Victoria ATTRACTIONS See all

Craigdarroch Castle

It’s hard to believe that this opulent Scottish-Gothic fairy-tale castle was built as a family home. Now open to the public, take a tour and pretend you’re in Bonny Scotland. The four-story turreted castle was built in the late 1880s for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kerryn C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent. Had a great trip very informative driver who really looked after us. Would highly reccomend

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Kellie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great tour! Rene made it worth it!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle Pedicab Tour

Alaska trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Silvia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It's an easy walk up Fort Street to the castle. Then there's 4 floors with stairs no elevator so there's lots of walking. Beautiful castle that has been well maintained. It takes about an hour or so to go through and the docent is very knowledgeable and can answer any questions you have.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Jill P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide, Bruce was witty and well versed in Victorian history and sites. We boarded a smaller tour bus for a quick jaunt around town to see major sites and then visited the Castle after that we re-boarded and continued our tour of Sidney for a quick restroom break and time enough to grab a fast snack about 20 minutes, then continued on our way to the gardens. The tea on the knee was delicious, but much later in the day 2:30pm so I'd recommend bringing snacks and water with you for the bus ride. All of our admissions were included and handled by our guide. Very simple way to see most things Victoria. Would recommend to a friend.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Analyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I'm so glad I booked this one day tour. It was the best way for us to see most of Victoria, plus learning a lot of its history. Our tour guide, Peter Miller was exceptionally knowledgeable about his province. I highly recommend it...it's worth every penny.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Martha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing! Worth every cent!

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Stacey D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Victoria Shore Excursion: Craigdarroch Castle

Louise S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A highly recommended self guided tour. Beautifully restored rooms give a real sense of life in turn of the century Victoria's high society. Spectacular stained glass windows in almost every room.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

JANIS L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Friendly, informative and overall enjoyable experience. A must see!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Richard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The house is beautiful and the docents are the most informative and friendliest we have ever come across. They will spend as little or as much time as you want talking about the house, the history of the family, and their favorite items. Well worth the time and money to see this treasure from Canada's industrial rich!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Elaine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent one day trip with enough time to explore many side trips. Our driver was most helpful and .knowedeable about Victoria BC.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

laurie26262121

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyed seeing the Castle, would have been nice to have had a walk through talking guide.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Christine M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was really cool. We loved the history throughout. We also enjoyed seeing it a little bit in the restoration process as well. We TOTALLY got out money's worth.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

DIANE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice tour--lunch at Butchart Gardents was great. Our guide was super nice, knowledgeable and went out of his way to show us the sights. He made the trip fun and it was a great way to get around Victoria.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Susan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful home and well worth seeing. The history about the home is very interesting!

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Genevieve D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Having 1 full day In Victoria, this tour provided a little of everything. Out tour guide was amazing, thanks Kent.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Jerry F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

John was very friendly and knowledgeable of the Island. I would have appreciated a little more time at the Butchart Gardens. It felt a little rushed for time. Thirty minutes longer would have been sufficient to really enjoy the Gardens more. The rest of the tour was enjoyable and the sites were beautiful.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Macho A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The castle was really cool to look at. There was so much history in it and it's amazing to hear all the different ways it was used.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Brenda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great tour. The Buchart Gardens amazing, the winery dissapointing

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Linda M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Grand old house in process of being restore. Got to take lots of pictures and learned a lot of history about the house

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Gale did a terrific tour...could not ask for a better guide. Thanks Gale!

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Sofia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very happy I choose this trip, very complete got a good glance of Victoria. Butchard Gardens are breath taking and lunch very lovely.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Brenda

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting Victorian castle, beautiful restoration in progress. The stained glass windows were magnificent. Very elegant life style if you were the upper class.

Doing what: Craigdarroch Castle in Victoria

Ronald H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Knowledgeable and friendly driver. Our fault for not doing our homework because of the 7 plus hours of tour only 2hours and 15 minutes were spent at Butchart Gardens including lunch. The gardens were by far the highlight of the trip and wished we could have spent more time there. Would have been better off just going to the gardens.

Doing what: Victoria in One Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message