Got a hunger to wander through a wonderland of luxurious, artistic decadence? Then you're going to love Louis XIV's opulent 17th century Palace of Versailles. This three-day itinerary will immerse you in the Baroque details, flamboyant furnishings, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4905 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carmen Dora Estados Unidos de ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

excelente visita. lo recomendamos 100

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

denlori

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met our tour guide, William in the morning in Paris and our tour group took the RER train out to Versailles. We then headed to a small shop and each of us selected our own bicycle for the tour. William was amazingly organized with our group and was able to answer everyone's questions as we selected our bikes. We then rode our bikes to a village open air market to stock up on picnic supplies that we would have for lunch later in the afternoon. The market was stocked with farmers carrying every type of cheese, wine, baguettes, rolls, vegetables, meats, cooked sausage and chicken that you could ask for! We stored our picnic food in baskets attached to our bikes and rode on to Versailles. William kept our riding speed reasonable as we had ages from the very young to the middle age on our tour. Being on Bicycles allowed us to cover much more ground and see the gardens and small courts that you do not see on walking tours. William was very knowledgeable regarding the history of the French court and political intrigues of Versailles. We enjoyed eating our lunch in the same area and enjoying the same view of the palace that the French court would have seen in their day! Make sure you wear comfortable shoes and clothing for riding the bicycles. I would highly recommend this tour to a friend.

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

pola

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We met the tour guide and other tour participants early in the morning in the train station and boarded the train to Versailles. The Palace was just a short walking distance from the train station in Versailles. The tour guide walked us through the difference rooms fully explaining the history of the place. We also went to the beautiful gardens. We were given our return tickets and we took the train by ourselves and at our own pace back to Paris. Another must do tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Frederick H K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a guide that was very knowledgeable and gave us much information. He just had to SLOW DOWN. The included train ride made this tour e this tour very accessible.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Ufchoudhary United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Worth the price

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

cbeggs2001

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

So crowded, even in the middle of the week. I will come again when the weather is better so I can enjoy the outside grounds too. The Palace was lovely, but so crowded.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Sandi C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The guide that got us to the palace and back was fabulous! But the guide at the palace was not what we had hoped for!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Kamani K

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour guide was well versed and very knowledgable. However, the palace was packed! In each room that we went into there was no room move and unless you were looking at the ceilings only, very difficult to see anything else. It was like herding cattle side by side into each room. Not the tour operators fault, but the palace instead, I guess they just see everyone as so get in as many as possible. Otherwise it was beautiful and very interesting.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Giselle L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We didn't get as much time in Versailles as promised and it felt very rushed.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Carrington C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I love Versailles! This was my second tour and even though the Chateau and gardens themselves could never disappoint I was a bit disappointed with our tour. Our group was so large it was almost impossible for the quiet shy man to gather us around and when he did he was rather rushed and flustered. We stood outside the Chateau for an awkward bit as many groups were let in before us due to a lack of organization and control our guide had. His details about certain parts of the Chateau did not flow well or make sense and we were herded from room to room as he tried to rush to complete the late tour he started to get to his next one. I would choose a different tour for my next visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

phill m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

if you do this, do it in the morning first thing or never. We waited in line for 2 hours and then were told there were no audio guides left because there were to many people there. they had shut all the exhibitions and we were herded through like sheep in a rushed visit.

Doing what: Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide

Ashley L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Johnny was a great guide! We had an absolutely beautiful day and saw some great areas that we wouldn't have seen if we were not on a bike. The local market was such a cool experience. One of the highlights from our entire European trip! I would take this tour again the next time I go to Paris! Great, great day even though it was cold out!!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Jecha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This visit is very recommeded, the palace is impressive and the trip by ground allows you to see the city and architecture, our guide was amazing and explained every detail of the palace and halls, then you have some time on your own to stroll at the gardens or come back to chambers that caught your attention. This place is a very important piece of French history so either you do a guided tour or your own, you need to come here.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

marciewelker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was on time, exactly as explained in your offering. The tour representative was very knowledgeable and polite. A very good value for the money.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

chrism.ruff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, just enough time to see the inside. We also did the garden trolley tour, just amazing!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of our best memories on our France vacation. Fun and informative for the entire family. Paddy was a great guide!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

Diana M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is an all day trip and absolutely worth every penny. Loved everything we saw. Even though we went in September, there was still plenty of flowers blooming @ Monet's garden. I'm sure it's even prettier in the blooming months. Versailles is massive. You will not see everything on this tour at least at a leisurely pace. I would recommend seeing Versailles alone and not on this tour if you want to see everything, including wondering the massive grounds. The lunch stop at Moulin de Fourges restaurant, a picturesque mill on the banks of the Epte River was a nice peaceful break. The food and wine served was very good.

Definitely recommend this tour. Lots of walking!

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

Olmer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour guide. will definitely use viator again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Jo USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful!

Doing what: Versailles by Bike Day Tour

sueb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful day. Great guides comfortable bus. This is a must do trip. Monet and #39;s garden and home is just beautiful. Lunch is in the most picturesque setting and Versailles is awe inspiring. It is a full day with never enough time to see everything ( there never is) but we got a real feel for the palace

Doing what: Versailles and Giverny Day Trip

tspence2012

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This tour was great. We only had 1 day in Paris and I am so glad that we spent half of it on this tour. My favorite part by far is the gardens and the water fountains. Definitely need to go when the fountains are on. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and really helped to explain everything we were looking at so that we were able to fully appreciate it. I definitely recommend a small group as the Versailles is very crowded. I only wish that we had time to do a longer tour. There is so much to see it could certainly take a whole day if not more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Palace and Gardens Walking Tour

Kerry B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We enjoyed the tour. It was a nice bus ride to Versailles. It was a good way to see the complex if you do not have an entire day as with some of the other tours.

Doing what: Versailles Guided Tour with Optional Fountain Show

Thomas W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

The tour operator was very good. The train from Paris was not working, and when I called the company, they arranged for us to have an alternate tour when the trains were running again. The tour itself was good, however, due to our circumstances, we were only able to spend 20-30 minutes in the gardens. The gardens are magnificent, so allow a few hours to wander around.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Michelle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour worth the expense to see the real Versailles given by passionate citizens. Was late for first tour due to lateness of flight and company adjusted tour time. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Half-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message