Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8714 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mpminske

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the way to tour Versailles. Our guide Vincent was fabulous. The tour had the perfect balance of being guided and exploring in your own.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Carmen Dora Estados Unidos de ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excelente visita. lo recomendamos 100

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Adam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our Versailles experience was wonderful. Our tour guide was very sweet and highly knowledgeable, she really brought the history leading up to the French Revolution alive for us. Well worth it, but go in the summer. Versailles is MUCH colder than Paris and is downright brutal in winter.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Kenton P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome guide and day at the Castle. Highly recommend this to all!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

rashik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was good, a bit of a wait when we got there but overall great experience. The bus ride there and back was good, it was new and well maintained.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

Tracey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fantastic tour! It would however have been nice to have more time through the gardens but very informative and engaging for little ones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

cmhelm7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Got to know an great group of people on the tour and during lunch. Bypassing the long lines allowed us more time and the behind the scenes tour was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Terrica W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Transportation to and from Versailles was very comfortable and our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the Palace and history of France.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

denlori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met our tour guide, William in the morning in Paris and our tour group took the RER train out to Versailles. We then headed to a small shop and each of us selected our own bicycle for the tour. William was amazingly organized with our group and was able to answer everyone's questions as we selected our bikes. We then rode our bikes to a village open air market to stock up on picnic supplies that we would have for lunch later in the afternoon. The market was stocked with farmers carrying every type of cheese, wine, baguettes, rolls, vegetables, meats, cooked sausage and chicken that you could ask for! We stored our picnic food in baskets attached to our bikes and rode on to Versailles. William kept our riding speed reasonable as we had ages from the very young to the middle age on our tour. Being on Bicycles allowed us to cover much more ground and see the gardens and small courts that you do not see on walking tours. William was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the French court and political intrigues of Versailles. We enjoyed eating our lunch in the same area and enjoying the same view of the palace that the French court would have seen in their day! Make sure you wear comfortable shoes and clothing for riding the bicycles. I would highly recommend this tour to a friend.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

abhurji

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Zara, was very informative and highly professional courteous guide. It was the best tour we took as a family in Paris. Versailles was not open, so we spent a few minutes at the cafe. Then got our headsets and she kept us informed about each and every detail on the tour thru the headsets. We had lunch and toured the jardins and small cottage houses village. Tired but very happy with this tour, we departed for the apartment.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

pola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the tour guide and other tour participants early in the morning in the train station and boarded the train to Versailles. The Palace was just a short walking distance from the train station in Versailles. The tour guide walked us through the difference rooms fully explaining the history of the place. We also went to the beautiful gardens. We were given our return tickets and we took the train by ourselves and at our own pace back to Paris. Another must do tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Frederick H K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a guide that was very knowledgeable and gave us much information. He just had to SLOW DOWN. The included train ride made this tour e this tour very accessible.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

CY Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing day trip! Tour guide was very knowledgeable, the historical sights and architecture was outstanding. Lunch was another great highlight to the trip.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Ufchoudhary United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Worth the price

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Jessie

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Not to be missed! Only some minor issues - tour guide was just so-so for this trip compared to others I have booked through Viator. I also wish we had more time at Petit Trianon since my mom and I had to really hoof it to make it to MA's little farm before the bus left. Warning - Versailles is packed no matter when you go. Also, don't be THAT person and have a selfie stick. I can't tell you how many times my fellow tour members and I got whacked in the head with these by over eager tourists from another group. I did appreciate that our tour guide called them out each time it happened.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

kdayna

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour, I just think it was a bit overpriced...I loved the pick up in the center of Paris, and appreciated the small group van for the drive to Versailles. Our tour guides were AWESOME! And it was so great to have only 6 people in our van.... The breakfast in the cafe close to the Chateaux was ok... Croissants and coffee, but when I asked for jelly with my croissant, that was not okay,,, Really?

The guide we had for the private tour was so knowledgeable and great and we were privy to the private areas of Versailles... So thankful. But i think it would have been better to mix the private areas with the grand apartments. We did see the Hall of Mirrors very early before the crowds... Great! But we spent too much time in the private areas and I think it should be more of a mix...

Glad to have tine to explore the grounds on our own and have lunch there. The gardens are always beautiful, but in winter it is so sparse and nothing like in the spring. Not the tour's fault, of course...

It just seems to me the price was a bit much for experience. Love the guides and the trip, just a bit pricey...

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

cbeggs2001

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

So crowded, even in the middle of the week. I will come again when the weather is better so I can enjoy the outside grounds too. The Palace was lovely, but so crowded.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Giselle L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We didn't get as much time in Versailles as promised and it felt very rushed.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Carrington C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I love Versailles! This was my second tour and even though the Chateau and gardens themselves could never disappoint I was a bit disappointed with our tour. Our group was so large it was almost impossible for the quiet shy man to gather us around and when he did he was rather rushed and flustered. We stood outside the Chateau for an awkward bit as many groups were let in before us due to a lack of organization and control our guide had. His details about certain parts of the Chateau did not flow well or make sense and we were herded from room to room as he tried to rush to complete the late tour he started to get to his next one. I would choose a different tour for my next visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

phill m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

if you do this, do it in the morning first thing or never. We waited in line for 2 hours and then were told there were no audio guides left because there were to many people there. they had shut all the exhibitions and we were herded through like sheep in a rushed visit.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Shane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I have been to Versailles many times and with many tour companies but this one was the best! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to articulate the history and background to many sites and surroundings on the way to Versailles. Once at Versailles she was a master at navigating her way around the palace and grounds. Lunch was very tasty. I would NOT hesitate to take this tour again. Great job!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Ashley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Johnny was a great guide! We had an absolutely beautiful day and saw some great areas that we wouldn't have seen if we were not on a bike. The local market was such a cool experience. One of the highlights from our entire European trip! I would take this tour again the next time I go to Paris! Great, great day even though it was cold out!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful Versailles. How lucky were we , the sun shone and there was just us on the tour , heaven .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This visit is very recommeded, the palace is impressive and the trip by ground allows you to see the city and architecture, our guide was amazing and explained every detail of the palace and halls, then you have some time on your own to stroll at the gardens or come back to chambers that caught your attention. This place is a very important piece of French history so either you do a guided tour or your own, you need to come here.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message