Louis XIV, the Sun King, was not satisfied with ruling over the French people, or building the most magnificent palace in the world; at Versailles he was also determined to have mastery over water. In 1666, building a fountain was not as easy as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marilyn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Gorgeous night of fountains, bubbles, fire fountains, mists and classical music amongst countless flowers and tall mysterious trees. Definitely do this if you can!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

David T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a magical experience. To see the fountains play is to enjoy one of the wonders of the world. I would recommend any visitor to make this the centre of their trip to Versailles. Sensational!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Darlene V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was our second time to Versailles and it was nice to go into the palace later in the day, not so many people during our tour. Because of that, we got to truly enjoy the beauty of the Hall of Mirrors. The fountain show at night was spectacular! How beautiful, everything was lit up so beautifully, and so romantic!! A must see!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Jessica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skipped the line as expected. Just beware to check fountain show times before traveling out there as it is occasional not all day

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Marlene K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wow!!! Loved it. What a great day in the gardens. All the fountains were spectacular but the Mirror one was the best. Would do it again.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Chonglun F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Musical Fountains Show was great!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Ilya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Everything was on time. Isabelle was very nice. This tour requires a lot of walking in the gardens. The fountains appear to be working only on Sunday which is a shame.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

steven h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A most wonderful evening! If you have the time at the right time of year please attend this. It was wonderful seeing the palace and gardens illuminated at night with the fountains on. The Royal Serenade is great but, even better is the fact that you get to see the hall of mirrors with far fewer people than while visiting during the day. You won't be disappointed with this show

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Adam C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

You should definitely get the optional Royal Serenade. The entertainment they provide is great and afterwards you will get a chance to take pictures of the palace with little to no crowd around. The summer fountains night show and the fireworks were a great way to end a day at Versailles. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Anna D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Don't miss this opportunity to see the Versailles gardens as they were meant to be seen. We spent 3 hours wandering around splendid lit up magical fountains that played jets of water to baroque music, little grottos with mist dry ice and glorious fireworks at the end. It was a wonderful end to our two day trip to Versailles with teenage kids, they loved the show.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Stacy I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic. It is very long, but well worth it. Our guide was Pauline, and she was wonderful. I had been to Versaille before, but not the fountains or the Petit Trianon or Hamlet. She had lots of information throughout the tour and was so pleasant. If you have the time and can come on a Sunday when they turn on the fountains, I recommend it. The fountains are great, but the stories Pauline tells you about what happened at these events is very interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Molly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was an amazing evening. Even with the large crowd, the grounds were easy to get around. The only big bottleneck is getting into and out of the gardens. The fountain shows and fireworks were beautiful and the weather was perfect.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Melissa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was Pauline. She was fantastic. My mother particularly enjoyed the way she made everything fun and exciting with her stories of the history. We started off in the palace in the morning, visiting the different rooms and the hall of mirrors. The chandeliers were amazing. Thank goodness we had Pauline. She let us skip the line, which was great as the lines otherwise were hours long. She got us into the best spots for photographs and gave us stories in each room of the history. It was very crowded and she made sure to keep us all together. There were only a few of us on this tour, but we could have easily gotten lost. After lunch on our own, we headed to the Trianon and Marie Antionette's Estate. The farm was gorgeous and I do wish we could have spent a little more time there exploring. When we got back to the palace gardens, the fountains were on and they were spectacular. It was a lot of walking, about 5 miles over the course of 7 hours, but well worth it. I am glad we had Pauline to guide us as it would have been a very harrowing experience on our own and we wouldn't have been able to see so much.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The gardens and fountains at Versailles were fabulous! The palace was amazing!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Catherine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It's absolutely beautiful, well worth time and ticket price--the favorite part of Versailles for our 2 children (12 and 14). Waited 2 hrs on Easter to see interior and it was dangerously crowded. Impossible to really see rooms so in a do-over I'd skip interior and focus on fountains and out buildings

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

M. Evo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As a family we enjoyed the full day at Versailles. Our guide Clare was fantastic and gave us plenty of anecdotes about the Royals who lived there. It was a great extra touch when Clare provided bread for the kids to feed the ducks and fish in Marie Antoinette's garden.It was a very small tour group of our 5 plus two which made it very relaxed to do the whole day. We did it on a Sunday and the fountain display was fantastic!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Jenny J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Pauline, was a real character and made the history of the Kings and the Palace very entertaining. We enjoyed our tour a lot and later the fountains and gardens were beautiful and really worth seeing.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Emily G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Pauline was very knowledgeable about Versailles and we enjoyed the tour very much. We never could have seen all of the fountains and different parts of the chateau without her expertise and know-how of where to go and when. We saw the chateau, the Hamlet, about half of the fountains, the Petite Trianon, the Grand Trianon, and the Orangerie. We ended up walking 16 miles that day! Couldn't have seen it it all if we didn't skip the line...definitely worth the price. Pauline said the wait can be up to 4 hours on a typical day! Just to get inside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Liesel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is one of those experiences that you cannot really describe to anyone! Pictures dont do it justice...the atmoshpere, the music, the fountains and the lights, as well as the fireworks at the end was something that I will treasure for the rest of my life!

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Fountains Night Show and Fireworks with Optional Royal Serenade Dance Show

Olivia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Really great experience. Tour was only 4 of us for the morning part in the gardens which was nice, but then bigger for the palace but still small enough. The guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and fun to listen to. It was also nice to have all the tickets pre-collected for us like to the gardens and to the palace and to Marie Antoinette's farm so that there was no line waiting or confusion about buying tickets. And you should go see all the places, so buying the tour that includes all access was the way to go. There's also not very much in the way of readable info in Versailles, so if you went without a guide, I think you'd really miss out on the history and stories which are what make it so fascinating.

Keep in mind that it takes a good while to get there from Paris. I was told 30 mins but it took more like an hour so plan to leave earlier than expected. Also the grounds of Versailles are very pebbly so this is not a day to wear cute or open toed shoes. I got rocks all up in my shoes and was a little miserable walking so much. The grounds are impressively big so you will do a bit of walking.

The garden has a lot of fountains which are only on from 3:30 to 5, so after your tour there is a lot of time to walk around before the fountains start, which you will definitely want to see. There's paddle boats you can take out if its a nice day, or restaurants to lunch at, and all of Marie Antoinette's private grounds to see. There's a little train that runs to Marie's place that costs 7 euro each way but I promise it's so walkable. Absolutely not worth 14 euros for the roundtrip. The map makes things look bigger, just walk.

There's also an app called "maps with me" that I had that shows all the paths around the grounds and uses GPS, not wifi or 3G, which saved me once because it can be a little maze-like once you explore Marie Antoinette's part.

Overall the tour as great. Definitely worth the cost. Highly recommend. Enjoy!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The Garden Fountain Show was outstanding. We really enjoyed it. Picking up the tickets with the voucher went without a problem. I would recommend anyone use the Viator option.

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Daniel D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Versailles was incredible! The Skip the Line part of the day, under the amazing guidance of our guide Pauline, was exceptional! while skipping the lines is always a lot of fun, Pauline's knowledge of the property and history made this an unforgettable tour. She even had suggestions for the part of the tour that was not guided in the pm (as in which fountains to make sure we saw, etc.). I would definitively recommend this guided tour to my friends. Un gros merci Pauline pour avoir fait de cette journée une journée inoubliable!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

Natalie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great tour of the palace with lots of free time to explore the estate, loved the hamlet was so beautiful and peaceful. The fountain show was great! Our guide was young, friendly and seemed to have a great interest and knowledge of the estate, would recommend to others :)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Versailles Full-Day Tour

tonymayfield

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We were unable to get to the office in time--RER A was not in service.The tour office was not able to get us in to meet the tour, but she was helpful an kind. She got our tickets 5 people including my parents and young daughter to the gardens/fountains and future access to the apartments, etc. The wait was long but we really enjoyed the party. It made me imagine that I was invited as a member of the royal court to a garden party music, unbelievable bubbles, fire, food, jesters, etc. Well worth the travel and time!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Palace of Versailles Tour with Night Fountain Show

Gary M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful fountains magnificent a must do tour

Doing what: Versailles Gardens Ticket: Summer Musical Fountains Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message