Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles (Château de Versailles)

Visiting the opulent Palace of Versailles is on most people’s to do lists, famous through history for its decor, design and over-the-top glamour. The grandest and most famous chateau in France was built during the reign of the Sun King, Louis ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour worth the expense to see the real Versailles given by passionate citizens. Was late for first tour due to lateness of flight and company adjusted tour time. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Wendy Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing, loved the fireworks and fountains show. Perfect evening for seeing the Versailles gardens

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Mary Beth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great experience -- I highly recommend the Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Jamie G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Alejandra was fantastic!!!! The history, stories, brought Versailles alive!! Thank you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

ROBERT C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

ABSOLUTELY WORTH EVERY PENNY. SAVED US OVER TWO HOURS IN HOT SUN IN LINE. WE WERE ESCORTED RIGHT IN AND HAD THE BEST SPOT IN EVERY CROWDED ROOM. GUIDE WAS TOP NOTCH. PALACE AND GARDENS ARE A MUST SEE.DON'T MISS THIS TOUR OR THE CHARMING TOWN OF VERSAILLES.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Carol M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a nice break from museums where you jockey for view of masterpieces. Whizzing about with the wind through your hair allows you to cover a great distance of the Versailles gardens. Our guide was great- engaging and knowledgeable. One piece of advice is to get to the grounds an hour before the tour is supposed to start-- getting to the Segway start point takes quite a while, especially if it is a first visit to Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

Cheryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide Pauline lead us everywhere and told us so much interesting history. Very knowledgable and passionate about Versailles. I couldn and #39;t have asked for a better expierence.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

bbarlow003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My family really enjoyed this tour of Versailles. The guide was very knowledgeable and told fun and interesting stories. The garden tour was nice, but we were not there on one of the days when the fountains were on disappointing.
Would book with this company for a tour again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a magical experience. To see the fountains play is to enjoy one of the wonders of the world. I would recommend any visitor to make this the centre of their trip to Versailles. Sensational!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Mark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Versailles is amazing and a must see if visiting Paris. My family and I were fortunate to have Pauline T. as our tour guide for the second day in a row. As I said in my review of your Louvre tour, she is the best tour guide I ever had. Her knowledge and passion for the subject she is presenting is excellent. Every tour guide we had the rest of the week paled in comparison.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Darlene V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our second time to Versailles and it was nice to go into the palace later in the day, not so many people during our tour. Because of that, we got to truly enjoy the beauty of the Hall of Mirrors. The fountain show at night was spectacular! How beautiful, everything was lit up so beautifully, and so romantic!! A must see!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

sally.cruickshanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is the best way to get around Versailles Gardens. It was easy to learn and so much fun! Our guides were also amazing and made it so interesting. Highly recommend this!!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

Andre D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour guide was fantastic and made it worth it! Otherwise it was SO CROWDED we couldn't even walk into rooms and had to wait, we were packed like sardines! We also had a huge crowd waiting in line with many tour guide companies waiting to get in as well as us... amazing how they herd people in Versailles at 20,000 per day during this season, awful!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Ed M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour company was nice enough to let us move tour from Saturday to Sunday. Unfortunately we took the trin to versailles from Mueseum D'Orsay and because of the final of the Eurocup 2016 being played in Paris if we didn't get the 6:00pm train back to Paris we would have been stuck in Versailles until after 9:00pm. Our tour also started 15 minutes late becaause we were waiting for 2 adults and a baby to show up. The tour which was supposed to be an hour and 15 minutes turned out to be less than 40 minutes. Our guide was good and what we saw was interesting. We also had tickets to the gardens which we would like to have seen but because of the issue with the trains did not do that either.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Klem S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

While I'm sure the tour would have been great, as the gardens of Versailles are simply amazing, the instructions for getting to the site of the tour on time are incomplete. We reached Versailles half an hour early, not realising it can take up to an hour to get to the location of the tour from the front gates. Also, if Versailles had better signage this probably wouldn't be as much of an issue.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

margjbarclay

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Website not up to date re payment of fees to get into Versailles garden. This caused us delay in reaching meeting point on time. Good instructions on use of Segways. Felt confident in use of machine. Guide had good knowledge of history of gardens. Had anticipated we would cover some of the upper Versatile complex too.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

William H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed riding the Segway around the gardens in Versailles. Our tour time was changed on us so we were the only ones on the tour which was nice as we were able to go at our own speed. The Segways are easy to learn..it took all of about 2 minutes to figure it out. The grounds are beautiful and it would impossible to see everything just by walking. The Segway gave us the chance to see everything in a short amount of time. Definitely worth doing!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

Viv United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A fantastic addition to our day at Versailles. A perfect way to encourage a 12 year old around the park though I have to say the adults loved it too. A lovely guide who added some colour to our tour. You see the Trianons and farm from the outside but can go in after the Segway tour if you want. A real highlight and the fun balanced out a wonderful but solidly cultural experience in the palace in the morning.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

isalove04

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lovely tour. It was nice to be out and about on the segway in the Versailles Gardens.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

Natalie G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour, the guide was very friendly and had plenty of knowledge in Versailles. I thought the tour was expensive as it was only two hours and the guide didn't show all the rooms that were open. However I still enjoyed it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Candice K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

I booked this tour so I could skip the line . It was not that crowded in February and I probably could have had as much from the audio tour headsets that Versailles provides directly.

Our guide just did not speak English that well and had lots of silly jokes about us coming back to stay in Versailles and who we would invite ect.

She did point out some things about the renovations and lifestyle back when the palace was in full swing and made sure we k new when we left the building we could not reenter.

I just did not think it was worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Kari A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour of Versailles grounds. Our guide, Cyril, was able to explain so much about the history and background of what we were seeing. The Segways were such fun, a quick lesson from Cyril and we were off! My son thanked me multiple times for setting this up, and I am sure this would be at the top of our list to repeat when we go back. Great family outing, highly recommend!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

Frances M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really good fun and a great way to see a larger area such as the gardens at Versailles.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Segway Tour

Elaine M USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This was not the tour I wanted to book, but was the only one available for the day I could go to Versailles. I did not enjoy the brief tour of the gardens and felt it was a waste of time. It may have been the time of the year, but the gardens we were shown were not that attractive, although we did get some information about how they were used back in the day. While the information we were provided during the tour of the palace was good, the palace was just so packed, it was hard for the group to stay together and hard to ask questions. A small group tour of 30 means nothing most days at Versailles. You're just packed in there with everyone else. Just traveling to Versailles and visiting the palace and the Hamlet takes most of the day. We were fortunate enough to be there when the fountains were turned on, and that was nice. There is a separate entrance fee to the Hamlet, which I did not know and you're not provided with good information on how to get around and what you're seeing. My best advice is to try to visit on a day when it isn't so crowded, but how do you know when that is? Still, being on a tour sure helps avoid the long, long lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message