Victoria ATTRACTIONS See all

Craigdarroch Castle

It’s hard to believe that this opulent Scottish-Gothic fairy-tale castle was built as a family home. Now open to the public, take a tour and pretend you’re in Bonny Scotland. The four-story turreted castle was built in the late 1880s for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Staci C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Terrific tour and tour guide. So much was fit into one day. Great way to see the highlights of the city until are short on time.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Tennille M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely loved our stay. The Mansion has a lot of character, is quiet, in an excellent location for exploring the town. Beds were very comfy! The saff were wonderful and very friendly. The breakfast buffet was a typical hotel breakfast with one exception they were sooo friendly! Will be back!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Corrina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved this, great deal, beautiful castle!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Timothy C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was an interesting view of the Dunsmuir family, and the uses of the house between the late 1800s and mid 1900s. It and #39;s a beautiful mansion, with intricate woodwork and sparkling stained glass. Our visit was on a very warm day, and that made it a bit uncomfortable in the house. Still, we enjoyed it!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

phuspakumar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our sightseeing one day tour of Victoria was excellent. Our tour guide Jade did a superb job with his insight of Victoria. If I could offer one insight about our trip would be to scrap the Sidney stop and be able to spend at least 3 hours at the Buchart gardens. There is so much to see there and 2 1/2 hours is not enough time to take in all the various beautiful flowers there. The trip is worth every penny as it takes the stress of driving around in a new place - having a good tour guide is priceless. Highly recommend this tour as everything went ahead as planned and without a hitch. Thank you Jade for a wonderful experience and wishing you a very happy birthday

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Sally D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A must-do for all Victoria visitors interested in history! The pedicab approach allows for individual discussion and tailoring stops as requested, within the tour time window. The driver and guide was outstanding, and we appreciated being dropped off at the Victoria Clipper office rather than at our hotel at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle Pedicab Tour

Marie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dale from CVS tours gave a wonderful tour of Victoria. It was a pleasant your as there were only 5 of us in one can, instead of a jam packed tour bus. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Lucy United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If you are only in Victoria for a short time this tour is perfect.
We had just enough time in each of the places and were never hanging around.
The 'Tea on the Knee' at Butchart Gardens was lovely.
We got to see so much of Victoria in a short time and our tour guide was very chatty!
Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

dawn b

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful place but not really a castle more of a mansion

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Alyssa E

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

It was beautiful! Make sure that you plan enough time to see it when you go. We went as our 2nd stop from our 1st excursion and decided to walk back to our cruise ship. It was a little far on a hot day. But was pretty cool to way to see Victoria on the walk back.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Kerryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Had a great trip very informative driver who really looked after us. Would highly reccomend

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Kellie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great tour! Rene made it worth it!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle Pedicab Tour

Alaska trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Silvia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It's an easy walk up Fort Street to the castle. Then there's 4 floors with stairs no elevator so there's lots of walking. Beautiful castle that has been well maintained. It takes about an hour or so to go through and the docent is very knowledgeable and can answer any questions you have.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Jill P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide, Bruce was witty and well versed in Victorian history and sites. We boarded a smaller tour bus for a quick jaunt around town to see major sites and then visited the Castle after that we re-boarded and continued our tour of Sidney for a quick restroom break and time enough to grab a fast snack about 20 minutes, then continued on our way to the gardens. The tea on the knee was delicious, but much later in the day 2:30pm so I'd recommend bringing snacks and water with you for the bus ride. All of our admissions were included and handled by our guide. Very simple way to see most things Victoria. Would recommend to a friend.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Analyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I'm so glad I booked this one day tour. It was the best way for us to see most of Victoria, plus learning a lot of its history. Our tour guide, Peter Miller was exceptionally knowledgeable about his province. I highly recommend it...it's worth every penny.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

ladybug

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very interesting history great sense of life of this family

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Martha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! Worth every cent!

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Stacey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Victoria Shore Excursion: Craigdarroch Castle

Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A highly recommended self guided tour. Beautifully restored rooms give a real sense of life in turn of the century Victoria's high society. Spectacular stained glass windows in almost every room.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

JANIS L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Friendly, informative and overall enjoyable experience. A must see!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The house is beautiful and the docents are the most informative and friendliest we have ever come across. They will spend as little or as much time as you want talking about the house, the history of the family, and their favorite items. Well worth the time and money to see this treasure from Canada's industrial rich!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Elaine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent one day trip with enough time to explore many side trips. Our driver was most helpful and .knowedeable about Victoria BC.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

laurie26262121

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyed seeing the Castle, would have been nice to have had a walk through talking guide.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Christine M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was really cool. We loved the history throughout. We also enjoyed seeing it a little bit in the restoration process as well. We TOTALLY got out money's worth.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message