Victoria ATTRACTIONS See all

Butchart Gardens

Travelers to the Butchart Gardens are treated to an enchanting floral show that changes with the seasons. Covering 55 acres (22 hectares) on Vancouver Island, the landscaped gardens are so intricately laid out that each of the themed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 359 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Butchart Gardens Tour was amazing! It was really fun - and the ride to Butchart on the bus was very nice!!

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

Debbie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great way to discover Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Beautiful city and amazing gardens. Great way to see both!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Marguerite H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved every minute of this day tour to Vancouver Island, including the town of Victoria and the beautiful Butchart Gardens. The trip was very well organised from start to finish. Once we were on the bus, we were able to cross to Vancouver Island on the bus, which simply drives onto the ferry. This saved us so much time and trouble in that we did not have to buy ferry tickets or stand in queues. Once on the ferry, we were able to get off the bus and walk around the ferry which has a cafetaria, washrooms and boutiques.
Our first stop was Butchart Gardens, which were absolutely spectacular. It was a real treat from start to finish. The exquisite gardens, each with a different theme, Japanese, Italian, Rose Garden etc were unbelievable. One can find almost every Rose in existence in the world in their Rose garden, and everything is beautifully labelled and signposted . We had about one and a half hours to explore the gardens, which was more than enough time, and we had time to explore the beautiful boutique with souvenirs and the visitor centre. There was also time to buy a quick coffee or something to eat.

The next stop was Victoria, a lovely town on Vancouver Island with interesting art galleries, shops, restaurants and a very vibey waterfront area. We feel that we had enough time to explore, and enjoyed our visit. Had one wanted to explore the museum, one would have needed more time. But it gave one a taste, and one could easily go back there by ferry oneself and spend more time there.

Our tour guide was excellent and very helpful. He gave us an interesting commentary throughout our tour on the sights that we were seeing en route, and on the sights we were about to visit. I highly recommend this tour - it is one of the best we have done anywhere in the world!

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Day Trip from Vancouver

Ryan E United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our Journey to the Butchart Gardens begins at the Victoria Harbour Seaplane Terminal in Downtown Victoria, BC Canada.

We had the pleasure of meeting Graham who would be piloting our Seaplane to the Butchart Gardens. Graham was nice enough to let me ride upfront in the co-pilot seat and after a few minutes of final preparations, we were flying over the Downtown area and on our way to the Gardens.

Graham was extremely professional, explained the areas we were flying over and provided exceptional service.

After we landed, we had a great view of the Harbour as we approached the Butchart Gardens Private Dock.

I highly recommend Harbour Air Seaplanes for your next flight and especially if you are headed into the Butchart Gardens. The Seaplane experience is top notch, their staff are friendly, professional and well trained and the Gardens entry was quick and painless.

The Dinner was absolutely five star, the Gardens were exceptional and evening Fireworks are not to be missed.

There is an option for a few extra dollars to have a Private Limo take you back to the Hotel. If you are staying on Saturday Evening for the Fireworks Display, I highly recommend this option to allow you time to enjoy the presentation.

Thank You again to Graham for your exceptional service and to Harbour Air Seaplanes for one of the highlights from our recent holiday to Canada.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Luxury Evening Experience: Seaplane Flight and 3-Course Dinner

Glenn C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

the tour was great! We loved the experience of riding on the ferry, spending time in Victoria, and getting to see Butchart Gardens was an incredible experience.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

sandys0702

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had a very nice day for our tour. Our LandSea tour driver, Brent, was wonderful. He was pleasant, funny and gave us a lot of local info which was very nice. The tour was great, Victoria is a beautiful city and we loved spending time there. What can you say about Butchart Gardens, absolutely gorgeous....it was a great way to spend time in a beautiful city.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Michael E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our bus to Victoria via ferry, and travel to Butchart Gardens was amazing. We did this trip 24 years ago! You do spend a lot of time on the bus, but hey, you have to cross the water. Victoria was not a quaint as it was 20 yrs ago, but still nice. The gardens are beautiful! The vibrant colors of the flowers is amazing to me! Great tour!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Dale F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was truly outstanding. The pickup and dropoff times were absolutely on time. The drive to and from Butchart Gardens was pleasant and informative. And of course walking the garden grounds was beautiful beyond expectation.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

Jenny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Much is written about Butchart Gardens and it certainly lives up to the hype but the real gem of this trip was the kayak guided tour for the two hours prior. Kayak tour was breathtaking and so informative as to area sealife. Paddled near the boat launch of the gardens too! Want to go back asap!

Doing what: Brentwood Bay Kayaking and Butchart Gardens Tour

Joyce F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, wonderful tour guide and everything was on schedule. The ferry was fine and the time in Victoria and then Butchart Gardens was perfect. It's a long day but well worth it!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Alexander C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

another tour you MUST take if in Vancouver. The Butchart Gardens are unbelievable and it's an experience you will remember for life.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are only in Victoria for a short time this tour is perfect.
We had just enough time in each of the places and were never hanging around.
The 'Tea on the Knee' at Butchart Gardens was lovely.
We got to see so much of Victoria in a short time and our tour guide was very chatty!
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Gloria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was terrific. Young college student who was exceptional handling people. The trip was well organized with handouts of maps of Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Victoria is a lovely city with great restaurants and photo opportunities. Butchart Gardens is just super. Had a great day! Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Kent S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An absolute must-do trip when visiting Vancouver and worth the time. It is helpful to make sure that you have pick-up at your hotel as you may spend some extra time on the shuttle. This is a very full day trip. STRONGLY suggest grabbing food prior to boarding the ferry for lunch and grabbing something in Victoria to eat for dinner on return to ferry/Vancouver. You will want to spend every minute at Butchart Gardens and in Victoria! Absolutely beautiful beyond words!

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Day Trip from Vancouver

Susan Q

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The whale watching was fun, but there really wasn't much time in Victoria. You end up picking one or the other Victoria vs Butchart gardens. We had lunch in Victoria and went to the gardens. That being said, it was a long day so I don't know that I would make it longer - just don't expect to see a lot of both. The whale watching would have been easier with a loud speaker system but each guide came around to give the same story to different sections of the boat. They were very nice and gave photos at the end for free which was a nice surprise.

Doing what: Best of Victoria Tour: Whale Watching, Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise from Vancouver

leeddanner

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Ian was a very helpful and informative guide/driver. We had a coupe of hours of free time in Victoria and at Butchart Gardens. I enjoyed the 1.5 hr ferry ride each way.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Dianne M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Positives: Very relaxing tour. Victoria and Butchart Gardens are breathtakingly beautiful. Tour guide is great, and history she provided added value to the experience.
Negatives: Luckily all are easy to fix Not enough emphasis on the practical aspects of the tour. Example 1, the restaurant Red Fish Blue Fish was recommended for lunch in Victoria however we had a time limit and the line to place an order was more than an hour. A couple almost missed the bus on account of this, and we wasted 30 minutes on the line before we realized what a waste of time it was. Example 2, high tea was recommended at the Empress. However, the 75 per person cost was not highlighted, and the alternative, much cheaper but quite good porch lunch was not mentioned. There are other more interesting things to do besides walking back and forth figuring out where to eat.
If the above are addressed, this will be a highly recommended tour

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

J M H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was very amenable - knew his stuff re the Butchart Gardens and Victoria. Maybe a little too pat re the tour - can tell he has said it many times before. That said he popped in a winery visit and also assisted us to get our licences for the next day fishing.

Doing what: 1-Hour Victoria City Tour and Butchart Gardens

fparillo Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The average person visits Butchart Gardens for 90 minutes. Therefore, this tour was expensive for what turned out to be a 90 minute experience. The 40 minute to and from Butchard Gardens was entertaining with our humoured bus driver.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

Erin H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Butchart Gardens itself was beautiful and worth doing at least once. I wouldn't go again on a return trip to Victoria. The main issue I had was that the local tour provider, CVS tours, was terrible about communicating the pick-up schedule when returning from Buschart gardens into town. The schedule I had in the email from Viator was apparently not the current schedule, because when we went to catch a bus back there was none. We asked the people at Buschart gardens and they had a different schedule, and we were so bummed we'd have to wait around an extra hour and a half. But then a bus did show up after only a half hour, which was nice, but no one had any clue it was coming! CVS tours did not post their current schedule anywhere, or hand it out to you as you left the bus. You just had to hope you could catch one when you were ready to go back to town. Because of the time we wasted with wrong schedules, I wish we had just foregone the fancy comfy 2-decker coach and taken a city bus. More reliable schedule and way cheaper.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

Eva H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great way to get the most of Victoria and Butchart gradens plus a excellent boatride to Vancouver.
The Prince of Wales sunset Cruise was great. The crew Tom, Roman, Wilma and Cody did a great job.

Doing what: Victoria to Vancouver Tour Including Butchart Gardens and Sunset Cruise

Mary L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Superb tour guide! Constantly educated us on the areas visited. Ample time to explore Victoria /have lunch. Butchart gardens are wonderful. Very pleasant ferry rides.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Hollaye P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were not picked up at our hotel so had to drive to station and found it very difficult to find a parking spot. Enjoyed the ferry ride n beautiful scenery disappointed we could not go outside on a balcony to see The View. The Butchart Gardens were gorgeous n tour of Victoria Ok..but not long enough.

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Day Trip from Vancouver

brodiekj Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Make sure you leave enough time to spend at Butchart Gardens - truly magnificent

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

brodiekj Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Make sure you leave enough time to spend at Butchart Gardens - truly magnificent

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message