Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8385 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tim m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We went to Versailles during a very busy time of year. The guided tour was the only way to get the most out of our time there. Our tour guide was excellent and we enjoyed it immensely!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

cdavis603

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Big Ben was our tour guide and was GREAT! He was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with a good sense of humor. The tour was amazing and the skip the line feature was a must have as the line was huge. The grounds are unbelievable and the palace leaves a person speechless. Suggestion, eat in the palace café, but skip the salad or sandwich and have two deserts! The food was delicious. Not for someone with walking issues. To truly enjoy this experience, try to plan a full day so you have extra time inside the palace as most of the in person guided tour is outside in the grounds. The audio tour inside the palace should not put you off because it is easy to use and very easy to understand. Definitely the tour to chose.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Elaine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My teenage daughter and I very much enjoyed the Versailles bike tour. It was the highlight of our 5 day visit in Paris. Daniel's information and hosting were informative and hilarious. The biking was easy and enjoyable. I would have wished for less time in the market and more time biking, perhaps around the back of the Grand Trianon.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Spring G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very happy with our tour. There was a mix up at first because we booked through Viator and we didn't get set up with the pick up in Paris and had to make our own way to Versailles. So, make sure you call and check where you are supposed to meet your guide well before the day of the trip. We took the metro and RER out and it was fine. When we got there, City Wonders offered us a place on the bus going back to Paris but we wanted to stay and see the Petit Trianon. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. It was really interesting to hear all of the details and glad to have a guide through Versailles as it can be a bit crowded and overwhelming. I recommend going with a tour guide just to skip the lines as well as to have someone explain to you what you are looking at. I thought City Wonders did a great job and were super helpful. The gardens of course are the best part!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Terrence M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent days activity. Well organised even with ren track closed. Nat was a great leader, knowledgable and informative. Leaving visit to the Chateau until the end was great, an easy petal and sourcing our own lunch was great fun. Recommend this tour option.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

jack j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The skip the line tickets aren't actually skip the line. It's move into the group queue and get in together. The rooms are ok. nothing spectacular except for the hall of mirrors. the grounds, which are not, for the most part, guided are incredible. you should spend 4 hours here at least. don't wait in line. but do the palace quickly and grab a golf cart and do the grounds. yes, they're that big.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Cara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous experience, with Serge sp? as a very knowledgable guide. Perfect blend of time for each location, and the drive through the countryside was a plus.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Annas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a great tour with excellent tour guide, Jean. Jean is very knowledgeable and willing to share, he is also friendly and helpful, made our trip enjoyable. Lunch is good. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour. It's very crowded and the guide still managed to give us a great tour. Note that you will see the gardens for about 30 minutes at most. We left the tour at that point and did not take the tour bus back to Paris.
Instead we went down to the canal, rented bikes and rode around the Versaille gardens including visiting the Petit and Grand Trianons.
The tour guides tried to scare everyone off from doing this by saying it is a 45 minute walk to the trianons. That might be true but what they don't tell you is that there is a shuttle similar to the ones at Disney that you can take from the canal all the way to either Trianon.
You can also rent boats and row around the canal. There are several cafes down there with decent food of course not cheap prices but what do you expect.
Our time down in the gardens was well worth having to walk to the train station and find our own way back to Paris after we were done.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Christopher R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour from start to finish. The kids 6,8,9 really enjoyed it as well especially the cycling part. I'd highly recommend to anyone looking for a day trip to Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

K. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour
And outstanding and kind guide.thanks a million Flora !

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Kathleen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great time, our tour guide Johnny provided us with informal and entertaining guide throughout the tour

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Matt L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a great tour. Very well done with a nice range of activities. My wife and I did this tour back in 2013, and came back again this year with her parents - thats how much we enjoyed it! There are so many highlights from the day, but we really enjoyed the market and lunch on the lawns of Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Chris G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very organized, interesting, and beautiful. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Ken and Ginny D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! Didn't know a lot about French history and the revolution and felt this was a great introduction to this subject. Really brings it home to learn about it as your walking in the footsteps of Marie Antoinette and Louis the XVI! Our guide was great and very entertaining!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Zhenlei J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, I forget her name now-she was Canadian was super enthusiastic, entertaining and awesome. It was a truly special experience to experience so much of the grounds.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Yvette T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unfortunately we had a very rainy and cold day for our bike trip. However, our tour guide more than made up for the bad weather. He was extremely knowledgeable about Versailles and the French history. I would highly recommend this tour for a trip to Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Edward H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Well planned day trip to see the out of the way places. Spectacular gardens of Giverny, delicious lunch at charming former watermill and historic imposing Versailles - what a terrific day! Only negative was dealing with the crowds of other tourists but was so glad to have our guides help us navigate through them. Thank you for a memory- filled day.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide and we enjoyed the entire experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

johnlill54

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A great way to see Versailles. A short wait to enter the palace with a guide to show us interesting features. Self guided tour through the gardens followed by a nice lunch. After, we walked to Marie Antoinette's smaller home for another tour and then walked through the farm areas with sheep and rabbits back to the bus. A nice stress free day.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

kellyyi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lots and lots of walking. Great guide

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Deborah Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved it! The guide was very knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message