Victoria ATTRACTIONS See all

Butchart Gardens

Travelers to the Butchart Gardens are treated to an enchanting floral show that changes with the seasons. Covering 55 acres (22 hectares) on Vancouver Island, the landscaped gardens are so intricately laid out that each of the themed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 372 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Renee made it even better with his anecdotes. A very well-planned day, we got to do it all: ferry, lots of time on our own in Vancouver to get lunch and hand-dipped ice cream, and 2 hours was plenty of time to enjoy Butchart Gardens. Highly recommended as this would be a trek on your own. Than you, Viator!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really wanted to revisit the wonderful Butchart Gardens, but the arduous embarkation process in Vancouver onto the ship wiped us out and we did not have the stamina to take your tour the next day.

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

gobrunette

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was our third visit to Vancouver, Victoria and the Butchart Gardens. But we hadn't been in the area in 10 years. Wow! The Gardens were so much more beautiful than I remembered them from a decade ago.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Fred S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A full days trip can usually be exhausting, however, from the time we boarded the bus, our driver, Kelly regaled us with histories, facts, and personal anecdotes that made the trip easy. Butchart Gardens was Fantastic! Very easy to take in in about an hour and a half but with beautiful floral displays around every turn. Our late afternoon in Victoria topped off a great day as we enjoyed a great dinner at Bard and Banker.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Kenneth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Pickup from and delivery back to the hotel was flawless. We had been to Butchart Gardens in June many years ago, but did not know what to expect in early October. It was beautiful, and well worth the trip.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

kattom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

All six people in our party thoroughly enjoyed our trip on September 23rd. to Victoria and Butchart Gardens with Viator. Our bus driver/guide was wonderful, and went out of his way to make our day most enjoyable. We will certainly recommend Viator tours to family and friends. Thank you for a lovely day

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

kathy l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful tour that included Vancouver, Victoria, and Butchart Gardens. Our tour guide, Warwick, was amazing and made the day so much fun.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

BREANNE E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Despite cloudy weather and intermittent rain, the tour was excellent and the visit to Butchart Gardens spectacular! The fall colors in the trees more than made up for the lack of flowers. It rightly deserves its claim of being one of the garden wonders of the world. Visiting the city center of Vancouver Island was terrific and while walking around the parliament building, one of the guards invited us in for a free tour highly recommended if you have the time. The ferry was surprisingly nice...shops, a buffet restaurant serving delicious meals, very comfortable seating...even had TV's airing the Dodgers vs. Cubs play off game! Our tour guide, Frances, was friendly, knowledgeable and lots of fun. This tour is a must do for visitors to Vancouver!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

From the very moment our tour guide Jeff picked us up at our hotel, we felt like royalty. We did not realize all of the amazing information we would learn about the city of Vancouver, BC and Vancouver Island. The ferry ride over, was even more than we anticipated and Butchart Gardens was breathtaking. We could not have had a more wonderful day or tour guide.

Doing what: Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour from Vancouver

ROB United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Nice relaxed trip to see the wonderful gardens at Butchart and to catch up with the history of Victoria

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Charlotte H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our trip to Victoria and Butchart Gardens was very enjoyable. We enjoyed the ride on the ferry and our bus driver did a great job and was friendly and helpful. The one change I might make is to spend more time in the Gardens. We did not have enough time to just relax and catch a bite to eat or drink and shop in the gift shop.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Marsha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a long day, but well worth every minute. Our tour guide, Rob, was very knowledgeable about the area and made this a very pleasurable experience. The tour was well organized and I would definitely recommend it. Butchart Gardens is spectacular.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Sandra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well spent day traveling by bus on the ferry to Vancouver Island. We toured Victoria and had free time there before moving on to Butchart Gardens. I like that we had ample time to explore. We also had a knowledgable guide who provided a history of what we were seeing.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Frances W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Spectacular! The Butchart Gardens had been on my travel list for over 15 years. It was a pleasure to see it. Even in August the colors were wonderful. It is truly a garden to be enjoyed over and over again. And the time spent in Victoria was wonderful. It is a delightful city with local color. Another plus for the trip. Our driver/tour guide was Amid - he was fun and enthusiastic and made the trip better!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Marjorie Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We selected the Brentwood Bay Kayaking Tour because we wanted to experience the natural beauty of Canada and enjoy the adventure of kayaking. I was worried at first about how we would reach the
Paddle Sports Pacifica launch site since it is 25 minutes from the pier. No worries! We were gifted with Chris who not only came to get us at the cruise pier but made sure that we were safe and happy throughout the tour, took us to the Butchart Gardens and then back to our ship. The entire team of guides and owners were phenomenal. Special shout out to Sam our head guide and Damon the assistant guide who as a member of a local First Nation tribe was able to tell us stories of the history of his people and speak to us in his tribe's language. Butchart Gardens was amazing and way to big for us to cover in one afternoon. We were delighted with our stroll through the many lovely displays and our lunch in the coffee shop. The tour was somewhat strenuous me late sixties and needed some help when strong winds made progress slow but so worth the price. We will never forget the incredible kindness of the staff and crew and the experience was all that we had hoped and more!

Doing what: Brentwood Bay Fall Colors Kayak Tour and Butchart Gardens Visit

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Butchart Gardens were amazing.......there was not one thing I could say against it. We also enjoyed our walking tour of Victoria before we went to Butchart. The trip on the ferry was good too.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Leila K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It is a long trip from Vancouver to Victoria, but worth the time. We enjoyed getting to see the city of Victoria and having a little time on our own to have lunch, take photos, and look in some shops. We opted for more time at Butchart Gardens because we love to look at the flowers and displays.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Shobhanav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Butchart Gardens is out of this world. Our tour guide Meghan was very knowledgeable about the area and fun,made this a very pleasurable experience. The tour was very well organized and I would definitely recommend it. Enjoyed every minute of it!!!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Jeannette S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Had a wonderful tour and our guide, Omed was so informative and entertaining. Loved the Butchart Gardens and the tour was a super way to kick off our Alaskan cruise.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Butchart Gardens are amazing!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Peter S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This excursion to Victoria and the Butchart Gardens was fabulous. Our driver Gordon, was very thoughtfully and caring about his passengers. The ferry to Victoria was very pleasant. Gordon apon arrival in Victoria, gave his passengers free time to explore Victoria and the Butchart Gardens on their own. To anyone thinking about excursions to Victoria, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Kerstin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I enjoyed this trip very much. We had a small bus and were driven to and from the ferry portals and to Victoria and Butchart Gardens. Both Victoria and the Butchart Gardens are very beautiful locations. Our guide Laureen was very friendly and informative and I enjoyed a lot travelling with her. :

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Houston H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great trip but very long, in total about 13 hours. Most of the trip is taken up with travelling by bus and ferry there and back, although the scenery is great along the way. I would recommend flying out to Victoria via float plane, and then maybe taking the ferry back. That would give you an extra 3 hours in Victoria to relax and explore. Butchart Gardens was really awesome!

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Didn't get picked up at our hotel. When I called to confirm the operator said to meet the driver in FRONT of the hotel. Turns out it was to be at the back entrance. We had to walk to the Empress.
The bus ride and tour to the gardens was excellent, Butchart is must for anyone visiting BC

Doing what: Butchart Gardens Tour from Victoria

Beverley C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic time on this trip. The commentary was really good. We love the gardens and are so glad we took the opportunity to go earlier to Butchart Gardens. Victoria was a lovely city and we perhaps would have liked to spend more time there but are happy with our choice.

Doing what: Vancouver to Victoria and Butchart Gardens Tour by Bus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message