Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Chateau Gardens

The most acclaimed example of formal French garden design, Versailles’ vast chateau gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned terraces, tree-lined paths, ponds and canals. Spreading west of the palace, the Versailles Chateau Gardens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8679 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shane G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I have been to Versailles many times and with many tour companies but this one was the best! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to articulate the history and background to many sites and surroundings on the way to Versailles. Once at Versailles she was a master at navigating her way around the palace and grounds. Lunch was very tasty. I would NOT hesitate to take this tour again. Great job!

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Ashley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Johnny was a great guide! We had an absolutely beautiful day and saw some great areas that we wouldn't have seen if we were not on a bike. The local market was such a cool experience. One of the highlights from our entire European trip! I would take this tour again the next time I go to Paris! Great, great day even though it was cold out!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Sue B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful Versailles. How lucky were we , the sun shone and there was just us on the tour , heaven .

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This visit is very recommeded, the palace is impressive and the trip by ground allows you to see the city and architecture, our guide was amazing and explained every detail of the palace and halls, then you have some time on your own to stroll at the gardens or come back to chambers that caught your attention. This place is a very important piece of French history so either you do a guided tour or your own, you need to come here.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

tatopapi Chile

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Muy poco tiempo para disfrutar del palacio.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

James H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The Palace of Versailles is an outstanding day trip from Paris! Be sure to allow 5 hrs to tour the complete complex.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles with Skip the Line Audio Guided Tour and Access to the Queen's Hamlet

tspence2012

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This tour was great. We only had 1 day in Paris and I am so glad that we spent half of it on this tour. My favorite part by far is the gardens and the water fountains. Definitely need to go when the fountains are on. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and really helped to explain everything we were looking at so that we were able to fully appreciate it. I definitely recommend a small group as the Versailles is very crowded. I only wish that we had time to do a longer tour. There is so much to see it could certainly take a whole day if not more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Kerry B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed the tour. It was a nice bus ride to Versailles. It was a good way to see the complex if you do not have an entire day as with some of the other tours.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour worth the expense to see the real Versailles given by passionate citizens. Was late for first tour due to lateness of flight and company adjusted tour time. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We did the half day 4 hour trip and it wasn't long enough! I recommend the morning as it can get crowded VERY quickly throughout the Palace. When we visited the gardens weren't in bloom but the palace itself takes an entire day to see.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour with Transportation from Paris

Richard USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Biking was so much fun with an excellent guide. We got to stop at the open air market and it was great.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Renata United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If I had to choose one trip to do again it would be this one. Mostly, because of Giverny. It was delightful. It was something completely different from any other touristic attraction I have ever visited. Those gardens were simply blissful. I could have spent hours there in contemplation.
And the gift store was full of great things!!
Lunch at Moulin de Fourges was delicious. One of the best meals I've had during my visit. 30 more minutes to walk around would have been great.
Versailles was breathtaking. Once again, I wish we had had more time and this is my only complaint, even though I am giving 5 stars to wander around the gardens. Once we came out of the palace to visit the gardens we didn't have much time left. Adding one or two more hours for that purpose would be great.
The tour guides were very knowledgeable and professional. Not very friendly, though.
The bus was good enough and the driver was great.

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Lizzy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome tour! Our guide was a French history expert and kept us very well interested on everything we visited. The palace and specially the garden were just great. Governy and Monet's gardens were fantastic. It was definitely worth the money and highly recommended

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Annie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide was good. The palace was very crowded. The gardens were splendid even in the pouring down rain!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

june chang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience with small group that allow us to skip the Q and also private viewing of the Royal Quarters.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Linda Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was amazing. The restaurant was charming and excellent food. The tour guide fantastic, very knowledgeable and caring. We lost our tour guide in Versailles. We stayed in the last spot we were together and the tour guide found us.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was the best tour and our driver/guide was spectagular very informative, we throughly enjoyed her. It was raining that day, we where lucky because when we toured the gArdens the rain stopped for a while. The gardens were beautiful with the fountains and the music playing. I hope I can come back someday when it is not raining. The queens little village was something totally unexpected and for me one of the best parts of the tour. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Best of Versailles Day Trip from Paris including Skip-the-Line and Lunch

Cristina A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great experience, I learn a lot from the tour guide.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was well worth the money! Versailles is beautiful, but there are so many details we would have missed without her knowledge. The stories she told really made it special.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour, great tour guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Evelia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

excellent. great way to see the sights without the crowds. well worth it.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message