Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8506 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would highly recommend the Skip the Line Tour. Just the fact of being able to skip the line is fantastic when you realise that you could spend hours just waiting in line to get in so it's worth it on that basis alone. Apart from that the tour gave us a really good look at the gardens and the palace itself. We could have stayed on afterwards to explore more of the gardens if we'd chosen to. The guide on the day was brilliant - very informative, funny, kept us moving but not in a way that felt hurried or hassled. Excellent value for money and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Michelle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent! Versailles was great with the extra time to be on our own in the gardens. I was with my 15 year old grandaughter and she loved it! I had never been to Giverny, !what a beautiful place! Some magic about i t! The stop for lunch very refreshing, and good food, and good company in the small tour. The guide was very good, my grandaughter was very impressed, which makes me thankful that I booked this double tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Joyce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was amazing Janica! She was clearly very passionate about Versailles. In addition, she was super patient to explain extra stories and help folks on the tour take pictures. I appreciated her thorough explanations, including tips for post-tour areas in the city.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Ann ...  Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a must visit site. Highly recommend this tour. Great guide and wonderful lunch

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Lady C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Vincent, was beyond charming and accommodating. Super friendly form the onset, you could tell he had a passion for the history and beauty and enjoyed sharing it with others - he was a perfect host. When my mother needed to stop for a break, he did not hesitate to make her day more comfortable and enjoyable. Versailles, the Gardens, Petit Trianon and Hamlet were just gorgeous and we enjoyed every moment!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Joni E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Violet was one of the very very best tour guides I have ever seen. She was interesting, and gave a great deal of insight to Versailles. We could not have asked for a better experience

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was fantastic. My fourteen year old granddaughter and I took this tour last July and it was extremely well organized. Though it was expensive it was well worth it. There were long lines at both places which we were able to bypass completely. We also had a charming lunch at a locall Moulin near Giverny. It was the perfect way to explore two places on our bucket list for Paris and its environs with no hassle.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Thomas Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Love the place. Beautiful scenery!
Love the stories of King Louis
A place that you would love to visit when you ever visit paris. The garden was huge!!
The guide was excellent!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Kenneth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was so much fun! Daniel, our guide made it very interesting and also informative. We loved the whole day and appreciated seeing the Trianon and Marie Antoinette's village and having a charming lunch along the Grand Canal was fantastic! Of course ending with the Palace was amazing. Daniel was very clear and precise with his instructions regarding the RER and how to get back to our starting place. It is such a large place that I'm glad we had seen another review about riding bikes to see as much as possible! We were pretty tired but it was so worth it! We would highly recommend this tour - Tres Bien!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Kenneth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was so much fun! Daniel, our guide made it very interesting and also informative. We loved the whole day and appreciated seeing the Trianon and Marie Antoinette's village and having a charming lunch along the Grand Canal was fantastic! Of course ending with the Palace was amazing. Daniel was very clear and precise with his instructions regarding the RER and how to get back to our starting place. It is such a large place that I'm glad we had seen another review about riding bikes to see as much as possible! We were pretty tired but it was so worth it! We would highly recommend this tour - Tres Bien!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Ellene B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Versailles and the Gardens are a must see!! BEAUTIFUL!!Our tour guide was great and not having to wait in the lines was perfect!! Our group was large so we had to wait for each other but not a big deal.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Micky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide, Walter was very polite and made us feel very welcome. His instructions were very clear on meeting points and timing. His history knowledge and languages were outstanding. We had the best day out at Versailles and Giverney and express entry was tops, no queues. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Alfred G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A good balance of guided tour and free time to explore your personal interests. Giverny was crowded but we were able to get back to the water lilies to get pictures. We enjoyed the lunch at le Moulin de Fourges. It is a beautiful setting and a 3 course lunch with wine was delicious. Versailles was Versailles, beautiful and impressive. It was worth the cost.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Norman R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Raphaelle was fantastic. great commentaries and got us in and out of the important things to see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Claudia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Giverney is a must see.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Aletha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was adorable and gave us great info! The palace and gardens were beautiful.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

margak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We really enjoyed our day day trip. Giverny was really beautiful and lived up to my expectations. I also thought that the time we had to enjoy the gardens on our own was enough to be able to have a good look around without feeling rushed. The lunch stop was fabulous - picture perfect and beautiful food. And Versailles was also very good, albeit quite crowded.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Russell N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour guide Karen from Chicago Karen was awesome...best part was the Royal Gardens...and the self guided portion of the Palace was great...you could take all the time you wanted...and for sure grab a sandwich and drink to take into the garden for lunch!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Day Trip from Paris by Train

Tara Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

THE BEST. All I can say is that if you are a fan of Versaille, just do it. Our tour guide was amazing, lunch was delicious, our group was fun.....it was worth every penny and for sure a highlight of our trip. It was my birthday as well. Our tour guide was understanding when my husband wandered off and held us up for about fifteen minutes too which we greatly appreciated. A long day wear comfortable shoes and a hot day, but amazing to see.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris: Skip-the-Line Palace of Versailles Tour, Grand Canal Lunch and the Grand Trianon

Fernand D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice to travel by coach bus to Versialles Palace. The Garden walking tour was amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

rnolsson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Both guides were very good and helpful

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Vivian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved it. Had a great commentary to and from the site. Versailles was fabulous. It met my expectations.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Lisa E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I did the bicycle tour of Versailles and it was really fun. It was the best way to see Versailles for sure. There are a lot of tourists there so we were able to get around much better and see much more by bicycle. If your thinking about doing it then go for it, I definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Matt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Easy to find. Nice transportation. Tour guide knew her stuff. You had a chance to spend the first part of the tour on your own exploring Petit Tirnon. Then the guided part in Versailles. Finally back on your own to explore the garden. All easy- skip the line a MUST.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Versailles Palace and Marie-Antoinette's Petit Trianon from Paris

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Martine our guide was fabulous. We had a wonderful day with quite a small tour group which made everything easy and fun. The morning in Monet's garden was beautiful. Gorgeous weather. We then stopped for lunch at Moulin des Fourges - a wonderful place to stop for lunch. The Palace of Versailles was unbelievable, truly amazing! Again, not so many people which made it a pleasure to visit. For those worried about security, there was a fairly big presence there with the usual bag checks etc. Always felt safe. A wonderful experience and these 2 places are a must see if you go to France

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message