Versailles ATTRACTIONS See all

Versailles Fountain Show (Grandes Eaux musicales)

Versailles’ vast gardens are famed for their geometrically aligned ponds, canals and lakes. One of the most acclaimed aspects of the gardens is the 50 fountains which act as focal points, enhancing the overall geometrical design. Baroque ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3723 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marilyn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gorgeous night of fountains, bubbles, fire fountains, mists and classical music amongst countless flowers and tall mysterious trees. Definitely do this if you can!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Cara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous experience, with Serge sp? as a very knowledgable guide. Perfect blend of time for each location, and the drive through the countryside was a plus.

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

K. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour
And outstanding and kind guide.thanks a million Flora !

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

ROBERT C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

ABSOLUTELY WORTH EVERY PENNY. SAVED US OVER TWO HOURS IN HOT SUN IN LINE. WE WERE ESCORTED RIGHT IN AND HAD THE BEST SPOT IN EVERY CROWDED ROOM. GUIDE WAS TOP NOTCH. PALACE AND GARDENS ARE A MUST SEE.DON'T MISS THIS TOUR OR THE CHARMING TOWN OF VERSAILLES.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Michael G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic guide and we enjoyed the entire experience!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Rohit K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Clothilde was an excellent guide...she was humorous, knowledgeable, fiercely protective of the group's space to ensure all of us had good views of the exhibits. The tour is a bit short as it does not cover the Queen's apartment and Trianon. The group size was at the maximum 30 people but Clothilde ensured that all questions were answered.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was worth every penny to skip the lines (which were enormous!) and have a small group tour with a docent who knew everything about Versailles! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Jennifer O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was great from beginning to end. The trip in the bus to Versailles was easy and we immediately stepped into a coffee shop for coffee and croissants. They even had hot chocolate for my 11 year old son. Then it was off to Versailles. Our tour guide from Versailles, Ann, kept us moving and provided just the right amount of information. She took us to places that others not in a guided tour didn't get to go to. We didn't have to wait in lines either. After the tour, we had a few hours to roam the beautiful gardens and have a nice lunch. This tour was worth the cost in terms of what we were able to see, the great guides and no lines. I highly recommend the tour. It was one of the highlights of our vacation.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

ec926

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! We were a small group of six so it was even better. We had a nice driver/guide who brought us to Versailles and turned us over to a really wonderful guide who shared his knowledge of the palace and France's history with us.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fabulous -- being able to see many rooms that are not open to the general public royal quarters, the opera, the chapel -- which can only be seen by the general public from behind a rope, while we were able to walk thru the chapel, up to the altar, etc. My only complaint was that it wasn't long enough -- I'd have liked to spent the entire day there, versus only a half day.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Perry T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Comfortable motor coach departs from central Paris behind Louvre, for a relatively short trip. Getting into, or out of Paris can take some time traffic. I went to three chateaus south of Paris which were unique, but Versailles was the most opulent, with the best grounds. Of course there is a lot more people to contend with, which detracts a little. The tour is on a tight schedule entering at a specific time. Tour guide was obviously knowledgeable. There was sufficient time for photos inside, and about an hour and a half outside before entering.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

tonymayfield

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We were unable to get to the office in time--RER A was not in service.The tour office was not able to get us in to meet the tour, but she was helpful an kind. She got our tickets 5 people including my parents and young daughter to the gardens/fountains and future access to the apartments, etc. The wait was long but we really enjoyed the party. It made me imagine that I was invited as a member of the royal court to a garden party music, unbelievable bubbles, fire, food, jesters, etc. Well worth the travel and time!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

denisecott

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a really good tour. We started off with a croissant, coffee, or drink and then we met out guide. Our cute French guide hurried us along so we could see everything that was promised. Her English was pretty good, but still meant that we really had to focus and concentrate on what she said. I wish that we would have had earphones and sets to hear her with, and even though we were a fairly small group, it would have been helpful. We had plenty of time on our own to spend wandering around in the gardens and take in lunch if we chose to. It is a beautiful place with a lot of history. The only way to see it properly is to do it with a small group, and if you can afford it, it's worth it. We enjoyed this experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Palace of Versailles Small-Group Tour with Private Viewing of the Royal Quarters

Ruth D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Good tour. Covered the basics.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

mariann H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Difficult to get to Versaille. Subway was closed. Still had to wait in line for an hour and a half with tickets already purchased.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour

Davis United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Too fast through Versailles, though Giverney was tremendous!

Doing what: Giverny and Versailles Small Group Day Trip from Paris

Lyndall F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Hard to rate this tour as there were train cancellations and by the time we got to the castle we were too late for the dancing for which we had paid extra and the fireworks didn't start until, until 10.50 and with the last return train leaving not long afterwards, we had to leave early so missed them as well. The fountain show was very good though. The entry to the castle was chaotic and couldn't understand what we were expected to do .It was a ridiculous system and left most flummoxed.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Eileen H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Fireworks were too late for us to hang around and see 10:50 never saw them. Gardens were nice but lack color-could have had more plantings

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

sd

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

I felt the tour was overpriced for the actual experience. Though the tour mentions 4 hours, you get just 2 hours at Versailles, which is very short duration to do justice to both the palace and the gardens in this time. We got just 45 mins to visit the garden and make our way back to the meeting point.

Doing what: Versailles Small-Group Tour from Paris with Audio Guide

klawson702

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

Don't waste your money! We showed up 5 minutes late due to RER closures and the tour had already left without us. Which wasn't a huge deal, we got our tickets and did it ourselves. To start off the Palace closes at 6 so you only have a 90 minute tour of the grounds and then you have to leave at 6 and go back at 8 for the fireworks. Save yourself the money and just purchase the tickets online and go in the morning and do it all yourself. You get a free audio guide too.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

nidiagarcia21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and I were amazed by how smooth this tour went. Our guide Corrine was amazing, she was knowledgable, helpful, professional and astute. Her sense of humor made the trip even better. The hotels they chose were clean and comfortable. The meals were average, nothing to write mom home about. We were pleasantly surprised. Oh, take an umbrella, it rains A LOT.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Nancy I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a perfect day.

Doing what: Versailles Independent Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message