Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8741 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ivy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was super nice. Skip-the-Line beats everyone else!
The after sites were not must-sees.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great, fantastic guide, Stephie, really knowledgeable and passionate about the Palace. Was a lovely small group too - really excellent trip and well worth a trip out of central Paris to go and see.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

Julie P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Amazing place! This value for money ticket was all that we needed to enjoy the palace and gardens.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

V J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wasn't high on my list when we were planning our trip to Paris but am so glad we went. Loved seeing the grand golden gates as we walked up the long esplanade. Since we had already purchased our tickets we breezed on passed the lines and entered quickly! Highly recommend this be done before you leave home!!! Audio guide was a must as it really made the Palace come alive. It's not just about the Louis lines but also about French history and all the battles that were fought. However with all the opulence I can see why the people rebelled / Since it was January went we went the crowds were not hugh but we still bought our tickets prior to leaving home. Helped save time.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Claire R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I loved this tour, so much I recommended this to all my friends and family. The local guide was amazing, the driver brilliant and the overall service could not have been higher.

However, and it is a big however, I will never use Viator again after today and I will be advising everyone to use other tour operators. Having booked a different tour in October 2016 for February 2017 and planning a whole long weekend around it, including flights and Hotels, we found out from the local operator not Viator itself that the tour wasn't running. I had to call America as my request for them to call me did not receive a response, I receive no form of apology, no explanation, the only alternative offered was after I asked if they could help and I was offered a different tour for almost twice the price. Needless to say, I declined and I will now be as vocal about avoiding Viator as I was pro them until today. Furious.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was on our list of places to see when my wife flew over for her vacation. We were picked up at our hotel on time, there were 8 in our group, our guide was able to easily speak 3 languages to talk to all of us. Easy admittance into Versailles, we did the morning half day and had a few hours to wander around. Inside Versailles we had plenty of time to visit all open areas with time for heading outside to see the grounds. Our tour guide was wonderfully prepared to answer questions. Was able to see The Petite Statue of Liberty on our way back to the hotel.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

Melissa Rush

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was fabulous!!! She had so much personal information about many different places in Versailles. There is so much to look at and to learn about it's a bit overwhelming. We had our 3 older children with us. It's a great tour, worth every penny!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

pkwinnj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

When I tried to take this tour a little over a year ago, there was a strike that day that prevented us from going. I was thrilled to see I was going to have the same amazing tour guide this time as I had previously. The drive from Paris is very quick and you are able to get inside before many of the other tourists. You get to see some lovely rooms in the palace, then return out back to walk the gardens. Lunch was delicious at the restaurant, and then looking at the smaller palace and the nearby village was fun and interesting. Lots of walking on this tour, but most definitely worth it.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Andrew C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Highly informative and very convenient to be on the special private tour.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

yaryman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Saved a ton of time using Viator to get in and get a tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

tasha s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Place was packed but tour guide was great - spare time at end to stroll in gardens

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Karen R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Versailles was a great visit. I recommend going in the spring for the full day in order to be able to see the gardens and grounds as well.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

Wayne M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Would have liked as bit more time to see everything. Missed the fountains and only had a short time in the gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

sandy42bb

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Nice half day tour. Perfect amount of time as the gardens are not in full service in February. Do not expect the fulfill garden experience during this time of the year as the fountains and fauna are not as impressive as during the summer. Guide was great and the palace and grounds were beautifully.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Joseph W

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

tour itself would have received higher grades except it took 30 minutes to get into Palace due to a ticketing issue. The tour guide seemed knowledgeable and friendly and tried to be helpful. bus ride to and from center of paris was comfortable.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

DELLA K

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Our tour guide was excellent-prompt, friendly, informative--provided lots of interesting facts and stories traveling to and from Paris and Versailles. Our Versailles docent was also excellent, and the private rooms tour was everything I hoped it would be--no lines, no crowds. However, without ever having visited Versailles before, I would never consider this tour again. IThe time allotted for the visit is entirely too short 2:00 p.m.. We left without being able to even glance at the main rooms in Versailles, the museum, or visitor/gift center, and had just enough time to briefly visit only the Petit Trianon. Thankfully we were there off season and the grounds were brown, otherwise would have been even more frustrating! The day trip needs to be extended several hours--folks willing to pay for a tour of this price deserve more of the experience,

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

kkirtana

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. However, we felt that we didn't have enough time to check out the Gardens and the rest of the grounds outside of the Palace. The tour of the Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon were great, but I felt that we spent a little too much time at the Petit Trianon. I would suggest that you either add more time to the tour so that guests have the ability to check out the Gardens and the rest of the grounds or spend less time at the Petit Trianon.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

naomi

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Quite disappointed in this tour. The guide was 45 minutes late so we had to stand around outside in the cold waiting and waiting. Half of the Palace was off limits - the Marie Antoinette side. I think this should have been noted on the reservation site. And although the guide was nice I didn't think the talk was particularly insightful. I felt rushed at the end because our time had been cut short.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

mpminske

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is the way to tour Versailles. Our guide Vincent was fabulous. The tour had the perfect balance of being guided and exploring in your own.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Carmen Dora Estados Unidos de ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excelente visita. lo recomendamos 100

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Adam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our Versailles experience was wonderful. Our tour guide was very sweet and highly knowledgeable, she really brought the history leading up to the French Revolution alive for us. Well worth it, but go in the summer. Versailles is MUCH colder than Paris and is downright brutal in winter.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Kenton P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome guide and day at the Castle. Highly recommend this to all!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

rashik

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was good, a bit of a wait when we got there but overall great experience. The bus ride there and back was good, it was new and well maintained.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

Tracey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fantastic tour! It would however have been nice to have more time through the gardens but very informative and engaging for little ones.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

cmhelm7 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Got to know an great group of people on the tour and during lunch. Bypassing the long lines allowed us more time and the behind the scenes tour was definitely worth it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message