour was everything I hoped it would be--no lines, no crowds. However, without ever having visited Versailles before, I would never consider this tour again. IThe time allotted for the visit is entirely too short 2:00 p.m.. We left without being able to even glance at the main rooms in Versailles, the museum, or visitor/gift center, and had just enough time to briefly visit only the Petit Trianon. Thankfully we were there off season and the grounds were brown, otherwise would have been even more frustrating! The day trip needs to be extended several hours--folks willing to pay for a tour of this price deserve more of the experience,

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Carmen Dora Estados Unidos de ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excelente visita. lo recomendamos 100

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Kenton P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome guide and day at the Castle. Highly recommend this to all!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

cmhelm7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Got to know an great group of people on the tour and during lunch. Bypassing the long lines allowed us more time and the behind the scenes tour was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ashton_neufeld

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed this tour. The bus was comfortable and our tour guide was great. In the winter months they do not the fountains going so the garden tour was still okay. Everything was beautiful and our guide was great.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Paula A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I think it worth it, i would like to have an audio guide in petite and grand trianon.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

kdayna

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour, I just think it was a bit overpriced...I loved the pick up in the center of Paris, and appreciated the small group van for the drive to Versailles. Our tour guides were AWESOME! And it was so great to have only 6 people in our van.... The breakfast in the cafe close to the Chateaux was ok... Croissants and coffee, but when I asked for jelly with my croissant, that was not okay,,, Really?

The guide we had for the private tour was so knowledgeable and great and we were privy to the private areas of Versailles... So thankful. But i think it would have been better to mix the private areas with the grand apartments. We did see the Hall of Mirrors very early before the crowds... Great! But we spent too much time in the private areas and I think it should be more of a mix...

Glad to have tine to explore the grounds on our own and have lunch there. The gardens are always beautiful, but in winter it is so sparse and nothing like in the spring. Not the tour's fault, of course...

It just seems to me the price was a bit much for experience. Love the guides and the trip, just a bit pricey...

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Archie W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Tour was supposed to start at 5:45 and we were told to be there 30 minutes early. So we got there before 5:15 a.m. Rep didn't show until 6 a.m. and train to Paris wasn't scheduled to leave until 7. All other aspect of the tour were great... just be honest about when we need to be there!

Doing what: Paris Day Trip from London Including Visit to Versailles

cbeggs2001

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

So crowded, even in the middle of the week. I will come again when the weather is better so I can enjoy the outside grounds too. The Palace was lovely, but so crowded.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Kamani K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour guide was well versed and very knowledgable. However, the palace was packed! In each room that we went into there was no room move and unless you were looking at the ceilings only, very difficult to see anything else. It was like herding cattle side by side into each room. Not the tour operators fault, but the palace instead, I guess they just see everyone as so get in as many as possible. Otherwise it was beautiful and very interesting.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Giselle L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We didn't get as much time in Versailles as promised and it felt very rushed.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Carrington C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I love Versailles! This was my second tour and even though the Chateau and gardens themselves could never disappoint I was a bit disappointed with our tour. Our group was so large it was almost impossible for the quiet shy man to gather us around and when he did he was rather rushed and flustered. We stood outside the Chateau for an awkward bit as many groups were let in before us due to a lack of organization and control our guide had. His details about certain parts of the Chateau did not flow well or make sense and we were herded from room to room as he tried to rush to complete the late tour he started to get to his next one. I would choose a different tour for my next visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

phill m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

if you do this, do it in the morning first thing or never. We waited in line for 2 hours and then were told there were no audio guides left because there were to many people there. they had shut all the exhibitions and we were herded through like sheep in a rushed visit.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Maureen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

OK. I was so looking forward to this, even though I had been to the Palace of Versailles before. This was advertised as 6 hours with enough time to stroll the grounds and see the Petit Palace, etc. Six hours at any one place sure seems like alot of time, no?

Well, we got a new tour guide that took up all but 1.5 hours in the Palace alone. As she talked on and on, I kept glancing at my watch in horror, knowing I could not possibly see the rest of the buildings and gardens. There was no way I could duck out, though I wanted to. Had seen all that part before.

When we finally broke loose from that long winded guide and left the palace, I went for lunch at Le Petite Venice, as I had planned. It was right on the grounds and did not disappoint. It did not take that long to eat. After that, I realized that I should keep an eye out for the trolley/tram as there was not enough time to walk anywhere. I waited with 30 minutes left and finally it came and took me back. After getting off the tram, I became a bit disoriented in trying to find where we were all to meet. When I finally realized that I was walking the wrong way and turned around, they were gone. They had left without me. I finally was able to reach the driver by phone and she came back to get me.

I was soooo disappointed. I had seen the palace before and wanted to see Marie Antoinette's place and more of the gardens. That is why I paid the enormous price. This was poorly planned or incorrectly advertised. I felt very short changed.

I will go again, but on my own. And I will stay overnight at the Waldorf - within walking distance from the grounds.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful Versailles. How lucky were we , the sun shone and there was just us on the tour , heaven .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This visit is very recommeded, the palace is impressive and the trip by ground allows you to see the city and architecture, our guide was amazing and explained every detail of the palace and halls, then you have some time on your own to stroll at the gardens or come back to chambers that caught your attention. This place is a very important piece of French history so either you do a guided tour or your own, you need to come here.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

dianeronshelton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic! What a place, what a story. But it wouldn't have been that outstanding without the history behind this beautiful castle. So much history, so wonderfully told. Can't say enough about our viator tour to Versailles...professional through out , right on time, knowledgeable, very experienced, even accomodated us with a different, closer drop-off point for our way to our home. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

marciewelker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was on time, exactly as explained in your offering. The tour representative was very knowledgeable and polite. A very good value for the money.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

chrism.ruff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, just enough time to see the inside. We also did the garden trolley tour, just amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message