Victoria’s Great Ocean Road is a well-known route for travelers. Winding its way along the south of the Australian continent the road offers stunning scenery. Most often traveled for its views and access to the Twelve Apostles, here are some less ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

NURATHIRAH H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Great Ocean Road was good, the tour guide was very informative but it was a bit packed and i might have missed out few important background of places visited. Philip island (+ churchill island) trip was fantastic! Amy, the tour guide was very helpful and we got to feed kangaroo and tap a koala.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

rzc2801

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Gret Ocean road was amazing and our tour guide for this day was also great and made the day fun and interesting. The Phillip Island was also good but the weather was not a great help for watching the little pinguins that day , but is still something i will recomend to anyone who wants to visit Melbourne

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Sandra.moser

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful tour with spectacular views of the Great Ocean Road, especially the Twelve Apostels and London Bridge. Our tour guide and driver Marc was absolutely amazing and did an awesome job. WE can definetely recommend this tour! :)

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

KIN YIP L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

it is an awesome tour. we got on the bus on 7 am but we needed to wait for others so we actually start our trip at 8 am. 1st day we went to Great Ocean Road, the guide Rod is a super funny man and explicitly guide me to every stop on the way. He took care of us and tried to make our trip perfect in every part. Though the trip was bit tightly scheduled, it wasnt the fault of the tour guide. you can only expect 20 to 45 each stop. When you have to walk to the spot, you wont have enough time to get back. Anyway, the 12 apostles were simply awesome. one of our best trips in MEL.

2nd day, it was alan to lead our tour to Phillip Island. However Alan was not as funny as Rod. the trip wasnt so tight and we could really enjoy the trip. It was great to visit the moonlit sanctuary and we had fun there. And for the phillip island, i suggest upgrade to penguin plus by just spend extra of 15 USD maybe to get a better view. Really a lot of little penguins there!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

tbird

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this package! We loved our day on the Great Ocean Road tour and also had a great time at Phillip Island. Pictures w a koala bear was a highlight. Having Melbourne aquarium and Eureka Skydeck passes were an added bonus that we enjoyed. I would do these tours again for sure. It was convenient getting picked up at our hotel and the guides were a lot of fun.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kaylyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The whole experience was amazing. Seeing the Great Ocean road the first day and then Philips Island the second day was really exciting. On both days our tour guides were super nice and very knowledgable. I'd recommend this tour to anyone who may be unsure as to what to do/see, as it crams a lot into 2 very long days that are totally worth it.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Taylor C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an amazing two-day experience and I can't recommend it highly enough. It was great to get out of the city and see some of the country on the ride out to Great Ocean Road. The views of the water are stunning and the tour is organize is such a way that you get to stop and see all the sights and get plenty of bathroom breaks so it never feels like you're just driving and driving. The stop at the Cape Otway Lightstation was a surprise treat definitely go up for the view!! Jeremy, or tour guide and driver, was personable and knowledgeable and by the end of the day our van had formed into a happy little family. My favorite part of the Ocean Road tour day was Loch Ard Gorge. Honestly, most beautiful place I've ever been.

We did the Phillip Island tour day second. This is PERFECT for any animal lover and anyone wanting to get cozy with Australia's famous wildlife. Our first stop at the Moonlight Wildlife Sanctuary was AMAZING. For 15 we got out photos taken with an adorable koala named Blue Gum. For 2, you can buy a bag of feed and feed the adorable wallabies and kangaroos out of your hand. The wallabies are SO CUTE and gentle. You can wander around and see all kinds of other wildlife too. To be honest I could have done without the trip to the farm. The highlight of this tour is obviously the Penguin Parade, and it doesn't disappoint. The penguin center was really nice and add two nice gift shops and some expensive food. It's really privilege to sit down and watch as nature goes to work and the penguins are pretty adorable. Don't miss this.

I have to say that this two-day pass is a deal! Lunch was included both days, as was the entry fee to all the ticketed places we visited. I feel like I got to see so much in two jam-packed days. Do it!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a wonderful time in Melbourne. I was there for a total of the best part of 5 days. There was nothing I did that I would not do again. I did the Great Ocean Road tour, the Phillip Island tour, and with the pass I did the Melbourne Zoo, SEA LIFE Melbourne Aquarium, and the Hop On Hop Off bus. From the bus I stopped at the Queen Victoria Market, the Melbourne Museum, St Kilda and Eureka Skydeck 88.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

hms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Trip was great. Great Ocean Road is beautiful. Bus driver was very informative.

I loved the Phillip Island tour. It was much more than I realized. The penguins were wonderful, but the other parts of the trip were also super. wildlife refuge, Koala refuge, Historic farm, etc. This was a really full day. We left at 11:15AM and got back around midnight.

The attraction pass was simple to acquire and simple to use. I went to the Melbourne Zoo and Aquarium and did the Hop on, Hop off

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Ocean Road tour is not to be missed. We drove miles over quiet farmland, forest, sea-side villages and sights, and ended up at the amazing 12 Apostles also known as the Sow and her piglets. We had a delicious scone with morning tea at a neat little outdoor shop by a historic lighthouse. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, was a delightful, knowledgeable, and professional person and it was truly a joy to share the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Great Ocean Road is a once-in-a-lifetime drive, ending with the spectacular Sow and her piglets The 12 Apostles formations. Our driver/guide, Ricarda, is a great, professionally excellent person. It was wonderful to spend the day with her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Diana J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wonderful! Coastline is gorgeous, forests are pretty on the Great Ocean Road. The trip to Phillip Island was everything I hoped for and more, despite the unexpected cold weather. The penguins are a national treasure!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Kenten W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The combo tour package with Bunyip Tours was a great deal. The Great Ocean Road was a long drive, but it was beautiful even on a cold and windy August day. The stops along the way were also interesting include the Otway lighthouse. The Phillip Island tour was made more entertaining by a great guide Peter, who gave great information along the long drives. The stops at Moonlit Santuary to feed the tamed Kangaroos and Wallabies and see other native animals, Churchill Island farm to check out sheep shearing, Koala Conservation Center, Nobbies, and the Penguin center to see the small penguin return to their nest were all very fun. In addition, the tickets to SeaLife Aquarium and Skydeck were great bonuses. As a tourist with 3.5 days in Melbourne, this was a great deal and highly recommended.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Robert W. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour package. Both the great ocean road and phillip island tours were great,we upgraded to vip on the phillip island penguin parade and it was well worth it. In the package we also got tickets for the aquarium and tower.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

mike.gordon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both the Great Ocean Road and Philips Island tour were great. If you go to Melbourne I think both are a must do. I saw a few people complaining about the lunch, it was good. Not really a lot but people you should always bring a snack of your own on these kinds a day trips. The lunch location was beautifull as well.

As said, both tours are a must do. There is really no need to book it on Viator though. You can also book it while you're there, there are heaps of tour companies that offer these kinds of tours and you may even get them cheaper!!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Ma A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The driver is very, very good in terms of the knowledge. Especially the guild for Great Ocean Road, Sorry that I forget his name thought.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Norizan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The views of the Great Ocean Road are beautiful. Also beautiful are the open spaces and various animals grazing in the fields. Thank you to the Driver Guide and AAT King for awesome time.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Gin Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wow....we saw so much in 2 days! We did the Great Ocean Road on January 12th, our 1st day in Melbourne, and were blessed with wonderful sunny weather and a momma and baby koala bear sighting. Lots of time spent on the bus but I still managed to get a sunburn UNDER my t-shirt. Our 2nd day it rained most of the day as we toured Phillip island but even the rain didn't dampen our spirits as we toured this incredible place. Our guides for both tours were excellent as was the itinerary. Well done!

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

clare.huang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The driver and guide of the trip to the Great Ocean Road is Jack. He is friendly and patient. He spoke slowly and clearly so that we were sure the very time we should assemble. He is knowledgeable as well. The views on the way are extraordinarily fantastic, especially the Twelve Apostles. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Charles K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Recently did The Great Ocean Road and Philip Island tours when my girlfriend was visiting from England. The tour guides were fantastic and set a very nice atmosphere for both groups. Saw some really amazing places many of which i now intend on going back to! and met some friendly creatures along the way. Have to say Graham was fantastic and we both really enjoyed the tour he ran to Philip Island. Thumbs up and would highly recommend.

Doing what: Melbourne Super Saver: Great Ocean Road and Phillip Island plus Melbourne Attraction Pass

Suz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Kirsten the guide was excellent very informative, helpful, funny and made our trip The Great Ocean Road was beautiful, we enjoyed everything including the trip to see th koalas and kangaroo. We all thought our money was spent well. Thanks

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Ocean Road from Melbourne

Thyda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great Ocean Road was amazing, defiantly recommend it to everyone !

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Apurva S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Nothing comes close in nature tours when it comes to Great Ocean Road tour. The driver was great and had complete knowledge about the places. The stops were perfect and the scenery picture perfect. Only downside being that the tour is very long (almost 14 hours from and back to hotel). But it is totally worth it!!! Highly recommended alongside penguins parade tour.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. Peter, our driver delivered an excellent commentary. Our first comfort stop was marred by some very slow service in the coffee/tea shop due to lack of staff. Our lunch stop at the Apollo Bay Hotel was excellent and demonstrated an excellent level of service and a very nice counter lunch. The recommended trip to the ice cream shop was also memorable in term of service and the quality of the product.. Actual sightseeing along the Great Ocean Road was high quality with good access and commentary and also clean spacious facilities.. The last part of the trip was through high quality dairy farming areas and we would have appreciated. some commentary during that part of the tour. However passengers were getting tired and sneaking a few naps along the way , so Peter probably took pity on them and let them snooze. The only disappointment was the behavior of a few foreign tourists who persisted in talking loudly during the commentary. Some sharp words from a few of us quietened them down. Also Peter had to ask one person to turn down the volume on their Ipad. They were asked to use a headphone but apparently didn't bring one. Perhaps drivers could lay down the law at the beginning of the tour and avoid embarrassment to everybody. However a great day and thank you very much. Dot and Tony Perth, WA

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Stella B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was brilliant - we loved it. We were picked up promptly from our hotel by a very friendly driver, and the experience stayed at that high level all day. Our driver, Paul, was the most knowledgeable guy who made our time really interesting and relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble for him. We got great views of the Great Ocean Road and Paul stopped every time there was something good to see. I'd highly recommend this experience - if you want to see the Great Ocean Road and don't want to do the driving, this is the best way to do it.

Doing what: Great Ocean Road Day Trip Adventure from Melbourne

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message